HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up


Member since: 2010
Speaks English

Mount Shasta Chalet

Bedrooms 3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday chalet in Shasta Cascade - Mt. Shasta Chalet

Studio, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

Book 3 nights for December - March 2016 and get a 4th night free (no other discounts with this offer). Cozy wood stove, Excellent view of Mt. Shasta, conveniently located between Mt. Shasta & Weed. 3 miles to the Ski Park.

We are a non-smoking/animal friendly home. Pets $25 per vacation.

Nestled in the pine trees at the base of beautiful Black Butte. The Black Butte is a cluster of overlapping dacite lava domes, a parasitic satellite cone of Mount Shasta. Located directly adjacent to Interstate 5 at milepost 743 between the city of Mount Shasta and Weed, California.

This is a spacious property with a fabulous environment and with wonderful views of Mt. Shasta. This peaceful house is simple but tastefully furnished & comfortable. Our heat source is a warm wooden stove for those cold romantic nights. We also provide wifi high speed internet at an additional charge. We have computer, printer, and fax at the office next door that guests are welcome to use.

Amenities include: Fireplace, DVD, VCR, Stereo, CD Player, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Dishwasher, Refrigerator, Cooking Utensils & Linens provided. Washer & Dryer. No Smoking inside the house (smoking is allowed on the deck or areas posted or garage when it's very cold outside).

Close by Activities: Hiking, Hunting, Hiking, Wildlife Viewing, Shopping, Restaurants, antiquing, wine tasting, Sightseeing, Swimming, Boating, Sailing, Waterskiing, Windsurfing, Jet Skiing, Rafting, Downhill Skiing, Cross-country Skiing, Snowmobiling, Sledding, Biking, Golf, Tennis, Horseshoes, Fishing.

Conveniently located between the towns Mt. Shasta & Weed. Close to Interstate 5. 1hr from either Ashland Oregon or Redding, CA, adjoining over 5,000 acres of hiking trails and nature galore. Fantastic views of Mt. Shasta! Cold Crisp clean water. We have the best water in Mt. Shasta!! Enjoy the purest water on earth, right from the kitchen tap!

For reservations please call 'Kat' at 530-926-2701 or on her cell at: 530-925-1278 (text or call), or you can send an email to: osoluckyme@

Keywords: Home, Vacation Rental House, Studio, Retreat, Mount Shasta, Black Butte, skiing, vacation, Retreat, woodstove, cabin-style, A-Frame, private, chalet, travel, bungalow, charming, private, hiking, relocation, short term rental , moving, storage, Siskiyou County , rental, overnight, accommodations, Mountain Views, storage, housing, deals, emergency housing, real estate, studio, hacienda, spiritual

NOTE: Hacienda is currently being rented for 6 months. Pictures 14-18 are of the Studio located next door.

Rates are based on 4 guests. Each additional Guest $10 per nite. Call or send a text message for our current specials!!! 530-925-1278


More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Dearinger (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Speaks English

About Dearinger

Self employed, adventurous, articulate, and very hard working single lady who owns vacation rentals and small mini storage facility located next door. We have plenty of room for all your toys, so feel free to bring your boat and RV for we have full hookups! I love meeting new people, especially those who come from other countries; to learn about their culture. I'm a big traveler! I divide my time between Mt. Shasta & Maui :)

If you are relocating and need long term rental or need a storage unit please keep us in mind. I'll give you a 20% discount off our already low prices. Bay area people $ave BIG! Consider us as your 'home away from home'.

Visit my Facebook at:

View my local Guide:

Dearinger purchased this chalet in 2001

Why Dearinger chose Shasta Cascade

Very serene and peaceful property that's a little off the beaten path, yet very close to everything. Centrally located between the towns of Mt. Shasta and Weed, right off I5. Each town is 1-2 miles each direction. Mt. Shasta park is a few miles away and Stewart Mineral springs is in nearby Weed. GREAT LOCATION & SPECTACULAR VIEWS!

We have the BEST water and clean air in Siskiyou County. Besides being beautiful here with fantastic views the water on our property is fresh, crisp, and clean, without any fluoride and comes straight from the mountain. There's lots of hiking and trails nearby with Black Butte right down the street..!!

What makes this chalet unique

I love the fact that our property is on a dead end street for we hardly have any traffic at all so it's nice and quiet. We adjoin over 5,000 acres of big pines and lots of nature. Very beautiful, and peaceful property. Staying here you will feel like you're in the country, yet Mt. Shasta is just a few miles away. Our location is very convenient for we are centrally located between the towns of Mt. Shasta and Weed.

View my local Guide:

Come check us out. For Reservations Call 'Kat' at 530-926-2701 or on her cell 530-925-1278 (Call or send text message)

Guestbook comments from the manager

This property has FANTASTIC unobstructed views of Mt. Shasta. The Owner was onsite so it was great to meet her. She's a very fun loving person and a real joy to be around!! The house was very clean and spacious. Very comfortable beds. Lots of extra amenities. These guys sure do think of everything! We took a hike to nearby Black Butte. We didn't even need a car. We had a lovely picnic on the adjoining acreage where we spent the day hiking and enjoying the beauty all around. We even found a pond within walking distance. I give this place a A+, a 5 star rating...! I am definitely coming back.
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 4


based on 11 holidaymaker reviews

Mount Shasta Chalet
average rating of 3.4545455 based on 15 reviews
Kailua, Hawaii


  • 5 of 5

We rented the house recently. The Host "Kat" was wonderful, and the house was perfect. Nice and clean with SPECTACULAR views of Mt. Shasta. It was spacious and has an excellent location, in between Mt. Shasta and Weed. There was nature all around with big pine trees. We were very happy with our stay. The owner even left hot cocoa and popcorn for us and provided "little touches" that other vacation rentals don't offer.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Diane. You were a wonderful guest and lots of fun!! I really enjoyed having you. Riobeca said thanks for purchasing some of the soaps, and face creams she sells. Aren't they fantastic? You should try her home made chocolate...!! It's out of this world. I'm glad you enjoyed the popcorn and other "goodies" we left for you and your guest. We always try to go the extra mile to make our vacation rental different from all the others....unique...!! See you again soon. Kat
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vancouver, WA

Very Nice...Cozy!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here for a week last year during the winter and had a great time. I was only 10 minutes from snow skiing , I fished at siskiyou lake and came back to a huge hot bathtub to relax. I recommend this place highly! Very Cozy!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Chris. You and your family are some of the nicest guests we've ever had. I really enjoyed having you. Thank you for inviting the Host to dinner. It was AMAZING. Hope to see you again this year! Kat
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The prices of the Chalet I see are not bad prices at all. I don't know why the place isn't renting every week. Kat is savvy in her work and anything else she does, I gave the chalet 5 stars and would love to plan a vacation where I can visit longer. I will tell all of my friends...

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Paige. I appreciate your positive review. We always try to make sure our guests have everything they need and we provide the "little" touches that other places don't. For example I put some popcorn and Hot Cocoa in the cuboard the other day for guests to enjoy. Our housekeeper Riobehca makes homemade soaps, jams, and beauty products that she puts out, so we really do go the extra mile. I travel quite a bit, taking new ideas with me. I probably need to take a more "proactive" approach in seeking reviews from our many satisified guests, so I really appreciate your positive review. Thanks again! Kat
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Property with excellent views of Mt Shastha

  • 3 of 5

Property was good,clean and close to interstate.The Gas grill does not work but we got the coal grill lit up and did the bbq.Rooms were clean and as we were bunch of friends we had fun and location of property is very good as we were 5 mins away from Lake Siskiyou and half an hour away from Dunsmuir where we went to see the Mosbrae falls.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well thank you. We appreciate your honest review and really enjoyed having you as our guest! Please come back again next year for we offer a 20% discount to repeat guests. By the time you return we will have made a lot of improvements for each time we rent the house we add something new! Thanks again! Kat
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

why all the fuss

  • 5 of 5

not sure why this place is not full every week. beautiful views close to everything fun..the houses are very nice and well maintained.the owner is very nice and helped us with everything, was a fun time had by all and we will be back again.

  • Review Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well said Phillip and thank you for finally putting it to rest! I am onsite now so everything is fine. I have even hired a fantastic new worker! We have added a few new things, like Direct TV with 130 channels and a nice dining room set. We always making improvements so be sure to stop by and see us again real soon. We are here to make your vacation special, so I am sending lots of positive energy your way! Thanks again for your HONEST review Phillip, and I hope to see you all again real soon! Mahalo, Kat
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Fearful & Scary Experience with Kids

  • 1 of 5

//Owner response:We regrettably respond to this complaint, and hope we can clear up any inaccuracies. We will consider the comments made by this and all travelers, for I don't mind assisting customers, even putting in long hours to ensure their trip goes smooth. It's always disheartening to receive reviews like this one, for I was on site ... //

After reading the owners response.... I thought that I have to write... I think that we are the first who went there last september and had a terrible experience... But we didnt write any review yet... But I was thinking abt it for a long time to write the review so that others wouldn't suffer like we did...

We went there around 8:30 pm and when we entered we couldnt bear the smell of dead rats or something like that... we couldnt use the refrigerator to keep the things which we got thinking we will stay there for 3 days... as the smell which I cannot express here in writing as I feel vomiting when I'm thinking abt it... that yuck smell :-(

We had kids below 6 and a infant baby who is 5 months.... our situation was at its worst... we didnt even use their restrooms as it too had a very bad smell... and one of us got UTI because of that... we couldnt sleep as the windows didnt have any screens or glass door... except a small dirty cloth... and thr room was the home to many animals & flies... [luckily didnt see bats anywhere... ha ha ha...]

1. The stoves didnt work

2. no hot water

3. yuck smell in fridge

4. dead rats smell in kitchen & thru' out the house.

5. flies everywhere

6. no window blinds, screen or door... overall open windows

7. smelly & dirty bed sheets

8. open toilets

9. no good lighting

10. no safety

and many many... OMG

view of mt. shasta from that house was the only good thing but we couldnt enjoy that also... because of the scary experience...

"OVERALL it should be called a GHOST HOUSE"

Can go there... if you are one who love thrilling & scary experience with ghosts aside ...

We didnt get our refund fully... she told that she cannot give even a penny... then somehow she gave half the amount...

after reading her response to some other review... I felt that it is common for her to such things...

even after many months... I couldnt forget all these experiences... it was horrible...

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All of the trash cans are empty when a guest arrives. We have dumpsters out in front for guests to use before they leave. If there was a smell then perhaps the dumpster was not used. The sheets are all new, the lighting is subtle, and there are no ghosts. Our home was built in 1991, so its doubtful its even old enough to have any ghosts. Comments like this are very nasty and come from people who want something for nothing. Beware of this guest. THERE ARE NO RATS IN OUR HOUSE. THE PROPERTY IS UP TO CODE. The stove does work. The refrigerator had been turned off to save power and it's normal to have a slight musky smell when not in use. They didn't know how to turn it on, so maybe this frustrated them. We will make sure we turn the refrigerator on for future guests. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1


Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
VFW, Gold Room, Mike & Tony's
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Mt Shasta Resort
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
The train runs throughout Mt Shasta
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Interstate 5
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
downtown weed / Mt Shasta
Nearest Ski
2.5 Miles
Mt Shasta Ski resort, Black Butte Tavern
Car: recommended

We are conveniently located in between Mount Shasta & Weed, at the Truck Village Drive-Summit Exit 743. Local area attractions include: Mt. Shasta Resort, Shasta-Trinity National Forest, Shasta Abby Buddhist Monastery, Sacred Mountain Spa, Stewart Hot Springs, Mt. Shasta Board & Ski Park, Mc Cloud Railway and Dinner Train, Siskiyou Lake, R-Ranch (Dude Ranch)in Hornbrook, and of course, Mt. Shasta which is 14,167 feet for those who like to hike. Downtown we have several wonderful restaurants & bakeries, day spas, book stores, and movie theaters. Mt. Shasta is a very 'unique' town that is the vortex of spiritual enlightenment. There are massage therapists, psychic readings, life coaches, and more. We also have great skiing, snowboarding, Ice skating, Fly Fishing, boating, etc. Nearby towns include: Redding 45 minutes away, Lake Shasta 30 minutes, Ashland Oregon 45 min, Yreka 20 min, and other nearby towns with local area attractions, such as Lake Shasta Caverns, Oasis Fun Center, Turtle Bay Exploration, Jet Boat Excursions, House boats at Shasta Lake, Caves in Cave Junction, the 'sunbelt' of OR in Brookings with their beautiful beaches, The Huge Sequoia Trees near Crescent City, White Water Rafting in Grants Pass OR, and the cute town of Ashland OR which has plays and lots of culture, including the Shakesphere & Britt Festivals. From our property we have awesome views of Mt. Shasta, and adjoin over 5,000 acres with hiking trails, big pine trees, and nature galore. There's a lot to see and to in Siskiyou County! Come stay with us for a week, or more so you can see everything. We have an awesome new Host! Kat ~

NOTE: You may notice some bad reviews. This is because our last host wasn't much of a 'people' person. The owner lives out of State, so these complaints didn't have anything to do with the house. We solved that problem by hiring a new host. :)


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Mount Shasta, Shasta Cascade

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Memorial Day
24 May 2016 - 26 May 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
Father's Day
18 Jun 2016 - 19 Jun 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
July 4th - Independance Day
3 Jul 2016 - 5 Jul 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £85
Property Damage Protection £54
Pet Fee £17
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please call or text "Kat" for availability & current SPECIALS!! Call or text Kat @ 530-925-1278
Chalet Cleaning fee - $125 / Pet fee $25 per pet each vacation. If you have more than one pet or extra guests, please indicate when sending inquiry for an accurate quote.



Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Shasta Cascade in California

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , HUGE bathtub
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 bathrooms, 1 bath with a shower downstairs &. Huge bathtub off master suite upstairs
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Other (Loft) - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Large Double Bed
  • (2) King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Our business, a small Storage facility is located next door for those who are camping or skiing and want to store seasonal equipment. We give Vacation Rental Guests a FREE unit..!! given with Vacation Rental. Perfect for those who are relocating into the area. Relocation & moving Service, package acceptance. Events, Retreats, catering. Daily service upon request.

Partner Offers


Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more

*Terms & Conditions apply

Portable wifi hotspot

Contact the Manager

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote