HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Private Oceanfront Home 3/4 BR w/ Hot Tub, 2 minute walk to Magic Sands Beach!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Welcome to HALE HONU ~ the Home of the Sea Turtle ~ an amazing vacation home right on the water just 3 miles from Kailua-Kona! **** SPECTACULAR LOCATION!! UNSURPASSED VIEWS!! FABULOUS HOME!!

Hale Honu has a 4.9 Traveler Review rating from 60 of our Guests! Read on, you'll see why everyone loves this home, the original Kona 'Hale Honu'!

If you are looking for a unique private, oceanfront home, where the unobstructed ocean view and sounds of the waves will lull you away from all your cares, offered by experienced and trustworthy owners, LOOK NO FURTHER! YOU'VE FOUND HALE HONU!

Hale Honu is a two-story, four bedroom, three bath, truly OCEANFRONT home with extraordinary views of the ocean from all rooms of the home. The home is designed with an upstairs 3 bedroom/2 bath main house, and a large (600 sq feet) 1 bedroom/1 bath ground level studio/suite with a separate entrance. The upper floor 3 bedroom main house can be rented without the stuidio/suite on the ground level. Inquire about our rates for that option.

The entire house has undergone a major remodel upstairs, including all new windows, bedrooms and baths, kitchen, and exterior. The bedrooms each boast a 4 X 10 foot retractable Nana window that completely open to the ocean. It's like being on the bow of an ocean liner! The master bath has a jetted bathtub and a custom Mango wood vanity and vessel sink.

The upper lanai is 450 square feet of travertine tiled partially covered open air space with cable railing that is almost invisible and gives you unobstructed views of turtle cove, with its reef fishes and Honu (sea turtle) directly below, as well as out to the horizon. Flood lights create a dramatic scene of the surf at night.

The living room of Hale Honu opens completely with sliding glass panels onto the lanai, creating a contiguous open air space of the kitchen, living room, lanai and the ocean beyond. It's amazing!

This gated property is surrounded by a beautiful lava rock wall and borders Pahoehoe Beach Park (an oceanfront beach park with shaded sitting areas, grass and a small keiki (child) friendly beach). A two minute walk takes you to MAGIC SANDS BEACH, the best white sand beach in Kailua-Kona, and famous for body surfing & boogie boarding.

Hale Honu is located just three miles south of Kailua-Kona village, and two miles north of the Keauhou shopping and cinema complex. Here you are close enough to everything but still in a world of your own!

The grounds of the property are nicely landscaped and totally private, enclosed within 6 foot lava stone walls. We have 6 padded chase lounges in addition to 3 sets of outdoor tables and chairs, love seats, and two outdoor futons. You can bask in the sun just meters from the waves or wile swaying the oceanside hammock for two.

When the sea is calm, there is excellent snorkeling at the abundant reef and arches directly in front of the house. We enter the ocean right off the property. You can also easily enter the ocean from the always sheltered small beach at Pahoehoe Beach Park adjacent to Hale Honu. We swim with Honu (turtles) almost every time! A large lava shelf has excellent tidal pools for exploring at low tide.

The main living area of Hale Honu ('the house') is upstairs, where there are two large bedrooms (king beds), plus a 6X10 foot 3rd bedroom with a full bed. Upstairs are two full baths, and a sunny, open kitchen and living area, leading to the covered 2nd floor lanai. The kitchen is a gourmet's delight with a 5-Star range, french-door refrigerator, lots of workspace and everything a serious cook wants. The 180 degree views of the Kona coastline are breathtaking from every window. You may never want to leave this spot!

Throughout the home there are open beam cathedral ceilings and nearly floor to ceiling windows making the home light and airy, with full ocean views everywhere. The sound and energy of the ocean is present in every room. Decorated with travertine tile and bamboo flooring ("Just say no to Rugs!"), Balinese antiques, island fine art and photography, as well as elegant tropical furnishings, you will feel like ali'i (royalty) in this home.

A favorite lounging spot is the queen sized futon on the upstairs lanai-perfect for a shaded nap or sleeping over the ocean!

On the garden/ground level is the fourth bedroom, the 'honeymoon suite'. It has been designed as a complete PRIVATE STUDIO/SUITE with a separate, secured entrance, outdoor garden, dining and relaxing areas. This large (650+ square feet) space includes a king-size bed romatically draped in privacy sheers, and a roomy living / sitting area with tropical decor, a dining nook, and private covered lanai at the oceans edge.

The suite has a complete kitchen with a cook-top, refrigerator and full sized sink. The bathroom has luxurious marble tile and glass block, and a walk in shower for two with dual shower heads. Windows and sliders encompass all of the makai (ocean side) walls, so you can simply let the ocean air in, or step out and be right at the ocean’s edge. Hale Honu studio/suite is also listed as a separate vacation rental at VRBO 46951.

Spend your evenings on the tiled huge ground-floor covered lanai in the Kama'aina (Local way ...barbequeing and talking story. This 400+ square foot outdoor lanai is filled with the sound of waves, trade winds, and Hawaiian ambience.

When rented in it's entirety, Hale Honu would be a PERFECT SITE FOR A FAMILY EVENT (reunion, celebration). The beautiful outdoor areas will accomodate a large party, with room for outdoor cooking/reception areas, seating, and spectacular ocean views.

We strive to make our homes and your experience in them unique and filled with the spirit of aloha. You’ll find the home tastefully decorated, carefully maintained, and filled with lots of extras; binoculars, books on local history and cultural sites.

Hale Honu imbues a special feeling of Peace and Aloha to everyone who visits it, and it is with that Aloha that we welcome you!

Please Note... We do offer this property for vacation rental in three different ways:

* Entire Home (including suite for a full four bedrooms and three baths)

* Upstairs Only (three bedrooms and two baths)

* Suite Only (one bedroom and one bath) (See vrbo listing #46951)


Mahalo and Aloha,

Peter Knoblich and Darla Mabery


Keywords: Oceanfront Private Vacation Home, Turtle cove

More Details

Peter and Darla
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2018

About Peter and Darla

This is us, Darla and Peter, relaxing with friends and a 'Pint of Liquid Aloha' at the Kona Brewing Company! We bought our first oceanfront condo in 2002, on our first visit to the Big Island. (The Big Island definitely hooked us after several trips to the other islands!) We have been blessed to have several homes in Kona, including Hale Honu which we purchased in 2004. There is something about this particular spot on the ocean that everyone feels when they first walk on the site...maybe the turtles living in the cove, the spinner dolphins swimming by daily, or the calving humpbacks off shore every winter, but for us it was total love at first sight. We have been improving Hale Honu every year, with major remodeling completed in 2008 and ongoing maintenance and improvements several times a year. We have a permanent presence on the Big Island managing our Bed and Breakfast in Kona, The Hawaiian Oasis B&B. Our wonderful innkeepers at the B&B are always available when issues arise for our guests. Both of us are physicians, with continuing practices in California. We have a large extended family, three grown children (all artists) and a new grandson! We employ a full time contact person on the island and can respond to just about any need within a few hours or less.

Peter and Darla purchased this house in 2004

Why Peter and Darla chose Kailua-Kona

You'll know why we fell in love with Hale Honu in the first thirty seconds that you stand on the sea wall and gaze over the ocean. Paradise. Amazing. Endless Ocean. Perfect... were our first thoughts. It continues to feel the same every day even after many years.

What makes this house unique

You can simply lose yourself in this place. Peacefulness. An intimate connection with the ocean. Whether it's the constant pulse of the waves, palm fronds swaying and clacking in the trade winds, laying in the hammock or soaking in the spa under star studded skies a few feet from the breaking waves, Hale Honu is 'just what the doctor ordered' to escape from your cares of the world. We all need down-time in which we can just breathe and let our bodies and minds relax and rejuvenate. You need look no further, you'll find it, and more, right here at Hale Honu.

Guestbook comments from the owner


Aloha Peter and Darla,

We have truly enjoyed our stay in your lovely home! What a treat to be able to feel at home while on vacation.


Den and Lynn


Mahalo, Mahalo, Mahalo!!! What a completely relaxing home. It has been a long time since I just sat and watched the waves! My family got the best of Hawaii from your home!

Mahalo and aloha!

The Zambrano Family

owners note: these comments were written in our guest book at Hale Honu! P&D
Mar 2007
  • 1 of 4


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Kailua-Kona in the North Kona

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2) Master Bedroom Platform King, Studio King Bed, Queen size Beds (2) 2nd bedroom upstairs queen bed. There is also a queen futon on the covered lanai of the main house., Double Beds (1) Double bed in the third bedroom of the upper floor. Room overlooks bamboo, park and ocean, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) A queen size engineered bed that opens automatically out of a case with the push of a button. Stows easily with the push of another button.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
***2 MINUTE WALK TO MAGIC SANDS BEACH*** Futon for outdoor sleeping on raised lanai, private oceanfront HAMMOCK, Gated property, HIGH SPEED CABLE/WIRELESS INTERNET, VCR/DVD, 2 Full Kitchens, 2 Refrigerators, all cooking utensils and quality linens provided, full sized Washer & Dryer, Beach supplies, Separate private studio/honeymoon suite, Perfect special event home


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(68 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Private Oceanfront Home 3/4 BR w/ Hot Tub, 2 minute walk to Magic Sands Beach!
average rating of 4.8382354 based on 72 reviews

Fabulous place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a family vacation at Hale Honu recently & found it fit our needs perfectly. My wife & I stayed in the downstairs studio while our 3 adult children & spouses shared the upper floor. The sound of the waves rolling onto the lava rock shore was very soothing. The view of the ocean was wonderful with yellow and black schools of fish easily seen. The biggest shoreline treat was watching the sea turtles right off the patio & balcony come in to shore to nibble algae & seaweed. The location was perfect for us with a short drive to Kona town with its shops & restaurants. The house is in excellent condition with plenty of beach toys, boogie boards & snorkeling masks. The house was spotless with plenty of bath & beach towels. A creamy soft sand beach is just a block away to the south and was a great place to swim, boogie board & body surf. Snorkeling the reef just off the shore of the house was fantastic with lots of different fish, coral and sea turtles. We were there 10 days & felt at home from day 1. The owners, Peter & Darla, were very responsive to our questions & provided an excellent info package about the area & the island. I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Kailua-Kona

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Bill and Family, Mahalo again for your choice of Hale Honu. It gives us great pleasure to hear from our guests who came away with great family memories of staying in our home. We strive to make Hale Honu feel like home when you first walk in, and for our guests to have a carefree vacation and an one of a kind experience of the ocean life right out the door. Thank you again, and we look forward to hosting your family again. Warmest aloha! Darla and Peter
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Calabasas, CA

Very nice!

  • 4 of 5

Firstly, I would consider myself very picky so keep in mind as you read this. We usually stay in condos at new resorts in Maui where everything is kept like a hotel. Staying in this house was very different, and overall I would recommend it. The pros: the location is great with two places to walk to for swimming/snorkeling and a bicycle rental station .2 miles away. The decks are beautiful and great to spend time together. Watching the sunsets from here was breathtaking. The house feels like a home because it doesn’t get emptied out like most condos do. It is outfitted very nicely with kitchen supplies and basics, towels, beach toys, etc. The owners did a great job labeling everything so you know where to find things and where they belong. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and comfortable. The beds are great. We didn’t use the 3rd bedroom upstairs which would have been the only one that is small with no bathroom. The downstairs studio is very cute and big. The jacuzzi was very clean and worked great. The bbq was brand new and it was fun to grill out. I loved having all the space compared to a condo and also being able to drive right up to the front door, especially when moving luggage or a car full of groceries.

Some cons: there is no air conditioning except in the downstairs studio. The House has glass slots in every room that can be opened so that a good breeze goes through and leaves the house at a comfortable temperature except when it gets very hot outside. Then it gets pretty hot in the bedrooms, which heat up the most because they are directly exposed to the afternoon sun. After sun down, it cools off pretty fast with open windows, but at night you will have to choose between leaving the glass slots open for air at night, or closing them and hearing the VERY loud sounds of the ocean hitting the rocks. I read another review about the ocean “noise” and didn’t think twice about it as being a problem, but it really is much louder than I expected. As great as the ocean sounds are during the day, if you are used to sleeping in a quiet room, you will not sleep well here. Also, there are only light curtains that don’t block out the light, so expect to wake up when the sun comes out.

With that said, we still had an amazing week in this house, and for the price it definitely met my expectations. Thank you Peter and Darla for sharing your amazing home with us, and for being great hosts.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Gate issues initially. Views spectacular!! Seemed casual and pleasant but very outdated decor.

  • 3 of 5

Oven and hot tub did not work. Dishwasher smelled bad. Disposal backed up and would not drain even with plunger. Studio has several steps, difficult to manage especially at night. Magic Sands beach very close to walk to and great! Bedrooms are very noisy to sleep with waves crashing. Lots of outdoor chairs and towels available. Owner responsive to calls which good.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Sue, First we're sorry you were not totally satisfied with Hale Honu. Let me address each issue raised: A new gate was ordered in late November, and was installed the day you left the property. I did pick up your phone call about the gate immediately when you called, and got the mechanism reset and working right away. The gate tracking problem is solved with the new gate. The hot tub heater was not functioning correctly, despite the installation of a new heater in early November. There is no reliable spa repair service in the Kona area, and with multiple attempts and troubleshooting, more parts were back ordered form the mainland to get it working. We were aware and have been working on it for 2 months now. Expect the new heater relay board to be installed by mid January 2018 and hoping that solves the problem. The oven worked when we were at Hale Honu in November 2018. This is the first we are aware of it not working. It might have needed the pilot manually lit. We could have easily solved the oven issue if you had called. We are always available on our mobiles. The garbage disposal and dishwasher were perfect in November. If dishes are not rinsed, food debris builds up in the filters. We've put our housekeeper on a regular sanitation schedule for the dishwasher. Garbage disposal lines plug up when too much fibrous material is put in there. Our plumber came the day I was made aware of it and cleared the obstruction. Guests considering the studio-suite should know there is a single 4" rise from the living room and entry/dining area to the kitchen and bed area. Finally, Hale Honu is an oceanfront home. Surf is often 3-5 feet in the winter months. It's one of the wonderful features of this home, and previous reviews have discussed the sound of the waves. We again want to make potential guests who are reading this response to be aware that if they require a very quiet bedroom for sleeping, then plan to either sleep in the studio suite, wear earplugs at night (which we have in the home), or choose a vacation location further away from the ocean, especially in the winter months. Peter and Darla
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great hosts and a great house for a family gathering

  • 5 of 5

Peter and Darla are excellents hosts and were very flexible, responsive and supportive throughout our VRBO experience. Hale Honu is a great house. We rented both the upstairs and the downstairs suite for our extended family of grand parents, parents and grand kids. They offered the use of a playpen for our 17 month old grandson. The large living/kitchen and lanai overlooking the pacific was where we spent most of our time. We saw whales surfacing, dolphins spinning, turtles swimming and sun bathing and tons of tropical fish right from the lanai. The lanai was also a great spot to watch the sunset and lookout for the green flash!

Peter and Darla offered a wonderful assortment of beach toys, chairs, umbrella's that we used daily to spend time at the beach right next door or Magic Sands a short walk away.

It was a great stay at Hale Honu and we would definitely recommend it or stay again if our travels take us back to the Big Island and Kona.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Beautiful View, Cute House

  • 4 of 5

This house really makes you feel like you’re in Hawaii... the ocean is right there when you wake up, and the deck is great for watching turtles and dolphin pods. The only downside is there were lots of bugs inside the house and the upstairs is quite loud from the waves (less relaxing than you’d imagine). With AC only down stairs you don’t have much choice but to leave the upstairs windows open. But the downstairs suite was a fantastic air-conditioned oasis with equally good views. Hot tub was fabulous for a late-night beverage and ocean-gazing.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Hale Honu is an ideal choice

  • 5 of 5

Now that we are back on the mainland I'd like to thank you for making your beautiful house available to us. It was my 70th birthday and I had decided to bring my entire family, my wife, my first son, his wife and their three children, my second son and his wife (they got married on July 1st) and my daughter. We all had a great time in the house, dining on the lanai, watching the sunset, going to beaches, the volcano and to Mauna Kea. Both the main house and the studio were ideal for our stay. Kitchen fully equipped, beach amenities, beds, towels, etc. all perfect. The proximity to the White Sands beach made it a favorite for the kids. We’ll have pleasant memories for a long time.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Da Poke Shack
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Magic Sands Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Exact Location of Hale Honu (Use Hybrid Map Setting)
Nearest Point of Interest
Pahoehoe Beach Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Magic Sands Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Kailua-Kona Village ~ Home of the great King Kameamea III
Nearest Point of Interest
Kona Makai 1-302 (VRBO 34203)
Nearest Point of Interest
Holualoa Coffee Country
Nearest Point of Interest
Kealakekua Bay ~ Captain Cook Monument
Car: necessary

Absolute oceanfront home has access to the ocean, beach park with safe area for small children next-door, and the famous Magic Sands Beach just 100 yards away.

Explore the nearby coffee farms, the artist's village of Holualoa, colorful farmer's market and other island treasures. The open-air Trolley takes you into historic Kona village for restaurants, shopping, live music and historic sites.

Great walking or biking just outside the gated home, and snorkeling the reef in front of the house will almost always bring you face-to-face with the Hawaii Sea Turtles! You can watch the whales from the lanai upstairs, and the dolphins frequently frolick just off the reef in front of the house.

This is a great spot from which you can explore the entire island, or do as many folks, and just STAY PUT. This is truly paradise!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in the Kailua-Kona, Big Island Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
13 May 2018 - 23 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
29 May 2018 - 6 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Summer Entire Property
9 Jun 2018 - 19 Aug 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Fall 2018
20 Aug 2018 - 4 Oct 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Ironman 2018
5 Oct 2018 - 14 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Fall 2108
15 Oct 2018 - 17 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Christmas 2018
18 Dec 2018 - 1 Jan 2019
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Winter 2019
2 Jan 2019 - 31 Mar 2019
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £58.67
Cleaning and Laundry £271.05

Smaller groups have the option to book only the upper floor, 3 bedroom main house. Those rates are not listed here (it's too confusing!), and we will provide you information and a quote for this option upon your request. Attached to this quote is our rental agreement, which contains a clause that you are responsible for damages due to your negligence and guarantee that with a credit card on file. If booking directly through VRBO, you are purchasing a damage waiver and paying a booking fee charged by HomeAway and VRBO. You may opt to book directly with us, in which case we may authorize a hold on your credit card for a "damage deposit" of $1000, which we void after your departure. The amount is not actually charged (or "settled") to your credit card but will appear temporarily in an online history (similar to the procedure when renting a car or hotel room). In ten years of offering Hale Honu there has never been substantial damage caused by a guest. Only a few times has the house been abused to the extent that we had to charge extra to cover the cleaning costs or replacement of damaged linens and bedspreads. We prefer to email you from our email account where we can provide you with pictures and links. Mahalo!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals