HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

13 minutes to Epic! Real Log Chalet

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This log chalet was designed and built by Reggie, Rick, and Spencer Luedtke in 2010. The white pines used in the construction of the log walls were cut, peeled and transported to the site by the builder. The unique floors and trim throughout the house originated from the black walnut trees growing on the property. The log chalet is located on 8.5 acres - half of the property is wooded and half is open. Located on a hilltop outside of Mount Horeb, the chalet boasts amazing views from each of the 3 deck levels of the home.

Hilly local terrain, abandoned railroad trails and off road trails in the state park provide opportunity for all levels of biking enthusiasts. Mount Horeb has an 18 hole golf course, Cave of the Mounds State Park, public pool and almost weekly organized events within a 1-2 mile drive. The radiant floor heating system and wood burning fireplace together with the proximity to downhill skiing (Tyrol Basin) and cross country trails make this chalet an ideal winter retreat.

Keywords: Log Home, Log House, Log Cabin, Cabin, Chateau, Country Home, House, Lodge

More Details

Owner
Jeffrey Peterson
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 January, 2018

About Jeffrey Peterson

Grew up in Clintonville, Wisconsin (45 min west of Green Bay)

Enjoy traveling (art and pictures in the house from Brazil, Nepal and Europe)

Co-Owner of Bluetree Network and Founder of Branch2, both Madison-based companies.

The chalet is my favorite place to be but a 3 bedroom house is too big for a single person. Feel free to contact our property manager, Jeff, at 608-279-3421.

Thanks!

Reggie

Jeffrey Peterson purchased this chalet in 2010

Why Jeffrey Peterson chose Mount Horeb

Construction began in 2007, the home was completed in 2010.

I fell in love with general feeling of the property, views and surrounding area.

What makes this chalet unique

8.5 acres of land provides large open space for outdoor games and walks in the woods.

A 40x80 foot natural swimming pool / pond, 60 foot stream, and 3 raised bed garden areas are the newest additions to the property. Finished landscaping is also complete. Overall this makes for a wonderful outdoor space.

Late Spring, Summer and early Fall bring beautiful sunsets and unusual cloud formations. The views of falling snow from the hilltop are a site to see in the winter.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Reggie,

We had a wonderful time-

Place is gorgeous

Sunday snow was amazing-

Thanks for the memories



Ron & Mary Keenen



Reggie,

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful views, quietness, and cozy warmth of the fireplace! We shared the cabin with our best friends and had a great time relaxing and visiting!



John & Pat O'Donnell
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 72

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Mount Horeb in Dane County

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3) Queen Beds in all 3 bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(38 traveller reviews)

65% Complete
28% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
13 minutes to Epic! Real Log Chalet
average rating of 4.605263 based on 110 reviews
5

Cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time ringing is the New Year at the Walnut Chalet. The warm fire kept the cabin warm and toasty despite the extreme cold temperatures. Thanks Jeff for the great communication, restaurant recommendations and for ensuring our stay was what we expected. We will be back.

Kind regards - Karin from LaGrange IL.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location/ Accomodations!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay! Great location, very private and abundant wildlife! The house is a REAL log cabin and is very comfortable. The large decks are great to watch the evening sunsets!!!

  • Review Submitted: 01-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison, WI
5

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful location for our annual golf tournament - 6 friends from high school; secluded place to relax and use as home base to golf 3 of the top courses in the Madison area, all within 20 minute drive - U-Ridge; Bergamont & Hawk's Landing. We'll be back!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, peaceful, secluded, lovely home.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Black Walnut Chalet while I was competing at the CrossFit Games in Madison. It was the perfect getaway after grueling days of competition. The decks overlooking the pond and scenery were beautiful day and night. They were our favorite place to hang out and relax. There was plenty of hot, soft water and we took advantage of the spa tub in the main bathroom.

We found the property to be clean and in good condition. The property manager was especially nice, and immediately responsive to inquiries.

We would definitely consider staying again.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property and cabin were great! Loved the location!

  • 5 of 5

Very quiet and secluded. Decks are great overlooking property.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Radcliffe, Iowa
3

Beautiful scenery

  • 3 of 5

The Log Chalet is very beautiful. It was very easy to get to and from our wedding site nearby. I hate to be negative but we did have a few glitches along the way. I did have to get a hotel room for 2 of the guests that I thought could stay here as it was billed as 8 could stay. However, the extra space for 2 just didn't work for us. One was a leather sectional and the other a very small couch. Rollaways would be a nice addition. The freezer did not work and our ice cream melted. The air conditioner just couldn't keep up and the remote was difficult for us to operate. One must also be careful on the stairs to the 3rd level. For children, I would be concerned about falling as the first step doesn't have a rail.

The gas grill is very far from the chalet, down by the water. We also had trouble with the batteries in the remotes. I think the Chalet would benefit with a more hands on caretaker.

For 6 or less visitors on cool days, it is a great place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We apologize that you weren't all able to sleep at the chalet, but hope you all enjoyed the property while you were there. We have acquired more additional bedding to better accommodate larger groups and tended to the issues you discussed. We are hopeful that you'll consider a stay in the future. Thanks! -Jeff Peterson
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
The Grumpy Troll
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Norsk Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
The Grumpy Troll
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Tyrol Basin
Car: necessary

Bike Trails, Little Norway, Cave of the Mounds, Norsk bowling and golf, American Players Theater Spring Green, State Park, Tyrol Basin ski resort, 30 minutes from downtown Madison

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Mount Horeb, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter
1 Dec 2017 - 2 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£352
for 3 nights
From
£98
From
£129
Fri,Sat,Sun
£719
£2,341
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £36.1 + Tax
Cleaning £54.14 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £144.38
Tax Rate 5.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Children 2 years old and younger should be entered as children (and are free). Children 3 and over should be counted as adults.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals