HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Location! Location! Short stroll to beach and village!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Whether you're looking to spend time with your family, friends or by yourself, this cottage is for you. We are located one block west of the Crab Trap, Crabdaddy's and the Beachcomber, 2 blocks from the beach with access through the King & Prince Resort and about a 10 minute walk to mini golf, the public pool, lighthouse and the downtown village.

Recently renovated and decorated, this cottage is comfortable and cozy with 3 bedrooms, 2 with queen-size beds and the bunk room with 2 sets of bunk beds. The master bedroom has a private bath. The hall bathroom has a huge shower. The kitchen is open with a large island and living room with a fireplace. There is also a game room in the back with a washer and dryer for your convenience. Enjoy your morning coffee on the front porch swing as walkers and bikers wave 'hello' as they pass.

Please see photos to get a better idea of this wonderful, charming, easy little cottage.

Google the address, 1137 Ocean Blvd, St. Simon's Island, GA 31522!

Keywords: Cottage, Beach house, home, beach home,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 October, 2017

About The Owner

We have always loved coming to St. Simons to visit family and have dreamed of owning a home here. In the spring 2010 we stumbled upon a little cottage that needed help. After months of renovations and collecting furniture we moved in! It has become a retreat from our crazy everyday lives. Jim's Grandmother, Nannie, used to look around at a family gathering and say, 'Look, we're making memories.' We hope to spend many happy years 'Making Memories' here. We hope to to share it with others as well.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

Why The Owner chose Coastal Georgia

We have always loved the simplicity of this sweet island, the ablity to walk to the beach, ride bikes, eat wonderful seafood and just hang out.

Location

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
St. Simons Island Airport
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
King and Prince Resort Beach Access

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Saint Simons Island in Glynn County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Private Master
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Hall bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Bunk Bed
  • Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2 sets-4 beds)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Location! Location! Short stroll to beach and village!
average rating of 4.825 based on 40 reviews
4

tasteful, well-proportioned cottage with lousy mattresses

  • 4 of 5

The title tells it all. I would re-book this place in a heartbeat if the owner would replace the mattresses in the queen beds.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry you did not like the mattresses. They have a thick pillow top. Some of our guest love them, some find them too soft.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

Close to the beach, plenty of room, really enjoyed.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Augusta, GA
5

Cute cottage close to the beach

  • 5 of 5

We had a blast at the beach cottage the past 8 nights! The house was very clean as were the sheets and towels. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook. We used the charcoal grill as well. There is a nice sunroom that was great in the AM to drink coffee and watch TV. House is very convenient to beach and restaurants - no driving needed. The owner was great-- good with communication. I can't really say anything bad about the house! It feels spacious and comfortable. Hope to go back soon!

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would love for you to stay with us again!! So happy you all had a great time. 😀�
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

We had a great first time visit to SSI for a family destination wedding. The house was great and comfortable. We brought our bikes and were able to ride to restaurants, beaches, etc.

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Mold and mildew

  • 2 of 5

The house was adorable. It is centrally located and we were able to walk downtown and to the beach. It was tastefully decorated and the beds were comfortable. Unfortunately, I noticed the smell before we even opened the door: mold and mildew. People with mold sensitivity beware.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry! I wish you had told us. Since we do not live on the island we are not there and do not know of problems unless someone alerts us. Mildew is a problem with beach properties, especially ones that were built in the 1940s. I will send the house manager/cleaning crew today to remedy the situation. Again, we are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Just to follow-up: Our manager and cleaning crew were in there the next day. They did not find any mold or mildew, but gave the entire home a deep cleaning. We always appreciate guest bringing any potential issues to our attention. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming home in a fabulous location

  • 5 of 5

We would rent again - great for a family with easy access to beach and Village.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to enjoyed your visit and would like to return. We'd love to have you stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Saint Simons Island, Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£782
for 3 nights
From
£234
From
£213
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,357
£4,762
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £79.81
Refundable Damage Deposit £190.03
Tax Rate 12.0%

***The summer is our busiest time of the year. In order to accommodate all our guests, we only book the cottage on a weekly basis from the Saturday before Memorial Day until the beginning of August.***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals