HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

HOT DEAL! Winter Monthly- $2970! October 30-November 5! November Weekly-$890!!!

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Gulf Views: 3-4 min Walk To Private Beach: Bob Sikes Cut: August, Fall Special!!

The Palms is the vacation Florida beach house with a panoramic view of Gulf of Mexico, private white beaches and paved Bike Path. Bob Sykes Cut (One Of The Best Fishing spots) is minutes away from the house.

The Palms is located in The Plantation, 24/7 gated community, which hosts a new, large swimming pool.

Upstairs kitchen, dinning room, living area, two furnished decks and screened porch provide a great place to enjoy a view of the Gulf. The kitchen is completely furnished with dishes, microwave, grill, ice maker, pans, coffee maker, blender, etc. You can enjoy the view of Gulf while preparing your meal. The Bay side screened porch provides a great place to enjoy any evening.

Four bedrooms with queen size beds and a second living area are downstairs. Please take a look at our video at the bottom of this page.

The Palms is pet friendly home.

The Island and The Palms, all of the pleasures of the good life will be yours here

A second living area is downstairs and is also equipped with a TV/VCR.

The downstairs has four large bedrooms (2 of which are masters), 2 baths, and the living area. Each bedroom is provided with a queen size bed. Three bedrooms have TV.

Our guests have easy access to the pools and tennis courts provided by the Plantations. We have several bikes, beach chairs and beach toys in our storage. You are welcome to use them when you stay in our house. The natural beauty that surrounds The Palms Retreat offers all sorts of entertainment: Enjoy watching the birds during the day with binoculars. We provide a handbook so that even the beginning bird watcher can learn about birds. Also watch the planets and stars with our telescope in the evening.

An early morning stroll at the beach is almost a guarantee to see dolphins put on show for you in the Gulf. It's not uncommon to see them swim up as close as 150 feet to the shore, and you will certainly be impressed by their power. The sidewalks in the neighborhood offer a great opportunity to jog, bike, roller blade, or walk. The island is also a great place to catch up on your fishing, either from a boat or the coast. We are located 10-15 minute walk along the beach from the rocky canal at the Northwest end of the island that is known as a prime fishing spot.

Please visit our home page to learn more about the house.

Amenities:4 bedrooms/3 baths, 2 master suites. Bed sizes: 4 queen, 1 sleeper sofa. Washer & dryer; fully equipped kitchen; 4 TVs, 2 VCRs. Outside hot/cold shower, fish prep area, charcoal grill.

Relax in chair of our furnished sun decks. Wonder at some of the most fabulous stargazing you may ever witness. You will enjoy a 'dark sky' that reveals magic Milky Way views. Fishermen and nature lovers adore this beautiful, natural, island setting featuring 26 miles of sand dunes, sparkling gulf waves and abundant bay waters. Park style grill and fish cleaning table provided for outdoor enjoyment. Or let the local adventure companies to take you on boating, biking or fishing adventure. You will love it.

2 furnished sun decks, 1 screened porch, bikes, beach chairs, community pool, tennis courts, and more.

You are welcome to take a look at our own site below and to learn more about our house!

More Details

Owner
Greg Smith
Member since: 2002
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 October, 2017

Location

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Tallahassee or Panama City Beach
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Blue Parrott, Paddy's, Harry A's, Black Marlin
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Carrabelle Ferry to Dog Island: Indian Pass Ferry
Nearest Golf
35 Miles
St James & Port St. Joe
Nearest Train
75 Miles
Panama City Beach & Tallahassee
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Gulf Coast Highway 98 & 300
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Center of the Island 6 miles
Car: necessary

You will not find high rise condominiums, congestion, or crowds. Swimming, shelling, fishing and sunning all await you here; if you want a peaceful getaway, this is the place to be. Wonderful seafood restaurants are located on the island and in nearby East Point, Apalachicola, and Carrabelle. Also, enjoy nine miles of scenic beauty in St. George Island State park located at the eastern end of the island.

Please take a look at this map. Leisure Lane is banding towards The Gulf and brings our house very close to The Gulf.

And this is where you want to be. We are also very close to Bob Sykes Cut. About 10 minutes walking on the beach. It is a very well known and one of the best fishing spot in Panhandle Florida. Only Plantation owners and their guests could fish their.

