Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Butte Creek Perfect Getaway (NEW AC system!)

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,500 sq ft
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Chateau / Country House on Butte Creek, 2500 Sq Ft, 4 Bedrooms (Sleeps 8-10)

Chico Creekfront Perfect Getaway in beautiful Butte Creek Canyon. 2500 sq ft home GREAT for family reunions, getaways or as a romantic retreat or stay. Swim with the salmon all summer in the deep hole off the back deck where 40-100 salmon stay from April to October when they spawn. Largest wild run of Chinook Salmon in California and therefore protected from fishing. Fishing is allowed mid November and anglers have pulled dozens of steelhead when fly fishing at my place. (Catch and release at that time but very fun!) Watch the salmon jump as you enjoy dinner on the deck or use the mask & snorkle to see them up close as they flutter by you. Take the sturdy stairs that lead down to some great diving rocks. There are kayaks to rent if you wish to adventure down to the historical cover bridge. It is an easy go of it but exciting and beautiful all the same. Enjoy bird watching or get lucky to see deer, quail, turkey vultures, otters or a variety of waterfowl. Listen to the creek as you soak in the tub or enjoy the hot tub on the back deck. This is truly a perfect getaway just minutes from Chico. If you love to bike, it is a perfect 7 mile ride downhill to the 6 hole golf course or bike up for a great scenic workout. This is also a historical sight and you can learn about the diamondville area in the gold rush days at the museum just 2 miles further up. There is even a mining cave on site.

Keywords: Home, Getaway, piano, fishing, beach, creek, RV parking

More Details

Nancy Jensen
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 July, 2018

About Nancy Jensen

I work full time at the local community college but this getaway I bought is my true dream and renting it helps for me to afford it while continuing to work on making it even better year after year. It feeds my soul and my love of nature just minutes out of town. I go here to unwind, play with my friends and family. We ride dirt bikes on the local trails and swim with the fish. My dream is to share it with others, improve it each year and have others appreciate it as much as I do and hopefully return year after year or tell their friends.

Nancy Jensen purchased this chateau / country house in 2009

Why Nancy Jensen chose Chico

You have to come stay and you will know instantly why. It is truly natures fun world!

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Dirt biking on the local trails, swimming with the salmon, tubing, hot tubbing, kayaking, mountain bike riding, gold panning, skipping rocks, soaking up the sun, watching the wildlife, playing pool, watching a movie, playing ping pong, foosball, video games, basketball, laying in the hammock. Eating, drinking and enjoying nature, friends and family.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My first renter since offering my home in early March helped point out what could make my home a better stay. I appreciate the feedback and I believe I have made many improvements since then which I list below. My goal is to continually improve this property so you can have the best stay possible. Hope you come and enjoy this beautiful setting.


* All broken deck boards replaced

* New deck supports added

* Deck newly stained

* Outbuildings Reroofed

* Garbage serviced weekly

* Pest control added

* Hammock added

* Facebook added with more pictures
Mar 2011
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Chico in Butte County

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Mountain View
  • rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bathroom has tub with creek view
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , California King, large walk in closet, adjoining bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , trundle
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , 2 sleeper sofas
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 1 deck chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Grand Piano and guitar. Please only use if know how to play.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(44 traveller reviews)

63% Complete
29% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Butte Creek Perfect Getaway (NEW AC system!)
average rating of 4.4772725 based on 45 reviews


  • 5 of 5

my family really enjoyed swimming in the creek with salmon, trout and minnows as the dragonflies and butterflies danced overhead. 3 huge birds flew overhead all day and we saw two huge swarms of hummingbirds come through the yard. I was even fortunate enough to see a deer cross the creek. It was hot inside without AC but it's super easy to cool off in the creek and who wants to be I side with nature like that anyway. However, if you prefer the indoors there are also more amenities than one could possibly use. The creek is also perfect for rafting and the beautiful honey run bridge is so close it's a must see during your stay. I recommend you wear shoes down to the creek as the ladder was a bit hard on my bare feet. I highly recommend this place to even though I'd prefer to keep this secret amazing spot all to myself. We can't wait to come back and hope that we will be able to soon. It truly was what Nancy calls the perfect getaway

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location, location, .location!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had our college reunion at Nancy‘s home on the creek. The location of this home is right on a beautiful creek with a giant deck. The pictures of this house do not do it justice as far as the size. That house had everything you need, fully stocked kitchen, lots of entertainment. Nancy is very friendly and makes herself very available for any questions or issues you may have. We had a problem with the hot tub not getting hot enough and when I called her she immediately came out and fixed it. We had so much fun that we will definitely think about going to Chico again for a reunion and staying at Nancy’s beautiful home on the creek.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything we wanted

  • 5 of 5

We found Nancy’s rental while filtering a search that was waterfront with a hot tub-after we saw her house in the listings we were obviously excited to see the home in person.

Once we arrived and walked on to the deck we knew we made a great choice! The hot tub is sunk into the deck so you literally feel like you’re above the river as you relax and just look up at the gorgeous oak trees. It’s private and comfortable and feels as if you are in a mountain retreat . The house was clean and had everything we needed in the kitchen. We are big cookers so this was a great bonus. It was January when we stayed but I run hot so turning on the air unit was nice for me,the hot sleeper.

We had a fire on New Year’s Day and just stayed at the cabin enjoying the river. We watched birds and deer all day long. We are absolutely coming back for summer! Love this spot!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House is well equiped.

  • 5 of 5

Nice and house in a quiet area right on Butte Creek. The owner responded immediately when a issue came. Would rent the house again.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Stay!

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and loved the secluded location. There were beautiful views all around the house. There was only AC in one room so the house did get very hot, but a precarious trek down to the creek is the best way to beat the heat.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing my Getaway for your stay. You and other travelers will be happy to hear I have invested in central heat/air and it is now installed. I also just purchased unlimited WIFI which was another request of travelers. Hopefully, it will be a Perfect Getaway for all who stay here on out. Please return book and enjoy an extra day free on the house. We certainly had some hot weather this year. Thanks for making the best of it!! Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

The only good thing I have to say about this property is what mother nature created, not the home owner! The creek running behind the house is absolutely stunning and that is about it. When I booked the house with the homeowner no where it stated that the house had no central Air conditioning. Nothing was said until we where 10 mins away from arriving. She offered us a refund at that time but not knowing the severity of the heat in the home we declined the refund. (not to mention it would have been impossible to find something else at such short notice) After arriving to the home we only stayed one night and had to leave due to the extreme heat conditions (at night) not to mention the neighbor. She offered us a refund as long as we left the house in the condition we accepted it in. So we did! Its been over a month now and no refund at all... Not to mention she charged us $200 for the security deposit because of fabricated lies. She accused us of things we couldn't even possibly do???? Beware of the Neighbor if you want to hang out in the creek or the porch. He will video tape you the entire time just to file a complaint with the owner. Seems they already have issues with each other because she rents out the house. We have already filed a formal complaint with Home-away and in the process of disputing the charges with our credit card. I would recommend looking elsewhere.....

  • Review Submitted: 15-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I've been lucky to have respectful guests but these were not the case from the get go. 6 guests arrived when they only reserved the place for 3 people. I had them check the heat in the house and offered a refund but they said it was nice and actually cool. However, when I asked them to leave 2 1/2 days into their stay when the neighbor sent me video of them throwing beer bottles in the creek of which my neighbor pulled out 8 bottles from the bottom of the creek. They demanded a refund since it was too hot there. They used 6 beds when they said the other 3 guests were not staying. They broke the garbage can, the BBQ lid, and left dishes and food messes along with bags and bags of garbage. I sent pictures of to VRBO who almost always sides with guests. In this case they did not. I love my home and neighbors and when guests are respectful it all works out great. Sorry this one didn't.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Sierra Nevada
Upper Crust Bakery
Bidwell park
Shuberts Ice Cream and Candy
Sausage bread...Yum!
Italian Cottage
Seafood lasagna a must
Christian Michaels Ristorante
Panighetti's Eatery
Tres Hombres
Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Tackle Box
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Skyway Golf
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Nearest Motorway
11 Miles
Hwy 99
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Italian Cottage
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
On site
Car: recommended

A local historian who runs the Centerville museum is also master sportsman who can set up raft, hiking or kayaking excursions. Just call for details or I will provide contact information at the home.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chateau / country house in Chico, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
17 May 2019 - 2 Jun 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £38 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £38 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £151.16
Cleaning £151.16

Owner prefers echeck payments to avoid the 2% CC charge that could increase costs and it is safer in many ways.

Basic Cleaning Requirements: Property must be left as found other than towel and linen cleaning which is included with your stay. Please leave used beds unmade and towels in tub or laundry room. Full refunds only available if reservation cancelled 30 days in advance and re-booked. Otherwise a $50 processing fee applies. Small Weddings or Events ($20 per person for additional guests not staying) 3 GB Wifi during stay for surfing and email (online gaming & streaming video will be charged at $15.00 per GB.) For additional guests, please contact owner. Pets are no longer allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals