HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

BlueRock BeachHouse with private pool

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights


About the property

4-Bedrooms , 3.25 Baths, (Sleeps 8 -12) ,

The BlueRock BeachHouse with private pool and gardens, was designed for the modern professional family. The home was a model of green construction, utilizing,traditional Hawaiian materials in innovative new ways. The striking gourmet bamboo kitchen was fabricated from recycled material. The solid 2 1/2 lava countertops make reference to the iconic Volcanoes. The coral stone used in the central island and bath rooms is filled with the islands fossils and shells. The stunning hand scraped ipe, or iron wood floors are also reclamed wood. etc. These indigenous materials are juxtaposed with the latest plumbing and applliances to produce a minimal, high tech, yet warm framework to observe the beautiful gardens and nature in the backyard surrounding the pool, with some of the oldest trees, and luscious flowers remaining in south Maui.

Eight people can stay in full size beds with luxury hotel mattresses.

For an additional fee you may add up to 4 more guests with an extra person fee. They can sleep in the italian pull out sofa sleeper located in the master suite or one of the two queen air mattresses that are often placed in the large master closet.

Also there is a folding single nova foam sleeper that is divine, but not recommended for broad shoulders .

Keywords: Traditional beach house renovated by renown architect and interior designer as a green model of solar living in town .

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 May, 2018

About Nicole

I am the owner,architect, and interior designer.

Nicole purchased this house in 2004

Why Nicole chose Kihei

This property is so popular because of it's unique location.It is the only vacation rental property available in the sacred, centrally located local neighborhood, where you can walk best places, that are not overpriced for the tourists in Wailea.

Nonetheless, I have remodelled the property with the same materials, and furnishings I use at the exclusive wailea Beach Villas, that command more than 4 times the cost.

I live in a wonderful, professional and local neighborhood where we all have lived for over 10 years.

What makes this house unique

Driving up to your own house with parking, pool, and freedom...is so much more relaxed then a resort, or gated property where must constantly show security your clearance, to go back an forth from the same beaches as this house. Also, having the same luxuries as home, like a gourmet kitchen, laundry, in addition to your own pool and BBQ, WIFI, HBO/showtime/IPad docks etcs, make this house a dream without the huge bill at the end of vacation that you dread!

Guestbook comments from the owner

text message left from guest

"Hi Nicole. Just wanted to thank you for a WONDERFUL stay in your BEAUTIFUL home. We thoroughlyly enjoyed every aspect of it. Tour service,attention to detail,keeping the home so well stocked,taking care of the pool-all so greatly noticed and appreciated. We've rented rented numerous homes and by far yours was the best. Kudos to you!We would definitely be back. Have a wonderful day!
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 6


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Kihei on Maui

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No parking is allowed on the street at any time! It is strictly for local residents, with local plates. Any fines $1000.00 pr will be assessed to me.
  • I will require a credit card deposit to cover this, it is a serious infraction of Maui County Code. They zoning commission enforces strictly.
  • Only park in designated areas or it will be very costly. They will not tell you, to tow. Just document and bill me.
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Outdoor Shower , hot and cold water
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master-suite 1. Also has a queen pull-out bed.
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (2) Pack and play, The house sleeps 8 -12. The master suite has a pull out queen sleeper and 2 queen air mattresses. owners optional master suite with master bath and living room with italian queen sleeper may be availalble at additional cost at special request - for 4 additional guests at time of your vacation upon request.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

67% Complete
20% Complete
6% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
BlueRock BeachHouse with private pool
average rating of 4.4489794 based on 55 reviews

Great time at the Maui beachhouse

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 12 that had a wonderful time for 9 days at Nicole's house. Nicole couldn't be there herself but had assigned a neighbor to help us and he was very responsive and friendly. The house itself is in the best location in a quiet part of Kihei, close to beaches, grocery stores and restaurants. The pool is great but not heated, so perfect for a hot day. We spent a lot of time outside the house anyway, so it didn't matter to us. The house has everything you will need, extra beds, linens, all the towels and beach towels you could need, a well stocked kitchen, parking for 3-4 cars and plenty of space for a large group to hang out. It was a bit tight for 12 people, but we are flexible group. All in all we loved our stay at Nicole's property!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sumier was a wonderful and organized guest who could not have been nicer. I am sorry I did not get to meet her on this trip to Maui. I hope she will come back. My housekeeping staff and Jamal my told me that she was extremely clean and neat, which always makes the my team happy as they are paid by the job , not the hour. I like to know that my guests cared for my home, and let me know .
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

nice relaxation home

  • 5 of 5

We all enjoyed our stay at this home. It's walking distance to the restaurants, grocery, beach, and park. Neighborhood is very quiet. The beds are very comfortable, no complains from anyone. The owner provides all necessities in the house for us to use exp. dish detergent, dishwasher detergent, toilet papers, paper towels, laudry detergent, cleaners and plenty of beach towels along with beach chairs and boogie boards. We all enoying spending time in a nice clean pool everyday. She has someone out to clean the pool everyday. We would defintely come back and stay there again next time.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Loann! I look forward to meeting you on you return. Aloha! Nicole
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The property has potential but needs maintenance

  • 1 of 5

We didn't review initially to give Nicole a chance to address our complaints. But she did not do this and she will probably respond defensively to this review, but we want other potential vacationers to know the truth. If you read other reviews posted, you will find a common theme: The water in the house is a huge issue. As reported by other guests before and after us: The water is either scalding hot or barely warm. The first day we arrived, the washer malfunctioned. The owner immediately ordered a new washer and dryer to be delivered. Should have been done prior to as the machines were ancient and the door on the washer was broken. Later, she blamed us for stopping up the washer. The circuit breaker kept malfunctioning (don't think the electrical can handle the current load on the house) and the owner again blamed that we were using too many appliances at a time. We couldn't regulate the house temperature, constantly too warm... Come to find out, it was being controlled from a nest system and when we tried to cool the house, it got reset. She again tried to blame us for setting the thermostat too low. The pool water was murky and the pool maintenance never got it right. The adults weren't as brave as the kids to swim in it and the kids couldn't use the pool the last day because he shocked it again trying to fix it. Overall, the house needed quite a bit of maintenance...nonfunctioning lights throughout the house...also a light hanging loose in the pool, the yard has potential but needs work. The surrounding neighborhood is very run down, but there were no incidents that we were aware of..it's a bit shocking when you first look around. And finally, a huge disappointment to find that the bedroom layout was misrepresented on the website. We were 2 families, so wanted a house with 2 master bedrooms. She has since changed the pictures, but when we viewed the pictures, it appeared that there were 2 large bedrooms and 2 smaller ones. In fact, there is 1 large master suite and the other ensuite bedroom is so tiny, it doesn't even have room for a chest of drawers or anywhere to store even a suitcase. Suitcases had to store in the room with the green couch. It was disappointing to have planned so long for and traveled so far for a very expensive Hawaiian vacation only to spend so much of it dealing with house issues, allowing maintenance people in and out and then the owner isn't willing to make any concessions for the inconvenience.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Mixed Review

  • 3 of 5

Great on inside shoddy on outside

  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: John I am sorry that my team did not take care of the landscaping, power washing and painting , as they were paid to do. My housekeeper Grace , refused to turn on my ext security camera's I use to supervise the maintenance. Unfortunately, while I was getting surgery she was sending me false documentation that the house was in good condition. I sincerely apology for her shocking actions. I hope you will return when the yard is returned to its glory. Aloha, Nicole
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Older we’ll kept home that has all you need!

  • 4 of 5

Our over all experience was good here with our family of nine ! The outside of the place took us aback but the inside and yard and pool was great! Nicole was very helpful in proving us with extras that we requested such as high chairs and baby beds! Her place provided beach chairs and toys and floaties for the kids and adults and having a private pool was such a hit with the family, we spent most afternoons playing in it with “Swanee”! Beds were comfortable and towels and bedding very nice, the house is well equipped! Kitchen sink is very high, which was a problem for us shorter folk but the taller ones took that duty over. Not Nicole’s fault but when we first came into her home the house looked clean , but within the hour of being there our socks were dirty and one of the bathrooms had a full garbage container and our little 4 year old had climbed up on the couch and it had shards of glass on it and she cut her foot and knee on it. But after cleaning those things up we really enjoyed the space and property !

  • Review Submitted: 09-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rachel thank you for being so helpful, while I restaffed. Because the cost of living is so high on Maui, skilled labor is hard to find and hold on to. I had to pay primadona Grace pay 500 for 3-4 hours to replace the two previous disasters I had. When I trained Grace she was 300, I mention this because guests, seem to think I make a lot on the cleaning fees, when they actually amount to close to 1000.00 a week between , the pool , housekeeper, landscaper & upholstery steam cleaning. However, I apologize for the delay in responding. I have been in California getting spinal surgery. But I wanted to thank you for assisting me, and I just the name on the review together with your face. That was a very hard day for me and you and your family were extremely kind. I want you to know that I was only silent because I was indeed mortified. Now that I am finally better, I can trueley supervise my team, and maintenance schedule. Thank you! I hope you your family return when the restoration is done and I can give you a special discount. Aloha, Nicole
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Relaxing & Amazing

  • 4 of 5

This property was very suited to our family. It has 4 bedrooms which includes a HUGE master bedroom, bathroom and closet where we were able to set up our granddaughter's bed with ample room. It fit our family of 8 adults *4 couples, one child wonderfully! Nicole was super friendly and helpful, and went out of her way to add extra touches for our stay. The pool was refreshing and we loved the natural look and feel of the backyard. The location was great as it was walking distance to a beach, shops and restaurants. The wifi was an issue as it consistently cut in and out, Nicole did everything possible to help us with this as well, and it did not prove to be a big problem and we worked around it. The house needs some paint and a few touch ups, but overall was quaint, natural, and a well laid out home which had everything we needed for a great stay. We loved it and would recommend Blue Rock Beach House and would definitely return there.

Thank you Nicole!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Wailea Emerald/Gold/Blue
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Sansei -Sushi
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Charlie Young
Car: not necessary

surfing at the cove blocks a way


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house on Kihei, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
April and May on sale sale
1 Mar 2018 - 26 May 2018
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Nightly Rate
27 May 2018 - 27 May 2018
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £63 per night, per additional guest
Early Summer
9 Jun 2018 - 28 Jul 2018
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Late Summer 2018
19 Aug 2018 - 28 Oct 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Thanksgiving Week
18 Nov 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Holiday 2018-19
18 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
14 night minimum stay
for 14 nights
High Season 2019
6 Jan 2019 - 9 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £63 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £73.69
Cleaning Fee £260.51 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £74.43

Check in time is 4:00 PM and Check out time is 11:00 AM.
Contact owner for additional rates and discounts please!
A security deposit paid directly to the owner by credit card of 2000.00 will be required, and refunded within 7 days if there is no damage, or missing items.

Please submit inquiry for accurate pricing!
*Special Holiday rates apply for all holidays i.e. Easter, July 4th, Labor Day,
Thanksgiving, etc.

There is an additional fee for more than 7 pe

Please submit the ages of the children if you bringing more than 7 occupants.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals