HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

'Wish Upon a Starfish' - Great Location - 1/2 Block to Beach

People13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 3,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 11-13)

Wish upon a Starfish is decorated beautifully and is oh so comfortable. The large open living/dining/kitchen area is a great place for everyone to gather and relax. The teak floors make the home feel so cozy and warm.

With 5 bedrooms and 4 baths there's plenty of room to stretch out. Balconys outside the main living area and master bedroom provide a nice area to feel those cool ocean breezes while enjoying everyone's company. The beautiful pool just down the street provides a nice oasis if you desire a break from the beach.

A large deck with ample seating and 4 burner gas grill provide a nice place to have a cool evening bar-b-que and recall the days activities.

Keywords: Beach House; Destin Beach house; Vacation Beach House; Crystal Beach

More Details

Owner
Kenneth Trocquet
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
28 November, 2017

About Kenneth Trocquet

We love the beach and mountains, but this area always keeps us coming back. We have children and grandchildren who we love sharing our home with.

Kenneth Trocquet purchased this house in 2010

Why Kenneth Trocquet chose Crystal Beach

We have been coming to the Crystal Beach Area for many years and dreamed of owning a home here. In the Summmer of 2010 we found this home in the lovely Crystal Shores neighborhood and fell in love with it. The area is so quaint and quiet, yet so close to the beach.

What makes this house unique

We love how close we are to everything - beach, shopping, restaurants, golf.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wish Upon a Star was one of the best rental homes our multi-family group has had in the 20+ years we have been renting in the Destin, Florida area! The home was spacious, clean, well ac'd, and had tremendous WiFi and media (HD Tv's, DVD players). The room arrangements and amenities (grill, nearby pool, beach location within 200 yards) were wonderful. The rooftop porch and crow's nest (with chairs) were perfect for morning or evening conversation/reading time. Southern Vacation Rental staff kept in touch and helped us when we had a question.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 3

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Crystal Beach in Destin

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 09:00
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Downstairs En-suite bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Master bath with extra large shower & Jacuzzi tub
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Upstairs Guest bath with soaking tub
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Carriage House bathroom
  • 4
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , This is the downstairs bedroom in the Main house.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , This is the Master BR on the 2nd floor of the Main house
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , This is the Guest BR on the 2nd Floor of the Main house
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , This is the Guest BR with a double below a single bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , This is the Guest BR in the Carriage House
  • King size beds (1) Plush pillow top mattress, Queen size Beds (3), Sleeper Sofa (1) The Carriage house has a queen size sofa/sleeper., Bunk Beds (1) The kids room features a bunk bed with double mattress on the bottom and twin above.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

42% Complete
28% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
'Wish Upon a Starfish' - Great Location - 1/2 Block to Beach
average rating of 4.0 based on 10 reviews
Brewton, Alabama
4

Very comfortable, room for our three families, everything we needed for cooking and eating

  • 4 of 5

Our family of seven adults and three small children thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wish Upon a Starfish!

The pool and the beach were a short walk making it easy to enjoy both with children in tow. The pool was a short block away, and the beach was two blocks. Easy and quick!

The house was beautifully decorated to a tee for the beach. The beds were comfortable. The children loved the bunk room. The closets were large with room for all our things. The dining table fit our large group and the two four-year-olds enjoyed sitting at the bar. The kitchen had a large variety of glasses, plates, cutlery, and just about everything we needed for cooking. The grill worked wonderfully!

The appliances were great.

The carriage house was fabulous and gave the additional space we needed.

The yard was beautiful with plenty of beautiful flowers and cute decor.

Thank-you so much for allowing us to enjoy your wonderful beach house!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Royal Oak, MI
3

Great Location

  • 3 of 5

The house was in a great location, a quick walk to the beach with public access and Whole Foods right down the road. The house was large, we had a total of 9 people and it fit our family but any more and it would have been cramped. My largest complaint is the rental company, I have never rented from a rental company and prefer using a site like VRBO because I can deal with an individual. The VRBO listing says fully cancelable within 30 days, not the case the rental company keeps any and all money they have in event of cancelation, and won't tell you this until after you make your deposit. We planned to go but life can happen, to protect you they add an insurance policy as well...another thing they don't tell you. Thank goodness I read my email when I made the deposit so I could cancel that insurance. For check in you have to go to their office away from the property and then check out is 9am, I have never had a checkout that early. We left at 8:30am and the cleaning crew was on the road waiting for us to leave. I was not impressed with the rental company and the whole experience with them left much to be desired.

As far as the house: we spent the mornings outside on the large wrap around porch. We had 9 people, and had we had any more it would have been difficult to all eat together we were able to go 4 deep on the bench to make it work. There are only 2 showers in the main house, 2 bedrooms share a bathroom with a tub only. We were all adults so this was actually a bit of a hinderance for us as we ended up sharing the downstairs bathroom with 4 people and the upstairs shower with 4 people who had to enter through the master bedroom, not a deal breaker but it was not ideal. The large rooftop sun porch was really nice, but it would have been nicer with some furniture or at least something inside that could be brought outside, we used towels and bought some chairs at big lots (also right down the road). Most rentals I have visited in the past, have beach chairs or beach towels, none of these things were provided. The dining room table was super sticky, not sure if it was the paint we cleaned it several times without fixing the issue so we bought a table cloth. The beds were soft but comfortable. The kitchen had a nice big pantry, and was stocked with everything we needed to cook each night.

Overall we had a great trip, and I was probably overly picky due to the terrible experience with Southern Vacation Rentals.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review of our home. I'm sorry you were displeased with the rental company as they are one of the largest in Destin and have a very good reputation. As you mentioned, the travel insurance is optional and can be cancelled if the guest so desires. They should have made that clear up front. I will pass your comments along to them. You are correct about the baths in the main house where two baths have showers and the third bath has only a tub, however, our carriage house also contains a full bath with shower that could have been used; it sounds like you weren't aware of that. Regarding beach towels or beach chairs, we do not provide them but will consider adding them in the future as we strive to make our guests stay as convenient as possible. While the dining table can only seat eight, the bar between the kitchen and dining area can accomodate an additional two for a total of ten. Thanks again for your review and hope you will consider us again for your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

The home was amazing, could not have found a better place for our trip

  • 5 of 5

Clean, roomy - everything I had hoped it would be. Had an issue with the dryer and dishwasher - and was fixed in just a few hours. Fantastic customer service - highly recommend

  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review of our home. Sorry about the dishwasher and washing machine. While I'm glad to hear the problems were attended to timely, we nevertheless replaced the washing machine the day after you moved out so would not expect future problems. Thanks again for the review and hope you will consider us again for your future vacations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Georgia
5

Excellent accommodations

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our large family. We had 2 grandparents, three adult children with spouses and 5 grandchildren. There was plenty of space for everyone. The garage apartment was perfect for one couple who had very young children. Kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for cooking. Appliances were new and easy to use. Loved having the outdoor shower so we didn't track in a lot of sand. Large driveway accommodated 5 cars.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Odenville, Al
5

Wish upon a starfish

  • 5 of 5

Great accomdation only a few exceptions

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Family Friendly

  • 4 of 5

We were a family of 9 adults with one small child. There was room for everyone and space that we could have our own space. The location was perfect so convenient to everything. Loved the access to the beach, pool, the cafe, Dewey Destin's, The Back Porch, the shopping.

We also were very happy to watch the Blue Angels practice during our visit the the Navy Aviation museum. Would definitely choose this home again if going with a large group.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: recommended

We are located in the very desirable, low density, Cyrstal Beach area. It is blocks to every restaurant imaginable. In fact two very popular ones (Camille's and 790 on the Gulf) are only a very short walk away.

The premier shopping center (Destin Commons) is 3 blocks away and a wide variety of grocery stores - Whole Foods, Fresh Market, Publix, Wal-Mart) are as well

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Crystal Beach, North West Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring Break
3 Mar 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,663
for 5 nights
From
£270
£1,974
 
 
Early Spring
14 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
£1,227
for 4 nights
From
£228
£1,891
 
 
Early Summer
26 May 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,052
for 7 nights
£3,052
 
 
July 4th Holiday
30 Jun 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,301
for 7 nights
£3,301
 
 
Summer2
7 Jul 2018 - 3 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,052
for 7 nights
£3,052
 
 
Late Summer
4 Aug 2018 - 25 Aug 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,310
for 4 nights
£2,057
 

Additional pricing information

Reservation Fee £52.3 + Tax
Cleaning Fee £231.63 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Renters must be at least 25 years old. If we discover otherwise, guests will be asked to leave and forfeit all rents.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable