HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Christmas Week - $850! December Weekly $730! January Weekly $800! January-$2400!

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Plantation - The Palms Retreat!

Nice,Cozy Home, Private Beaches, Bob Sikes cut, WIFI, Great Rate and more...

The Palms is the vacation Florida beach house with a panoramic view of Gulf of Mexico, private white beaches and paved Bike Path. Bob Sykes Cut (One Of The Best Fishing spots) is minutes away from the house.

The Palms is located in The Plantation, 24/7 gated community, which hosts a new, large swimming pool.

Upstairs kitchen, dinning room, living area, two furnished decks and screened porch provide a great place to enjoy a view of the Gulf. The large kitchen is completely furnished with dishes, microwave, grill, ice maker, pans, coffee maker, blender, etc. You can enjoy the view of Gulf while preparing your meal. The Bay side screened porch provides a great place to enjoy any evening.

Four bedrooms with queen size beds and a second living area are downstairs. Please take a look at our video at the bottom of this page.

The Palms is pet friendly home.

The Island and The Palms, all of the pleasures of the good life will be yours here

A second living area is downstairs and is also equipped with a cable TV/VCR.

The downstairs has four large bedrooms (2 of which are masters), 2 baths, and the living area. Each bedroom is provided with a queen size bed. Two bedrooms have TVs, and one bedroom has a PC computer with Microsoft Office XP and connection to the Internet.

Our guests have easy access to the pools and tennis courts provided by the Plantations. We have several bikes, beach chairs and beach toys in our storage. You are welcome to use them when you stay in our house. The natural beauty that surrounds The Palms Retreat offers all sorts of entertainment: Enjoy watching the birds during the day with binoculars. We provide a handbook so that even the beginning bird watcher can learn about birds. Also watch the planets and stars with our telescope in the evening.

An early morning stroll at the beach is almost a guarantee to see dolphins put on show for you in the Gulf. It's not uncommon to see them swim up as close as 150 feet to the shore, and you will certainly be impressed by their power. The sidewalks in the neighborhood offer a great opportunity to jog, bike, roller blade, or walk. The island is also a great place to catch up on your fishing, either from a boat or the coast. We are located a 5 minute walk along the beach from the rocky canal at the Northwest end of the island that is known as a prime fishing spot.

Please visit our home page to learn more about the house.

Amenities:4 bedrooms/3 baths, 2 master suites. Bed sizes: 4 queen, 1 sleeper sofa. Washer & dryer; fully equipped kitchen; 4 TVs, 2 VCRs, CD/radio player, computer with Internet connection. Outside hot/cold shower, fish prep area, charcoal grill.

Relax in chair of our furnished sun decks. Wonder at some of the most fabulous stargazing you may ever witness. You will enjoy a 'dark sky' that reveals magic Milky Way views. Fishermen and nature lovers adore this beautiful, natural, island setting featuring 26 miles of sand dunes, sparkling gulf waves and abundant bay waters. Park style grill and fish cleaning table provided for outdoor enjoyment. Or let the local adventure companies to take you on boating, biking or fishing adventure. You will love it.

2 furnished sun decks, 1 screened porch, bikes, beach chairs, community pool, tennis courts, and more.

You are welcome to take a look at our own site below and to learn more about our house!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Greg Smith
Member since: 2002
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 November, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

Christmas Week - $850! December Weekly $730! January Weekly $800! January-$2400!
average rating of 4.71875 based on 32 reviews
5

Perfect House for a Fabulous Ten Days on St. George Island

  • 5 of 5

Just home from a fantastic ten days staying in this terrific house. It was everything we could ask for, clean, comfortable, easy access to the beach, open airy floor plan, great decks for a Gulf view. Will definitely consider renting again!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. Hope you will come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Knoxville
5

Another great vacation

  • 5 of 5

House was as advertised. Very clean and comfortable. Just a short walk to the beach. Owners were easy to work with and very accommodating. This is our second times staying in The Palms and we are planning another one in the coming year.

Thank you for your hospitality

Jack & family

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The house was beautiful. Location Was ok

  • 3 of 5

House was pretty. Beds were most uncomfortable beds I've slept in. Cleanliness was 5 star however I can inform you bring your own toilet paper. I've never stayed somewhere where they only supply half roll of toilet paper per bathroom. The owners kept terrific communication with us. The only thing I hated about the place was there is NO cable. You can't watch any local channels (hurricane Mathew was hitting Florida on east coast and we couldn't keep up with anything local. They supply those ruku and fire sticks but the Internet speed is pretty slow you have to watch movies a little slow! Also watch who watches the televisions because it's easy To purchase things. My wife purchased 3 things and didn't know she had. Pretty sure if we were going to purchase something it would be something besides Alena of Avatar or Sophia the first lol they deducted it from our deposit which I understand but why would anybody store their credit card info for this to happen! Overall I give it a 3 star. This rental has great potential however I believe they need to find new maintenance people to upkeep their property.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time for this review. I would like to address your concerns: The house is equipped with initial sets of toilet paper for each bathroom. In our hospitality section we have list of items that we recommend to bring, and toilet paper is on the list. I also advised you to read Hospitality section before you check in. The quality and reliability of cable service on the Island is not the best because we are on an island. We have had many problems with cable in the past - as in no cable for several days in a row and not a good quality. During hurricane, Mathew, cable subscribers were particularly affected. You likely experienced poorer Internet speed due to this. We switched to digital media players (Rocu and Amazon) and signed up for Netflix, Amazon and Hulu as content providers. So far our visitors appreciate the better quality, reliability and more TV options with Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, etc available to them. The technician who installed sticks made mistake in their configuration so our guests could charge our credit card. We were aware about this problem and I wrote you about this in our email before you checked in and during your stay. I wrote you that if you charge our credit card without our permission you will be responsible for these charges. And I emailed you invoices that we received from Amazon during your stay. As I am writing this the technician fixed this problem. Anyone can check the weather on laptops, iphone,etc. So it is not limitation for accessing local channels. So far our guests have told us that we have comfortable mattresses. Two of our mattresses are Sealy Posturpedic. We will check. On the third day of your stay at our home, you replied to my email “I'm sorry I left my phone in the vehicle. Everything is going great! The house is very nice and homely.” When I talked with you on the phone a couple days later you did not express any complains, you just said “The house is beautiful." I wish you would have expressed your concerns earlier so that we could have addressed them.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

No big complaints...but not what we expected

  • 3 of 5

I don't have any big complaints, but I also can't say it was what I expected or would have chosen. Overall, it could use a few simple updates to make it much more comfortable. Big updates are needed and it just didn't have a clean feeling because it is older and dated...., but just starting with things such as new bedding and towels would make a much better impression.

The owners were great to work with, prompt in responses.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that the house did not meet your expectations and we value your input. We do not advertise our house as a new house or one with major renovations. However we maintain the house and service our appliances regularly. As an example, this year we replaced the roof, decks and replaced several minor furnishings inside the house. We do ask that complaints or problems with cleanliness be expressed shortly after check in, so we can give chance our cleaning team to correct the situation or at least know what was wrong. We take our responsibilities seriously and are always trying our best to provide our guests with comfort and a clean environment.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lawrenceville, GA
5

Perfect home for our extended family!

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely and spacious home. The decks and screened porch added even more room. There were eight of us but we never felt like we were in each others way. The kitchen is well stocked for when you want to cook and the beds are comfy too. All in all it was a great experience and we are making plans to come back next year.

  • Review Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another great vacation at The Palms

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from the island where we spent two wonderful weeks.

Everybody in our family of eight had a great time. The weather was good, the house was comfortable, and clean. We enjoyed the multitude of birds, herons, owls, bald eagles; sugar white beaches and awesome bike trail. This is our second year on the island and at The Palms. The owners are taking good care and very accommodating. We noticed some changes since last year, such as upgraded TVs and a new carpet. We'll be back again next year.

Thank you!

N. Trangucci

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Trangucci Family: I am glad that your family had a good vacation time. We are trying to do the best for our guests. Welcome back. Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Tallahassee or Panama City Beach
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Harry A's
Nearest Golf
35 Miles
St James & Port St. Joe
Nearest Train
70 Miles
Panama City Beach & Tallahassee
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
98, 65, 300
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Blue Parrot,Harry A's,Firehouse,Eddie Teach & more
Car: necessary

You will not find high rise condominiums, congestion, or crowds. Swimming, shelling, fishing and sunning all await you here; if you want a peaceful getaway, this is the place to be. Wonderful seafood restaurants are located on the island and in nearby East Point, Apalachicola, and Carrabelle. Also, enjoy nine miles of scenic beauty in St. George Island State park located at the eastern end of the island.

Please take a look at this map. Leisure Lane is banding towards The Gulf and brings our house very close to The Gulf.

And this is where you want to be. We are also very close to Bob Sykes Cut. About 10 minutes walking on the beach. It is a very well known and one of the best fishing spot in Panhandle Florida. Only Plantation owners and their guests could fish their.

Other Activities: dining, shopping, swimming, fishing, biking, watching the birds, walking on the beach

Golf: St.James Bay

Beautiful 18 hole Golf Course, Public Welcome! 160 Laughing Gull Ln. Carabelle, St Joseph Bay Country Club

Restaurant/Bar/Ofc, Pro Shop/Poo, 700 Country Club Road, Port St. Joe, FL 32456,

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Plantation, North West Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
December
27 Nov 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£724
for 4 nights
From
£151
£750
 
 
Christmas
18 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
£854
for 5 nights
From
£147
£854
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
January
1 Jan 2017 - 28 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
£724
for 4 nights
From
£151
£811
£2,195
 
 
Winter
29 Jan 2017 - 25 Feb 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
£776
for 4 nights
From
£164
£958
£2,428
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2
26 Feb 2017 - 4 Mar 2017
4 night minimum stay
£811
for 4 nights
From
£173
£1,183
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 1
5 Mar 2017 - 11 Mar 2017
4 night minimum stay
£897
for 4 nights
From
£195
£1,235
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2
12 Mar 2017 - 25 Mar 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,157
for 4 nights
From
£259
£1,460
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 3
26 Mar 2017 - 8 Apr 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,157
for 4 nights
From
£259
£2,074
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
9 Apr 2017 - 20 May 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,157
for 4 nights
From
£259
£1,239
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Low
21 May 2017 - 27 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,326
for 7 nights
£1,326
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
28 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,013
for 7 nights
£2,013
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
1 Jul 2017 - 8 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,134
for 7 nights
£2,134
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
9 Jul 2017 - 5 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,013
for 7 nights
£2,013
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
6 Aug 2017 - 12 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,667
for 7 nights
£1,667
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
13 Aug 2017 - 26 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,581
for 7 nights
£1,581
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
27 Aug 2017 - 9 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,391
for 7 nights
£1,391
 
 
Fall
10 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,304
for 7 nights
£1,304
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£984
for 4 nights
From
£216
£1,330
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £60 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £238
Cleaning £119
Tax Rate 9.0%

Number of guests (adults and children older 3 years old) in the party is limited by number listed on the inquiry/Rebtal agreement. This would include all daily visiting guests. Any additional visitors must be approved in writing by owner.
Add $15 per night, for each additional guest above standard occupancy of 8 people, up to 10.
Pets are allowed only on a pre-approved basis during reservation.
Military/Repeat Renter discount - 5%, not 4th of July week; 7 nights minimum. Can not combine with Special Deals.
Rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Plantation, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View ...
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View ...
  • resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Outdoor - Outdoor Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Coouch, one person can sleep comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Terrace
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Barbecue
  • Conservatory
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Decking
  • 2 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Household amenities include:4 TV’s, 2 VCR, 1 DVD players, washer, dryer, full kitchen including microwave, dishwasher, high chair, 2 baby gates, kitchen place settings, grill, fish cleaning area, 2 decks with great view of gulf, covered parking area, and screened bay side porch. Community amenities include: Pool, tennis courts, bike paths

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot