HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Book now for Fall - 38% OFF REGULAR PRICE in OCT/NOV - Plus NO Manager Fees!

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,900 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1,900 Sq. Ft, 3 Bed/3 Bath condo in Downtown Fernie with mountain views

PRIDE OF OWNERSHIP; LOCALLY OWNED & OPERATED SO YOU SAVE $$ (No Property Management Fees).

Ski, Fish, Hike, Bike and play in the Fernie East Kootenay Rockies, while staying in this executive-style condo that offers all the amenities of luxury living. Because we are hands-on owners, we take pride in managing and maintaining our unit to the highest standards. Everything you need is provided for a comfortable and worry-free stay, and if there's anything you need, Pierre and Kristine are available to help you any time, night or day.

Our condo is part of the historic 901 Old School House in Fernie which has successfully blended the old with comfortable contemporary style living. The original 1908 brick walls were incorporated as part of the indoor decor, as seen throughout the condo. One of the master bedrooms is located inside the original, brick Bell Tower and has a private stairwell.

The 19 foot high ceilings and open concept give guests the feel of the big outdoors that make Fernie a favourite place for avid adventurists. Fernie is known for its powder skiing, world class fly fishing, and mountain biking. Hiking trails abound with spectacular 360 views with access from our front door.

This spacious condo has a fully equipped modern kitchen which exceeds all expectations for both the traditional or gourmet cook including granite counter tops, stainless appliances, a modern natural gas range, and wine & beverage fridge. The dining table and breakfast bar can comfortably seat 9 people. The in-suite laundry has an extra large front load washer/dryer. Guests have free access to wifi, a year ‘round hot tub and exercise room, underground parking, and there is an on-site spa offering massage, facials, and manicures which includes a 10% discount as part of our package. There is elevator access to all of these amenities right across the hall from our unit.

Our convenient location in downtown Fernie allows you to park your car and forget about it. It is a one block walk to the hub which includes restaurants/cafes, groceries, liquor stores, banks, shopping, pubs & nightlife, the Museum, Arts Centre, movie theatre, outdoor skating rink and community indoor pool with waterslide and splash park. We are also a quick, 10 minute drive to Fernie Alpine Resort and there is a ski shuttle to the Hill right outside our building. Simply said, Fernie provides small town access with big opportunities to satisfy any visitor.

After your hard day at play, relax on our private balcony complete with BBQ and enjoy a spectacular view of the Canadian Rockies, or settle into the cozy chairs in the open-concept living area next to the fireplace. Your feet will always stay warm with the natural fir hardwood flooring. In the hot summer months, central air conditioning will allow you to sleep restfully in hotel quality beds covered with cozy duvets. Each bedroom has its own private, full ensuite bathroom with walk in rain shower, plus the master bath also has a cast iron soaker tub with his and hers vanity. Master bedroom 1 also has its own private balcony and TV. All bedrooms with ensuites have a lock-off to ensure complete privacy. All bedroom windows are equipped with wooden blinds allowing for late morning sleeps.

Our desire is to have our guests make Fernie part of their vacation experience every season. We hope our condo remains part of your plan.

Keywords: Executive style, roomy, contemporary, luxury condo

More Details

Property Manager
Kristine & Pierre Pelletier (Owners/Operators)
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 May, 2018

About Kristine & Pierre Pelletier (Owners/Operators)

Pierre and Kristine are locals who continue to reside in Fernie. Kristine was born and raised in Fernie and Pierre originally hails from New Brunswick, but moved here almost 40 years ago. Both graduated from the very same high school that is now 901(including Kristine's mom!). As her family has been in Fernie for over 100 years, she can bring a wealth of knowledge about the town and provide recommendations and assistance if requested. Pierre and Kristine are hands-on owners of their condo, and take pride in managing and maintaining it to the highest standards.

Why Kristine & Pierre Pelletier (Owners/Operators) chose Fernie

We take pride in the fact that we own a piece of our town's history and a piece of our heritage, having had a long association with the old school. Both Pierre and Kristine graduated from this same school, as well as Kristine's mom and her 3 siblings. It's always fun to tell people that we are walking in the same halls that we did over 30 years ago (although it looks nothing like its former self!).

What makes this condo unique

You will love the "feel" of the old building and especially our unit, which is partially located inside the old Bell Tower of the school! The original 1908 brick is prominently displayed throughout every room in our condo. The 19' high ceilings and 12' high windows will take you back in time to an era you can only imagine. Inside the Bell Tower, one can envision a person tugging on the thick rope, ringing the bell to call all the town's kids to school, which had grades from K-12. That old bell is still around and currently sits in the new high school on display in the main hall.

The way the old is blended with the new will impress you. Everything you need is provided for a comfortable and worry-free stay. And if there's anything you need, Pierre and Kristine are available to help you any time, night or day.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in the Fernie in the East Kootenay A

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Lift
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Walk-in rainshower; deep cast iron soaker tub
    Bathroom 2 - Walk-in rain shower
    Bathroom 3 - Walk-in rain shower
  • In-floor radiant heat in all bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Private balcony & TV
    Master Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Located inside the old Bell Tower with private stairwell
    Master Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • All bedrooms have hotel-style beds with comfy duvets
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Full-service Spa 901 located on floor beneath unit. 10% discount offered to guests on all Spa amenities.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(59 traveller reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Book now for Fall - 38% OFF REGULAR PRICE in OCT/NOV - Plus NO Manager Fees!
average rating of 4.9491525 based on 59 reviews
5

Wonderful condo in Fernie

  • 5 of 5

I have had the opportunity to stay twice at this condo and absolutely love it. The most recent stay was in July for a Ladies Weekend. Kristine was there to meet us when we arrived and gave us information about the condo and Fernie.

The condo was perfect for a group of girls. Every room are all a good size and there is a bathroom for each room. There is a great seating area for people to relax in and the balcony was a great place both in the mornings and afternoon. The location is perfect for walking to most of the great restaurants in Fernie and the downtown shopping area.

The Spa located in the building was also fantastic.

Would stay at this condo again the next time we are in Fernie.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words and great feedback! It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us again. Hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wow! Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here for a few days in April and we absolutely loved it. The place is beautiful, exceptionally clean, with a nice historical feel. Kristine and Pierre were very pleasant people and very easy to deal with. I highly recommend staying here, we will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for leaving such an awesome review of our place! Everything was great - glad you enjoyed your stay because we sure enjoyed having you. Hope to see you back this way again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
5

Luxurious Digs! Fab Location!

  • 5 of 5

We were 2 couples traveling to Fernie to experience some world class skiing as well as to soak up at least a few of the other amazing outdoor adventures this lovely city offers. This condo was the perfect home base for us - beautifully appointed with granite counters, gas stove, wine fridge, loads of space to spread out, and a location that is second to none. We did not want to be directly on the ski hill as not all of our 5 days were going to be ski days. The complex is only a little over a block away from the quaint town of Fernie, and other than to get to the hill, there is no need for wheels at all. There is even a shuttle to the hill if you don't want to bother with a car. Kristine, the owner, greeted us upon arriving and made us feel very welcome. She thoroughly explained all the condo nuances (how to operate the heat, appliances, T.V. remotes etc.) and provided us with good information on the general area, including some favourite eating spots. We were not at all disappointed. Not one bad meal, in fact all were great! Kristine's husband Peter was also very kind and accommodating - once having to let us in to the unit after a dinner out when all 4 of us assumed (incorrectly) that the other had the keys! He was there in a flash! In the underground, heated parking lot there is 1 spot assigned to the unit but loads of visitor parking underground as well, and the strata has no problem with additional renters using these stalls. All in all it was simply a wonderful getaway, and the perfect choice of accommodation in which to enjoy it! We highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such an awesome review! Always enjoy hearing positive feedback and are so pleased you enjoyed the whole experience (including all 4 seasons of weather packed into 5 days!). We have to proudly agree that our condo really is "fab and luxurious" and in the best location to truly experience all Fernie has to offer. And we were more than happy to help out when you were stranded in the foyer without a key, lol. It was a pleasure having you as our guests so please come back and see us again real soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Fernie Condo

  • 5 of 5

Our visit to Canada came to the perfect end with four nights in Fernie, staying at this luxurious and modernly designed Condo. It offered three large bedrooms with en suites and comfortable beds with ample wardrobe space. The master bedroom has a bath as well as walk in shower.

The Condo’s open plan kitchen and lounge provides beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. There is ample assigned space for your ski equipment, but we found because the underground car park was heated, we were happy to leave our skis in the car. Should you want there are facilities at the Resort to leave your boots/skis there.

Downtown is packed with great shops, bars, variety of restaurants and two supermarkets. Fernie really offers it all.

Kristine was an exceptional host. We had a major baggage catastrophe with KLM which resulted in one of our bags missing for the majority of the holiday. Knowing this Kristine kindly offered to handover her phone number for the bag courier to contact her and ensured the bag was delivered into the condo which allowed us to go skiing rather than sitting around the condo. We cannot thank Kristine enough for helping us with this matter and allowed us to enjoy our holiday.

Thank you for having us Kristine, we had a wonderful time.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear you made it back to England with your bags in tow! That really was a catastrophe for the first part of your holiday, but thankfully we got it all straightened out once you got to Fernie. And many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive and complimentary review! We're proud of our condo and enjoy having people from all over the world experience it along with our Fernie hospitality! Hope to cross paths again some day soon - the door's always open!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Going back!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family were fortunate to find and book this beautiful, unique condo for a family ski trip the end of February 2018. The is truly a beautiful, high end unique condo. The large space allowed for each family to have their own large bedroom (3) with private bathrooms and the main living space and kitchen were large enough to accommodate meal time and evenings of relaxing and visiting as a family. From the moment I made the inquiry and throughout our stay Kristine responded almost immediately to any question or inquiry. It was like having our own personal travel guide!! We were thrilled to spend our last night in Fernie watching the “Griz days” parade and fireworks from our front steps!!! Our stay was perfect and as a result, our family has decided this will be an annual get together and this condo will be where we meet!!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for all the compliments and for taking the time to write this wonderful review! You really did hit a good week with all the Griz Day's activities, and with most events just outside our front door to boot! Definitely come back again and try out our summers too - they're epic! Hope to see you soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome spot!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property located in the perfect spot downtown. Close to everything, in particular the grocery store and liquor store. We had a blast using the condo as our base of operations - both for skiers and non-skiers alike. Owner was so friendly and helpful, and the condo itself is quite spectacular. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always great to hear an awesome review from awesome guests! We can't argue that our condo is in the best location, and we do our utmost to make sure you have a stress-free stay so you can have a blast! We really enjoyed having you and hope you come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
90 Kilometres
Cranbrook
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Fernie Hotel
Nearest Golf
500 Metres
Fernie Country Club
Nearest Motorway
200 Metres
Highway #3
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Livery
Nearest Ski
9 Kilometres
Fernie Alpine Resort
Nearest Beach
40 Kilometres
Kookanusa Lake (lake is 120 kms long)
Car: not necessary

Welcome to 901 Fernie - The Old Schoolhouse is located in the heart of downtown Fernie, no vehicle required. One block to groceries, pubs, live entertainment, unique clothing shops, gift & wellness shops, coffee shops, fine dining and art museum. Within 4 blocks walk to movie theatre, aquatic centre/splash park, banks and ice arena. Winter is great, but summer is even better! Within a 10 min. drive you will be at famous RCR Ski Hill abounding with year-round activities: skiing/boarding, Xcountry skiing; mountain biking, climbing & hiking. Within walking distance or a short 2 min. drive to famous Elk River and fly fishing, tubing, swimming. Our executive style condo has beautiful mountain views that can be enjoyed from the balcony or through the large 9 ft. high windows while relaxing or entertaining in the great room/gourmet kitchen. Top of line s.s. appliances, gas stove, on-demand hot water, wall oven with warmer, 3 door fridge, 2 compact cabinet drawer refrigerators, wine fridge, and large island with granite. Unit has central air for those hot summer months, or a cozy fire place for the colder ones. 3 bedrooms each with own private bath and 'lock-off' for complete privacy all have large walk-in showers with rain shower and master also has a cast iron soaker tub. Beautiful original 19' high brick walls from early 1900's flow throughout each room. This one-of-a-kind unit in the building also boasts a unique private stairwell leading up to one of the bedrooms located in the old bell tower of the original school house. Also inside private laundry. This is a fully-equipped condo and comes complete with every essential so all you need to pack are your clothes and toothbrush. There is also free underground parking for one vehicle with elevator access to unit, plus ample parking on street outside main entrance for unlimited vehicles. Free storage space for skis and bikes. The price also includes cleaning fees, free wifi, cable TV with flat screens in living and master bedroom, all utilities, and free access to hot tub and exercise room. There is also a full-service Spa on-site complete with outdoor mineral pool for a nominal charge. You can't beat this price with all the amenities and privacy at any hotel or motel!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £43.74
Damage Deposit £291.62

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals