HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Owner

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks English

'Sandy Pines' 4BDRM on Harris Creek w/Pool, Dock, Paddle boards, Kayaks, Sunfish

36 Reviews
People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Chesapeake Bay - Sandy Pines

4 BD, 3BA, (Sleeps 10) with Paddle boards, Kayaks, Canoe, and Sailboat

Sandy Pines, with its own private waterfront, dock, and swimming pool, offers a peaceful retreat within the quiet natural beauty of the Chesapeake Bay region. The very private home, sited on broad navigable Harris Creek, enjoys stunning sunset views across the Chesapeake tributary, and is fully-equipped and furnished for a restful family vacation.

We provide two SUP ATX standup paddle boards, two kayaks, one canoe, and a Sunfish sailboat unlike any other rental in this area!

Sandy Pines features four bedrooms and three full bathrooms. One of the bedrooms and baths is in a separate wing of the house, so that families can offer guests or relatives some privacy. Two families can comfortably share the home with comfort. The home features a screened-in porch, a renovated kitchen, a spacious dining room with water views, a living room, and a stunning high volume Bay room with views across Harris Creek. A piano makes for an added musical treat at the shore!

The home is on 3 acres tucked against a quiet cove, which allows for great kayaking, canoeing, sailing, fishing, and crabbing. A pine grove along the shoreline is a shady retreat with hammocks and furnishings to watch sunsets. The dock, with 2 ft MLW, offers pilings for tying up a small boat.

The shoreline allows for finding sea treasures and setting up a beach chair for reading and enjoying the water on Harris Creek. Your mornings will be filled with the sounds of waterfowl, and you will observe the bounty of Chesapeake wildlife during your stay. Heron, swan, and eagles all visit the area with regularity.

Sandy Pines is less than a two-hours from Washington, D.C. and three hours from Philadelphia and is located in the village of Bozman, five miles from St. Michaels, Maryland. You can walk 5 minutes to the fishing village of Neavitt, which has a playground, park, post office, and deep water boat launch. St. Michaels, Maryland and nearby Oxford, Easton, and Tilghman Island offer great cultural attractions, museums, antiques, artisans to make your stay complete.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Owner
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks English

About The Owner

We rented and then purchased this beautiful home and cherish it as a place to gather, and to be refreshed and renewed! This continues a tradition for this property. We offer this treasured place for family vacations, and 50% of our families are returning vacationers.

The Owner purchased this house in 2012

Why The Owner chose Chesapeake Bay

We loved the quiet peaceful feeling of the property, the natural beauty, and its proximity to town (St Michaels). Our two young children love the pool, outdoor area, and experiencing the creek. It's a great setting for enjoying the water in your favorite way: crabbing, fishing, kayaking, canoeing, sailing, etc.

What makes this house unique

A feeling that you have been away from the metropolitan area, that you breathe fresh air, see so many stars at night, and slip out onto the water whenever you choose!

Reviews

4.8
based on 36 holidaymaker reviews

'Sandy Pines' 4BDRM on Harris Creek w/Pool, Dock, Paddle boards, Kayaks, Sunfish
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 36 reviews
5

Everything you need for a getaway

  • 5 of 5

This is our second visit to Sandy Pines and it did not disappoint! The property is a bit outside of St Michaels...probably takes 10-15 min to get to the center of St Michaels from there. You could bike it if you wanted as the roads are wide enough and there is a bike lane. But you will love the property so much that you won't want to leave. The yard is lovely, with so much shade, hammocks, chairs, and a picnic table by the water where there was almost always a breeze. There are plenty of things to keep active people busy here: badminton, two kayaks, sunfish, paddleboard. The pool is beautiful and was well cared for. Pool cleaners come every week (nice guys!). We spent much time by the pool as it was particularly hot when we were there. There is a lovely screened in porch by the pool with ample comfortable seating. Inside the house has everything you could need. Kitchen is stocked with everything you need should you choose to cook. The owners are generous in leaving behind some staple ingredients as well as what you may need for laundry and paper products. The home is clean and the furnishings are comfortable and in good condition. We love the flexibility of the bedrooms/bathrooms layout. It's easy to spread out here and if you are sharing with another family or with teenagers and friends, you won't be in each others way.

The owners and their local caretakers are responsive to any issues that may arise. The info that they provide is very detailed and clear and you should have all your questions answered from reading the property details on VRBO, but if you have other questions, they respond quickly to emails.

Summer visits require you to pack your own linens, which can take up a lot of space, but it's not really a big deal. They have plenty of pillows and blankets.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Eat stop away from it all...come prepared.

  • 4 of 5

This house is lovely for a large group of people. The separateness of each space makes it easy. The pool was nice outdoors and indoors lovely. We suffered through three plumbing problems, but the caretaker responded quickly in all three cases, and owners were great. Beds linens and towels were superb. Kitchen everything worked… Just need some more hand towels and perhaps some new pans.

The property does have quite a long walk from school to waterfront. Bring a flashlight and use Cara going out to the chairs. There's not anything else but good to say about This property ! I hope to go back with girlfriends in the fall. BTW… Cell phone coverage is spotty… But who cares!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice property, with several drawbacks.

  • 2 of 5

We are a group of 60 to 70-year-olds with Eastern Shore roots who gather periodically for reunions. The house at Sandy Pines is nice, well laid-out with comfortable bedrooms and a reasonably well-equipped kitchen. Furnishings are contemporary, with lots of store-bought touches to suggest regional flavor. The screened-in porch overlooking the pool is cozy, and the landscaping around the house is attractive.

For me, the problems began with the requirement that we make our own beds, strip them upon departure, then wash the sheets and towels and leave them as we found them. There's only one washing machine, so you can imagine how time-consuming this would be if all seven beds and three bathrooms were in use. Alternatively, guests can bring their own linens, which is what we chose to do. This isn't much of a hassle if you're driving, but if you're flying it adds considerably to your luggage requirements. It's like staying at a full-price hotel that doesn't provide maid service.

Also, there was a strong smell of cat musk around the front door which also permeated Bedroom 3, adjacent to the entrance hall.

The back lawn, leading to the waterfront and dock, is traversed by two muddy ditches full of swampy water. The ground is quite bumpy due to tree roots, etc., so it would be unwise to try to navigate it at night without some serious flashlights. There is no "shoreline" per se — just rock jetties flanking the dock.

The shower in Bedroom 4 was not working, so we called the maintenance person listed in the guest handbook. He was not available, but told us where to find the tools needed to fix it ourselves.

For the most part, our cell phones didn't work on this property.

The checkout time is listed as 11:00 a.m. At about 11:20 on our last day we were still in the driveway, loading our cars and saying goodbye as we headed for our various destinations: VA, PA, and BWI Airport. A couple drove up (they turned out to be the cleaning crew) and reminded us rather pointedly of the checkout time. We had left the place spotless, even emptying out the bedroom wastebaskets, so it's hard to imagine how they could find $125 worth of "cleaning" to do. By contrast, the last place we stayed at (Martins Point) actually refunded most of our cleaning fee because they were so pleased with the condition we left it in.

This place would be okay for people who want everything on one floor, and who don't mind doing a little extra work during their stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Sandy Pines. We've very sorry that your experience was not as relaxing as you had hoped. We will definitely look into the issues regarding the cat smell that you had reported and regarding the repair. We try to keep the property in the best shape possible. It is true that at the end of the point, cell phone service can be poor. Many guests regard that as part of the "unplugging" and relaxation of the location. We do provide a land-line phone service and WIFI to try to provide alternatives. The policy regarding linen service is listed on the website. While not optimal in all cases, the logistics of changing over that many sheets during the peak rental season is challenging. We do try to accommodate guests traveling from large distances to the extent possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
New York, New York
5

Perfect Girl's Weekend Away

  • 5 of 5

Sandy Pines was everything we hoped for and more! The house is beautifully maintained and spacious enough for a large group.

We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and dinner al fresco at the picnic table by the Bay!

Couldn't have asked for a better weekend!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An Amazing Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and ready for us upon arrival. There is ample space and it accommodated 8 adults and two children comfortably. The pool was a plus, we spent most of our stay in the pool. The house is equipped with board games, lawn games, dishware, pots and pans. We felt at home in the house and really enjoyed the nature surrounding it. It is definitely a place to relax!! The only thing I would recommend were for perhaps an investment in some new mattresses for some of the beds. They were painfully uncomfortable but it would have been nicer if they were a tad bit more comfortable. I totally recommend this house.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad you had a great stay. We'll definitely check out the mattresses and look into having them replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Jersey
5

Fantastic family getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our weekend at Sandy Pines exceeded our high expectations.

The house was more spacious than envisioned, plenty of room for 7 of us (4 adults, 3 kids). There were more than enough bedrooms, but moreover there were plenty of different places for different groups to hang out, play games, etc., both in the house as well as outside. The screened in porch and hammocks were the favorites. The property itself was also lovely - the plantings were lush, the waterfront was tranquil, and the pine trees gave a woodsy, secluded feeling. Indeed, it was a very private setting.

We spent most of the weekend at the house - we had a great time with the watercraft, especially the sunfish and kayaks, we also played badminton, enjoyed the pool, and did some serious hanging out. The kitchen was well appointed for us to make breakfast and sandwiches, we did takeout from Sam's one night (good gyros) and seafood out the other (yum).

St. Michaels was fun to explore on the way out. You know it's a good town when there is a distillery, winery, and brewery all within the same block. The distillery was open when we weren't expecting it to be, a bonus.

In preparation for the trip, Brad was incredibly responsive, usually within a day, and very helpful with detailed information about the house and area.

We have rented several properties through VRBO, and while we've always had positive experiences this has probably been our favorite. I thought the house was a great value. If you're looking for a relaxing family getaway, look no further.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
BWI
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
St Michaels
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Oxford, MD
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Harbourtowne Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
U.S. Route 50
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Wittman, MD
Nearest Beach
70 Miles
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Car: necessary

Canoeing, Ecological Tours, Town Festivals, Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, Golf Course (Martingham)

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in St. Michaels, Chesapeake Bay

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2016
18 Jun 2016 - 27 Aug 2016
7 night minimum stay
£3,961
for 7 nights
£3,961
 
 
Fal 2016
28 Aug 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£951
for 2 nights
From
£396
 
 
Spring 2017
15 Apr 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£951
for 2 nights
From
£396
 
 
Summer 2017
17 Jun 2017 - 19 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,961
for 7 nights
£3,961
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£753
for 2 nights
From
£297
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £45
Cleaning £114
Tax Rate 4.0%

Contact us for special events or pricing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Chesapeake Bay in Maryland

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • river
  • waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Master Bath - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master with en-suite bath (California King)
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , Large room with one queen bed and two twin beds
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) There is also a baby monitor at the property.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Patio
  • Raft
  • Sailboat
  • Conservatory
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
SUP ATX Stand-up Paddle boards (2), Kayaks (2), canoe (1), Sunfish Sailboat (1), High-speed internet connection, Piano, Wood-burning Stove, several bikes (no guarantee on condition) No Pets, No Linen Service, No Smoking.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties