HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beech Mountain, Fall Foliage on Beech and Sugar...Perfect Couple Getaway w/wifi

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Fall in the Mountains! Looking for that perfect fall getaway weekend in the mountains? You've found it!

Beech Cabin is on Beech Mountain in Banner Elk NC. Easy access to hiking and biking on Beech and Sugar Mountains. The cabin is less than 10 mins from Grandfather Mountain. At an elevation of 4,650 feet, the cabin is less than a mile drive to the top of Beech and the ski resort on Beech, and nearby Sugar is only moments away. Beech Cabin is ideal for a couple looking for that perfect fall foliage getaway in the Blue Ridge Mountains. This Non Smoking, pet-friendly cabin has many special features such as authentic stone walls, hardwood floors, covered front and back decks and a rushing stream outback. After a day of exploring the highlands, you can unwind in the jetted tub. With cable lcd tv, wifi, and a full kitchen you can enjoy the comforts of home while tucked away in the perfect little cabin on Beech Mountain. The cabin, built in 2006, is very attractive with vaulted cedar wood ceilings and a king size sleigh bed. Enjoy the highlands mountain air on the front deck or listen to the stream and enjoy the scenic nature on the smaller back deck. Either way, relaxing and unwinding is easy.

The kitchen is fully equipped with stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Or you can prepare those steaks or hamburgers on the gas grill on the covered back deck.

Head up the mountain to the mountain top shops and activity of Beech Mountain, including Fred's Mercantile Store, a personal favorite. Or head down the mountain to quaint shops and great restaurants in downtown Banner Elk, such as Louisiana Purchase New Orleans style restaurant, Stonewalls Steakhouse or Banner Elk Winery. Sugar Mountain is only a few miles away if you prefer the slopes on Sugar.

More Details

Owner
Mike
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 October, 2017

Why Mike chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

We love the mountains and actually rented this unit in 2005 for a Thanksgiving holiday. We found the unit for sale the following year and made an offer promptly. The cabin is on Beech Mountain so its very close to skiing Beech and and a short drive to Sugar Mountain, Grandfather Mountain, and Blowing Rock.

What makes this cabin unique

The property is centrally located. We enjoy the full kitchen and the covered decks, especially the back deck, because you can hear the creek that runs through the property's back yard.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Beech Mountain in Laurel Creek

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • ski
  • Snowboarding

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(43 traveller reviews)

65% Complete
25% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
Beech Mountain, Fall Foliage on Beech and Sugar...Perfect Couple Getaway w/wifi
average rating of 4.4418607 based on 43 reviews
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just recently stayed at your cabin for a long weekend getaway. It was just the right size for the two of us and our stay was very comfortable. We found plenty of things to get out and do. Grandfather Mtn, Blowing Rock, and Linville Falls were the highlights of our stay. The kitchen was fully stocked and we cooked breakfast every morning and even baked a Moravian pie we bought at a roadside market one evening.

Again.. thanks for letting us stay at your cabin! We will definitely be coming back!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlotte, NC
4

We had a fantastic stay! We can't wait to come back!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this Cottage. It was the perfect studio space for my husband and I and our two pups. We were a little bummed that the jacuzzi didn't work for us, but everything else was great! The bed is comfy, the kitchen has everything you need to cook, and the host sent a list of awesome restaurant recommendations that are nearby. It made our stay go by wonderfully not having to spend so much time researching things to do. We spent our time doing lots of hiking with our dogs. The leaves are beautiful this time of year! We also went horseback riding at Dutch Creek trails. Overall, we had a fantastic weekend and we thank Mike for allowing us to stay so last minute. We cannot wait to come back for another visit!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Don't go there

  • 1 of 5

With the amount of money they charge for cleaning, the space was far from being clean, windows, floors and shelves were so dusty, my wife had to spend 45 minutes of our vacation time cleaning the only shelf We could use for our clothes.

The worst problem was Not having toilet paper, hand soap. How much would it cost to leave toilet paper in the place? That was cheap and I'd never go back to that place. I don't see any thing good about it comparing to any other cabin we rented before.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Akmed, Please let me start by saying that our guest's satisfaction is the #1 priority for us. We understand how precious vacation time is and we value every moment. Good evidence of this is our VRBO/Homeaway 4.5 star rating out of 5 possible stars. (39 positive reviews out of 42). A close second to our guest's satisfaction, is feedback. Feedback, both positive and negative, offers us the opportunity to react quickly to issues, and ultimately it offers us the opportunity to get better at offering the best possible accommodations. That being said, we are truly sorry that you were unable to locate the toilet paper and that you found the cleaning fee too high. The toilet paper was inside the bathroom vanity. There was also one 1/2 roll on the holder. This has been our standard for several years of renting the cabin. I'm not sure which shelf you had to clean for 45 minutes, but if you would have just called me, we would have sent the cleaning person over immediately to resolve this or any other cleanliness issue. She could have also pointed you to the toilet paper. As far as our cleaning fee, we believe $65 is more than reasonable to clean the cabin. In fact you agreed to the cleaning fee amount when you booked the cabin. The cleaning company actually charged us an additional $20 to clean the cabin upon your departure on 8/14. Moving forward, we sincerely hope that you are able to find the ideal rental on the next vacation. Please take this advice and give the rental owner the opportunity to correct an issue if one should exist. That is all that we would have asked in this exchange. We truly wish that you would have found Beech Cabin as satisfying as the 39 other positive reviews that we have received recently. Thanks again for choosing Beech Cabin We hope to have you back in the future. Mike and Missy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Lovely one room cabin

  • 4 of 5

Great small place, perfect for what I needed. Although the hot tub didn't work well enough to use while I was there, the porch was very relaxing. The cabin is super close to Beech mountain and downtown Banner Elk. Very quiet location and although there are cabins close by it felt very private.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Katherine, Thanks so much for your feedback, it really helps us ensure that we are meeting our customer's needs. Being on Beech Mountain, we have super close proximity to the mountain top activities which take place all year long. Sorry you had issues with filling the tub up. The instructions are included in the welcome email but the could be missed if you are not looking for them. Please come back and visit us this fall when the views of fall foliage will take your breath away. Thanks again for choosing Beech Cabin. Mike and Missy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfection! :)

  • 5 of 5

This banner elk cabin was the perfect get away for my birthday. We were able to plan a weekend of skiing and great food. Cabin was in a perfect location to the slopes & to town. We were super impressed with all the area had to offer. We can't wait to plan our next ski trip & be able to come back to the cabin. I can't imagine how gorgeous it would be in the fall. Mike was awesome to work with & super accommodating. Great place!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Meagan, Thanks so much for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in the highlands and that the cabin met your needs. Please come back to see us this summer, the hiking and biking in the warner month rivals the snowboarding and skiing in the winter. Thanks again Best Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not what we thought

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I were here for a three night stay and loved the fact that the cabin was super close to everything. There were a few things that bothered me about the cabin. When we arrived there was dog hair all over the bed spread so we had to use another one that we got from under the bed. When we went to get another blanket off the shelf, bc it was pretty cold that night, the blanket was falling apart and pieces of it went everywhere as we unfolded it. The tub took 45 min to fill up with the three fill ups of warm water. We love to cook and when we went to use grill it was so rusty and falling apart that it took forever to cook anything. Overall, for the price it's a good stay.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Katie, I am glad that you found Beech Cabin a good stay for the price. Sorry about the comforter, I have had a discussion with our cleaning company and we have added two new comforters to the rotation. As for the grill, we replace the grill every spring. The grill is typically not a focus during the winter months. Regardless, a new grill has been added for the summer of 2017, with two propane tanks. Thanks again for your feedback and we looking forward to your return. Thanks Mike and Missy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
StoneWalls in Banner Elk
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Beech Mountain
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Beech Mountain, North Carolina Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Fall Foliage
16 Oct 2017 - 3 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£266
for 2 nights
From
£102
£814
 
 
Winter Wonderland
4 Dec 2017 - 18 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£273
for 2 nights
From
£105
£889
 

Additional pricing information

Booking Fee £13.59
Cleaning Fee £49.07

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals