HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake Front Homes with Pier - West Shore Tahoe, Rubicon/Meeks Bay

People10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Two Lake Tahoe Lakefront Cabins, (1) bedroom (1) bathroom each, (Sleeps 4-10)

Book early and select your preferred unit or bring another family and rent both. Slip back in time and enjoy the simple life of a 1932 one bedroom log cabin or rent the more modern Old Tahoe 'bunk house' with updated features. Our summer only homes are similar to summer 'camping' on the lake...they have all the simple modern amenities needed to enjoy the Lake the way it was circa 1930…they are one of the few remaining cabins in Tahoe that sit just feet off the lake. Plan to spend the majority of your time outdoors, cooking at the BBQ's and eating picnic style on the large decks. Enjoy amazing views of Incline, Rubicon Bay, South Shore, Mt. Tallac...minutes away from Emerald Bay via boat or car. Walk to wonderful Meeks Bay Beach/Resort for sand and sun. Up to two buoys per unit available to rent for your boat(s). Private pier access shared by both units. The log house can sleep four inside between a queen bed and a pull out queen sleeper couch. The separate bunk-house has large bedroom that sleeps six in three queen beds and has a full kitchen and bath down stairs. There is additional room for sleeping in tents and blow-up beds on the large decks that each unit enjoys. This property is ideal for two families that are looking to share the expense of a lakefront home yet want to enjoy the privacy that comes with each having a stand alone unit to retreat to in the evenings. Pets are welcome...

Location: West Shore, Rubicon/Meeks Bay

Type: Log Cabin & Old Tahoe 'Bunk House' - with Shared Pier and 4 Buoys

Walk from road down to cabin along step path

Each unit: Bedrooms (1) Baths (1)

Kitchens with refrigerator/freezer - coolers necessary for beverages for large groups

Majority of cooking is done by BBQ and eating and entertaining is done outside on decks

Max Occupancy: 10 people

No cable TV, but VCR/DVD: Yes

Games, Cards available

Parking: 2 spots for each unit and additional off property street parking available

$2,275 per unit weekly, $150 cleaning per week and $500 refundable damage deposit

**Our cabin is for rent on a weekly basis, Monday to Monday**

Keywords: Lake Tahoe, West Shore, Rubicon, Meeks Bay, Tahoma, Pier, Buoy, Lake Front, Boat, Dock, Fire pit, Deck, BBQ, Lake View, Paddle Boarding, SUP

More Details

Owner
David Ciapponi
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 September, 2017

About David Ciapponi

We just love these little 'Old Tahoe' style homes. Going back in time like you do when you stay at these homes is almost gone in Tahoe.

David Ciapponi purchased this cabin in 2001

Why David Ciapponi chose Lake Tahoe North Shore

We fell in love with the simple life of Tahoe that few homes can still offer. The location is amazing and we love being so close to the water. This is a summer house that was built in the 1930's by the founding editors of Reader's Digest Magazine. Lot 43 was the first lot sold in the subdivision of Meeks Bay and is referred to in the 'Meeks Bay Memories' book. There is a lot of history to our unique cabin and additional bunk house.

What makes this cabin unique

By staying at one of our cabins, you'll slow down and relax because that's all there is to do. Enjoy the lake by swimming, kayaking, boating or paddle boarding, go 'crawdading' off the rocks, enjoy a great book in a lounge chair on the deck, BBQ a great meal with family or friends, and maybe enjoy a great bottle of wine in our amazing location. We also have rental boat(s), kayaks and SUP's available at the property to make your stay even more convenient, amazing and memorable.

Location

Nearest Airport
31 Miles
Truckee
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Chambers
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
Tahoe City
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
West Shore Pizza
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Homewood Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Meeks Bay Resort
Nearest Point of Interest
Location of our home

Fire pit at water, wood available, rental boat available on buoy, kayak and SUP rental available on property.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Tahoma in El Dorado County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 3 Large Double Bed
  • Queen Beds (4), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The main cabin is like like glamping or glamorous camping on the lake (very period rustic). There are (2) one bedroom / one full bath cabins on the property. Both have very nice full kitchens. The main log cabin has a queen bed, single bed and a futon for the floor, and the bunk house has two queen beds and a queen sofa sleeper (see photos). Only the bunk house is available for winter rental. Four buoys for your boat(s) or rent our boat, modern pier for access to the water.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Lake Front Homes with Pier - West Shore Tahoe, Rubicon/Meeks Bay
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
East Bay area, CA
5

Best week on the water!

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a week here in August and enjoyed every minute. In fact, we are return customers and will continue to be so. My husband and I slept in the main cabin while our three adult children slept in the newly decorated second cabin. The main cabin has a rustic feel - oriental rug, antlers on the wall, red paisley blankets, small oven, and built in kitchen table but has a modern fridge and barbecue grill! Shower/towels in both cabins with a new small kitchen in the new cabin. We had two outside decks with seating areas although we used the main cabin as our get together area. The weather was perfect so we spent every minute outdoors although the kitchen table in the main cabin did seat all of us. Lots of water toys for paddle-boarding and kayaking. We also rented the owner's boat which took us around the lake to Emerald Bay and local West Shore places for lunch. Yes, there are steps down to the cabins but that is expected because the cabins are right on the water! Dave, the owner, is very easy to work with and helped us with any need we had. Highly recommended but don't expect luxurious accommodations! Expect an intimate stay enjoying being right on the lake!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Right on the Water...Literally

  • 5 of 5

I have had so may great times at this Lakefront. If you want to be on the water and didn't think you could afford it. Try this rental.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Beware

  • 1 of 5

Beware of this property. It is not what it appears to be.

We arrived on Aug.15, 2016. The "step path" from the road is aproximately 150 feet down a steep dirt trail to the cabin. The bathroom is not located in the sleeping area. It is out the front door, down steep stairs and inside the kitchen /bath area below.( Not very convenient at night.)

We called the owner as soon as we arrived to tell him this set up wouldn't work for us. He would not compromise. We told the owner and the housekeeper we were leaving. He would not refund any money, and even worse, would not even refund our house cleaning fee or the damage deposit . On Sept. 19th he said he "always intended to return our deposits." Today is Oct. 7th and he still hasn't returned the deposits.

Compromise was mentioned by us at least half a dozen times. The owner would not acknowledge that possibility.

Steer clear of this place.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Patty, I’m sorry you arrived at the property and felt it did not provide suitable access given your husband's “condition”. We have never had a dissatisfied renter nor review until now. Since you have gone out of your way to publish something that doesn't provide the entire story I feel compelled to have the truth be told…You made your reservation online and without asking any questions even after I asked if you had any. Our only correspondence prior to the day of your arrival is as follows: ~ David, My husband and I have always wanted to stay on the lake. This looks so beautiful. We have been retired for a few years, but reasons beyond our control haven't been able to go on vacation for a few years. We have a 15 lb. dog that is well behaved who would accompany us. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Patty & Hale ~ Patty, I have confirmed your reservation at property 310734 for Aug 15, 2016 - Aug 22, 2016. Click the button below, accept and I will email you the rental agreement. Please let me know if you have any questions regarding your stay. Sincerely, David ~ David, We would like to stay in the bunk house, the remodeled cabin. Should I wait for the lease to send you the check for $2,960.00 and send them together? Thank you so much, Patty ~ Patty, I just emailed you the lease. Yes, please send them together. David ~ That exchange was the extent of our communication and thus I feel that it is not right to blame your lack of due diligence on me. One can’t show up to a pre-paid rental, decide it is not “suitable” and expect a full refund without giving the owner an opportunity to re-rent the property to mitigate the loss. The refund policy for my property during high season is very clearly spelled out in the lease which is why VRBO would not process the refund as you requested of them. My offer still stands…you can come back any week that is mutually agreeable (without incurring any rent or fees). If your husbands “condition” improves or you wish to bring someone else just let me know. I wish both you and Hale the best and hope to hear from you soon. David
Did you find this review helpful?
12 3
5

Laid back summer fun

  • 5 of 5

Loved this little cabin! It is cozy and small, and fairly bare bones while keeping many conveniences...just what I like! Upon arrival you need to walk down to the cabin - unlike most other homes which sit closer to the road, which was wonderful because there is really nothing between you and the lake. We spent most of our time outside on the decks, grilled and ate all meals there, and took naps in the "fire pit area" (we never did have a fire though, it was warm out). We were able to bring our paddle boards and put in right at the boulder-y beach.

The area is perfect, many great hiking opportunities close by and also close to restaurants and stores. The view is of course spectacular from every window (even the bathroom that looks out to the wooded area).

David the owner was laid back and easy to talk with about arranging our stay. Thanks! I hope to return again!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect Little Get-Away Spot

  • 5 of 5

Tahoe is great. But this spot on the lake is absolutely PERFECT. We could not imagine a nicer way to relax with our family. We played in the lake, threw rocks from the dock, took out a boat and drove to near-by hiking. The location is ideal. The house is small but has a great deck for reading or playing games. We felt like we were camping but still had nice comfy beds to sleep in, a small kitchen to cook in and a bathroom right there. We squeezed 5 people into the "Bunkhouse" for a great family get-away.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
South Pasadena, CA
5

AWESOME

  • 5 of 5

Is that too powerful? Well, that's the feeling we left with after a week... right on Lake Tahoe. The pictures provided do it justice and are a good indication of what to expect. We SUPd, kayaked, enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck, watercolored in the afternoon, read books, barbecued and generally had an extraordinary week.

We stayed in the log cabin which was rustic but cozy. The other cabin which I got to look at while there ...is Very nice too.... The owners are even adding more upgrades to both units. We can't wait to get back next year...

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Tahoma, Lake Tahoe, CA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Monday
7 night minimum stay
£1,863
for 7 nights
£1,863
£6,985
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £378.6
Cleaning £113.58
Pet Fee £37.86
Tax Rate 10.0%

A cleaning fee of $150 to pay an outside house keeper is required for each rental. This handles the cleaning necessary when you depart.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals