HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Ennis Lakefront Home with Mountain Views

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Are you looking for something more than a lake cottage? Look no further than this custom lakefront home. Enjoy all of the comforts of home in a quiet, pristine lake and mountain setting. This is the perfect property for a family or a couple.

This custom home features an open floor plan with:

• Vaulted ceilings

• Walnut hardwood floors

• Floor-to-ceiling windows through the kitchen, dining room, and master bedroom with views of Ennis Lake and the Madison valley mountain range.

Anglers will be in heaven fishing for blue ribbon trout on the lake or on the nearby famous Madison River. Guests can fish right off the 20ft. dock—several guests have caught 20” brown trout right off the dock!

The large, open-floor living area features:

• Fully-furnished living room and dining room

• Dishes & housewares

• TV and sound system

• Books, games, DVDs

Three spacious bedrooms accommodate six people and include:

• Bed linens & towels

• Ample storage with full-size closets, dressers, and night stands

• Master bedroom (king) has a connecting full bathroom

• Two additional bedrooms (king) share a full bath

The outdoor space includes:

• Barbecue grill

• Deck with seating

• 1.5 acres

• Dock

• Abundant wildlife viewing!

Additional amenities include a half-bath and a laundry room with washer, dryer, and supplies.

This home is clean and comfortable but the real attraction is the lake. It is a hidden treasure. Traffic on the lake is minimal; it's warm and shallow near the shore (no drop-offs or holes). It's the perfect lake for kids, swimming, water-skiing, and kayaking.

Enjoy near-by access to hiking and mountain biking.

The quaint town of Ennis is 9 miles away and offers plenty of antique and souvenir shopping. The historic old-west town of Virginia City is 20 miles away, where you can enjoy a live musical or stroll down the boardwalk.

And don’t forget to visit Yogi Bear in Yellowstone National Park. This US treasure, with its abundant wildlife, is not to be missed and is only 70 miles from this lakefront retreat.

If you are looking to get away from the noise and distractions of your busy world, this place is for you. Experience peace and quiet and you'll return home recharged and inspired.

Keywords: Lake front; Ennis Lake; Meadow Lake; fishing; boating; kayaking; sailing; swimming; relaxing; adventure; hiking; biking;

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
27 April, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We give this property a rating of 4 out of 5 stars. My husband and I traveled with our granddaughter and stayed for 8 nights. We enjoyed the property and surrounding area very much. We recommend the house for families with small children and teenagers, a girls getaway, and folks over 55 years-old.

Submitted with permission from the guest.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ennis in Madison County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Half bathroom -
    Master bathroom -
    Full bathroom -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - King bed
    Bedroom 3 - King bed
    Master bedroom - King bed
  • King size beds (3)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


4.6/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

Ennis Lakefront Home with Mountain Views
average rating of 4.6 based on 6 reviews
Vista, CA

"Property and home are lovely."

  • 5 of 5

"....it was so wonderful to wake up to such a view each morning and on the clear nights we had, the stars were AMAZING!! I don't ever remember seeing so many stars at once!"

"[There are] some interesting visitors that come to your dock. Otters (that left little "presents"), ducks and pelicans. It was so much fun to watch the otters. They hung around for a couple of hours with their antics. We were able to get pretty close to them!"

"I definitely will be coming back to that area in the future. It is perfect." S.H., Vista, California

  • Review Submitted: Nov 20, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
arvada, co

Montana vacation

  • 5 of 5

The home was as the pictures show. The owner was very courteous and helpful. Yes, I would recommend this vacation home to a friend. Yellowstone National Park is close, as is the Madison River for rafting and fishing.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Waseca, MN

Stay in Ennis lake home

  • 5 of 5

The house was nice and clean and the water in the lake was great. The location is excellent if you want to play in the mountains on ATVs and then go fish up in the canyon. We were also close to many other attractions. The owners we easy and pleasant to work with.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Simons Island, GA

August 1-August 4 rental

  • 3 of 5

1. In general, facility was acceptable, but no extras

2. we were there during the extreme heat and no A/C made the house pretty unbearable during the day, but due to our fishing activities, we were not in the house during the daytime, only in the evenings when things cooled down.

3. Cleaning fee of $200 is twice as much as any house rental we have used---too high.

4. TV's are small and out of date--need to upgrade to larger format flat screens

5. There were the necessary kitchen ammenities, but bare minimum--certainly no extras

6. Handles were loose on window and door knobs--kept coming off, but still operated.

7. Dock on Ennis Lake needs cleaning--too many bird droppings

8. Outdoor deck was nice, spent some evening time there, but not enough outdoor furniture; with just 4 adults, had to pull inside chairs out to sit.

9. No soap or shampoo in master bathroom, assume none in other bathrooms, had to shower with liquid hand soap.

10. owners were nice and helpful, courteous

11. in general, especially considering the area, i thought the property was over priced for what we got.

12. poor cell phone coverage (perhaps Verizon problem) but no wireless internet in today's market is not acceptable. I should have asked about this before confirming rental. Without internet and/or cell phone, no way to keep in touch.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback and we regret that your stay was not to your satisfaction. Please understand, the majority of homes in Montana do not have air conditioning due to the short summer season. Given the cool evenings, folks just open windows at night and close again mid-morning. We provided several fans in the house for air circulation. As it happened, you were visiting during an unseasonably high temperature stretch but in any case, we do apologize that the house climate was not to your satisfaction. Regarding the TV, house wares, and windows: -We will address the flat screen TV upgrade for the enjoyment of future guests. -In the kitchen, we follow a guide provided by VRBO and other hospitality experts to ensure that the kitchen is fully stocked with common everyday items. -The hand dial on the windows comes off so that the shades can sit on the window sill. In regards to the deck furniture, as noted in the House Guide on the kitchen counter, we advise that there are additional deck chairs and umbrellas in the foyer closet. Due to the proximity of the lake and the fact the weather can change without much notice, we do not store additional deck furniture where is it exposed to the elements. We apologize if you missed this paragraph in the House Guide. The soap replenishment and condition of the dock are part of our final cleaning check list and we regret that these two tasks were missed by our cleaning company. I addressed this error with them to ensure that our cleaning check list is fully completed for each new guest arrival. Lastly, in regards to cell phone coverage, your feedback has us puzzled. Guests and visitors with cell phones have never had issues with reception on the property (nor have we). Smart phones and iPhones are able to access the Internet and have no problem with reception. We apologize that your cell coverage was intermittent. Again, we appreciate your feedback. Please accept our apology that your stay was less than you expected.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Colorado Springs

Loved the location!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house during the summer (2007) and loved it!!

Not only is the lake-side location ideal, the neighborhood is peaceful and quiet.

The house has all the necessary amentities and made our stay most comfortable and relaxing. It was just the reprieve we needed.

Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 9, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2007
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Gallatin Field Airport
Nearest Golf
11 Miles
Madison Meadows
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Miles
Hwy 287

Ennis Lake


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ennis, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £309.21
Cleaning & maint. fee £135.28
Tax Rate 7.0%

50% rental + 100% fees and tax due at time of booking; bal. due 14 days prior to arrival.
60 day cancel without penalty; within 60 days, 50% payment is forfeited

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot