HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Summer Solstice Special 10 percent discount of base rental fee.

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,040 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 bedroom, 2 baths, sleeps 6

A three bedroom, two bath lake house, within steps of Lake Ontario. This house is located on the beautiful Seaway Trail. Spacious living room with television, videos and library of books. Completely furnished with everything you made need, including. linens, towels cooking utensils, washer and dyer. Enjoy the the awesome view of Lake Ontario while sipping your favorite drink. See the distance Toronto Skyline and soak up the serenity of this special area. Visit Niagara Fall and historic Lewiston, New York, which are just minutes away. Visit quaint Niagara on the Lake in Canada, a short drive away. Perfect for any type or reunion or special occasion. Customize your own birthday party. We will help you with you planning.

Sandy Yates
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
26 June, 2017

About Sandy Yates

I grew up in Lewiston and love this unique border town so steeped in rich history. Lewiston is a little hamlet very close to Niagara Falls and was burned down in the War of 1812.. I know everything about this area , past and present and love interacting with my guests. I try very hard to not only welcome them but am intent on learning and guiding them to having the best vacation they could possibly have.

Sandy Yates purchased this house in 2008

Why Sandy Yates chose Greater Niagara

This is a wonderful property. The neighborhood is so quiet and friendly. It is only 3 streets of small houses and cottages with the wonder of Lake Ontario, right there in your back yard. Ot os a very special place and one can't help but bond and relax while there. It is so close to all the action, but yet it is wonderful to come home to peace and tranquility. !

What makes this house unique

There are so many benefits, it is hard to know where to start. The lake front is just. a few steps away from the house. Although it is private to only the residents of this small community, it is like having your own private lake because there is seldom anyone at the lakefront. There is a wonderful spacious living room with a wrap around couch that is so perfect for visiting with family and friends. I love dogs and even offer an extra service in which I can watch your dog with tender loving care, if you decide to take a long day trip to Canada or elsewhere. .

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed your house and would love to come again. It is fantastic and the sunset and sunrise is terrific over the Lake Ontario. Thanks so much for letting us share your home.
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 5


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Youngstown in Porter

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1040 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • lake ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • river
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
  • There is also ample space to put in at least 2 roll up bed or inflatable beds because the living room is very spacious. These features can be added upon request and the household more than 5 with an extra fee. In special cases if there are children may sleep 6 with extra bedding. $25 fee per person per night with over 6 people.
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Raft
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Everything will be managed to make your stay wonderful with individual requests accepted. Refrigerator stocked if needed with food or special drinks. Professional massage available at house if desired. May obtain fishing guide if needed. List of all the local attractions and description of the wonderful local restaurants. at your disposal. Game table in the living room for cards or board games. . Cross country ski in the winter at Fort Niagara next to the house or try to use snow shoes. I offer dog sitting if you need it. I love dogs and do that as a profession.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(67 traveller reviews)

65% Complete
23% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Summer Solstice Special 10 percent discount of base rental fee.
average rating of 4.4626865 based on 72 reviews

Perfect quiet getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was PERFECT! Sandy was a pleasure to deal with and was very accommodating! The home had everything we needed and was very comfortable. We were honeymooning and very pleased with the quiet and friendly community. We even met a few locals that we wined and dined with. The views of lake are amazing!! Thank you Sandy! We will return!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cozy and such a nice quiet place

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time and we wanted a place close to Niagara Falls that was nice and inviting but at the same time didn't break the bank. This was a spontaneous trip that we thought about passing through to cape cod. We had read a bad review here which can really damage your thinking of the place. We decided to give it a try and we are so happy we did!!!! The owner is sweet and very easy to get a hold of. She was even nice enough to give us tips and info of events. Also, places to eat!! We will definitely plan a longer stay in the future. This place is so close to it all. All the wineries are fabulous and don't forget your passport! Your literally minutes away from

Canada !!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

We had to terminate our stay earlier, due to many problems with the house and the landlord. Upon checking in, the yard was not mowed, piles of leaves by door and food in the fridge . It was supposed to be a winter rental for a few months. We would have left way before it wasn't for the inconvenience of moving four children. Barely after two weeks in the house, the furnace broke and we were left for days in the cold. There were no back up heaters. The Landlord was out of state and did not provide for back up. She sent an amateur handyman to fix furnace and the poor guy struggle for hours in vain . I had to make calls over a week to before she would sent a real furnace guy. Even that she try a quick fix, which lead to a very noisy furnace. She was very irresponsible in that she wanted me to attend to the furnace guy and update her , instead of calling him herself. It was not a pleasant stay, since she didn't want to spend money and keep lying about everything to drag things. She moreover sent me a drunk guy to bring the back up heaters. Not equipped!

I also realized that there was no vent in my room!!! Beware if you are staying there for summer!!! There is no proper cold air return as per furnace guy. I rented it because it was a decent price for winter, but regretted it. I paid the price in harassment and poor maintenance.

There was a power outage and she refused to give me one day back of my rental for hotel costs! She wanted me to stay with my children dark without power in cold NY winter!!! She irrationally stated that it was warm and used her old mother story to gain sympathy, saying that it was not call for her!!! The neighbors told me that they are fed up with all the complaints from her renters. Two of them were nice and they help during power outage. The landlord refused to help, this knowing I have little boys!!!

Moreover , she lied and filed a false claim, stating we there was damage to fence, blinds and carpet, which I a total lie. We had a neighbor walk through on check out and will testify to contrary. This woman is so untrustworthy!!!! The house was not fit for winter rental and she lied to us. We left a beautiful house in the country due to my husband job to move there for a few months. She was harassing me with texts and calls. I had to file complaints with vrbo to make her stop. I had to spend many times there, this prior to Christmas, because of the many time she sent handyman, furnace guy, her boyfriend, cable guy, awful

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is regrettable to be accused of such things as stated . I don’t spy on my guests or lie and I would never falsify a damage claim by degrading my own home. 1. Furnace: two professional heating services were called immediately.. Two back up heaters delivered that night Furnace fixed following day Guest chose not to go to a hotel $200 refund with rent discount given Guest stated she was satisfied. Regarding power outage Heat restored during the night at guest house at 130 am. It was comfortable sleeping with blankets in the area. People advised not to drive. Constant updates given to guest from me by power company. I was accused by guest of lying to her about updates. There were many heavy blankets in the house. A neighbor notified me she left her dogs alone all weekend. I checked on house and dog viciously charged at window tearing mini blind in process. Finally I told guest to vacate house a month early. She left the house in a filthy and degraded state that required days of cleaning and repair by professionals. This was an initial assessment by a professional house cleaner and manager. The renters vacated late in the day on Monday April 3, 2017. I went to inspect the premises the next morning (April 4, 2017) When I entered, my senses were immediately assaulted by a strong nauseating odor of trash, wet dog & urine. I moved to open the windows for some fresh air, only to find that the mini blinds were mangled. Upon turning lights on, I realized that everything was absolutely FILTHY! Stains on carpeting. The livingroom sofa is full of debris & has what appear to be URINE STAINS on it. The kitchen sink strainer had been removed & the remnants of food & paper bits are stuck in the drain, raising the question of how much more is built up down in the drainpipe: plumbing issues to come? The lower 3' of hall & staircase walls are smudged with dirt (likely from the dogs). The upper bedroom mattress was exposed: a tangle of filthy bedding including the mattress protector & quilt can be seen in photo...including another mangled mini blind next to the bed. The lights in the main floor bathroom are all burnt out, as if they were left on 24/7. Summary: The house is not rentable in this condition. 6 mini blinds must be replaced. A steam-cleaner must be rented to attempt to clean the carpets & upholstry. Extra cleaning supplies will be needed including liq
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy and clean

  • 5 of 5

Sandy was wonderful to work with. She made sure we would have everything we would need before we arrived and was in touch while we were there in case we needed anything else. The cottage itself was immaculate and very cozy. We plan on returning next fall.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fort Wayne, Indiana

The property is quiet and quaint within steps of Lake Ontario.

  • 5 of 5

The owner was wonderful! She called during our drive to check on us because it was dark, raining and we were arriving late. She left us yummy treats when we arrived and even spent time with our dog while we were sight seeing during our stay. The house is quaint, comfortable and as described. It had all of the amenities you would need. It is an older house and some of the nearby homes look tired, but it was very quiet and I never saw another person around. The location was perfect for the things we wanted to do. We visited Lockport and took the cave and lock tour on the Erie canal - wonderful tour! We went to the Power Vista because it was raining, cold and windy (at Sandy's recommendation) and the family loved it and wished we could have spent more time there. The exhibits were state-of-the-art and all interactive. We spent a full 8 hours at Niagara Falls. I recommend the Canadian side as there is so much to do and the views are spectacular. We bought the package that lets you take the behind the falls tour, the white water walk, Hornblower boat to the falls, 4-D video and 48 hour unlimited bus service for ~ $50/person - well worth it! We would like to return when we have more time and better weather as there is so much to do in the area. I love Niagara on the Lake, but the weather didn't allow us to do that one this trip!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

VERY QUIET and CONVENIENT and QUIRKY home near Lake Ontario

  • 3 of 5

This home is in a very quiet neighborhood of mostly older homes. We hardly heard a noise from the neighbors. It is behind a row of homes on Lake Ontario so it does not have a view of the lake from the house itself. However, it is half a block from two benches overlooking the lake near a steep path down to the water. One evening we enjoyed iced wine and cheddar cheese sitting on the benches and looking over the lake at the lights of Toronto. It was wonderful. The sun room is right next to the road and looks into the kitchen of the house across the street so we didn't spend much time there, but it is a fine space if you need a quiet moment apart from the rest of the house. The upstairs appears to be a converted attic with a ceiling that slopes away from the center and short doorways. It is not suitable for people who are especially tall or who mind stooping a little, but it was clean and the bedroom is large. A portable air conditioning unit keeps it comfortable, even on a warm day. The house is older, every surface is covered with knickknacks, and it appears to have received various additions through the years, which gives it some quirks such as a washing machine in the bathroom and a dryer on the other side of the exposed furnace across the hall. But we found it to be very convenient to everything - Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canadian wineries, Fort Niagara, and the Seaway Trail, all of which are worth visiting. Sandy was very responsive and easy to work with and offered good recommendations for restaurants in the area in spite of being out of town for part of our stay.

If you want a newer and fresh home, this may not be the place for you. But the price, quiet neighborhood, and convenience may outweigh the quirks and make this a good home base for a wonderful vacation. That was certainly our experience.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Sunset Grill
"Great! In the summer thereis wonderful music on some days and there is an awesome view i..."
Youngstown Village Diner
"This is a busy little restaurant that serves basic breakfast and lunch. It has bee..."
Castle by Candlelight
"This activiity takes place in the winter close to Christmas. Fort Niagara is adjac..."
National Shrine Basilica of Our Lady of Fatima
Bistro At The Old Fort Inn -- CLOSED
Ray's Tavern
Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Buffalo Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Amtrack , Niagara Falls
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Villlage Restarant
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Kissing Bridge
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Olcott Beach

Youngstown is small, historic village where the Niagara River flows into Lake Ontario. It is within twenty minutes from Niagara Falls. There is a beautiful sailing marina there and is ideal for many outdoor activities. Enjoy kayaking, fishing, cycling, boating and many other great activities. It is also an extremely historical adjacent to Fort Niagara. Enjoy a beautiful, scenic drive to historical Lewiston along the Niagara River, located only 15 minutes from Youngstown. Artpark in Lewiston is famous for free concerts all summer long, attracting thousands of people. Take a ride on the famous whirlpool jet boat out of Lewiston. Get a view of breathtaking fall leaves and the Niagara Rapids from the Devils Hole Park. Enjoy many fabulous restaurants in this area.

Other Activities: kayaking


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Youngstown, Upstate New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
1 May 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £77.3
Pet Fee £38.65
cleaning fee £77.3
Tax Rate 12.0%

During the summer season, which is June- August, the property is rented only weekly with check on Saturdays. There are a few exceptions. During special holidays the rate is higher. Weekly rental in the summer season is $950 per week.In some instances I will accept 6 people if the guests make provisions with the owner. Additional $25 per night will apply.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals