HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Gathering Place Too

Bedrooms 7
Space 4,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 7 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4.25 Baths, (Sleeps 22-34)

'The Gathering Place Too' is a new cabin overlooking the Beautiful Bear Lake. The Main level has the Great room (front room, kitchen and dining) Plus a Big Family room with TV and a BluRay player. There is a Full bath, Guest bedroom with a Queen, and the Master Bedroom with a Queen Bed & Master Bath with a jetted tub. The kitchen is fully equipped and spacious. The Master Bedroom has a bay window to the East overlooking the Sweetwater Golf Course and the Lake beyond. The view of the lake is SPECTACULAR from the wrap around deck!!

The Lower Level is a daylight basement with a walkout. There are Five bedrooms downstairs. Three of the Five contain Queen Beds. Two of the bedrooms are furnished with 3 bunkbed sets each (sleeps 12). There is a foosball table and TV with BluRay player down stairs. There are Two bathrooms with showers downstairs.

Total Beds = 5 Queens (sleeps 10) 6 bunkbed sets (sleeps 12). There are 12 twinsize mattresses in the closet for kids to use on the floor of the family room. (bring your own bag). 22 in beds plus 12 on floor totals 34 capacity. There is 1 pull out couch in the Upstairs Family room that can be used as well. Towels and linens provided.

ATV and Snowmobiling trails are nearby and can be easily accessed from the cabin. You can literally ride your machines from the front porch to some of the greatest and most scenic trails in all of Utah!

There are multiple public beaches that can be accessed from the cabin, all within a 5-10 minute drive. The Sweetwater Golf Course Clubhouse is a short 5 minute drive away. The property is frequented by local wildlife including deer, moose, elk, rabbits, and wild turkeys and there are frequently bald eagles and hawks flying overhead.

Keywords: Bear Lake, Cabin, Lake view, Mountain, ATV, Snowmobile, Boating

More Details

D.J. Ballingham
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 April, 2018

About D.J. Ballingham

Our family lives in Logan. We have ten people in our family so we know about needing space. Our family loves to go all over the United States and Canada to see all of the amazing things there are in the world, but we always love coming back home to Bear Lake.

D.J. Ballingham purchased this cabin in 2013

Why D.J. Ballingham chose Sweetwater

Bear Lake is a place where families love to come. It is very satisfying to provide a place for families to build bonds of love and make memories that strengthen ties.

What makes this cabin unique

There are some breathtaking sunrises. It is amazing to sit on the deck overlooking the Lake and golf course, taking in the beauty of nature. At night, the stars are bright and beautiful, making it an incredible place for stargazing and sleeping under the stars. We love to see the wild turkeys on the hillside, as well as the deer, elk, and moose that frequently visit. Riding through the hills on 4 wheelers and snowmobiles is one of our favorite activities. You can ride as far as Hardware Ranch through the National Forest on ATVs or Snowmobiles. The Rodeo & Raspberry Days are great attractions in August. Pickleville Playhouse is clean family fun (live theatre). Finally, and most importantly, there's the lake, with its bright blue water and fun activities. Water skiing, Jet skiing, sun bathing and beach fun are all just minutes away. If you like to fish, there are big Mackinaw and Cutthroat Trout in the lake, and for the kids, there are a few small community ponds nearby that are stocked with Rainbow Trout.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Sweetwater in Garden

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 34
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • rural
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jack and Jill splits the tub & toilet from the vanity
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , Split Bath has tub & toilet: shower & dressing: vanity
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Jacuzzi , Master bath has jetted tub
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , split bath= toilet: shower & vanity
  • 4.25
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 34
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Master Bedroom has master bath with a jetted tub
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , On the main level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Located at the bottom of the stairs. Large walk-in closet
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , Located in the SE corner of daylight basement
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , In the N W corner of the daylight basement.
    Bedroom 6 - 3 Bunk Bed , Sleep 6 in this BR on the S. side of daylight basement
    Bedroom 7 - 3 Bunk Bed , Sleep 6 in this SW corner of the basement
    Family Room - There are 12 twinsize mattresses for the floor.
  • Queen size Beds (5), Bunk Beds (6) 3 bunk beds in BR #6 and 3 bunk beds in BR #7 sleeps a total of 12 in the bunk beds. Plus there are 12 twinsize mattresses stored in a closet to use on the floor.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Table Football
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • churches
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Parasailing
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

58% Complete
35% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Gathering Place Too
average rating of 4.529412 based on 17 reviews

The house was great in every way. The kitchen had everything we needed and plenty of parking area

  • 5 of 5

Family loved the house and definitely want to return. Wish the house was closer to the lake but the travel back and forth was manageable. Appreciate all that was done to make the accommodations more than what we would have expected.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good, but has some problems

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the size of the house, and the accessibility to our activities. The household "stuff", such as pot and pans and kitchenware was more than we expected. The house was tastefully decorated. Loved the bathrooms, the linens, and the size of the rooms. And, thanks for arranging the appearance of the deer every evening and morning (just kidding).

Problem with sleeping: Upstairs non-master bedroom too hot, no ventilation! The bedroom below the table and chairs echoed with noise from above.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lots of space for everyone!

  • 5 of 5

We had 2 separate family reunions here and they both were great! The inside is so very nice! The set up is great! The extra fridge/freezer outside was super helpful! Lots of towels! Only thing we couldn't find was a cutting board :)

FYI- the master bath doesn't have a shower, just a big jetted tub so just plan accordingly. Thank you! The owners were really great to work with! Would definitely come again and recommend to others.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Idaho Falls, Idaho

Beautiful view

  • 4 of 5

This was our second year at the Gathering Place. We enjoyed the beauty of the area, the comfortable and accommodating home. We had plenty of sleeping area and mattresses to sleep on. I would recommend to family and friends as a home away from home.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place

  • 3 of 5

The property was great. Location close to lake, golf course. Beautiful setting.

The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed, bathrooms also, plenty of room for our group. I really enjoyed the cabin. No wifi was a little inconvenient, it also got pretty warm in the afternoon with no a/c but cooled off quickly in the evening. Sleeping was comfortable.

My complaint was with communication. Before we booked and paid questions were answered and it was great. After payment I sent several emails wanting check in details. No response. We couldn't even get in. We luckily found an open window.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kelly, We're so sorry you felt like we weren't responsive prior to or during your stay. According to our records, information was emailed to you on April 24, 2017 regarding your stay. That information included the code for the front door as well as all additional information about the cabin. We also don't have any records of calls or messages that would indicate that you reached out to us for information. Typically, all the information necessary is included in the aforementioned email. Thank you for making us aware of your experience and we assure you that we will do our best to not allow this to happen again. We would be happy to invite you back to our property at a discount to make certain that your next experience is a positive one. Thank you again for making us aware of the challenges that you experienced. Sincerely, DJ and Heather Ballingham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious, well-stocked, clean, comfortable, everything you'd need, beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

Our adult family spent 3 nights at this well appointed home. There were bedrooms for everyone. We did not use bedrooms 6 and 7 which had 3 bunk bed sets each. The kitchen was exceptionally well stocked with everything you'd need. Three family rooms gave everyone, adults and little children, their own space. The views of Bear Lake and sunsets and sunrises were an unexpected surprise. The large deck has 2 large tables and seating for our family of 9. The owners were helpful and easy to work with. Highly recommend The Gathering Place Too!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Logan, UT
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Bear Lake West
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sweetwater Golf
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Ogden, Utah
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 30
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Several in Garden City
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Beaver Mountain Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Bear Lake 250 E Loop Rd
Car: necessary

Snowmobile or ATV from the front door into the National Forest for miles and miles of trails


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £142.86
Damage Insurance £42.14
Damage Deposit £357.15

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.