Other Activities: dining, shopping, swimming, fishing, biking, watching the birds, walking on the beach

Golf: St.James Bay

Beautiful 18 hole Golf Course, Public Welcome! 160 Laughing Gull Ln. Carabelle, St Joseph Bay Country Club

St George Island Lighthouse and Museum, Play Ground, Apalalachicola National Estuary Research Reserve, (ANERR) a delightful hands-on Museum, Apalachicola Maritime Museum, Soon to have the Jean Mary Paddleboat tours: WWII Museum Musuem in Carrabelle, St Vincents Island , nearby St. James Bay and Port St. Joe provide beautiful Golf Courses... While those who prefer to be on the beach, others can enjoy a round of golf or shop. The Plantation has 3 tennis courts, a pickleball Ct, 2 Club Houses and Pools, beach volleyball, Scalloping, Explore Several near by Islands and quaint towns. Apalachicola shopping, dinning and scenic river tours. Make reservations to sail on a sloop with the Maritime Museum or soon the paddle boat the Jean Mary.. Formerly owned by movie star Debbie Reynolds.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Plantation in Eastpoint

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View ...
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View ...
  • resort
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Outdoor - Outdoor Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen Air Mattress; Couch, one person can sleep comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Barbecue
  • Conservatory
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Decking
  • 1 bicycles
  • 2 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Household amenities include:4 TV’s, 2 VCR, 1 DVD players, washer, dryer, full kitchen including microwave, dishwasher, high chair, 2 baby gates, kitchen place settings, grill, fish cleaning area, 2 decks with great view of gulf, covered parking area, and screened bay side porch. Community amenities include: Pool, tennis courts, bike paths

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
2% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
HOT DEAL! Winter Monthly- $2970! October 30-November 5! November Weekly-$890!!!
average rating of 4.731707 based on 41 reviews
5

The Palms--A Great Choice for a Stay at St. George

  • 5 of 5

The Palms was comfortable and well-stocked with all the essentials. The house has three nicely furnished outside porches, including one screened in porch. All the rooms and the screened-in porch had ceiling fans. The owners provided bicycles--two were brand new--and a wagon to haul our stuff to the beach. They even included a bag a new beach toys for our one-year-old. We were very impressed. We have stayed on St. George many times over the years, but the Palms was definitely the best deal money-wise that we've ever gotten. We highly recommend this house. If you like being fairly close to Sykes' Cut, don't mind a short walk to the beach, and want a reasonably priced house, this is the place to stay!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to review our house. Glad that your family had a great vacation. Welcome back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Camdenton, MO
5

We really enjoyed our stay!!

  • 5 of 5

Loved riding the bikes the owners provided! Great screened in porch. Easy beach access from house. Really had a great time!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do our best to make our guests comfortable. So knowing what we are doing right is encouraging us to do even more for our guests. We hope you and your family will return to vacation with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful beach getaway

  • 5 of 5

The location was amazing with an almost private beach. The house was perfect for our family of 7. The owners were easy to work with and answered questions we had very quickly. We had a wonderful week and look forward to returning again next fall.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our house! It is great to hear from you that your family had a good time on the island. We welcome you back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great beach house!

  • 5 of 5

This place was very nice and a great location close to the beach. The wagon they provided was truly a blessing in getting my grandson and all our things to the beach. Thank you for a great vacation!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our house. Glad that your family had a great vacation. Welcome back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect summer get-away!

  • 5 of 5

This house was great! 4 bedrooms - with 2 baths down stairs and another big bathroom upstairs!! The architecture is really cool! I loved the location. I was thrilled that there were chairs, umbrellas and a wagon to use - this made life so much easier! Plus you have the beach and two pools!! The kitchen was fully equipped and the telescope was an added bonus! The owners were fabulous to work with! We will return!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our house. We are glad that you had a good vacation and enjoyed our house. We will be glad to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Property not exactly as presented...

  • 3 of 5

The pros for the property include comfortable beds and nice cool AC. The distance to the beach was very manageable to be located across the main road. The owners were accessible.

The cons of the property : the mosquitoes were absolutely unbearable after dusk... don't venture out! The kitchen is not large as advertised... super small.. Cooking is a challenge. The dining chair cushions would not stay in the chairs.. The view from the decks are of trees, you have to stand in the corner of the deck to even view the water... a bit of false advertisement there. The site leads you to believe that the property had satellite, which it did not and the advertised roku, Hulu, and Amazon did not work on all TV's in the house. If you bring your own stick and account, your in luck, otherwise you will turn in early. St George first timers will not risk this again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying in our house and taking the time to review our property. I would like to respond to “cons of the property” in your review. 1. Mosquitoes are not under our control, however if you would mention about mosquitoes problem during our phone conversations we would request local Mosquito Control department to spray our driveway. It could have been helpful if you had let us know of your concerns. 2. While “large” or “small” are subjective description, we provide the photo of our kitchen on the website. This photo allows everybody to decide if the kitchen has appropriate size for their family. According to the list of the visitors that you submitted, 4 days out of 7 you had up to 10 people in the house. A larger house may have been more suitable for your family. 3. Houses, that do not have trees between themselves and the Gulf, are advertised as “not obstructed Gulf view”. We do not advertise this. While there are trees in front of us, we can see the water quiet well. Our prior guest have always enjoyed this, as does our family. We would also like to mention that our rate is very competitive for our location, distance to the beach, size of house and our “obstructed” Gulf view 4. We subscribe internet service featuring up to 100 Mbps download speed and up to 10 Mbps upload speed. The provider is using fiber optical transmission. Currently it is the best internet option in the area. A lot of our guests were impressed by our internet service and told us that they wish to have this type of internet service at home. We emailed you our check in instruction 18 days before your arrivals. In this instruction we stated that we provide for our guests complimentary Netflix, Amazon and Hulu services. The same information is in our hospitality section on the site. We are working hard to provide our guests with enjoyable stay in our house. We wish that your family would be one of our many happy customers as well. We feel that we were very accommodating for your family during registration process. We also feel that we disclosed all information about the house properly and we were available to help and to assist our guests. We wish that communication with your family would be better. We would have been happy to help your family with connection to Netflix/Amazon if you had communicated with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Plantation, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall
7 Oct 2017 - 28 Oct 2017
4 night minimum stay
£832
for 4 nights
From
£165
£956
 
 
Fall / Winter
30 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£832
for 4 nights
From
£165
£906
£2,625
 
 
Christmas Week
23 Dec 2017 - 30 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£997
for 4 nights
From
£207
£1,071
£2,625
 
 
New Year Week
31 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£931
for 4 nights
From
£190
£1,055
£2,625
 
 
Winter
7 Jan 2018 - 27 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£832
for 4 nights
From
£165
£956
£2,625
 
 
Winter
28 Jan 2018 - 24 Feb 2018
5 night minimum stay
£997
for 5 nights
From
£165
£989
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
March
3 Mar 2018 - 9 Mar 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,204
for 5 nights
From
£207
£1,286
 
 
March
10 Mar 2018 - 17 Mar 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,493
for 5 nights
From
£264
£1,584
 
 
March
18 Mar 2018 - 7 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,576
for 5 nights
From
£281
£1,782
 
 
Spring
8 Apr 2018 - 14 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,419
for 7 nights
£1,419
 
 
Spring
15 Apr 2018 - 4 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£997
for 4 nights
From
£207
£1,237
 
 
Spring
5 May 2018 - 19 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,419
for 7 nights
£1,419
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£997
for 4 nights
From
£207
£1,328
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £170.6
Refundable Damage Deposit £227.46
Pet Fee £56.87
Tax Rate 9.0%

Number of guests (adults and children older 3 years old) in the party is limited by number listed on the inquiry/Rebtal agreement. This would include all daily visiting guests. Any additional visitors must be approved in writing by owner.
Add $ 20 per night, for each additional guest above standard occupancy of 8 people, up to 10.
Pets are allowed only on a pre-approved basis during reservation.
Military/Repeat Renter discount - 5%, not 4th of July week; 7 nights minimum. Can not combine with Special Deals.
Rates are subject to change without notice.

Guests younger than 25 and large groups must interview with property owner and are subject to paying a higher deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable