Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Free Wifi, Great Location, Lots of Amenities, walk to shops, restaurants, bars.

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom 2 Bath Condo on the Beach, Private Beach w Beach Chairs & Heated Pool

House of the Sun, Unit 201, Siesta Key, I have a few other properties listed on VRBO as well and they are all on Siesta Key. If this one is not available for you, I have another condo also at House of the Sun, and at one is listing 1201328. Additionally, please view the other properties that I have. In the search engine, you can view a one bedroom which is 108307 and you can view my large 3 bedroom which is 721757. Thanks for your interest in my condos.

The following is a description of my condo at House of the Sun:

•House of the Sun is located at 6518 Midnight Pass Road, Siesta Key, Florida 34242

• 2nd Floor Unit #201. I also have another condo at House of the Sun on the fifth floor.

•Reserved parking space is located under the building and you car will be kept cool 24/7.

Free Wifi.

•Master Bedroom has a king size bed, double mirrored closets, a mirrored vanity area, flat screen TV, private bath with walk in shower, updated, and is very spacious.

•Second bedroom has two twin beds and flat screen TV. The guest bathroom has a shower/tub combination, granite and sliding glass doors for the tub/shower.

•Living Room has High speed wireless internet, Surround Sound Home Theater with Ipod docking station, Blue Ray DVD player and 55'' flat screen smart TV.

•Fully equipped kitchen with a clothes washer and clothes dryer.

•Balcony with two lounge chairs, table w/4 chairs.

•Beach towels, beach lounge chairs provided on our beach by House of the Sun, and beach toys are all here. No need to bring any.

•Heated Pool and our own private tennis courts overlook the gulf.

•House of the Sun supplies lounge chairs both at the pool and on our section of the beach.

Views from the balcony face off to the southwest. Although this condo does not offer a view of the gulf, we still have a very nice view facing off towards the southwest and we get a wonderful southern exposure on our balcony all day long. House of the Sun has fourth and fifth floor decks with tables, chairs and lounge chairs and is a popular spot for sunset and the breathtaking panoramic views of Siesta Key Beach. Our HEATED POOL, and PRIVATE TENNIS COURTS overlook the gulf. During winter season the location cannot be beat, being one block from the Stickney Point Bridge (no long, slow lines on and off the key), and restaurants, bars, grocery, bike rental, drug store, ice cream, 7/Eleven, and much, much more, just across the street from House of the Sun.

Guests of House of the Sun enjoy bringing their evening cocktails and snacks to the FIFTH FLOOR DECK where the feeling is fun and friendly. Long lasting friendships that span the globe have been made from the fifth floor deck at sunset and guests come back year after year to enjoy this wonderful complex. CHARCOAL GRILLS are available with a beautiful picnic area that overlooks the beauty of the Gulf.

If you want a stress-free drive-free vacation, away from the public beach but still on the beautiful quartz crystal sands of Siesta Key Beach, this is one to consider.

If you would like to watch any of the video tours of the condos that I own and privately rent on Siesta Key, you can do so by logging into youtube. In the youtube search engine, input Donna Grimmer and all of my videos will appear.

Please take the time to read my RATES page. It has important information to help you when you book. Before you book, you can always send me an email by clicking ASK OWNER A QUESTION. It is best to know all of the facts and make sure that the time frame you need is available before you do a reservation request.

Keywords: 2 bedroom 2 bath condo on Siesta Key on the beach, Donna Grimmer, vacationsiesta, FREE WIFI

More Details

Owner
Donna Grimmer
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 May, 2018

About Donna Grimmer

Hi. I'm Donna Grimmer and I have four condos that I would love to show to you. If you are familiar with youtube, you can search out my videos by typing donnagrimm into the search engine at youtube. You can also find them on VRBO. They are 101699, 314793, 108307 and 721757 Although I do not live in Florida, I'm on Siesta Key many times a year and constantly check to make sure that my condos are in excellent condition. If you have any questions about my condos, please feel free to contact me anytime through this VRBO website. Have a great day.

Donna Grimmer purchased this condo in 2005

Why Donna Grimmer chose Siesta Key

House of the Sun is an extremely well run and maintained property. And we have all of the conveniences of shopping right across the street. We do not have to deal with the slow moving traffic on the key as we are just off of the south bridge (Stickney Point). Having a condo on the 2nd floor is a wonderful convenience, even with the 2 elevators, we can just walk up one flight of stairs to our condo. We love our place at House of the Sun!

What makes this condo unique

Dave and I have been coming to Siesta Key for over 15 years and we love it. We decided to purchase our condo at House of the Sun for so many reasons. First, we really like the location. The complex is on the gulf and one block away from the Stickney Point Bridge. During the busier times of the year, it is wonderful to be able to leave our building, cross the bridge and get to our destination without long, slow lines. We enjoy the large, heated pool the overlooks the gulf, and we love the decks on the fourth and fifth floors. Every evening, guests of House of the Sun love to come up to the 4th and 5th floor decks for sunset. A horn is typically blown from our 5th floor deck just as the sun is disappearing into the Gulf. The deck provides a panoramic view of Siesta Key Beach, and we are one of the very view complexes that have these wonderful decks right on the beach. We love the convenience of being able to walk across the street for groceries at the Crescent Market, cocktails at the Sniki Tiki and dinner at Claytons. Typically, my car stays under the building in my covered parking space for most of my time at House of the Sun. Everything that I need is right across the street, from rentals, to shops, to a variety of eateries, liquor stores, ice cream, pizza, pharmacy, rentals, and the list goes on and on...I simply cannot say enough about the location and amenities here at House of the Sun!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Exactly four weeks and one day until toes in the sand!!! After this school year, I'm ready!!



Julie and I are people who feel it is very important to respect rules and respect the possessions and property of others. And we instill these principles in our children. We certainly will treat your condo even better than we do our own home!!! We fell in love with Siesta Key and your condo on our first trip and is the reason we want to make this at least a yearly trip if possible. After our dream trip to Hawaii last summer, when Julie asked where to go next year, I said right away, Siesta Key and House of the Sun. She concurred!!!



I appreciate how accommodating you are and the attention to details that make a family's vacation even more enjoyable.



Thanks



Joe and Julie C
May 2018
  • 1 of 24

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in the Siesta Key in the Sarasota County

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • near the sea ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Lift ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Large walk in shower, granite and tile, fresh & bright.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Tub/shower has sliding glass doors, granite & tile.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Spacious bedroom, double closets, vanity, flat screen TV
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Flat screen on wall, comfortable and fresh mattresses.
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Free Wifi, Great Location, Lots of Amenities, walk to shops, restaurants, bars.
average rating of 4.78125 based on 56 reviews
5

The Best

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time in Siesta Key and it won’t be our last. Donna’s condo was everything we had hoped for and more. It was beautifully decorated, SPOTLESS and very well stocked and organized. Donna herself was very pleasant and very accessible if needed. I would highly recommend Siesta Key and staying at Donna’s condo.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jennifer, It was great to have been able to meet you and your husband. We are on the key every winter and like to be able to be hands on at all of our condos here on Siesta Key. I can check the place after every clean and restock it with items that most rentals don't have. I hope to have you back again in the future. Remember, if you are thinking about next winter, you can reserve now as all weeks in the winter have a tendency to be reserved about a year in advance. Give it some thought while you are up there in Binghamton, NY...I hear it is 30 degrees and snowing right now. Stay warm! Donna
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great place !

  • 5 of 5

Very clean , quiet, close to food and entertainment and short walk to the beach.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Bruce, Thank you very much. You were an awesome guest and will always be welcome back to any of the four condos that I have on Siesta Key. You may want to follow my Siesta Key Facebook Page as I post great last minute deals throughout the year. Save Travels home. I hear it is pretty cold up there in Indiana right now. Donna G
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful beach retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 (with 2 kids ages 5 & 2) stayed the week. Extremely pleased with everything. From the unit itself, which was super clean, the great location in town to the responsiveness of the owners - everything was great. And you can't beat that it's right on the beach! Appliances are getting a bit outdated, but worked for our needs. Right across the street are bars/restaurants, convenience store, ice cream shop and place to rent bikes for cheap. The condo building itself has tennis courts, ping pong, an arcade room (with free games & air hockey), 2 working gas grills and a perfectly heated pool. Walk right out onto the private beach and enjoy a stroll or relax in the sun. Can't wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will be returning! The condo is spotless and well-appointed. Owner communication is the top-notch. We weren't concerned with being within walking distance to The Village area, so this was the perfect location for us. Loved the beach access & nearby bars/restaurants.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Wendy, Thank you for the wonderful review! Having purchased this one just last October, it was important to be able to get feedback and do whatever we can to make it as top notch as our other 3 places that we have here on Siesta Key. It was great to have been able to meet up with you while you were here and I look forward to having you back in the future. Hopefully we will meet again. Have a wonderful 2018!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved the privacy of the beach! Location walking distance to a bunch of stuff

  • 5 of 5

Donna is very informative, the condo is extremely well stocked, and it's so nice to go on a vacation where the beds actually comfortable! Weather was perfect and the restaurants and stores walking distance were terrific

  • Review Submitted: 24-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kevin, I'm pleased to hear that your pre-holiday get-away was a good one and that you enjoyed my condo at House of the Sun. I love the complex and the location and that is the reason why I purchased two units at this complex. I hope that you will keep me in mind for a return trip and that you will let your friends and family know that they can reach out to me through my Facebook Page, my email, or phone anytime. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a healthy and prosperous 2018! Donna G
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1/2 time Sarasota; 1/2 time New Jersey
1

STAY AWAY FROM HERE!

  • 1 of 5

Don't stay here! I had a very unpleasant experience in the end, ruining an expensive 3 day weekend. The owner uses a young, totally unprofessional cleaning person (who told me she was the owner's niece), and who yelled "get out - your time is up" when she arrived precisely at 10 am on the final day. So we did. Then I received a text message from the owner an hour later complaining I hadn't stripped the beds! And in the end, the owner retained some of my security deposit claiming I hadn't complied with her cleaning instructions. So consider yourself forewarned! There are many great places to stay in Siesta Beach and Sarasota. This is definitely not one of them.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have an agreed departure time of 10:00 in order to get the condo ready for the next guest due to arrive the same day. This is standard departure time for the entire complex of House of the Sun as well as most other properties on the Key. My cleaning lady, who is a mature adult owner operator of her own business for over 15 years, arrived at 10:45 and you had not started to get ready to leave the condo, had not performed any of the departure procedures that are clearly written in my rental agreement and posted on the refrigerator, and you told her that you would leave when you were ready which was well past 11:00 AM. My cleaning lady does not yell or confront guests, but she has a job to do and does it very well as many of my reviews will attest to. I have several condos on the Key and receive many compliments about my units and their very clean condition. Cleanliness is key to a happy stay and these cleaners have an excellent track record. I want to make one thing very clear. I NEVER deducted any part of the security deposit for failure to follow check out procedures OR for late departure. I could have as you left the place trashed with garbage, left all lights on, all fans running, left the door to my condo wide open, and left the security door to the complex of House of the Sun propped open for anyone to walk in. You treated my home and the people who maintain it with with disrespect and you were never docked for any of it when you received your security deposit. With that said, you are not a welcome guest at any of my properties again.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Location

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Sarasota/Bradenton SRQ
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-75
Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in the Siesta Key, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
July 2018
9 Jul 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£499
for 3 nights
From
£138
 
 
Late Summer 2018
13 Aug 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£499
for 3 nights
From
£138
£1,023
 
 
Thanksgiving Week
17 Nov 2018 - 24 Nov 2018
5 night minimum stay
£839
for 5 nights
From
£151
£1,048
 
 
Pre-Holiday Get-Away
25 Nov 2018 - 19 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£486
for 3 nights
From
£134
£985
 
 
Winter Snowbird Deal
3 Jan 2019 - 12 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£860
for 5 nights
From
£155
£1,090
 
 
Winter
2 Mar 2019 - 9 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
£1,446
for 7 nights
£1,446
 
 
April 6-April 27, 2019
6 Apr 2019 - 27 Apr 2019
6 night minimum stay
£1,342
for 6 nights
From
£210
£1,446
 
 
May 11, 2019to June 1, 2019
11 May 2019 - 31 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
£524
for 3 nights
From
£147
£1,006
 
 
Summer Vacation
1 Jun 2019 - 9 Aug 2019
7 night minimum stay
£1,153
for 7 nights
£1,153
 
 
End of Summer
10 Aug 2019 - 22 Nov 2019
3 night minimum stay
£499
for 3 nights
From
£138
£964
 
 
THanksgiving Week
23 Nov 2019 - 29 Nov 2019
5 night minimum stay
£839
for 5 nights
From
£151
£1,090
 
 
November 30th to Dec. 21, 2019
30 Nov 2019 - 20 Dec 2019
3 night minimum stay
£499
for 3 nights
From
£138
£985
 
 
Dec 21, 2019 to 1/24/19
21 Dec 2019 - 24 Jan 2020
5 night minimum stay
£839
for 5 nights
From
£151
£1,153
 
 
Winter High Season
25 Jan 2020 - 17 Apr 2020
7 night minimum stay
£1,446
for 7 nights
£1,446
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£502
for 3 nights
From
£139
£1,006
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £149.74
Departure Clean £74.87 + Tax

LESS THAN A 7 NIGHT STAY IS AT A HIGHER 'PER NIGH' RATE THAN IF YOU BOOK FOR A FULL WEEK.

FEES AND CHARGES - PLEASE READ.

FEES FROM VRBO: VRBO adds on a SERVICE FEE, usually somewhere between 6 to 11%, depending on the amount of the rental. You can view a breakdown of all charges on line and before you book. Press GET AN INSTANT QUOTE, then click VIEW DETAILS on that quote. If you have questions with regard to the charges, send an email to the owner.

CREDIT CARD PROCESSING FEES: Credit cards have fees that range anywhere from 3-5% & will be the responsibility credit card holder. The credit card processing fees are separate from VRBO's 'service fee' and can easily be avoided by using E-check payment through VRBO. All credit card fees are deducted off of the security deposit before the deposit is refunded back to the credit card. You have options other than by using a credit card and if you are trying to save money, make payments with an alternate method other than by using a credit card. The choice is yours.

E-CHECK PAYMENTS THROUGH VRBO are FEE-FREE. This option is available for any VRBO reservation AND IS THE PREFERRED PAYMENT METHOD AS IT WILL SAVE THE TRAVELER ON CREDIT CARD FEES.

PERSONAL CHECKS: I can accept personal checks as long as payment in full is received at least 30 days in advance of the reservation.

REQUEST A RENTAL AGREEMENT BEFORE YOU BOOK. A PERSONALIZED, COMPLETED AND SIGNED RENTAL AGREEMENT IS REQUIRED FOR ALL RESERVATIONS. BY REQUESTING A RENTAL AGREEMENT BEFORE YOU BOOK, WILL GIVE YOU COMPLETE INFORMATION WITH REGARD TO THE RESERVATION. IF YOU HAVE NOT REQUESTED A RENTAL AGREEMENT AND YOU ARE ACCEPTED BY RESERVATION REQUEST, YOU WILL BE EMAILED YOUR PERSONALIZED RENTAL AGREEMENT THAT YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE AND RETURN WITHIN 48 OF THE ACCEPTANCE OF THE RESERVATION REQUEST.

I hope you will consider any of my condos on Siesta Key when you make your decision to book.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable