HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Aloha! Centrally Located,4 Bedroom, 2 Bath-House-Ocean Views- GREAT LOCATION!

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Great Location, sleeps 10, FlatTV in all rooms, Pay Pal, CreditCard/ Check Taken

Say Hello to our friend! 'ALOHA' is a relaxing and clean- centrally located- 4 bedroom, 2 full bath, 3 level beach cottage located in KIll Devil Hills N.C.at Mile Post 9, between the highways, 1 lot back from beach road with great ocean views. IF YOU LIKE LONG WALKS TO AND FROM THE BEACH- DO NOT CONSIDER THIS HOUSE- WE ARE VERY CLOSE!!!!

The cottage has 1 king bed, 2 queen size beds and 2 sets of bunkbeds, with 2 full baths and an outside shower with ample changing room. We have a hot tub that is professionally maintained year-round. A ground level drink cooler keeps your favorite beverages chillin' so you can stay hydrated! The cottage has two decks that face the ocean with full sun all day up top with plenty of shade on the bottom deck.

We have a public beach access that is a one minute walk from the house that has lots of parking, public showers a bike rack and a LIFEGUARD STAND! ***Note to moms and dads-- the cottage is so convenient to the beach, that if trips are needed back and forth for the little ones, it is easy. One of the many reasons we bought the cottage.

The property has ample parking, a gas grill, basketball court, horse shoes,a volleyball net and a picnic table for a family feast.

'ALOHA' is located where you can get away ,but not be too far away, in a beach neighborhood ,of owners, that are friends. Shopping, drug stores, restaurants, and local 'watering holes' are all within walking distance.

This is our beach vacation home that we enjoy relaxing in, going to the beach, and eating the best food the beach has to offer. If more is needed, then----- The Wright Brothers Memorial, Carolina style golf,--- Jockeys Ridge State Park,--- The North Carolina Aquarium, ----Wild Horse Sighting Tours, The Lost Colony Play and World Class Fishing should be on your to-do list. Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Currituke-Bodie Island- & Cape Hatteras lighthouses are all within 90 minutes of 'ALOHA'. *** In 2011, Jennettes Pier reopened. It is now owned by the North Carolina Aquarium Society - they have plenty of fun things for the kids to check out. **In 2012 we added ceiling fans/lights to the three adult bedrooms. The cool breeze and white noise has made for even better sleeping. New Hot Tub for 2014 and new Hammock. In 2015 we added a set of deck chairs facing the ocean and flat screen TV's in every room. In 2017 we replaced the living room furniture.

Keywords: Cottage,between the highways, centrally located, walk to beach,beach access,kid friendly, life guard station

More Details

Owner
Anthony Davis
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2017

About Anthony Davis

We are a family of four that loves the Outer Banks and have beached here since we were kids. We have always enjoyed going with another family. We found that we enjoyed a cottage like 'ALOHA' far more than a motel/hotel. We feel at 'home' for a week at the beach. Convenience being key, with a family.

Anthony Davis purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Anthony Davis chose Kill Devil Hills

ALOHA has a GREAT location. It is right at a beach access that has showers and a Gazebo on the walk over the dunes. This is a big deal as getting onto the beach at the OBX, an access is required. Many people- while walking by our house on the way to the beach say- They wished they were at our house! Lifeguard Station- Yes this is still the ocean and as a parent and someone that has felt the power of the ocean, having a lifeguard RIGHT THERE is comforting. This cottage is easy in and easy out. It has the 'Beach Feel' that we wanted with the ease of entertainment and food all being close. The beach access being so close and so nice was key for us as we chose our home. With awesome morning sunrise views and with plenty of beach activity around you will enjoy this cottage like we do. Our beach house has the views and convenience that make a great cottage and will give you a 'HOME' in the Outer Banks.

What makes this cottage unique

Having plenty to do close by keeps the kids busy, and if part of the group wants to stay at the beach while others go back to the cottage, it is convenient that way. With the public access showers it allows you to get the sand off instantly from coming off the beach, something you take for granted until you either have to get in a car or walk forever to your place. Not here-- beach- stop in the Gazebo on the walkway across the dunes-- de-sand / de-beach the whole family, then take a short walk home.

The life guard station adds a blanket of security that everyone appreciates.

There will be corn-hole tournaments at the local 'watering hole' if you need a break, from your vacation-- dad!

Location

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Norfolk Va
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
BONZER
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
BUNCH OF COURSES
Nearest Motorway
200 Metres
158 Bypass
Nearest Restaurant
20 Metres
DAREDEVILS PIZZA, BONZER SHACK
Nearest Beach
40 Metres
Nags Head
Nearest Point of Interest
Life Guard Station
Nearest Point of Interest
Outer Banks Brew Station Windmill
Nearest Point of Interest
Wright Brothers Memorial
Nearest Point of Interest
Jockeys Ridge State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Restaurant Row
Car: not necessary

Aloha is in a great location at the beach. Mile Post 9 is centrally located between MP1 and MP16. It is also on the high and dry part of the island. When it rains - many areas around MP 1-3 and MP 14-16 suffer lots of standing water. Aloha is positioned right at an awesome beach access. Many people walk by the house to get to the beach. We have heard people say- I wish we were staying there - as they walked past our house!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Kill Devil Hills in Dare County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom Top Floor - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 Beach side - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bunkbed Room - 2 Bunk Bed
    Bedroom King Road side - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bunk Area - 1 Murphy Bed
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • 2 deck chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This is 'Our' Beach House, and because we are a family w children and we have friends and parents join us then the house is set up accordingly. You will enjoy the location and the house itself.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
16% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Aloha! Centrally Located,4 Bedroom, 2 Bath-House-Ocean Views- GREAT LOCATION!
average rating of 4.611111 based on 18 reviews
5

Great Property!

  • 5 of 5

The property is even better than the pictures show (more updated linens, etc.). The house was spacious enough that during rainy mornings we were comfortable, and it is close enough to the beach that once the clouds cleared we gathered the kids (5 kids, 5 and under!) and walked there in 3 minutes! This is a great space for family quality time, and it is close to restaurants for some time away from the kids too! Great property owner, very responsive and great with communication- VERY easy to work with! Thanks for a great week!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jennifer- We are glad you and your children had a great time at Aloha. We have kids and know how valuable that quality family time is. You guys were great guests as you also communicated well. We hope to have you come back again. Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at the beach! House was great and well stocked, perfect location, and the owner went out of his way to be helpful. I pretty much lived in the amazing hammock! Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hammock time at Aloha in the OBX is the best. We are glad you enjoyed the house. Hopefully you will return and continue to make Aloha your OBX beach escape! Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful beach house

  • 5 of 5

Location could not have been better! We had a small mishap on the first day but the owner took care of the issue right away. Walk to the beach was easy and short. Would highly recommend to anyone, especially families with small children.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you guys enjoyed your stay. Your communication helped me help you. You guys were great guests and I look forward to having you back next year. Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome experience

  • 5 of 5

The owner was great,location couldn't b better, house was amazing! We hope to visit again

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks David- We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the Aloha house. You guys were great guests as you were easy to communicate with. We hope to see you again in the future. Aloha! Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location, a little outdated

  • 3 of 5

So overall, this house met our needs. It is in a fantastic location (walking distance to CVS, a bar next door, pizza place across the street, etc). The hot tub is super nice and very comfortable, and was a really nice extra. The inside of the house is pretty outdated, and we were struggling in the kitchen as there are very few supplies. No viable coffee mugs, a few plates, and hardly any functioning pots/ pans. If you plan on cooking, you will want to bring your own pots and pans, etc. The bedrooms were ok, but I would suggest bringing your own linens rather than paying $50 for old towels and sheets that have clearly been used for years. The comforters/ bed spreads also were very used. I would also agree with the other reviews that it is really loud outside in the early mornings. Sleeping in is difficult, but that just translates to more time on the beach! Other than those things, which are all very "first world problems," we loved our stay. The outside shower and huge decks are awesome. Anthony is great to work with and was quick to respond to our inquires. It is clear he wants his guests to be comfortable. We would definitely stay there again, we would just know to bring more things with us next time!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kendall- Thanks to your review we discovered our cleaning crew were not using sheets/Linens and towels. that we had provided. That has been corrected. Coffee mugs, plates and pots/pans will be restocked. Unfortunately those things tend to disappear over time. Glad you had a good time. See you next time! Aloha Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Place Walking Distance to Beach

  • 5 of 5

Aloha is located walking distance to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay. House is well equipped and the bedrooms are good size. The owner Anthony was very helpful and quickly responded to any of our inquiries. We really enjoyed the Hot Tub. Kids enjoyed the downstairs room playing Wii. There are two restaurants at walking distance from the house which are good as well.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at ALOHA- Sounds like your family is like ours. We love the convenience of the restaurants and the short walk to the beach. We hope to have you guys back in the future! Anthony
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £74.57

If we cant come to the beach then the house is available to be used. The shorter stays will be based on time of year and the demand and situation. Please contact me and we will work it out- Aloha -Anthony

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals