HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Classic waterfront estate in beautiful Sombrero Beach-- with 200' of dock space.

People14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Separate WC's1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Barbecue
  • Private Pool

Overview

About the property

5 bedrooms, 4 baths, 1 half bath, sleeps 12 -- optional 6th bedroom and bath .

To get a detailed accounting of rental costs please enter your rental dates in the upper right corner of the site and look for an instant quote. See COMPLETE rates section for additional information.

Casa Del Sol is a classic waterfront estate situated on a large corner lot. The interior includes a new gourmet kitchen with granite counter tops and premium appliances. An old world charm is captured through the use of arches and stone columns. All rooms, including bedrooms and baths are large, airy, and sun drenched. At either end of the house, the two master bedrooms extend out onto beautiful covered balconies and include full private bathrooms. The floors throughout are laid with a rustic travertine marble.

A large brick patio and pool area on the water side overlook 250' of dock space. A covered barbecue area with built in appliances to include a premium gas grill, power burner, Big Green Egg smoker, and sink are surrounded by mature landscaping. An inviting setting for family and friends of all ages.

Casa del Sol is a family home and was not built or designed as a rental property, and consequently reflects the attention to details often lacking in today's market .

Casa Del Sol is Marathon rental # PLR 2012 00436

Weekly Rentals: Weekly rentals in the Keys {and generally elsewhere } are based on a Saturday - Saturday occupancy. Check - in is on Saturday at 3:00 PM, and check - out is on the following Saturday at 10:00 AM. If other times are required \ requested this must be discussed with the homeowner or rental agent. To get a detailed accounting of your rental costs , just enter the dates of your stay in the upper right hand corner of the site and then get an instant quote. Casa del Sol is Marathon PLR# 2011 - 00436.

# 335110 Gooseberry Island: Please also check out our private island in Kittery Point, off the coast of Maine, ' Home Away ' # 335110. Gooseberry Island is located at the mouth of Portsmouth Harbor and has an unobstructed view of the open ocean, three light houses , two pre - Revolutionary war forts , as well as the harbor itself. The beautifully appointed cottage and near by rustic cabin can accommodate up to six people. This is a totally private island with no other dwellings ----- your own private kingdom ! Excellent swimming, beaching, and fishing right from the island. Please see our site for complete details and pictures.

Please also see "Home Away" # 4087681 to view our newly renovated 1740 cottage. Very privately located, It has 6 bedrooms and 5 1\2 bathrooms and can accommodate up to 14 guests. Also in Kittery Point, Me., the cottage is situated directly on the ocean on a 3 1|2 acre point with 925 ' of waterfront which includes a deep water dock and dock house. The views of the harbor and open ocean beyond are unsurpassed.

More Details

Owner
Jim Austin
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 May, 2017

About Jim Austin

For years we vacationed in the islands and Central America for holidays. We finally settled on Caye Caulker, in Belize ,where we spent many happy years. In 2000 we wanted to find a place in the US where travel would be easier and medical services better.

Marathon offered all of that yet still had the island feel. Surprisingly it also turned out to be better fishing all around than any of the other places that we had been.

Jim Austin purchased this house in 2001

Why Jim Austin chose Central Florida Keys

We chose this property for it's size and privacy. We have five boys and a girl and we wanted to have plenty of room for the whole family. The house needed total rennovation which was good as we were able to do just about everything that we wanted to do with it.

What makes this house unique

Fabulous place for a family reunion or celebration of any kind. Large enough to sleep 14 people .

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Marathon in Monroe County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , two sinks, walk in shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    powder room - Toilet , sink
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Additional full bathroom in the optional " Fish Room ".
  • Bedrooms two and three share a full bathroom. There is an additional full bathroom with the addition of the optional "fish room" which is available ONLY to guests staying in the main house. The fish room is an additional $500. for the week.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 sets of bunk beds
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Optional 6th bedroom in the "Fish Room"
  • The two master bedrooms have king size beds, are large, and include private outside covered porches with stone arches and stone columns in the Mediterranean style. The third bedroom also has a king size bed, and the fourth has two sets of bunk beds. The master bedrooms have their own private bathrooms, while bedrooms three and four share a full bathroom. The fifth bedroom has a king sized bed and full private bathroom. All bedrooms have full carpeting, and all bathrooms are laid with marble floors. An optional 6th bedroom { The "Fish Room" }, is a very private and wonderful space separate from the main house. It includes a beautiful bedroom with king size bed , 10' ceilings , and a desk built into a bay window overlooking the waterfront. There is a full bath room including a glass enclosed walk in shower. All counter tops are granite and the floor is marble. It includes WIFI, cable TV, and central AC. Used as an overflow for the main house at only $500. additional cost per week.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Casa Del Sol , unlike most houses in the Keys, is built at ground level. This translates to ease of entry as well as no stairs to navigate to put away those heavy groceries! Being able to walk directly out to the pool and barbeque area without going up and down stairs is a real advantage. Imagine yourself running up and down those stairs to tend to the outdoor grill !! Owners of smaller boats will appreciate the step - down section of our dock. Entry and exit from your boat is made easy by greatly reducing the distance between the dock and the gunwhale. Pool heat is available at an extra charge for those that need it. If the pool is heated to maintain a constant temperature of 84 degrees, the weekly charge is $250.. There is a small folding bed, also a booster seat with tray . We also have a child gate and a 'pack 'n play

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(59 traveller reviews)

Classic waterfront estate in beautiful Sombrero Beach-- with 200' of dock space.
average rating of 4.983051 based on 59 reviews
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this home was beyond amazing. The home was simply beautiful and the owners Jim and Tudor were so courteous and friendly. They communicated with us throughout the stay to make sure our stay was pleasurable. My brother brought a boat and Jim was so kind to allow us to launch from his other home, they went above and beyond for us. I can not wait to come back and rent this home again. It was so conveniently located, shopping was minutes away and Sombrero beach right down the road. We also had a pleasurable visit from a manatee and an a very large iguana.. The kids enjoyed it so much. I have to say the one thing that I admired the most was the landscaping. It truly made it feel like paradise. Thank you Jim and Tudor, the family had a blast.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tammy, Thanks to all of you for a great review. It is wonderful when guests are so appreciative ! We also look forward to your return , thanks, Jim & Tudor
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The home is absolutely gorgeous. Plenty of room for all 10 of us to enjoy each other's company.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home on the canal. Great kitchen to cook for a crowd!

Bedrooms and baths were luxurious.

Jim & Tudor were fabulous hosts with plenty of advice to make the most of your time in the Keys.

Went fishing and snorkeling from the boat available to rent and Jim took us fishing one day and we all had a great time and caught lots of fish.

Fish on!!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike, thanks for your great review. You came to the Keys to fish, and we are glad that everything { including the fish } worked out so well for all of you. We hope to see you back again in the future, Jim & Tudor
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property for large families or several smaller families.

  • 5 of 5

Great House! The Austins met us at the home when we arrived and showed us everything we needed to know and made sure we were happy with their home. The house is about a mile to Sombrero Beach which had a great Easter Sunrise service. The kids loved the heated pool worth every penny! Mrs. Austin contacted us a couple times to make sure everything was good. We had 3 families of 4 each and had all kinds of room. Unfortunately for us fishermen the wind blew to much to get offshore but we enjoyed the mangrove snapper we caught. Always got paid a visit at the dock from the Manatee. Will stay here again. Thank you Mr. And Mrs. Austin for the use of your home. Safe travels

The North Carolina Crowd!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tripp, thanks for your kind review, we enjoyed meeting you and your group. We promise that the wind will not be blowing when you return ! Jim & Tudor
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This property was exactly as advertised and was an excellent option for 3 generations of our family (6 adults, 3 teens and two children) to vacation in Marathon for Spring Break. It was a long drive in and the first two days we only wanted to relax around the pool and fish from the dock--even with the pool not being heated the water was fine. As noted in Jim and Tudor's property description, there are no stairs to deal with when bringing in the groceries--teens eat a lot! The suite downstairs was perfect for grandparents who are early risers and the bedrooms/baths upstairs gave everybody plenty of space and privacy. We opted to rent the "Fish House" too in order to give the 18 year old a little more privacy since part of the reason for this trip was his graduation present. Although Jim had some unfortunate problems with his boat and we had to cancel that rental, we were able to book last minute with Island Time Boat Rental and would highly recommend Mike Show if you have a boat rental need. It was very windy the week we visited and bay fishing was really the only option but we caught enough for two fish fries (you can obtain a 7 day license by phone). The outside kitchen area is great for frying fish and the grill was perfect for kabobs and steaks. Having two dryers in the laundry room greatly helped during the week and as we started towels and linens for the cleaning crew before we left. The large table shown in the photos is so wonderful for meal time and family game time--lots of laughs during Taboo and Speak Out. The kitchen is well designed and makes it easy for several people to easily be working at the same time. The landscaping is so nice and we took the opportunity to do some "Sweet 16" pics for one of the teens.

Jim and Tudor were very responsive during the booking process and graciously answered our questions before our trip. They dropped by the day after we arrived to make sure we knew where everything was and how things worked. I cannot imagine that you would be disappointed in this house or the owners if you book this for a visit to the Marathon area.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Cindy, first, thanks for a wonderful review. You were all model guests and a pleasure to host. We were delighted that you found so many outlets for your activities . We hope that you decide to return in the future , Jim & Tudor Austin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

This house is amazing!!! And the owners are so helpful and wonderful people, we couldn't have had a better vacation. The grounds around the house are so beautiful and spacious, that our family spent a lot of time in the pool and outdoors. Being here was like paradise, you didn't feel like you have to go anywhere else.

The Wagenmaker's

  • Review Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for a great review, you were all equally amazing ! We hope that you will come back for another visit in the future, Jim & Tudor
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My third winter trip to Marathon

  • 5 of 5

A Lovely home with lots of space for a large gathering or family. There were six adults in our group so we didn't need such a large home but were glad to have plenty of room to spread out. Jim and Tudor were there to welcome us, show us around the place and answer questions. They were kind and gracious host's. Jim even brought us fish filet's on two occasions which we so enjoyed. I think he wanted us to taste some of the local catch as on one of the days he had been out with his boat and we watched him filet them. Jim was quick to respond if we had questions. Today I did mail him a list of minor maintenance issues that would be easily addressed in order to make even the most particular guest more enjoy their stay. Nothing major but I suspect that the cleaning crew might not always keep him informed of small items needing attention. It is such a lovely home and due to their many bookings they obviously try hard to please. My wife recently had knee surgery and the downstairs bedroom was great for her to avoid stairs. I would however recommend the bed in the downstairs suite receive a new mattress as it has lost its support on the right side, as one faces the head board, and is sloping . Again, we enjoyed our stay, enjoyed the location, the home, the host's, we recommend it to others, and hope to return.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tony, thanks for your nice review. You guys were great, and we were pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again next year, thanks, Jim & Tudor
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Marathon Municipal
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
several in area
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Key West
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sombrero Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US Rt. 1 { Overseas highway --- mile marker 50 }
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Barracuda Grill
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Sombrero Beach
Car: recommended

The quaint tropical village of Marathon is conveniently located in the middle of the keys island chain. Fifty miles from Key West, and 100 miles from Miami, it has become the destination of choice for the outdoor enthusiast. Nature watching, abundant marine life, beautiful beaches and world class diving can be enjoyed by the entire family. Home to fabulous sport fishing; whether on the blue waters of the gulf stream or Florida Bay's renown back country, the variety of fishing is unparalleled. Other activities may include a dolphin show, Marathon's live theatre, a game of tennis or golf, or just plain relaxing. Marathon's climate is ideal,with average mid winter temperatures ranging from 65 - 80, and summer from 75 to the upper 80s. Area restaurants are many and varied, most of them built on or over the water. Whether the cuisine is local or international, most restaurants will feature the freshest of fish, lobster, stone crab, as well as the fantastic Key West pink shrimp.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Marathon, Florida Keys

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
27 May 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,213
for 7 nights
£4,213
 
 
Mini Lobster
22 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,953
for 7 nights
£5,953
 
 
Summer
29 Jul 2017 - 4 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,213
for 7 nights
£4,213
 
 
Regular Lobster Season
5 Aug 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,953
for 7 nights
£5,953
 
 
Summer
12 Aug 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,213
for 7 nights
£4,213
 
 
Fall
26 Aug 2017 - 17 Nov 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,474
for 7 nights
£3,474
 
 
Thanksgiving
18 Nov 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,518
for 7 nights
£5,518
 
 
Early Winter
25 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,561
for 7 nights
£3,561
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,953
for 7 nights
£5,953
 
 
New Years
30 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,953
for 7 nights
£5,953
 
 
Winter
6 Jan 2018 - 16 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,213
for 7 nights
£4,213
 
 
Spring Break
17 Mar 2018 - 6 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,431
for 7 nights
£4,431
 
 
Spring
7 Apr 2018 - 27 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,213
for 7 nights
£4,213
 
 
Late Spring
28 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,561
for 7 nights
£3,561
 
 
Summer
26 May 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,213
for 7 nights
£4,213
 
 
Mini Lobster week
21 Jul 2018 - 27 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,953
for 7 nights
£5,953
 
 
Summer
28 Jul 2018 - 3 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,213
for 7 nights
£4,213
 
 
Lobster season opener
4 Aug 2018 - 10 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,953
for 7 nights
£5,953
 
 
Summer
11 Aug 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,213
for 7 nights
£4,213
 
 
Fall
25 Aug 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,344
for 7 nights
£3,344
 
 
Thanksgiving
17 Nov 2018 - 23 Nov 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,518
for 7 nights
£5,518
 
 
Early Winter
24 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,648
for 7 nights
£3,648
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2018 - 28 Dec 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,953
for 7 nights
£5,953
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £773.03
license holder's fee £38.65 + Tax
Cleaning £228.04 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Security deposits are returned during the first week of the month following your rental period.

The "Fish Room" is available on request for an additional cost of $500. per week. It is ONLY available to guests renting the house.
Glacier Bay 26' catamaran { Canyon Runner } with twin 115 Yamaha 4 strokes $2250. per week , $1250 for three days. Special price $1850 from Thanksgiving through April.

House rentals are from Sat. at 3PM to the next Sat. at 10AM. Boat rentals from Sat. after 3PM til Friday at sunset. Other times by arrangement.

Pets are an additional $250. per week with prior approval by the owners .

$1000. security deposit due upon reservation { refunded within 30 days of departure }. All payments must be paid by personal check, bank check, or wire transfer. Balance of rental due 90 days prior to rental week. A Full refund will be paid 90 days or more prior to rental week, with no refund after the 90 day period. Guests are reminded to look into rental \ vacation insurance options on line.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable