HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Darwin's Hearth, A Historic Gem In The Heart Of Frederick

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
townhome
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday townhome in Downtown

Darwin's Hearth has been standing in the heart of Downtown Frederick since Stonewall Jackson marched his troops through the town on their way to battle. Whether you are looking for a stroll through the area's rich history or a week's getaway in a super trendy little town, our little home is waiting to welcome you!

Our home is a completely renovated historic home within walking distance (2 blocks) of all downtown shops, restaurants and bars. Walk 2 blocks in the other direction and you'll stumble into Frederick's magnificent Baker Park that has a big playground for the kids, lovely strolls for the adults and free concerts every Sunday evening in the summer.

At Darwin's Hearth, we welcome your whole family including small children and even your small doggy if he or she knows about indoor rules!

As an added treat, with every rental of at least one week we'll throw in a free massage (either at our home or at the spa) by My Red Bow Spa in nearby Braddock Heights!

We know you'll love our home as much as we do and can't wait to welcome you into the warmth of our hearth and home!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Christena
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
30 November, 2016

About Christena

I grew up in the area and have lots of family nearby. We bought this lovely home to live in, but work has taken us away from the United States for a few years and while we can't enjoy our home, we would love for others to enjoy its quaintness, convenience and rich history.

Christena purchased this townhome in 2012

Why Christena chose Frederick

We bought the home quite simply because we fell in love with it!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

Darwin's Hearth, A Historic Gem In The Heart Of Frederick
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
western Maryland
4

Convenient location for walking around the historic part of Frederick - dog friendly too

  • 4 of 5

We are an older couple who wanted to explore the possibility of living in or around Frederick some day. We rented this conveniently-located historic townhouse with a fenced backyard mainly because the owner was willing to rent to people who wish to bring their well-behaved dog... and our dog loved the place! We loved many things about this rental besides the location - the updated kitchen with all the appliances we needed, the updated bathrooms, the queen bed and ceiling fan in the master bedroom, the air-conditioning (important in August!), and all the little touches that make a house a home. The stairs were a little daunting as many reviews told us, but we managed to be careful and the carpet treads on the wooden steps helped a lot. We actually didn't have a problem with the street noise, but we weren't there on a Friday or Saturday night. We didn't mind parking safely in the reserved alley space either. The only issue we had was upon arrival when the hospitality team somehow missed meeting us to open up the home. All in all, you will find this house just as many reviews tell you - and a very easy walk to Carroll Creek Park and Baker Park. So, enjoy!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific Location in the Historic District

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I lived in the historic district of Frederick for years and were so pleased to learn about Darwin's Hearth before our recent trip back. The house has good size bedrooms and bathrooms along with a nicely updated kitchen and laundry area as well as a deck with seating out back. We had numerous friends and families staying with us throughout our 2 week rental and there was plenty of room to put everyone up (loads of spare sheets & towels to boot.) The location is great if you want to take advantage of what the historic district has to offer - shops, bars, restaurants, Weinberg Center, Baker Park - all are within easy walking distance. The local hosts were very quick to reply with any questions we had and the owners responded to our emails right away even though they do not live in the US. Renters should be aware that the front rooms of the house are just a few steps off the street and so you will hear traffic noise/street noise in that part of the house but this wasn't a problem for us since we lived there before and knew what to expect. Also, the stairs up to the third floor are quite steep but the owner is honest about that in the description of the property. We stayed in the roomy bedroom on that floor with its wonderful large window and were fine with the stairs. We would definitely stay here again and thank you for sharing the property with us!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Indeed, it is a home built around 1860 and in the heart of the thriving historic district, so steep steps and some street noise make up part of the "charm" :) We love our home and love sharing it, so thank you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Poor

  • 1 of 5

When being told parking is "adjacent" you will find the spot in alley a block away, additional cars will have a hard time finding parking nearby.

There are 3 floors with stairs to 3rd (where only tv was located) are very steep. When jets in tub were turned on black was sprayed all over.

There were some ants in kitchen and also a mouse on the counter. Dog next door barks constantly. This is not a good property if you have

children or any mobility problems.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As I wrote to you in my private response along with the refund of the cleaning fee, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with our home. We always make every effort to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. I wish that you had contacted us during your stay so that we could have made an effort to address some of your concerns and disappointments. I do include a full description of our home's layout both in a description of our home and in the pictures. We have had many families with children happily stay over the years and there are many families in the neighbourhood where most homes have a similar layout. It is a home that dates back to the 1860's. I paid a visit to my home just a month ago and did not find any ants or mice, or I obviously would have addressed the problem - that being said, Spring in Maryland often brings rain, warmer weather and unwanted visitors. We have already addressed it now that you have brought that to our attention and I will make a point to have annual pest control around this time a year to avoid another issue in the future. We always respond promptly when we receive feedback from our guests and am again very sorry that you were disappointed with our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quaint house, great location, wonderful stay.

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous stay in Darwin's Hearth. With three bedrooms, a well-equipped kitchen, comfortable living and dining rooms, dedicated parking space, and just steps away from Market Street, Darwin's Hearth had everything we needed. The owners were incredibly flexible and accommodating making our stay all the nicer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review & we do hope to see you again in the future! All the best, Christena
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ellicott City, MD
5

Great place with an even better location!

  • 5 of 5

We attending a wedding in Frederick and rented this place for 4 nights. It was everything we expected and more! The place is very characteristic of the history of the area but with fantastic upgrades! The weather was perfect so we spent a good deal of time on the back deck overlooking a nice shady yard. We were able to walk to restaurants, shops and to the farmer's market. The owner has a couple (Frank and Macella) that live locally to help settle you in. They were a pleasure to work with and even brought a nice bottle of wine, cheese and crackers. What a bonus! I would highly recommend this property and would stay there again!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, adequate accomodations

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our time in Frederick riding our bikes on the nice quiet roads and eating well. The master BR was a little too bright and loud for me to get a good night's sleep. The 3rd floor bedroom worked out nicely although some blinds would be a good addition to that room. It was also tough for our dogs to get up and down the tiny and steep stairway, so it was not an ideal sleeping location (they insist on sleeping in the same room as us). It was great that we were able to bring them both with us though. All in all the house worked out well for us. The location can't be beat and the house is well priced.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Dulles Airport
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday townhome in Downtown, Maryland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£523
for 4 nights
From
£102
£772
£1,887
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £59
Property Damage Protection £47
Cleaning fee (non-refundable) £67

Good faith deposit required to secure reservation. Full payment is due 10 days before check-in. Alternate payment options may be offered for extended rentals (more than one month). No penalty for cancellation with 14 days notice. Up to $200 may be forfeited if cancellation is made less than 14 days prior to check-in date, unless we are able to rebook all the cancelled dates on short notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Downtown in Maryland

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Main bathroom upstairs - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Washroom main level - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Kid's room - 2 Single Bed , Bunkbed with two twin mattresses
    Master bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Loft - 1 Double Bed , 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Full sized futons upstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
With every one week rental, we include one free spa massage from My Red Bow in nearby historic and beautiful Braddock Heights.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot