HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautiful Plumeria Cottage-Anini Beach Plantation Style Home

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 8 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Kilauea - Plumeria Cottage

House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5) close to beach

PLUMERIA

Plumeria is situated at beautiful Anini Beach, at 3585 Anini Road, 300 yards from the ocean, in an upscale yet relaxed residential area with the largest reef in the Hawaiian Islands. Our special permit number is SP-2011-23 and our license number is W3023996401 Nearby attractions include golf, beach combing, hiking, biking, sailing, kayaking, wind surfing, diving, snorkeling, and fishing. It is minutes from wonderful shopping and dining in picturesque Hanalei Town, and championship golf on the courses at Princeville. The spectacularly rugged Na Pali Coast offers incredible views from the Kalalau Trail or from a boat. Tunnels Beach offers both the novice snorkeler and seasoned diver the experience of swimming through a tropical aquarium teeming with colorful fish.

Plumeria has a master suite with queen bed, a loft bedroom with another queen bed, and a den with a double futon/sofa. A broad lanai surrounds three sides of the home with a screened in area for dining and relaxing. There are two bathrooms, one with tub, plus an outdoor tropical shower with hot and cold water secluded in the garden.

From $2500 per week - 5 night minimum. $49 Damage Protection $200 cleaning and stocking. Prices do not include Hawaiian accommodations tax.

Our special permit number is SP-2011-23 and our property address is 3585 Anini Road

To Respect the Neighboring Residential Properties

1. All vehicles related to the use of our property shall be parked directly on our property, and not on the street. There is plenty of room to accommodate your cars next to the house.

2. Out of respect for our neighbors, elevated noise activities or amplified music shall

not be permitted after 10:00 pm.

Keywords: furnished, vacation home, beach close,

More Details

Owner
Mary Ellen Turk
Member since: 2001
Speaks English, some Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
3 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Mary Ellen Turk

We are semi-retired and almost full time residents. We have another home in southern California where our children and grandchildren live

Mary Ellen Turk purchased this house in 1995

Why Mary Ellen Turk chose Kauai

We traveled the world seeking a warm tropical home where we could garden and enjoy the ocean--Anini is the prettiest spot we ever saw!

What makes this house unique

We, or a house sitter will always be there to advise you on shopping, restaurants, beaches, etc.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted you to know that we had a wonderful time at the cottage. The location was the best! The north shore definitely was the prime location. We went to Ke’e beach on Monday and snorkeled, and tried to hike the trail there. It was wet and slippery and I chickened out. My sister was bound and determined to hike back to the waterfall, and so she did by herself on Friday. She absolutely loved it! While on the island, we went to the canyon, kayaked up the river in Hanalei, visited the lighthouse, the botanical garden by Ke’e beach, but the best time we had was in the cove right across the street from the cottage.





On Wednesday, which was my 60th birthday, I had wanted to snorkel at Tunnels. We got there and the water was so rough and the lifeguard said no one could go in the water on the whole north side of the island. I was devastated. We went back to the cottage and walked across the street to the beach and saw that the cove was so calm. So we went snorkeling there and ran into this big guy! (see attached) It was calm and perfect snorkeling and the best birthday ever! We snorkeled there the next few days and saw this guy each day and a few other turtles as well.





Anyway, I just wanted you to know that we all had a terrific time. John was so helpful. He brought us eggs several mornings and was available if we needed anything. We used the grill one night and loved that we were able to make our own meals. It was also wonderful to have access to a washer and dryer!





Thanks again so much. I’m now trying to convince my husband that Plumeria cottage would be a perfect place for his 60th birthday next year
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

Beautiful Plumeria Cottage-Anini Beach Plantation Style Home
average rating of 4.571429 based on 32 reviews
Everett, WA
5

Plumeria

  • 5 of 5

My family of five stayed at Plumeria for two weeks. It was the best vacation we ever had. Everything we needed was supplied. All the beach paraphernalia was there for us to use, beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, snorkel gear, and even a kayak! It's a short walk across the street to one of the best beaches on Kauai. Annini beach is protected by a barrier reef, so the waves are never too rough. The Plantation style house is decorated beautifully. It was very comfortable for a family of five. There is a huge wrap around porch, and a screened in dining room. There is also an outdoor shower shielded by the the trees that has amazing shower pressure. We felt like this was the true Hawaii experience, and cannot wait to go back! Bill and Mary Ellen are fantastic hosts. Thank you so much for an amazing vacation!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Classic Cottage Charmer

  • 5 of 5

Plumeria cottage suited our small family perfectly for a nine day stay. The deep eaves protecting the wraparound porch and the screened lanai create very pleasant and comfortable places to relax in. They are also very functional, protecting our hiking, beach, and snorkeling gear from the frequent rains, as our visit coincided with the weather created by Tropical Storm Darby. The house definitely made our stay extremely pleasant, even on some rainy days. Thank you Plumeria!

The furnishings and condition of the house are pretty much exactly as pictured. The walls and floors are made of repurposed redwood wine storage vats..smooth, vintage, and beautiful. There are nice little touches throughout the house, giving it's own unique personality. Keep in mind that this house is older home in a tropical climate, well-maintained but with some infrastructure, furnishings and linens functional but well-used. The house was well-stocked when we arrived. We appreciated the warm and attentive hosts who came by to welcome us and bring a gift of fresh fruit, and show us how to use the fruit picker to get our own papayas off the tree in the yard. They were very responsive to a minor fix of an aging smoke detector starting to chirp. Some maintenance attention to the screens around the screened lanai will be needed within a year or so to keep the integrity of this essential bug-barrier high. We had no issues with mosquitos in the house, but we took care to keep the unscreened French doors closed. The house cools off well with the ceiling fans and the doors and windows with screens open. During low-mosquito periods of the day, the hammock and chairs on the wraparound porch are great places to enjoy the view of the palm tree-lined stream that flows next to house.

We appreciated the use of the two double kayaks under the house. The house is a short portage to the double-reef protected Anini bay, a magical place to explore. Two strong adults can walk the kayaks to the beach access alleys, but it would be a big help if there was a set of wheels/wheelbarrow to make this more accessible to all without the need to hoist them up onto a car. A wish for our next visit here someday!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Adorable cottage - no sleep, limited privacy - July 2016

  • 2 of 5

This adorable cottage does not disappoint when you walk in and the porches are exceptionally pleasing, especially during rain storms. Trade winds keep the cottage cool enough during the day, but do expect to stick to your sheets at night, even if you bring the fan down from the upstairs loft to blow on you. The major issue with keeping all the shutters open for airflow is the noise. Note the little road running right beside the cottage, past porch, bedroom and bathroom windows. Traffic from the neighbors who live right behind the cottage can occur any time during the day or night (4:00am, for example). Also, be prepared for the owner to be working on his race car in the garage right outside your bathroom/bedroom, even after dark. Needless to say, we never used the outdoor shower. But, all of that is nothing compared to the lack of sleep that occurs with the ritual crowing of the roosters between 2:00am & 5:30am every morning. The several roosters in the yard of this cottage seemed to be competing with each other and communicating with neighboring roosters every morning, just like clockwork. Much time and money was spent to get to the Garden Island for a restorative vacation. We loved Kauai, but left exhausted from lack of sleep (exactly the opposite of our goal and reason for renting this property, that appeared serene and private in the pictures) to return to a very stressful life. So disappointed!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This mean-spirited review was submitted twice just to lower our star rating-- Surely we are not responsible for the chickens that run wild all over Kauai and that most guests find a charming and unique feature of our island. Also we are not responsible for the actions of our young and spirited neighbors, although, if we had been informed of noise problems during this guest's stay, we would have gladly spoken to them for you. Its not fair to a vacation rental owner to complain about something and give us a poor review AFTER you've checked out and we cannot do anything about it.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Adorable cottage; no rest and limited privacy - July 2016

  • 2 of 5

We were seduced by the pictures of this adorable cottage and were not disappointed when we arrived. It is absolutely precious! We were told that the trade winds coming through would be sufficient to cool the cottage at night, but not so much (expect to stick to the sheets). The major issue came with the fact the shutters have to remain open at all times to keep the heat at a minimum, which allows for noise. You might want to make note of the road that runs alongside the cottage (where traffic from the closeby neighbors is pretty steady -even at 4 a.m.) and there is a garage in the back yard (outside the bathroom and bedroom windows), where the owner works on his race car, even after dark. But, this is still not the major problem. Kauai is stunningly beautiful and it's nickname of "The Garden Island" is appropro, but it's secondary nickname "The Chicken Island", is also accurate, as demonstrated in the yard. We had quite a little flock, who began partying every night around 2:00 a.m. and continued usually until around 5:30 a.m. I am writing this review for others who come in great need of rest...this is NOT your place! We selected Plumeria Cottage because we thought it was secluded and would be quiet. Only 1 prior reviewer mentioned the rooster; now there is more than one in the yard. My husband is now back at his very stressful job (Peru & Minnesota in this one week), after losing his father last week. I wish he would have had the restoration he desperately needed during our vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house close to a perfect beach

  • 5 of 5

Just came home from a wonderful, relaxing week at Plumaria Cottege. The house is lovely, with slats that open to let in the sea breezes so you don't need air conditioning and porches that provide the perfect place to sit when the rain comes in. It was tastefully decorated and well stocked, with beach chairs, towels and snorkeling gear as an added bonus. The gardens are lovely, full of flowering trees and the chickens are a hoot (don't go if you can't stand crowing at 4 a.m., though). The beach is a five minute walk along the road and is gorgeous and great for swimming and walking. Tips for improvement would be providing mosquito repellent. Our daughter was bitten all over within minutes despite the screaned windows so its just good to have. And maybe updated guide books or recommendations for restaurants and such. Otherwise the place was just about perfect for our family of three.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

An interesting insight into life on Kauai

  • 4 of 5

Plumeria Cottage is situated in a wholly residential area, about 150 yards back from the seashore. There is no seaview but the waves can be gently heard. Shopping is 10 minutes drive away in Princeville or Kilauea. The property is surrounded by beautiful trees and bushes, including Plumeria, and is quiet apart from the usual Kauai wildlife- Chickens which will wake you no later than 4am, and frogs which sing all night. The property is well equipped and comfortable, and there were lots of added extras in the kitchen- sauces and herbs. None of the windows have glass in them, just wooden shutters and a mosquito screen. This enables the sea breezes to cool the property, but the shutters are not particularly good at sound insulation which is where we get back to the wildlife. The fans in the property were more than adequate to make up for the lack of airconditioning, and the wraparound porch, with hammock, was wonderful for sitting out and relaxing. The loft bedroom is quite small and in my opinion unsuitable for very young children, and there are no curtains. The main bed was very comfy. The owners live nearby and were extremely helpful when we had a problem with the electrics. Anini beach is narrow but beautiful with safe swimming as there is a reef to protect the shore. The beach is readily accessible through various access points off Anini Beach Road. The property itself is 19 years old and is made from beautiful redwood, but the paintwork and some of the fittings need a little TLC. A comfy spot where one can relax.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Lihue
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Kuhio
Nearest Beach
Anini
Car: necessary

We provide you with kayaks

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Kilauea, Kauai

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Christmas
17 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
8 night minimum stay
£3,244
for 8 nights
£2,861
 
 
New Years
28 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£2,094
for 5 nights
£2,861
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,184
for 3 nights
From
£335
£2,369
£8,224
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £1,182
cleaning&stocking £158 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.4%

Add $100 per week for each additional guest beyond four. Add 20% to basic rate for Holidays

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Kilauea in Hawaii

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One with shower only, one with tub and shower Outdoor shower with warm water secluded in the garden
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Bedroom 3 is actually the den that has a futon/sofa
  • Queen size Beds (2) one in master, one in loft bedroom, Double Beds (1) futon in den, Baby Cribs (1) baby crib and high chair
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Anini Beach waterfront is 300 yards away

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties