HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

GREAT RATES- Large Penthouse Villa - Steps to the Beach -Private Dipping pool

21 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday condo in Playa Langosta - Pez Vela

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

The quaint villas at La Esquina are only 100 meters from the beach. Our villa welcomes you as you enter a naturally lush landscaped complex with a refreshing pool and a private dipping pool on our spacious private terrace.

'Pez Vela' has 3000 spacious square feet of indoor/outdoor living. Located on the top/penthouse/3rd floor level(with elevator). Complete with a private open air/covered dining patio that seats 12+. I also is complete with a private dipping pool right on the private oversized terrace for perfect indoor/outdoor living.

This quaint complex has a gorgeous 90 foot garden swimming pool complete with lush tropical plants surrounding, lounge chairs and an outdoor luxury shower. Your condo is professionally furnished, offering 3 large ensuite bedrooms, a large great room for relaxing, a private terrace off of each bedroom with comfy chairs for reading/napping. It also offers a large, open, teak and well equipped, granite kitchen complete with an adjacent BBQ terrace. This villa also has a laundry room with washer and dryer, and 3.5 full-sized tiled bathrooms.

The open dining room area will comfortably seat 8 adults with additional dining area off of the large terrace adjacent to the great room(where you can sit 8 more!). There is also and additional open air patio on the roof only one flight above. You and your guests can take in the stunning views of the Playa Langosta coastline and spectacular sunsets.

Extensive use of beautiful teak wood adorn all the cabinetry complemented by locally quarried natural stone flooring and beautiful Italian granite counter tops throughout.

The beach is a short stroll down a garden path and is great for strolling, tide pooling or walking to the lively town of Tamarindo. Playa Langosta is a quiet upscale residential community, but only a 15-20 minute beach walk (or two minute ride) to the lively town of Tamarindo known for its fabulous surfing, dining, shopping and fun. There is also a great surfing beach at Playa Langosta that is about a 5 minute walk from the condo.

La Esquina has beautifully maintained lush grounds and banyan tree that attracts lots of birds for viewing. There is also 24-hour security on the property and secured parking.

Pura Vida!

Keywords: Villa, Luxurious, Condo, Beach, Surf, Relax

More Details
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Carol

We live in the San Francisco Bay Area and are outdoor enthusiasts.

Carol purchased this condo in 2006

Why Carol chose Guanacaste

We purchased this property in 2006 after taking several trips to Costa Rica and falling in love with this eco-friendly(and friendly) country. We LOVE Playa Langosta because it is close to EVERYTHING but quiet(but not dead)! We love this small complex for it Moorish architectural influence and it is elegant but understated

What makes this condo unique

Playa Langosta offer several very good restaurants, bars, a grocery store and small quaint hotels that have cocktails and dining. All of these are in walking distance to the condo. There is a great beach steps from the condo that you can tide pool in low tide and the shoreline is just stunning...for those who surf, there is a great break to the south of the condo (about a 5-7 minute walk). This condo offers fantastic indoor/outdoor living at its best. every room has a terrance and there are sturdy cushioned lounge chairs on each. My guess is you will fall in love with this place too.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Carol,

Just wanted to say thank you. The condo was perfect. We all really enjoyed

our stay. As always I can't believe how quickly the time went.
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 3


based on 21 holidaymaker reviews

GREAT RATES- Large Penthouse Villa - Steps to the Beach -Private Dipping pool
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 24 reviews

We will be back!

  • 5 of 5

Loved the week we just spent at this property! We could not have asked for more. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. We loved the privacy of three ensuite bedrooms and the open floor plan that afforded space for all. The pool in the complex was amazing and our own private dipping pool only added to the experience. We would not hesitate to recommend this unit to anyone and hopefully will make this an annual event!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed our home and we look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful 3 bedroom Condo!!

  • 5 of 5

Stop looking for anywhere else to stay in Tamarindo. This condo was beyond beautiful and even better than the photos. It is in an area outside of Tamarindo on Playa Langosta that is charming and away from the hustle of the great surf town. This condo slept our family of 5, and allowed us to be comfortable and cooking in the gourmet kitchen. The owners were beyond helpful and the staff on site were very kind.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Molly, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tired condo

  • 3 of 5

My family of 7 with one infant 18 month old found the unit spacious and a perfect set up for our 11 day vacation. We did find the overview on the website misleading and the accommodation did not live up to the description. Website indicated a crib could be made available which we requested and was not there upon our arrival. We then discovered we had to pay extra for a playpen to our disappointment. Website also indicated on site services were chauffeur, concierge, staff, private chef and massage which were not on site. The front gate guards were pleasant and helpful. Owning a pool we were knowledgable in the required maintenance. We had to request twice to have the dipping pool to be back washed and checked for chlorine levels, a procedure that should be on a regular maintenance schedule. Dipping pool often became merkie because of blowing dirt. After 11 days the patio had so much ground in dirt it was impossible to sweep up and really required hosing down. In 11 days no housekeeping staff appeared but an envelope for tips was made available. Something we found amusing. Linens were sadly in need of replacing as they were weathered paper thin and discoloured. Upholstery on the furniture was dirty. Even though I've indicated a number of issues we did enjoy our vacation in the condo. I fully expect the condo owner will provide a rebuttal but I felt that prospective consumers should be made aware of discrepancies on the website.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you were disappointed. Here are a few points to consider: Paying for the crib: The playpen was 'Made available' and it does not mean 'free'. I am sorry you did not understand that. It is also very standard to have a small 'fee' to bring a playpen for use at a private home when it is not owned. Website also indicated on site services were chauffeur, concierge, staff, private chef and massage which were not on site: Yes, It says that these services are available(which they are). This is a private home not a hotel. The pool IS on a regular maintenance schedule. But they often don't want to disturb guests. I will follow up with them as to why they were unresponsive if you called them. Guests can always email/call me if they are not getting the response they need and I can help move things along. The Costa Ricans are very kind and pleasant, but sometimes things don't run on 'American' time. Dipping pool often became merkie because of blowing dirt. After 11 days the patio had so much ground in dirt it was impossible to sweep up and really required hosing down. Yes..unfortunately, that can sometimes be the nature of Tamarindo in the dry season and during a drought. Our place is not different than anywhere else. It has not rained since October. This is mother nature, not a fault of ours. Again, if the staff was unresponsive to giving the pool maintenance or any other issue, please reach out to me, I am here and respond quickly as I have done with everyone of your emails . I will follow up with the property managers as to why they did not come. There is only one cleaning included and that is upon check out and all that was paid for. That is very standard with VRBO rentals. I have rented many places myself and the story is the same with all. You could have emailed me or the property manager to arrange and pay for an extra cleaning. Again, this is not a hotel, it sounds like maybe that is where you may have stayed to be happier Thank you for making us aware of some of the sheets, I had the property manager check and they are being replaced. thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Couldn't have asked for better!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I stayed here for a week with 2 small children and it was the better than anything we could have asked for. The rooms are well situated from each other giving everyone privacy. We spent most of the week hanging out on the outside patio enjoying the warm weather at night. Great space for cooking and having laundry accessible was even better. Well worth every penny and you will not be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful unit

  • 4 of 5

Loved the open and spacious unit, fit our family just perfectly! Everything was exactly as described. Clean and well taken care of. While the trees are beautiful, they also block the views of the ocean and leave too much debris and shade to make the outdoor pool very usable. Good thing it was a short walk to Langosta beach because that was really beautiful!!! A bit of a walk into Tamarindo but that was just fine with us because it meant a quieter area and we could walk most of it on the beach.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We love the pool and with the shade the few trees provide as it is a nice rest/retreat from the very strong sun in Costa Rica. The pool is very well kept and is VERY useable. In fact, the quiet and lovely pool is one of the favorite aspects of our home that we hear quite frequently from our guests. True it is not a place to lay down and sun/bake yourself(except for a few sunny areas around the pool), but is an OASIS away from the burning sun and a place to soak up a book and a nap! The beach is exactly where we go if we do want the burning sun! Glad you enjoyed!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Dream getaway!

  • 5 of 5

I traveled here April 2015 for my boyfriends surprise birthday. There were 5 of us altogether and it was absolutely perfect! Carol is awesome to communicate with and the villa itself is gorgeous. The walk to the store for food is like 5 minutes and it's a really close walk to the beach as well. Security made us feel very safe. There's nothing negative that I would say about our trip (other than it was too short haha).

Cheers from Toronto!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Liberia, Costa Rica
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Langosta, Tamarindo
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Playa Langosta, Guanacaste

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Holiday 2016
17 Dec 2016 - 7 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
High 2017
8 Jan 2017 - 8 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Easter 2017
9 Apr 2017 - 22 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
High 2017
23 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Little Summer 2017
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £48
Cleaning £82
Tax Rate 13.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Playa Langosta, Costa Rica

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) One bedroom has a king bed, Queen size Beds (1) Two bedrooms have queen beds, Baby Cribs (1) can be made available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) sofa in great room is a sleep sofa
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Private dipping poolon terrace..Large outdoor terraces off of each room in the unit for reading/lounging/dining/card playing etc

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties