HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Tu'Tu's Magic Sands Beach House with Huge Pool & Lovely Garden and Lanais

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

Large Two Story Home With 2 Kitchens, 2 Living Rooms, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths

Welcome to Hale Honu, or Tutu's house! We lived in this house for 7 years before we returned to the mainland to join our grandchildren, and hope you will find it as comfortable and accommodating as we did!

This large modern home in White Sands Beach Estates. lies only 3/4 miles from famous Kahaluu Beach Park, which provides some of the the best snorkeling on all the Islands. You can plan trips to South Kona to see the coffee and macadamia farms, Kohala to visit the fabulous resorts, or just stay local in Kona and enjoy the snorkeling, dining, and relaxed way of life.

While we are certainly not a 4 star resort, we provide a enjoyable family ambience and amenities that will let you experience life on Kona like a local. You can enjoy a lovely pool in a beautiful garden, play croquet on the lawn ,chill in the hammock, BBQ on the front lanai, or use the front lanai loungers to read or just stare at the horizon with a cocktail.

The Layout:

Upstairs:

*Wrap around Lanai (700 sq. ft) Ocean View from Lanai

*Master King-size suite with private bath and private lanai

*Second queen size bedroom with private lanai and adjacent full bath

*Large kitchen

*Spacious dining/living room

Downstairs:

* Huge living room

* Small bar kitchen

* King size bedroom with lanai overlooking pool and adjacent bath.

*Queen size bedroom

Amenities: Phone, TV, Cable, VCR/DVD. stereo, CD Player, Full Kitchen, Microwave/Convention oven, Dishwasher, Two Refrigerators, Ice Maker, Cooking Utensils provided. Linens provided. Washer/Dryer, Private Pool.

No Smoking in the house, only on the Lanais, please.

Beach Chairs, Towels, Boogie Boards, Pool Floats, Hammock, Snorkeling & Croquet Equipment provided.

Activities: Near Shopping, restaurants, Cinemas, Sightseeing, Swimming, Snorkeling/ Diving, Boating, Sailing, Surfing, Windsurfing Para sailing.

If you aren't looking for a 4 star resort experience, but rather want to enjoy a local and comfortable family experience, please inquire as we would love to host you. Thanks in advance for your inquiry!

State of Hawaii Tax I.D. W40921066-01

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2000
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
11 February, 2018

About The Owner

Hawaii was my dream; to live here in retirement and have my children come and visit. Then the grandchildren started to come, and Hawaii was just too far away for this Tutu (Hawaiian for grandmother) and so we moved back to the big Big Island. This is a family home, in a quiet neighborhood near the beach, able to accommodate up to 10 people for memorable family get togethers and occasions.

Why The Owner chose Kailua-Kona

The lush, garden setting with pool is just magnificent. Tropical birds sing in the trees, plumeria fragrance the air, charming geckos climb the walls, and screens keep out critters we don't want inside. We so enjoy the tropics that we've adapted to them - so no air conditioning, just gentle fans cooling each room. And because it's the tropics, you may find mosquitoes in summer in some areas of the island (occasionally including ours).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your house is great and your back yeard is a heavenly sanctuary that I will never forget. We had coffee out there every morning in what felt like paradise.
Aug 2005
  • 1 of 4

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Kailua-Kona in the North Kona

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , outdoors
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Child Bed , bath ensuite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , bath adjacent
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , bath adjacent
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Veranda
  • veranda
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 6 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(53 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
Tu'Tu's Magic Sands Beach House with Huge Pool & Lovely Garden and Lanais
average rating of 4.735849 based on 57 reviews
5

Great Home for Large Group

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from Kona yesterday after staying at Tu'Tu's Beach House. We were there for a week and we had a great time.

We had 7 people in our group (5 adults, 2 children) and the house was plenty big for us. We enjoyed barbecuing by the pool and staying out there for hours. The house comes equipped with everything you need- the kitchen is fully stocked with small appliances, cookware and utensils. They have beach chairs, beach towels and water gear.

We will definitely stay here again when we visit Kona.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your booking Glad the house worked out for your group
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Canada, Mill Bay BC
1

Could not sleep in this house. Arrived around Midnight left to find new accommodations by 10am.

  • 1 of 5

Think the storey is too crazy to be true? Check out my video:

(Review was rejected until I removed HTML link for you tube)

Arrived after midnight after a long day of travel. Lock box code was incorrect. Climbed in through a window. The scent and uncleanliness immediately made us feel uncomfortable and we knew we couldn't stay there. My son and I had a miserable night sleeping in the rental car. The others slept in/on the beds some in their clothes.

There were dead bugs scattered throughout this place (millipedes, cockroaches, centipedes, ect). There were even small dead bugs between the sheets of one of the beds. The more you looked in under and behind things the worse it got.

Marilee has mentioned in previous replies to reviews that is the tropics, there are going to be some bugs. True, but this was excessive and I am quite familiar with the tropics. There were enough live ones but most of them were dead and in plain sight one cockroach was falling apart it had been dead for so long.

The beds and bedding needed to be thrown in the garbage. I would not sleep in any of them. Things we found wrong with the beds and bedrooms:

Thin see through sheets, all beds

Concave mattress, grimy white leather headboard/pillow thing, rusty bed frame basement bed

Beach towels between fitted sheet and mattress, two beds

Small dead bugs (flies) between the sheets, one bed

Stained mattresses and box springs at least one bed, we did not look at them all

Comforters were filthy

Some sheets were crinkled and appeared to have been slept in

Closet door fell off of its tracks when opened

Curtains rods came apart and fell down when we tried to open curtains

Random junk stored under the beds

Full smelly garbage can in one room

The kitchen had a load of dirty dishes in the dishwasher, the counter tops were dirty and sticky, the Coffee Pot was stained and dirty! Under the kitchen sink stank and was filled with dirty cleaning supplies and rags. There was old bad food in the fridge and deep freeze. The garbage can had garbage in it with no garbage bag. There were a number of holes in the window/door screens throughout the house. We would like this never to happen to another family. I do understand that we may have to pay for the one night even though my son and I slept in the car. We have only received about a 50% refund. The extra costs incurred by us for alternate last minute lodging for eleven people were exorbitant and our dream Hawaiian vacation turned into a stressful mess

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was really sorry to hear this guest was so unhappy with the booking they made. I take feedback from my guests seriously because it was ( and is ) my home. We keep our house properly maintained. Although VRBO's policy is 60 days for cancellation I did return 50% of her rent. the guest checked in at midnight and left the next morning at 10 AM complaining that the property was unsuitable. My manager went over the same morning as this guest checked out and took photos as evidence. What she saw is not consistent with the feedback from this guest. The guest in question exchanged a number of notes with me after making their booking, including inquirying about posts (whether we get plenty of in Hawaii whether at a VRBO or a hotel). I let the guest know that while we hav e an exterminator every 60 days, these pests (mosquitoes, palmetto bugs, centipedes etc ) are a part of being in the tropics. Bugs like milipedes and centipedes don't typically get into the beds, they stay on the floor. I think it is important for both the host and the guest to understand what type of accommodation the guest is looking for. If you want a sanitized, air conditioned, daily maid service environment, we are not the home for you, and we are not priced to be. This is not a luxury five star hotel. It is a home, in a residential area. If you want the experience of being in Hawaii, living like a local, but being near the best snorkeling beach on the island and one of the best boogie boarding places, where you cook for yourself ( or out out to dinner, ) lounge by a private pool at an appropriate price then we are the place. I rely on the feedback of the guests that stay with us to help identify where we need to make changes or improve. The last guests that were staying with us reached out to me to let me know how much they are enjoying their stay. I appreciate the feedback from this guest, but am concerned with the manner in which was delivered and the threatening tone of their correspondence with me during their stay. I have had 17 years with only two complaints.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Cobble Hill, B.C\u003E
4

A great place for a family

  • 4 of 5

We were a family of ten from Canada, (six adults and four grandchildren.) The house was just the right size. The pool was great and when not a the beach (only 300 metres away) we were in the pool. (especially the children). The house was fully equipped for all our needs. Unfortunately, the people before us left the house in a bit of a mess. The housekeeper (Char) worked like a slave to try to get it ready for us but ended up working until after 5PM. Because the garbage had not been taken to the road we inherited a full can that we needed to deal with for additional four days. If I could make two suggestions for improvement. The house needs some TLC and maintenance. I would be a shame if fell into disrepair because it has so much going for it. Secondly, the bedrooms should be air conditioned.

In summary, we highly recommend this house for a large family get together.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your suggestions
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Mixed bag

  • 2 of 5

Pros:

Great location - walking distance to the beach

Child friendly - toys, baby equipment, games

Pool - large and partially shaded during the day

Beach equipment - mats, umbrellas, snorkel gear, boogie boards available to use

Large home perfect for 2 families to share and have their own privacy when needed

Very responsive property manager - the internet, cable & phone line went out during our stay and she immediately had the situation rectified.

Cons:

Home is very dated and would greatly benefit from an update

In the summer it is very warm in the house - numerous fans are provided

Bugs - ants & roaches. Although we took the garbage out frequently and kept the kitchen clean it was a constant battle. For peace of mind we ended up putting all opened food in the refrigerator whether it needed refrigeration or not.

Master bathroom - lack of privacy, did not have a door to separate the bedroom from the bathroom only a beaded divider.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks for your comments There is a dressing room with vanity and sinks and closets between the toilet and master bedroom . Yes we have bugs and critters. It is the tropics. I am sure our house is dated, but the pictures on our site show exactly how it is.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland Oregon
5

PERFECT FOR FAMILY

  • 5 of 5

My family of 10 (8 adults and 2 children) found the house inviting and the pool a source of wonderful enjoyment after days at the beach. Each adult couple had their private room and the kids shared the hide a bed in the large downstairs living room. (We had some trouble with the upstairs refrigerator. I suggest someone check the temperature settings.) The kitchen is fully equipped. The location was superb for all our adventures.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for families

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Tutu's Beach House over the Memorial Day weekend. I was on R&R and I met my parents and sisters in Kona. My nephew's graduation was also during that weekend so it was a family reunion of sorts.

I searched all options for accommodations this weekend and Tutu's Beach House stood out because not only did it have room for everyone, it is also pet friendly. I did extensive research on the majority of lodging options in and around the Kailua-Kona area and the only hotel that was pet friendly is out in Waikoloa and charged the same price as this home for one room that could only hold a max of 4 people. Also it was a standard room with no extras.

Tutu's Beach House has 4 spacious bedrooms, 2 living rooms, a full kitchen upstairs, a kitchenette downstairs, 4 full bathrooms, a swimming pool, washing machine and dryer, on lot parking for at least 4 vehicles, the list goes on. All for the same price as a standard room at a luxury hotel. It was well worth staying here for the minimum 5 days. The house does not have air conditioning so if that is a deal breaker then this home is not for you, hey if it gets too hot in the house you could always jump in the pool. They do have ceiling fans in all rooms as well as tower fans. We are a local family and are used to no HVAC in our homes so it was not a big deal for us.

We arrived to a clean home, all essential items in place (towels, linens, kitchen items etc.) and helpful instructions about the house. There was beach gear available for use as well (floaties, chairs and towels).

Be aware that there are large flying roaches that come out at night so don't leave the screen door open, also the mosquitoes may be a nuisance, but there were citronella candles available to help keep them at bay. This is also pretty normal for us so not a big deal.

I do apologize if we made too much noise talking and laughing with each other, but it was such a restful, relaxing weekend at Tutu's Beach House, we couldn't help ourselves.

I would definitely stay here again if they will have us and I also recommend this home to anyone looking for a family and pet friendly place to stay. VRBO comes through again, and thank you Marilee for all your help.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow Nice to have you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Kailua-Kona
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Magic sands
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in the Kailua-Kona, Big Island Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
ironman
8 Oct 2018 - 20 Oct 2018
10 night minimum stay
£3,666
for 10 nights
From
£306
 
 
christmas
14 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
10 night minimum stay
£3,666
for 10 nights
From
£306
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£2,032
for 5 nights
From
£286
£2,604
 

Additional pricing information

security seposit £357.35
Cleaning £214.41 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.3%

hawaii tax ID TA159-018-3936-01
GE TAX id 159-018-3936-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals