HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Jane Nathan

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks English

Pimento Hill - Luxury Staffed Villa with Round Hill Membership

People17
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Separate WC's1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 6 bedroom holiday villa in Jamaica - Pimento Hill House

Villa, 6 Bedrooms + Library, 6.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-17)

Pimento Hill House is a spacious, private home with a legendary history. The villa overlooks the Caribbean sea and is located just five minutes from Chic Round Hill where guests enjoy complimentary beach membership. It was originally built in the 50s for a French Count and Countess, Jacques and Vera di Sibour. This was a time when Jamaica was a glamorous party destination for the early jet set. Noel Coward, Ian Flemming, the Kennedy's and many famous actors and actresses spent the holidays at Round Hill or at house parties in nearby villas. When Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Phillip visited Montego Bay at the end of their Carribean tour in 1966, they stayed with the Count at Pimento Hill. There is a scrap book of newspaper cuttings in the villa detailing all the famous guests Pimento Hill has hosted.

In the late 60s Rosser Reeves, a hugely successful American advertising exectutive and pioneer of television advertising, bought the villa from Count de Sibour. The AMC program, Mad Men, uses Reeves as the model for the professional accomplishments of the main character, Don Draper (Jon Hamm).

In 2007 the current owners bought Pimento Hill and extensively renovated the villa while trying to retain the period, colonial features. Owned by a family in London, the villa's atmosphere is a marriage of the grandeur of a by-gone era with modern amenities.

The villa is surrounded by 6 acres of lush garden with many water features - water lilies, ferns, dragonflies and butterflies abound. There are mango trees, coconut palms, banana plants and even an old cotton tree. There are also large grassy lawns to play cricket or football on.

Accommodation - 9000 sq. ft. Hall, great room, veranda, study, 2 pool bedrooms, 1 bedroom interconnecting with the study, 1 large bedroom in main villa, 1 master bedroom with 2 dressing rooms (one used as interconnecting child's bedroom if required) and 2 bathrooms.

The villa has 6 full-time staff to look after your every need.

Keywords: 6 bedroom, 6 acres, private, staffed, villa, Round Hill

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Jane Nathan (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Jane Nathan

Here we are at the villa on my 50th Birthday in February 2015! We live in London where my husband works as a banker. Our 3 children were 2, 3 and 5 when we first took them to Jamaica and they are 15, 17 and 18 now. We have travelled extensively all over the world but our favorite place to be is Pimento Hill, Jamaica.

Jane Nathan purchased this villa in 2007

Why Jane Nathan chose Jamaica

In 2001 we booked a family holiday to Round Hill, Jamaica. Our children were 2, 3 and 5. We had such an amazing time, we booked to go again in 2002 and then again in 2003, 2004 and so on! By 2006 we had decided to try and buy our own villa close to Round Hill. In 2007 we found Pimento Hill and fell madly in love with its history, grandeur and view and proximity to Round Hill!

What makes this villa unique

I love being looked after so beautifully by our lovely Jamaican staff. The villa comes with 7 full-time staff - a cook, a butler, a housekeeper, a laundress and 2 gardeners and a driver. It feels like you are staying at your very own private hotel with complete privacy, peace and quiet. The actual villa and garden is very beautiful. I love to go and see the water lilies and dragonflies in the morning, to watch the butterflies and humming birds at breakfast and to stare at the turquoise sea turning pink, sipping a rum punch on the veranda at dusk. It is truly the most relaxing holiday you could ever hope to enjoy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Jane! I wanted to let you know that our stay at the villa was flawless! We had so much fun, the house is beautiful and the entire staff is lovely. I would love to return someday. I felt very at home there - Pansy asked me if I was maybe born on the island :)

Thanks again for everything, it was a most memorable trip for everyone!

Alyssa
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 21

Reviews

5
based on 45 holidaymaker reviews

Pimento Hill - Luxury Staffed Villa with Round Hill Membership
average rating of 4.9555554 based on 66 reviews
Verona, Wisconsin
5

Fantastic experience!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 9 adults just returned from a week at Pimento Hill. I have rented many, many times from VRBO and use these reviews as a deciding factor in the decision process, as pictures do not always accurately portray the property. So, I write this review being sure to include details that may be helpful in your decision making process! In this case, pictures cannot do this property justice. It is amazing. It perfectly fit our group- we could all retreat to our beautifully appointed rooms/villas, yet come together for intimate dinner and social settings at various places throughout the home. The verandah and open-air home is warm, welcoming, and perfect for every type of gathering. The home is a combination of a tropical, lush garden mixed with old world charm and modern furnishings. Really unique and extra special. Get ready for photo-worthy sunsets! Working with Jane in making this event happen was an absolute pleasure, and I owe her a debt of gratitude

Furnishings are stellar, the cleanliness and attention to detail is everywhere. The rooms have well-working air conditioners, almost to the point of being chilly, so no worries about being too warm to sleep. Sleeping can be a deal-breaker for me, but we never slept better. The beds are VERY comfortable. The pool, ping-pong table, surround music and lawn space was enough for a party, but we wanted to try out Round Hill Beach Club too. Could this place be more posh?! Having a free membership here is a HUGE bonus! We took advantage of the lovely tennis facilities, beach, snorkeling, infiniti pool, and afternoon tea.

Let's talk about service for a bit. (Because you can have the nicest place and have poor service, and it jades the whole experience, right?) Bar-none, this is the highest level of service you will experience. A five-star level with a SMILE! The heart and soul of Pimento Hill are the people - Huge thanks to Delano, who took us wherever and whenever, and was always on time. Yvonne, you worked behind the scenes making sure our rooms and laundry were taken care of, and it was perfection. Pansy, (and the kitchen crew) Brandon, and Eric, thank you for the wonderful dining experience! True professionals. Ralston and Mark, your flowers every morning and groundskeeping is spectacular. Ryan, we appreciate getting to know you and having you look out for us every evening! I'm running out of space, I could go on and on. "One Love", everyone. We will miss you!

  • Review Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Stephanie - Wow! Thank you for such a lovely review. I am so happy that you had such a great stay and that your husband loved his surprise Birthday trip! I spoke to Pansy just after you had left and she said that all the staff loved your party. Thank you for being such gracious and generous guests. Many best wishes, Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

pimento hill and round hill = perfect combination

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 just returned from our best vacation to date..Jane the owner made the whole trip as easy as possible.. i have never rented a home where an owner was so gracious and quick to answer any question.honest, she is wealth of information..we area party of 2 adults and 4 children in age from 14 to 9..we had rented the year before in same area but chose not to return that villa..knowing the area we were excited but our expectations were exceeded..our youngest is a vegetarian by choice and pansy made sure her every meal was just as special as everyone else's.. although we may have wanted to go out our children were totally against it...daily they looked fwd to pansy's next meal.. they ate things they would never try at home and loved.. gazpacho was a huge hit ( who knew)..my son who hates vegetables downed a salad a day..i believe we missed 2 meals there and they were very upset..i had heard round hill had 2 great dinners and they wouldn't hear of it.. at breakfast Rawston would greet all the females with a beautiful flower for their hair and a fist pump for the boy...the pool area, no matter how we left it became beautiful again because of him.. he take the kids looking for edible fruit throughout the property and showed them how to eat it..eric the butler is a man of few words but a wealth of wisdom..he is an anticipator of every need before you even know it...delona their driver is great ..it's a downpour and he magically appears.. he drove us to ricks and we all had a blast...he is a fabulous ,safe driver who knows where to go and how to get there...yvonne cleans and does your laundry before you get up from the breakfast table...she had her hands full and always smiled... ryan the night watchman is a parent's dream.. he played so many games of pool with my kids they thought of him as an older brother..we all watched the finale of big show and it was great..if you are looking to stay at the w this is not for you.. if you are looking to have quality time with your family (that you don't get at home with such hectic schedules ) and enjoy meals together this is for you.the pool area is like your own oasis.. there's pin pong, music, bar, and 2 fabulous suites...round hill is an added amenity that you definitely don't need but adds to the whole vacation experience. ..overall i believe pimento hill is a place for families to relax and reconnect..jane and her staff have done a fabulous job .. we already asked for next year..

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sandy - thank you so much for this wonderful review. It just about says it all and I couldn't have put it better myself! I love what you have said about all the individual staff members - they are such a great team and I know they want to give all our guests a special experience at Pimento Hill. They are obviously doing something right because every single group of guests who have stayed this year so far want to come back next year! Amazing .... Our calendar is filling up already for next Spring! Many thanks - I have already passed on your lovely comments to the staff as I am at Pimento Hill for a few days at the moment. Lots of best wishes, Jane :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Exceptional Family Vacation at Pimento Hill!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Pimento Hill over Thanksgiving 1015. Everything about this vacation was incredible beginning with our interactions with the owner, Jane, to our airport transportation upon leaving. There were 13 of us celebrating 40th, 60th, and 70th birthdays. We had three children ages 5 to 8. The property was gorgeous, we were taken on a tour by staff. Pansy was amazing, she cooked three meals a day and even made a birthday cake for us. Delano was our driver for the week and he was friendly, prompt and knowledgeable. We enjoyed time at the beach as well as at our pool. There was plenty of space for everyone to branch off to their own rooms when needed. We had a child with a tree nut allergy and staff was very helpful and conscientious in dealing with he the situation. We felt safe at all times with the security guard on property at night and other staff traveling with us when we left the house. We will definitely be returning as soon as possible!!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alyssa, Lovely to hear from you and thank you so much for submitting this brilliant review. I am delighted that all 13 of you had such a great time, celebrating all those Birthdays! We would love to welcome you back soon - just give us as much notice as possible as the calendar is getting booked up more and more in advance these days :) Lots of best wishes - Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Beautiful Home With a Superb Staff!

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous vacation! We enjoyed our 2 weeks at Pimento Hill House in February to the max! The setting is beautiful - in a garden over looking the ocean and a bay. The staff is amazing. They are so helpful and Pansy's cooking is wonderful "Everything made from scratch", she says, and each meal was delicious!

The best part of our stay was how relaxing it was - great meals 3 times a day, clean laundry every afternoon, a beautiful clean house and pool, and the wonderful butler, Eric, to help us with golf reservations and cocktails! Delano was there anytime we wanted to be driven somewhere, which was often Round Hill Beach Club, which is gorgeous.

Thank you to Jane, the lovely owner of Pimento Hill, for all your help and for sharing your special home with us! We loved every minute of our time in Jamaica!

Anne Zaring, Cincinnati Ohio

  • Review Submitted: Mar 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for posting this lovely review, Anne. It was a real pleasure to have you and your husband's brothers and their wives stay for two weeks. I am so happy that you had such a great time and really appreciate the emails you sent me too. Lots of best wishes, Jane :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A five star experience

  • 5 of 5

We returned to England just over a week ago having stayed at Pimento Hill for two of the most wonderful weeks in the middle of January. I don't know how to thank the owner Jane for the most amazing holiday in her Jamaican home. From start to finish she is a delight to correspond with and falls over backwards to ensure each and every query you have is dealt with and provides an incredibly informative pre travel pack. It is Jane's life's work that you enjoy every moment of your holiday.

When I stumbled upon the property I was amazed to read all 31 five star glowing reports; there have been many more reported since.You would be hard pushed to find a single thing wrong with Pimento Hill or its staff.

I knew from the reviews and pictures that we had booked a special place but even they do not reflect the experience. Pimento Hill and its staff exceeded all of our expectations.The house itself and beautiful gardens are way larger than we imagined. The whole place exudes warmth , love and happiness. If only the walls could talk so many happy memories have surely been made here.Despite its grandeur this is clearly a 'home' much loved by its owners who are prepared to share it with their guests.We have rarely found this on our travels.

Then we come to the beautiful staff and the way they run the place like clockwork, quietly and smoothly ensuring your every conceivable need is met. How you have all managed to arrive at this set up and level of service is quite unbelievable. Each and every one of the staff contributed to making our stay one of the best vacations we have had and we have been fortunate to have stayed at the best around the world.

There is so much to entertain you at the property and the owners have thoughtfully included their beach membership at Round Hill. It is lovely to go over there late afternoon for the complimentary afternoon tea followd by a swim and a sundowner before returning to the sanctuary of Pimento Hill.

We are keen golfers and thoroughly enjoyed playing golf at Tryall, White Witch and Cinnamin Hill. We could highly recommend this home for a mixed group of golfers.

The highlight of our trip was our sibling reunion. We invited my sister and her husband from London and my brother and his wife from New York to join us for part of the time. We had an absolute ball and will be dining out on the hilarious memories for years!

We loved the Jamaican people we met and hopefully will be able to return to PH again very soon.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Julie - Thank you for this lovely review and your email which you sent within a few days of your return from Pimento Hill. I know it sounds foolish but I really do put my heart and soul in to Pimento Hill and so it just makes me so happy when I read that the guests who have stayed there have had the most wonderful time. I knew your sibling reunion would be very special and that Pimento Hill would be the perfect place for it. I was delighted that you were able to get everyone together at the villa at the same time. I am also pleased that you enjoyed your golf! The staff are special and do everything they can to make guests' stays as perfect as they can be - I know how lucky I am to have found them all. We would all love to welcome you back any time.... Many best wishes, Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Des Plaines,il usa
4

family reunion

  • 4 of 5

Overall a very pleasant experience. my criticisms are 1. Your driver was terrifying! One of the most dangerous things a driver can do is drive to close to the car ahead which he always did. 2. The tv/dvd/cable was very poor and difficult to use . 3. Water pressure/temperature was poor. 4. The beds are rock hard. 5. The air conditioner in the bedroom is difficult to regulate. 6. The oddest thing was when you would ask staff questions they would barely respond like they couldn't understand English or didn't know how to answer. 7. Wht are bathroom light switches outside the room?

  • Review Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Dan, Thank you for your review following your stay with Richard's party of 14 last week. I am very happy to hear that overall you had a good time and that you have given Pimento Hill 4 out of 5 stars but I am distressed to read some of your comments. Delano, our driver, has driven me and my family all over Jamaica, including some very scary roads through the Blue Mountains and I would never describe him as 'terrifying'. In fact, I thought you must have had a different driver when I read your comments. Having talked to Delano, he thought that he had got on well with your group and said that no one had mentioned that he was driving too close to the car in front. I also contacted Richard as I was mortified to think that a driver I had provided had terrified my guests. Richard assured me that, in his opinion, Delano had driven your group in a safe fashion. That was a huge relief to me but I have still asked Delano to be even more careful in the future. All the electrical equipment in the house, including the 8 TVs, has written instructions on how to use it. If the TVs or anything else aren't working, Eric, the butler, and Brandon, his assistant, know how to work everything and would have been happy to help you. The water pressure can drop when there are lots of guests in the house, especially if all 14 wanted to have a shower at the same time. It is usually good. We bought very good quality firm mattresses. I think it is a matter of personal taste how hard you like your mattress. The air conditioning units can be set at a temperature so that they come on and off to keep the room at that temperature. I was so perplexed by you comments about our staff that I asked Richard about this as well as about Delano. He felt that the staff had been very helpful and had answered all of his questions. Most guests really compliment the staff (see all our other reviews) and so I am quite at a loss to understand why you did not find them their usual helpful and professional selves. In the UK it is illegal to have electrical switches in the bathroom due to the electrical voltage. I am English and so I think it is normal to have the light switches outside the bathrooms! I am relieved that these negative aspects didn't impact too badly on your stay. I try really hard to ensure that everything is as good as it can be and I am always striving for perfection - sometimes, reading our other reviews, Pimento Hill actually achieves that! Best wishes, Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 6

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Montego Bay - Sangster International
Nearest Beach
2.5 Miles
Round Hill
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Montego Bay, North Coast Jamaica

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Christmas week 2016
20 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£12,259
 
 
New Year Week 2016/17
27 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£13,017
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£550
for 1 night
From
£550
£3,501
£15,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £70 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

The rental amount includes all staff at the villa and a driver and mini van is also included for the entire length of the stay. The driver would collect guests from the airport, be available to drive them to tours, excursions, restaurants and bars and take them back to the airport for their return flights. There are no additional taxes to be paid but a 10% gratuity charge will be added to the total cost. All the gratuity will be given to the staff at the villa at the end of your stay.

As we are residents in the UK we are obliged by VRBO to set our rates in £Sterling and so our rates can appear as uneven US$ amounts! The low season rate should be $4,950 and high season is $5,950 and additional 6+ person charge is $100pppn.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Jamaica in Caribbean

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 9000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 24 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Twin sinks, sunken walk-in rain shower
    Blue bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Study bedroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , This bathroom also serves the study
    Children's - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Glamourous bathroom which can also be accessed from Master
    Pool Room #1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Pool Room #2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Outdoor Shower
    Powder room - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , two twin beds can be fitted in to adjoining dressing room
    Blue room - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , King can be converted in to two twin beds
    Study bedroom + study - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , King can be converted in to two twin beds
    Children's bedroom interconnecting to Master bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , King can be converted in to two twin beds
    Pool room #1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Pool room #2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King can be converted in to two twin beds
  • 2 cribs available
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • Jacuzzi
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more

*Terms & Conditions apply

Portable wifi hotspot

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote