Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island

Bedrooms 3
Separate WCs1
Space 2,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, sleeps 6

The Falls at Reed's Island located in Hilo's upscale enclave, Reed's Island, a mile from downtown Hilo. Perched at eye level to one of Hawaii's most beautiful waterfalls, and is flanked by the Wailuku River and rain forest. The Falls at Reed's Island features private bathrooms, hot-and-cold soaking tubs and views from every window.

Selected by Frommer’s as one of the 15 top picks, on the planet - properties with a view. Homeaway's top 10 romantic properties in the world, Concierge magazine Editors Pick. The Falls at Reed's Island, was also one of four properties featured in The New York Times - 'Secluded Retreats on the Big Island' and was featured on the TV special - 'Around the World in 80 Homes' produced by the Fine Living Channel.

Historically home for the Hawaiians was not on the beach, they lived in the valleys where the weather was appealing, inspirational, serene. Legend has it that Reed’s Island, (original name “Koloiki”) was the play ground of the Alii. You will be staying in what seems to be deep in a rain forest, but just a mile up river of Hilo Bay, where a Hawaiian King spent his time.

Guest comments from Honolulu - “Thank you, thank you, thank you! We have loved the experience of this magical place. The soothing cascades of the waterfalls, the falling rain, the calls of birds, the black rocks and so many colors of green just overload the senses and provide an unimagined tranquility. Steve told us of this paradise - but even he could not prepare us for this setting. From dawn to dark we have been captive and can only speak in low voices as if not to break the spell. Thank you for sharing this all with us. We leave with memories and feelings that will last forever. Much aloha”

Reed's Island is a Hilo neighborhood where the wealthy built their homes in a bygone era, and it still holds that reputation today. You will enjoy a two and a quarter acre estate located at the very end of the island's only road, giving it the most prestigious and secluded setting on the island - “You will feel like being on a private island”.

The Falls at Reed's Island is about 1 mile from old historic Hilo town and Hilo Bay “The Beautiful Bayside City”. The land is more vertical than horizontal, a sliver with about 700' of frontage on the Wailuku River, the largest river in the State. It is protected by a fragment of State land on its side away from the river, and the land across the river is protected by a conservation easement. You will feel like you are deep in the rain forest, although just outside of downtown Hilo.

Amenities: Phone, wifi, cable TV, DVD, VCR, CD player, hot and cold soaking tubs, full kitchen, sub zero refrigerator, ice maker, kitchen aid range, dishwasher, two sinks, cooking utensils, all linens including beach towels, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, washer and dryer, Weber Gas BBQ.

Activities: Active volcano, hiking, biking, golfing, fitness center, horseshoes, fishing, horseback riding, shopping, restaurants, cinemas, museums, sightseeing, swimming, snorkeling & diving, boating, surfing.

Area: Located 10 min from the Hilo International Airport and 30 min from Volcanoes National Park.

Request our Cancelation Policy.

As none of Homeaway's set cancellation policies work for us (they do this so programmers are able to handle it) I selected "no refund" however please review our policy Ask for policy.

More Details

Jack Stevenson
Member since: 2000
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 June, 2018

About Jack Stevenson

Owners are Jack and Jane Stevenson. Jack is a fourth generation Hawaii resident. His great grandparents came from Germany in 1882, straight to Kauai. Jane has lived in Hawaii over 50 years. They grew up on Oahu and spent 14 years on Kauai before moving to the Big Island when they purchased the property and created “The Falls at Reed's Island”. They fell in love with Hilo immediately. Hilo feels like Honolulu did in the fifties. They love the verdant green side of the Island and all the beautiful rivers and streams. They live in an historic house just five minutes from The Falls. Jack is very active in the Rotary Club of South Hilo. Jane spends time on historic preservation. Jack is an avid scuba diver, who only recently sold his dive boat.

Jack Stevenson purchased this house in 2000

Why Jack Stevenson chose Hilo

The property was a private vacation home designed and built by two Architects, from San Francisco. Upon the death of one the property was put on the market. We purchased the property because of its simplistic beauty, and by the way it has a 25' waterfall right in the yard. Jane and I converted it to a vacation rental.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have had the most wonderful stay at this very special place. We are grateful to both of you for keeping the integrity of the house as Tom and David made it. It has been a poignant visit, thinking of our friends as they envisioned this place and the enormous amount of work it took to create this vision.

We did go out and about to Volcano which is truly amazing, the botanical garden and other explorations but what I really wanted to do was stay here and soak up this place. My husband was writing a good portion of this stay and the house and the outdoors provided a calming and perfect refuge. We’ve taken advantage of trying out many different places to eat while we visited this side of the Island: Miyo’s (great home style Japanese cooking), Sombat’s Thai, Kaleo’s Bar & Grill – Yum, Pahoa, Café Ono-Volcano, Naung Mai Thai Kitchen , Hilo – All of these places served really good food. Make sure to visit the Farmer’s Market in Hilo – we were able to buy white pineapples and other wonderful tropical fruits. Thank you so much.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 30


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Hilo in the Island of Hawaiʻi

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • 1. We do have a cancellation policy, 90 days prior to check in, Review rental agreement. 2. Events or stays of 8 or more nts (cont'd next rule)
  • A $650 reservation deposit required. Balance for your stay is payable as follows 40% 6 months out, balance 3 months prior. (SD $2000 for Events)
  • Request additional guest anytime prior to check in, undeclared guests fee is $100/guest/nt
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • river ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Printer
  • Scanner
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Fax
  • Free Wifi
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
  • Private bathroom in each bedroom.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , or two twins
  • Each bedroom has private bathroom. Great views from all bedrooms. Bedroom 3 (set as king or two twins).
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Conservatory
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Yard
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Hot and cold soaking tubs in screen area. Security camera in public area.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(95 traveller reviews)

98% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Homeaway's Top 10 Romantic Properties In The World - The Falls at Reed's Island
average rating of 4.989474 based on 125 reviews

The most amazing house!!

  • 5 of 5

U will see the pictures but u still won’t believe they r real until u step onto the property!! We kept the house a secret to our three children and u should have seen their faces when we arrived! Unreal! We had an amazing visit. Did a few fun things each day but tried to always walk the grounds in the morning and in the evening after making dinner. It was just so peaceful.

One of our highlights was having a personal chef cooking us dinner when we arrived back at the house after hiking and going to the botanical gardens. She cooked and cleaned up!! Best night ever!

These falls r special and we hope to return❤️

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

WOW!!! WOW!!! WOW!!!

  • 5 of 5

Must see.... Pure Paradise!!!

It’s like, Dude, you’re in a rainforest with your own Waterfall. Do I need to say more? We Loved It. Will come back again and again...

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Paradise found

  • 5 of 5

From the second you walk in it seems like you're stepping into far away rainforest. The relaxing sound of the waterfall lulls you asleep every night. It was definitely one of the best vacations we've ever been on thank you for allowing us to rent your property.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

WOW! This house will not disappoint!

  • 5 of 5

We were so excited to stay at this house after seeing the pictures and reading the reviews. When we arrived, we were even more impressed with the house than we thought we'd be! We were expecting to have some letdowns as we do with every rental house. There were no letdowns with this one! It was even more beautiful than in the pictures (we didn't think that would be possible!). The scenery out of every window was breathtaking. The sounds from the rainforest were magical. The house was SO clean!!! There were "little touches" everywhere, from local snacks left for us to fresh flowers in several rooms in the house (they were so colorful and beautiful that we didn't think they were real at first!). The proximity to Hilo and all the activities we wanted to do on the island was perfect. We were sad to leave! We hope to save our money and return in a few years. :)

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was beautiful and we want to go back when we can stay longer and not as much rain

  • 5 of 5

The placed had everything we needed

  • Review Submitted: 30-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rain was certainly a problem during this visit, more fun when it is blue sky's and sunny. The North Island (Kauai) had, per one account, 40" to 50" in 24 hours, possibly a National Record, and is still recovering. This storm moved down the Island chain and fortunately when Hilo got its share it was not as bad but still no sunny days.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house and setting! Delicate furniture.

  • 4 of 5

Really gorgeous place, the pictures do not do it justice. It’s larger than it seems in the photos and the waterfall (at the time of our visit, possibly because of the rain,) was raging and enormous. Very dramatic.

The frogs sang us to sleep every night (earplugs were provided) and the jungle/river sounds mean the TV was only turned on for doing yoga- truly a retreat from the normal.

Why this isn’t five stars: Renter be advised, ANY wear and tear will be charged to you at a premium. Treat the delicate furniture gingerly, owners won’t hesitate to deduct funds from your deposit for what would be considered standard household maintenance at most rentals. Personally, my partner and I have never had any money deducted from a deposit before, (including apartments/home rentals) it was a bit of a shock.

That all said, we will return someday, we just probably won’t use their table.

Enjoy the property but be advised, the owners may be combative if they feel their house rules were not adhered to. Ending your vacation here (so as not to have the last half of your trip sullied with accusatory texts) is my advice!

Bottom line: it’s worth it. It was a terrific home.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for having your wedding and reception at The Falls at Reed’s Island. And hope you will return to celebrate an anniversary. Unfortunately, the problem was a twenty four inch, obvious scratch, on the dining room table. The 4 x 8 ft. table had recently been refinished for $450, not to mention transportation to and from the refinisher, and providing an alternative table while repairs were being done. Betsey wanted me to contact the caterers, whom she hired, for the 25 person reception, because they must have caused the damage. A $200 deduction from the security deposit was made with Betsey's approval.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Hilo International Airport
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Hilo Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cafe Pesto
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Coconut Island
Car: recommended

East side of the Big Island, Hawaii. Great location for visits to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in the Hilo, Big Island Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
4 to 6 night stays
27 Sep 2018 - 19 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £39 per night, per additional guest
3 or 4 night stay
24 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £39 per night, per additional guest
4 to 6 night stays
19 Jan 2019 - 20 Apr 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £39 per night, per additional guest
Merrie Monarch
21 Apr 2019 - 27 Apr 2019
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £39 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £39 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £169.58 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £753.7

3 nights $375/nt*
4 to 6 nights $365/nt*
7 + nights $355/nt*

* Posted rates are for the first couple. There is a $45 fee per additional guest per night subject to a three night minimum (2 night min if booking is for 2 nights). Undeclared additional guest fee is $100/guest/nt. If child is 2 years or younger at time of visit fee does not apply. Do not list in the guest count just indicate in your email, as it affects Homeaway's service fee. If we have a two night opening between two other bookings, we may be able to provide a two night stay, subject to any planned maintenance.

Cleaning fee $225
Taxes totaling 14.416%: [GET of 4.166 & TAT 10.25],
Additional Security Deposit of $2000 for Event bookings (in addition to property damage policy). Plus an Event fee of $250 if stay is less than 4 nights.

Booking for 8 or more nights and for Events (such as Weddings)
Payment is in four parts**;
1. $650 (plus Homeaway’s service fee) to reserve the dates,
2. 40% of the balance due 180 days prior to the check in date,
3. balance due 90 days prior to the check in date and
4. Security Deposit payable 15 days prior to check in.

** This can be set up after if you have book directly via Homeaway’s program.

State Tax ID TA-054-635-1104-01
See our Rental Agreement for our cancellation Policy. We do have a partial refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question