HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Perfect Escape, Luxury Mountain Home/5 Acres of Privacy

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

The Perfect Escape at Snowshoe

#10 Fassifern Fields

5 Bedrooms, 3 Full Baths, Sleeps 13

This stunning home is nestled on over 5 wooded acres of privacy. Relax with family and friends in front of the 55' wide screen satellite TV, complete with HBO, DVD/VCR. New for '09 season - high speed Internet access! After a day on the slopes, you'll want to slip outside under a blanket of stars into the soothing hot tub. Beautifully appointed home features a large deck, a one-car garage and a 60,000 BTU gourmet outdoor grill.

Minutes from 57 Ski Slopes with a 1500’ vertical drop & a fabulous Gary Player-designed mountainside Golf Course, Dining, Shopping, Spa and more!

BR B Amenities: /B BR General:

Hot Tub, Washer/Dryer, Dishwasher, TV's, Satellite, HBO, DVD/VCR, Huge Furnished Deck, 1 Car Garage, Gas Fireplace, Gourmet Gas Outdoor Grill, Stereo/CD, Videos/Games

Upper Level:

Bedroom 1 – King w/TV, Satellite, DVD

Bedroom 2 – Queen w/TV, Satellite, DVD

Main Level:

Bedroom 3 – Queen

Lower Level:

Bedroom 4 – Queen

Bedroom 5 – 2 Bunks (3 twins, 1 dbl) w/TV, Satellite, DVD

Activities: Hiking/Biking, Canoing, Fishing, Golf, Horseback Riding, Skiing, Snowmobiling, Tubing-Snow & White Water Rafting

Keywords: house

More Details

Jody Thomas
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2018

About Jody Thomas

I am the VP of Communications for the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland and Larry is a retired firefighter and government administrator. We have two grown children and one granddaughter who loves to ski. Larry and I have come to love Snowshoe, along with an occassional glass of wine or Johnnie Walker Black and time with friends and family. We also have a small oceanfront condo in Ocean City, MD that is perfect for beach-lovers.

Jody Thomas purchased this house in 2004

Why Jody Thomas chose Snowshoe

Accompanied by our realtor in search of the perfect mountain getaway, we pulled up to this new cedar home tucked back into the woods. Lying under the balcony was an eight-point buck - it was a sign. We loved the home's three-story interior that allowed plenty of room for large family gatherings. We drew up the contract and 'The Perfect Escape' was born.

Since then, we have become friends with the home's builder from whom we purchased the property, Jerry Holder, and his family. He still says we stole it (though usually with a smile).

What makes this house unique

There's not enough we can say about the laid-back lifestyle in Snowshoe and especially at The Perfect Escape. Being in the woods in the nearest development to the resort and not in the thick of 'the mountain,' was the best (and least expected) benefit of a visit to The Perfect Escape. Enjoying the deck and hot tub without the noise of neighbors and the buzz of cell phones is awesome. But since we couldn't live without social media and email, the wireless Internet is good for smartphone addicts and workaholics (myself included).

The faint of heart appreciate our easy approach, there are none of those dips and curves that make you feel you are about to fall off the mountain. But the snow piles up fast, so you still need four-wheel drive to get around in Snowshoe - you have been warned.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Snowshoe in Mingo

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • One full bath on each floor
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Cathedral ceiling with ceiling fan.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Cathedral ceiling and ceiling fan
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Main floor with ceiling fan
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , Lower level with ceiling fan
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed , 2 Bunk Bed , Single bunks sleep 3 and double bunk sleeps 2 with fan
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Double bed (1) Bunk Beds (2)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
The Perfect Escape, Luxury Mountain Home/5 Acres of Privacy
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 30 reviews
Potomac Falls, VA

The Perfect Escape, Round II

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time at The Perfect Escape, and we could not have asked for anything more perfect. Larry and Jody are a pleasure to work with through the reservation process - they respond to questions quickly and provide great information for your stay.

The cabin is the quintessential mountain getaway home for a week or a long weekend- and offers plenty of room for all of your guests. We had 10 in our group this year and everyone loved how they had their own space to retire in at the end of a day on the slopes. It is a short drive up the mountain to get to Snowshoe's ameneties, but you could walk to the stores along Route 66 if you wanted to (we actually did walk to breakfast on Friday morning). The town of Slaty Fork has everything that you would need for a ski weekend - rentals, a restaurant, gas, groceries - it's the perfect pit stop on the way in to the cabin.

The Cabin is wonderful - we especially enjoyed the ping pong table, the fireplace, and the hot tub - which is a must do immediately coming off of the slopes.

The Perfect Escape is exactly that - the Perfect Escape. It is great for large groups, or a couple of families with kids. And is also perfect for Ski Weekends or golf or fly fishing weekends. It truly is Perfect!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Larry and I are truly fortunate to have had the opportunity to share our wild and wonderful West Virginia home with others who enjoy all the area has to offer. While we aren't able to squeeze in "mountain time" in the winter, we're looking forward to our annual summer expedition to The Perfect Escape to get away from the heat and hustle of city life. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house, responsive owners

  • 5 of 5

The Perfect Escape exceeded our expectations when we stayed there earlier this month. It's a great spot for a larger group that wants to be close to the slopes without being on top of everyone else in the village. The house was clean, comfortable and everything was in fine working order.

The owners of the house were also very responsive leading up to and during our stay, which is always important. We received heavy snow the night before we checked out and both Jody and her husband quickly contacted people in the nearby town to come plow the long driveway so our group could get out.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re glad you enjoyed your stay! It’s nice to know we’re not the only ones who think the location is the best of both worlds, close to the action, but far enough away to be away. I just got back from Park City and it looked like Snowshoe was ahead on the snowfall. Thanks for spending your vacation at The Perfect Escape!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home close to Snowshoe

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this beautiful home close to Snowshoe for our ski trip. It was outstanding in every way , close to Snowshoe mountain , wonderful restaurants recommended by the owners and in a peaceful mountain setting. I highly recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not at all worth the additional charge for holiday rates

  • 2 of 5

House was nice but was left dirty when we arrived. There were oyster shells and trash all over the deck. We called several times before our stay to confirm a few things and no one ever called us back. The hot tub had a brown ring around the water line so it was unusable. One of the bunk beds was unusable because the top frame was detached from the bottom frame so the kids had to double up. Did we have fun skiing? Yes. But the house was not worth the money we paid and would not recommend renting this house to anyone based on the condition we found it upon arrival.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We want to give our guests a seamless and enjoyable stay every time. Despite our best efforts, unexpected things can occur. It’s very disheartening to hear about trash on the deck. I’ll never forget the time we came to enjoy a ski weekend with our family only to find some of our dishes had been used for target practice on the deck by a group of guests. We have no idea when it happened or who was responsible, because it was only revealed after a snow melt. While that was an extreme case, it’s not unusual to find a beer can or two somewhere after the snow has melted. Our cleaning team assured us our home and hot tub had been cleaned. The bunk bed was in need of repair, which was quickly done after checkout. I agree it would have been better if the cleaners had noticed it, but it was easily fixed and could have been addressed had it been reported during your stay. All guests have my cell phone number, my personal email and the local maintenance crew’s phone number. I’m not a property manager and I cannot always take calls while I’m at work. But with no messages left on my phone or email, and none with our maintenance company, I was unaware and unable resolve these items and improve your experience. It’s unfortunate and I’m sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Perfect Escape

  • 5 of 5

My company outing was to go and ride the train in Cass WV. We picked the perfect escape because of a beautiful house, amenities and convenient to Cass. We had plenty of space, there were 11 of us and mostly everything we needed. The house was clean and had everything the write said it would. Could have used a few more towels but it worked.We are from Columbus, OH and we could not get the OSU football game on and some of our group were disappointed . C'est la vie! haha. I recommend this house highly to anyone who is going to this area. It is very quiet , peaceful and roomy.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Gerry! We’re glad you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully, you had a nice change of fall colors too. We’ll check with our crew about the towel count - that’s a first, so good to know! - Jody & Larry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house for large group!

  • 5 of 5

The house was lovely and perfect for our large group ski trip! There is a ton of space, we never felt crowded with the large living room and great long kitchen table.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Snowshoe, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £92.83 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £43.81

Guests must be at least 24 years of age to rent our home.
Cancellation policy: Full refund 60 days or more prior to check-in.
Excessive well depletion/water delivery fee of $150.
All rates subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question