This 3rd-floor corner condo in the modern beachfront complex of El Faro is spectacular! In a phenomenal location, it has a wrap-around terrace with incredible views of the Caribbean Sea! Lounge in your private whirlpool on the terrace as you sip a beverage & listen to live music across the way at Zenzi Beach Bar. There's a spacious, modern kitchen & inviting dining room that seats 8; with ocean views from every angle. 10-ft ceilings throughout. Also with ocean views, the Master Bedroom is gorgeously decorated and has a turquoise feature wall. It features a Queen bed, terrace access, and full bathtub & rain shower in ensuite. The guest bedroom has 2 full beds, and an adjoining bathroom with rain shower. Washer & dryer are tucked away in 3rd bathroom. This luxurious vacation rental is near the Cozumel island ferry and 5th-Avenue for shopping, world-class dining, and entertainment. This is the ideal location for a family retreat of fun, adventure, and relaxation on Caribbean shores! Underground parking (Extra Parking Fee - 15 USD per night). Jacuzzi in terrace - Not heated
2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 6
Rentals Your Way
- english, spanish
Pool / Spa
Great View - Improvements Greatly Required
Surf 309 is a corner unit and has the most spectacular/amazing view; from the living room, dining room and master bed room. But, the furnishings are out dated and below standard. The Master Bedroom Bed is WAY to small for two people, and Mattress was horrible, as were the mattresses on the beds in the second bedroom, which is located on the back side of the condo, getting no sun light. The TV's, and there were two, were somehow connected and you had to watch the same channel on both, even though one was in the living room and the other in the master bedroom. There were very limited channels to watch as well. If you do not speak Spanish you are just out of luck for watching TV. We were there during the Super Bowl 2017 and got none of the commercials, which, in my opinion, is the best part of the Super Bowl. The kitchen needs better cooking utensils; for example: the pots and pans were extremely out dated, newer glasses should replace the old ones, the dishes need to be replaced as they were all chipped. The orange color on the main wall is dark orange and way wrong for the unit. There was a horrible smell in all of the bathrooms, apparently, the smell was a sewage back up. The hot tub is outdated and does not operate. The Rugs on the floor need to be replaced. The wicker furniture on the patio had holes where you are suppose sit. And the sofa in the living area needs to be replaced with a updated sofa. The lamps were old and literally falling apart. The water in the unit does not stay hot for a very long time. You can barely take a shower before it is cold again. In my opinion, this unit need a lot of attention to be worth the cost, of which, was paid to stay there. With the view being on the top of the list; until some of the above items are updated and/or repaired, I can not recommend staying in this Unit.
Thank you so much for your comments. Surf 309 has a great location within the complex, excellent views and lots of extra space. I'm sorry the condo didn't met your expectations. A queen bed is usually big enough for 2 people but we have passed this and all your comments regarding decoration to the Owner.
I'm sorry you weren't able to watch the Super Bowl comfortably, being in Mexico most of the commercials are not allowed to be transmitted out of USA, plus the fact that your are in Mexico with a Mexican satellite company makes it very hard to have the same exiting experience that if you were in USA. However most of the popular channels are able to be set in English through the remote.
We don't advertise the hot tub as it had gone through lots of repairs and the hard water in Mexico continues damaging it very often.
Any other problem regarding maintenance we have passed it to the property manager on site.
Thank you an have a great week!! :)
For El Faro
Condo #309 Surf was the most beautiful view ever. Huge condo, unreal view with enormous side balcony. Awesome huge pool and a very safe stay. This condo was the most awesome place I have ever stayed at and I highly recommend it. Worth every penny I paid. I will never forget it and I will be back again. We took great care of your wonderful condo. 👍
Thank you so much for your comments, they are very important for us!! Surf 309 has the best location in the complex. As you mention the view is stunning. The complex has great common areas, great pool and the best location in town.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for a future reservation!!
Great location, great view, couple of set-backs
This was our 2nd year in a row staying at this exact unit and overall we really love it. The location is the best in Playa, a block from the Quinta Avenida, and walking distance to everything. The view from the balcony is exquisite. All the amenities and supplies you could need are provided or very easy to get. The pool is gorgeous. Security is very visible, we even left our door open one night by accident, and he let us know while he was doing the rounds.
Now, the negatives. Neither year we've been there has the hottub worked. Not that big of a deal since it is usually so hot in Playa, but I do think its a bit misleading to advertise a hottub when really it is not functional. Last year they actually let us know before we arrived that it was not working and they gave us a partial refund. This year, we tried turning it on when we arrived, but absolutely nothing would happen. We reported it, and someone was supposed to be sent out, but I don't think they ever came. We tried turning it on a couple of other times throughout the trip, but it would never respond at all.
The washer and dryer in the unit are not very functional. We didn't have any problems last year, but this year they just didn't do their job. I had some deodorant marks on a t-shirt that didn't come out, neither did the cologne smell from my husbands shirts, neither did the sunscreen that got on his trunks. The dryer works ok, it just takes a really long time to dry the load.
The biggest negative is the smell in the master bathroom. I had read reviews of this last year before our trip, but we arrived and there was no issue at all. This year, completely different story. That bathroom smelled like sewage our entire stay. I don't know if other units in the property have this same issue, as the 2nd bedroom and the half bath did not have this smell, so it may be an issue with the specific plumbing in that room only.
Overall, I would recommend this property and we will likely stay here whenever we go back to Playa. But if you really need to be able to thoroughly wash your clothes, or if anyone is sensitive to bad smells, I would probably consider a different unit.
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. Surf 309 is a beautiful unit, which one of the best locations in the complex and a privileged location in Playa del Carmen.
Regarding the issues you experienced during your stay, jacuzzis here in Mexico are very hard to keep functional due to the humidity, rust and hard water full of minerals that affect all the system. The Property Manager has tried to keep it functional as much as possible, because we cannot guaranty it will be working all year around we do not advertise the jacuzzi anymore, it is just advertised as a Plunge pool.
The smell is a very serious problem that building has experience due to the bad sewage system here in Playa, however they are continuously working on it to avoid the smell issue to be recurrent.
The washer and dryer is functional and this is the first time we have received a complain about it, but we will pass your comments to Maintenance Staff so they can check it and verify everything is ok.
Thank you again for being such a great customer, please do not hesitate to contact us in the future as we are always happy to offer return customer discounts
Champagne under the stars...
We just got back from a fantastic stay here! This is the ideal vacation spot, serious oceanfront. You won’t be distracted by emails and work stuff while you’re here unless you choose to be. Styled with a modern vibe, all the amenties, and ocean views everywhere, you can’t help but immediately unwind.
Master bedroom was comfortable with an excellent ensuite including soaker tub and walk-in glass shower.
Having a sweet kitchen was definitely a nice option, I mean you don’t want to cook much on vacation, but for those moments when you just want to stay in and lounge, sure is nice, … oceanfront dining, and a bottle of champagne, don’t mind if I do…
My favourite feature was the large wraparound patio. The moment my husband and I walked onto the balcony we felt it… instant ‘chill mode’. Calming breezes, the mesmerizing ocean lullaby, palm trees lining the balcony perfectly giving us that little extra privacy we wanted, and wow, what an incredible view!! Now this is oceanfront.
We literally would curl up on that couch and just fall asleep at night… truly relaxing.
By the end of our stay we almost felt we had gone away to the spa for the weekend, we were like jello, throroughly pampered and truly relaxed. Enjoyed everything about this place,… they didn’t miss a thing.
Want to thank Neomi and Yael who very helpful and accommodating. Will definitely return.
Condo location excellent...furnishings need to be replaced
The pictures and video on-line are must have been taken when the furnishings and condo were new. If this was a Chain hotel, these furnishings would not be there. Broken and dirty outdoor patio couch, torn dining room chairs, bed mattress in 2nd bedroom is old and needed to be replaced. All bed covers are old and need replacing.
Broken microwave and hot tub....neither worked for the 7-days we were there.
The condo is overall great, great view and rap-around balcony. The view is priceless.
The master bedroom has a view of the pool and beach, but the second bedroom is like a cave.
It has a glass block window to the lighted hallway.
I would stay here again, but by then I would hope they do the repairs on the hot tub and buy new furnishing.
The management company was very attentive and housekeeping did a good job.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and gave us 4 stars! El Faro is a fantastic place to stay and Surf 309 has the best view. The patio furniture was in the process of being renewed. The microwave and hot tub are in working order. The interior has also undergone some minor touch ups that the unit needed and always gets all thorough the year. We look forward to your next stay in this beautiful ocean front condo!
Our worst nightmare come true
My wife and I chose El Faro Surf 309 based mainly on the reviews posted on this site. Our first trip to Playa del Carmen held a promise of an enjoyable stay. When we arrived at El Faro, the RentalsYourWay representative escorted us to the unit and proceeded to show us through. Upon inspection of the Master Bath, we were greeted by a foul stench which we can only describe as a decaying corpse in a morgue. The owner’s rep explained that, occasionally, an odor will present itself in a unit, caused by improperly pitched drain piping in the basement of the Surf side of the building. In retrospect, Mexico’s reputation for graft among local officials is probably the reason this condition was allowed to persist. I attempted to make do by closing the bathroom door with the exhaust fan running. It did not help. The smell eventually began to creep into the rest of the apartment. My wife is a nursing supervisor, and her apprehension about staying in a unit with toxic sewer gas forced us to find other accommodations. RentalsYourWay representatives tried to alleviate the problem by pouring a concoction they called “salsa” down the drains, but it did not help. After two nights (of the 7 night stay we had paid for) sleeping in the back bedroom (in separate full beds) we decided to arrange for accommodations in a hotel in Cancun, which put a serious hurt on our enjoyment of our vacation AND our bank account. I do not blame the manager for our predicament. They did try everything they could to fix things. We do not wish to injure the owner with this review either. However, RentalsYourWay is only authorized to give a 15% discount in such circumstances without the owner’s permission. We were advised to send an email to the owner explaining our plight in order to convince them to authorize a larger discount. We have heard nothing from the owner or RentalsYourWay in over a month. Sadly, we do not wish for another couple to have to experience what we did.
I am truly sorry for your unpleasant stay in Surf 309.
The management company and the owner have been working since your stay with the association to fix and resolve this problem. The problem was not a unit specific problem. It was a issue with the El Faro complex. The management company did everything possible to fix this building issue during your stay. As you see from the past reviews this was never an issue before. Since your stay we have not received any reports of the smell again. It appears that Playa Del Carmen had done some sort of cleanse during your stay that affected some complexes including El Faro with a bad odor.
The ocean front beauty of this unit speaks for itself and we hope that an issue like this doesn't ever happen again.
As of your stay there has been zero problems with the smell. I can say with confidence that the issue has been addressed and fixed.
Playa del Carmen is world famous for its white sand beaches, turquoise Caribbean water, shopping and dining on Playa's famous 5th Avenue, and exciting nightlife. The archeological ruins of Chichen-Itza, Tulum and Koba are a short drive away, and the stunning Xel Ha and Xcaret eco parks are nearby as well. Enjoy the Mayakoba PGA golf course or other nearby courses. The area is literally filled with activities day and night. Or, just relax on your oceanfront terrace or at the beautiful white sand beaches of Playa del Carmen.