1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4
Maui Beachfront Rentals
Pool / Spa
Max guests: 4
Minimum age of primary renter: 25
Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Beautiful view and clean property.
We really enjoyed our stay. The condo was clean and had everything we needed. The Maalaea area is windy, so just know that going in. The neighbourhood is quiet and not much going on. Most days we drove to Kihei to beach and hang out. The drive was about 15 minutes which worked for us. My only suggestion would be to update the towels as some of them were stained. We also thought perhaps the pillows could be better quality. All in all we had a wonderful stay!!
Overall this is a decent little unit. Being on the ground floor is great with easy access to the pool and parking lot. Nice big TV (if you use it), and a nice shower. The owner has done some nice upgrades like nice new tile floors and upgraded shower. I’m sure it’s a work in progress, but it could use new patio furniture. The couch and area rug could use a good steam cleaning. The biggest drawbacks to this unit are just due to its location in the building, which can’t be helped. It’s right beside the lobby, which can be quite loud at very early hours. We were woken up multiple times at 7 am or earlier by people hanging out in the lobby chatting. Bring ear plugs if you’re not a super early riser. Also, due to the location in the complex, there is very little air flow through the unit, which made it very hot! I hate using the AC, but we eventually had to just to make it bearable, but frankly the AC doesn’t work very well either.
All in all, it’s a nice little unit that the owner is making upgrades to. It has all the amenities you need for your stay (we added a coffee grinder).
Thanks for the review. We're glad overall our condo worked out for you. We have scheduled for the first of October to have the area rug and upholstery cleaned. Sorry if those were dirty. We will also take a look to make sure the A/C is operating correctly, though when you came is literally the hottest time of the year, and this year, it's been recording breaking hot. Usually the window A/C and the gentle tradewinds keep the condo cool. This property is known for being very quiet and tranquil, so it's unusual and unfortunate to hear that it was so loud for you in the morning there. We're sorry about that, and we will be sure to check with exiting guests to see if it's an ongoing issue. We do appreciate you being our guest, and hope you will consider staying with us again. Mahalo!
We had to fix the very cheap headboard upon arrival. The bed is on rollers on tile floor so moved a lot. Thank goodness for window ac in living room. You cant leave windows open due to window in br right where everyone drags luggage, talk loudly and wall prevented draft. Had problem with hot water in shower several communications was never resolved. Several mousetraps around apt we never saw any. Decor is dated. Pluses. Good location. Beach is nice. Apt is stocked with many items for a day at beach. Complex is good. Kitchen has been updated. Washer/ dryer was convenient. I rarely write negative reviews. Just felt price we paid with taxes, condo fee and mandatory damage insurance was too high. We spent 18 days on 3 islands and 4 vrbo. This was most expensive and lesser of the four in desirable
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you ran into a few issues during your stay. We don't expect our guests to run into problems with our condo, and certainly not the multiple issues you ran into. This is not our standard, and we are very sorry. The hot water issue has been resolved. It took a couple of trips to get the fix right, and we're sorry about that. We tried to get it resolved as quickly as possible. We will be sure to look at the headboard and rollers on the bed to make sure they're not rolling around. In regards to the decor, we try to maintain up to date and accurate pictures so that guests can determine in advance if the unit is not appointed to their liking. We're sorry our condo didn't work out as well for you, but we do appreciate you being our guest, and hope you would give us an opportunity to make it up to you in the future. Mahalo.
Please read my whole review
First of all we did love the location and the grounds. That would be my only reason for giving 2 stars. It was very nice, well kept and clean. And there was such a nice view of the ocean. The kitchen is nice looking and had everything
we needed for our stay. HOWEVER, we walked in day 1 to find a puddle of water on the floor because the fridge was not completely closed. It caused some of the freezer to defrost into it and then plugged up the hole that allows it to naturally drain. We didn't seem to get much of a cross breeze from front to back, so we used the air conditioner the whole time. It was not functioning to full capacity so we cleaned the filter, it was completely plugged.It worked better after that. The screen was off it's track, fixed that. Screws need to be replaced on the patio door handle. Because of keeping the windows closed we needed to use the pull out sofa to keep somewhat cool. It was broken, screws broken off. We fixed that. That sofa mattress was so thin and all you could feel is springs. So we put every blanket in the closet down first, then a sheet. Still very uncomfortable. The bed in the bedroom for me was very hard, so if you like a hot room and very firm mattress, you will be fine. We did some laundry and found that the powder was being put into the center instead of being distributed into the clothing area. The center hole I believe is meant for liquid softener only. In cleaning it out, we found lots of mold underneath the area that was plugged up. Not great to wash your cloths with mold.
There is a sock above the drier that collects the lint was solid full "fire hazard"...so we cleaned that. None of the pans were clean, they all had crusty build up. There was some really ugly mold in the blender because it was not taken apart the last time it was used. The patio furniture is truly needing to be replaced. I could go on. Most of all I sent all of my concerns to the owner or caretakers with photos and heard no response. I would not stay here again. SORRY.....maybe there are other properties in this complex that are better. Keep looking.
We're sorry you had such an underwhelming stay at our condo during your vacation. We will be sure to address the items you mentioned that were in need of repair. It is not our standard to expect our guests to have to deal with these issues. I can assure you we have checked the unit for mold, as you had mentioned, and there is none in the unit, including the washer. We go with who we consider the best cleaning service on island, so the puddle of water on the floor, dirty pans and blender is unacceptable. We will be sure to raise this issues with them immediately. As well, we'll take another look at the condition and shape of the furniture in the unit. We pride ourselves on providing condos that are clean and in good repair. We're sorry your experience with us was different than our normal standard, but we will do all we can to make improvements. We appreciate you being our guest. Mahalo!
We received notification of unplanned spalling construction one week before our arrival! Maui Beachfront Rentals offered us another property or discount for inconvenience. Otherwise, the condo didn’t have toilet paper and we had to find a convenience store for the weekend before they delivered a roll. Beautiful view from first floor unit and don’t miss the nightly turtle rock feeding at the beach!
Thank you for your feedback, Ken. We will try to be more diligent as to have our unit stocked with the proper amount of toilet paper in the future. In regards to the on-site project, as you mentioned, we contacted you as soon as we found out about the the work being done, and again as you noted, we discounted your stay and/or offered your an alternative due to this situation. Whenever there is any scheduled work that we have been notified on, we post that information, front and center in our listings. Sometimes, work is done last minute, especially when it is due to fixing unexpected problems. We hope you still had a good stay. The turtles are definitely a treat to watch. Thanks for being our guest.
Beautiful view and great location.
Condo was very convenient with washer/dryer in the unit, full kitchen, and smart TV. Patio had great view of the ocean and easy access to the community pool and hot tub.
Thanks for the kind review, Mark. We're so glad you had such a great stay. Thanks for being our guest, and please do return again soon!
Maalaea Banyans is located in a quaint fishing village ideally located half way between all the best Maui island attractions. Within walking distance to Maui's first class Aquarium and Ocean Center where you'll find a variety of excellent dining, boutique shopping, live entertainment and all the water sport activities on Maui.