HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

'Wish Upon a Starfish' - Great Location - 1/2 Block to Beach

Bedrooms 5
Space 3,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 11-13)

Wish upon a Starfish is decorated beautifully and is oh so comfortable. The large open living/dining/kitchen area is a great place for everyone to gather and relax. The teak floors make the home feel so cozy and warm.

With 5 bedrooms and 4 baths there's plenty of room to stretch out. Balconys outside the main living area and master bedroom provide a nice area to feel those cool ocean breezes while enjoying everyone's company. The beautiful pool just down the street provides a nice oasis if you desire a break from the beach.

A large deck with ample seating and 4 burner gas grill provide a nice place to have a cool evening bar-b-que and recall the days activities.

Keywords: Beach House; Destin Beach house; Vacation Beach House; Crystal Beach

More Details

Kenneth Trocquet
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 April, 2017

About Kenneth Trocquet

We love the beach and mountains, but this area always keeps us coming back. We have children and grandchildren who we love sharing our home with.

Kenneth Trocquet purchased this house in 2010

Why Kenneth Trocquet chose Emerald Coast-Destin Area

We have been coming to the Crystal Beach Area for many years and dreamed of owning a home here. In the Summmer of 2010 we found this home in the lovely Crystal Shores neighborhood and fell in love with it. The area is so quaint and quiet, yet so close to the beach.

What makes this house unique

We love how close we are to everything - beach, shopping, restaurants, golf.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wish Upon a Star was one of the best rental homes our multi-family group has had in the 20+ years we have been renting in the Destin, Florida area! The home was spacious, clean, well ac'd, and had tremendous WiFi and media (HD Tv's, DVD players). The room arrangements and amenities (grill, nearby pool, beach location within 200 yards) were wonderful. The rooftop porch and crow's nest (with chairs) were perfect for morning or evening conversation/reading time. Southern Vacation Rental staff kept in touch and helped us when we had a question.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 3


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Crystal Shores in Destin

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Downstairs En-suite bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Master bath with extra large shower & Jacuzzi tub
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Upstairs Guest bath with soaking tub
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Carriage House bathroom
  • 4
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , This is the downstairs bedroom in the Main house.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , This is the Master BR on the 2nd floor of the Main house
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , This is the Guest BR on the 2nd Floor of the Main house
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , This is the Guest BR with a double below a single bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , This is the Guest BR in the Carriage House
  • King size beds (1) Plush pillow top mattress, Queen size Beds (3), Sleeper Sofa (1) The Carriage house has a queen size sofa/sleeper., Bunk Beds (1) The kids room features a bunk bed with double mattress on the bottom and twin above.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Jacuzzi ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

'Wish Upon a Starfish' - Great Location - 1/2 Block to Beach
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews
Royal Oak, MI

Great Location

  • 3 of 5

The house was in a great location, a quick walk to the beach with public access and Whole Foods right down the road. The house was large, we had a total of 9 people and it fit our family but any more and it would have been cramped. My largest complaint is the rental company, I have never rented from a rental company and prefer using a site like VRBO because I can deal with an individual. The VRBO listing says fully cancelable within 30 days, not the case the rental company keeps any and all money they have in event of cancelation, and won't tell you this until after you make your deposit. We planned to go but life can happen, to protect you they add an insurance policy as well...another thing they don't tell you. Thank goodness I read my email when I made the deposit so I could cancel that insurance. For check in you have to go to their office away from the property and then check out is 9am, I have never had a checkout that early. We left at 8:30am and the cleaning crew was on the road waiting for us to leave. I was not impressed with the rental company and the whole experience with them left much to be desired.

As far as the house: we spent the mornings outside on the large wrap around porch. We had 9 people, and had we had any more it would have been difficult to all eat together we were able to go 4 deep on the bench to make it work. There are only 2 showers in the main house, 2 bedrooms share a bathroom with a tub only. We were all adults so this was actually a bit of a hinderance for us as we ended up sharing the downstairs bathroom with 4 people and the upstairs shower with 4 people who had to enter through the master bedroom, not a deal breaker but it was not ideal. The large rooftop sun porch was really nice, but it would have been nicer with some furniture or at least something inside that could be brought outside, we used towels and bought some chairs at big lots (also right down the road). Most rentals I have visited in the past, have beach chairs or beach towels, none of these things were provided. The dining room table was super sticky, not sure if it was the paint we cleaned it several times without fixing the issue so we bought a table cloth. The beds were soft but comfortable. The kitchen had a nice big pantry, and was stocked with everything we needed to cook each night.

Overall we had a great trip, and I was probably overly picky due to the terrible experience with Southern Vacation Rentals.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review of our home. I'm sorry you were displeased with the rental company as they are one of the largest in Destin and have a very good reputation. As you mentioned, the travel insurance is optional and can be cancelled if the guest so desires. They should have made that clear up front. I will pass your comments along to them. You are correct about the baths in the main house where two baths have showers and the third bath has only a tub, however, our carriage house also contains a full bath with shower that could have been used; it sounds like you weren't aware of that. Regarding beach towels or beach chairs, we do not provide them but will consider adding them in the future as we strive to make our guests stay as convenient as possible. While the dining table can only seat eight, the bar between the kitchen and dining area can accomodate an additional two for a total of ten. Thanks again for your review and hope you will consider us again for your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The home was amazing, could not have found a better place for our trip

  • 5 of 5

Clean, roomy - everything I had hoped it would be. Had an issue with the dryer and dishwasher - and was fixed in just a few hours. Fantastic customer service - highly recommend

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review of our home. Sorry about the dishwasher and washing machine. While I'm glad to hear the problems were attended to timely, we nevertheless replaced the washing machine the day after you moved out so would not expect future problems. Thanks again for the review and hope you will consider us again for your future vacations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent accommodations

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our large family. We had 2 grandparents, three adult children with spouses and 5 grandchildren. There was plenty of space for everyone. The garage apartment was perfect for one couple who had very young children. Kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for cooking. Appliances were new and easy to use. Loved having the outdoor shower so we didn't track in a lot of sand. Large driveway accommodated 5 cars.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Odenville, Al

Wish upon a starfish

  • 5 of 5

Great accomdation only a few exceptions

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Friendly

  • 4 of 5

We were a family of 9 adults with one small child. There was room for everyone and space that we could have our own space. The location was perfect so convenient to everything. Loved the access to the beach, pool, the cafe, Dewey Destin's, The Back Porch, the shopping.

We also were very happy to watch the Blue Angels practice during our visit the the Navy Aviation museum. Would definitely choose this home again if going with a large group.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Family Friendly Vacation Home?

  • 2 of 5

We are a family of nine adults and four small children. We loved the great layout of this beach house. We were worried about not being right on the beach as we always rent condos on the beach front in Destin. We couldn't find one big enough to accommodate our growing family. The walk to the beach is not bad all. It was very easy for our two three year old grandchildren to walk there and back a few times a day. Kitchen is well stocked for all of your cooking needs. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a place to visit beach. Thanks for the memories.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After receiving a two star review I contacted our guest to understand any deficiencies since the review did not list any. Our discussion made clear that the guest intended to provide a positive review but misinterpreted the rating scale. They intended a 4 out of 5 and since reviews cannot be edited or deleted I have added that point of clarification here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 14


Car: recommended

We are located in the very desirable, low density, Cyrstal Beach area. It is blocks to every restaurant imaginable. In fact two very popular ones (Camille's and 790 on the Gulf) are only a very short walk away.

The premier shopping center (Destin Commons) is 3 blocks away and a wide variety of grocery stores - Whole Foods, Fresh Market, Publix, Wal-Mart) are as well


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Crystal Shores, North West Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Early Spring
1 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Early Summer
27 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
July 4th Holiday
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
8 Jul 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Summer
12 Aug 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Reservation Fee £54.11 + Tax
Cleaning Fee £239.64 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Renters must be at least 25 years old. If we discover otherwise, guests will be asked to leave and forfeit all rents.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot