Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Central location close to many tourist attractions!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Completely Furnished 4BR, 2BA with a Loft. Living room kitchen combination.

This newer home is nestled on a 1 acre lot among the pines, next to the National Forest in Alpine Acres, South Dakota. This Central location puts you just 20 minutes from casino gambling in historic Deadwood, 20 minutes from Rapid City, Hill City, Pactola Lake, Sheridan Lake, Deer Mountain & Terry Peak. It is also close to the Mickelson Trail for biking & close to the Experimental Forest for snowmobiling or 4 wheeling.

This home is completely furnished, so whether you are sitting in the great-room watching TV or enjoying a barbecue on the elevated deck, you will be as comfortable as sitting at home.

Planning a family vacation, an annual hunting trip, skiing or snowmobiling or attending the Sturgis Rally? This home offers room for everyone.

Sleeps 10 - 12 comfortably.

Amenities: Large elevated deck with gas grill and picnic tables. Loft is furnished with 4 twin beds. The main level of the home has two bedrooms each furnished with a Full and twin size bed. With plenty of closet space. Two other bedrooms are located on the walk in level of the home. Each is furnished with bunk-beds and a full size bed. Ceiling fans throughout the upper level, TV, VCR, DVD player. Fully equipped kitchen with small appliances, cooking and eating utensils, linens, blankets, towels and all basic necessities are furnished. Washer and Dryer are located on the lower level. Horseshoe driveway for off street parking.

More Details

Carolyn or Terri
Member since: 2004
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 September, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house around the Deadwood around the South Lawrence

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 12 ...
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Payments are done by check.
  • no outside fires. respect the neighbors
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • caving
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Central location close to many tourist attractions!
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews

Great property. I would definitely stay there again, if I was in the area

  • 4 of 5

This was a great place to stay. Good central location for Bike Week and sightseeing. Everything we need was there. It was nice to be off the main roads where it was nice and quiet.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great layout for a group/family get away!

  • 5 of 5

I can not say enough about the good times that have been had at the Six Guns Lodge. Myself and a group of between 7-8 guys have stayed at this home 4 times now and we have always enjoyed our stay. It has a great layout and we thoroughly enjoyed being able to have everything available to make great meals for the group. We also enjoyed late nights hanging out with the guys playing cards until late in the night.

And the location was great!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, Great lodge

  • 5 of 5

i have stayed at Six Guns 3 or 4 times with friends during the snowmobile season. My also family used the lodge as a central location for a family reunion during the summer. All of my experiences have been incredible and exceeded my expectations. The owners have been responsive and accomodating to my/our needs and were quick to reply with answers to our questions.

Looking forward to my next stay at Six Guns

  • Review Submitted: 29-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I have enjoyed staying at “Six Guns” on numerous occasions and always find it a beautiful, relaxing setting in which to get away. It has all the comforts of home while providing both central proximity to tourist attractions and/or the remote Black Hills experience. Winter or summer, we look forward to our next stay!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful gathering place

  • 5 of 5

My extended family and I stayed at this home in November and we were pleasantly surprised by the amenities. It was very comfortable for a party of 12 and we had everything we needed. Thank you for sharing this beautiful and peaceful location!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Convenient location, not very well kept property.

  • 1 of 5

The description of the amenities was not as clear as other properties we searched, for example they omitted there is no AC ( not air conditioning). The property was not well kept when we arrived, we found many dead insects in the kitchen area, we even found a live worm in one of the kitchen pans we tried to use; the furniture in the rooms was very dusty, the bedspreads smelled "musty".

Really bad customer service since the owner broke the contract, as she required a deposit fee ( a check and she stated we would get it back) she cashed it quickly BUT after receiving payment in full for our complete stay (7 nights) she never answered our emails again and, of course, a week after we are back we have not received our deposit back (as she stated in writing) or any form of answer to our emails.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless you want to lose money. We enjoyed the area and surroundings in spite of the HOT evenings (in the property) with no AC and NO disclaimer about it.

We are truly dissapointed since it put a bad experience in our first time in the area and probably will not ever use this website again after this type of unprofessional owners taking advantage of tourists.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Martha, Sorry I wasn't able to respond to your email when you checked out. I was traveling during your stay and without internet. It's unfortunate you didn't try to reach me by phone while you were there since we communicated by phone frequently when you booked your stay. I mailed your deposit check on the 31st of July when I returned which was within 7 days after your departure. I am sure you have the check by now. We take great pride in our cabin and have many returning visitors, all of whom love the location, the property and amenities. I've never received anything but positive reviews, including last weeks visitor who was there right after you who said "Thank you for letting us use your beautiful cabin." The property does not have air conditioning and I am in the process of talking with homeaway/vrbo about how to detail this since the settings only let you check a box if you have air, but don't give you the ability to highlight that you don't. In the 10 years of having multiple families stay there, including my own, the lack of air has never been an issue due to the wonderful black hills climate. Carolyn
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Rapid City, SD
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sugar Shack & Cousins Pizza
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Tomahawk Lake Country Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
1880 Train in Hill City (tourist attraction)
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sugar Shack & Cousins Pizza
Nearest Ski
24 Miles
Terry Peak
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Pactola Lake, Sheridan Lake & Roubaix Lake

Other Activities: Mount Rushmore & Crazy Horse Mountain, 1880 Train, Casinos in Deadwood, Lead Gold Mine, Tomahawk Golf Course, Trout Haven, Prairie Berry Winery, Buffalo Roundup, Sturgis Rally, Mammoth Dinosaur Dig, Harney Peak Hiking, Terry Peak Skiing, Moonshine Gulch Bar.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £75.36
Additional Guest Fee £18.84 per person per night

from $200.00 a night
Rates subject to change without notice. Deposit of $200.00 required to guarantee reservation. The deposit will be refunded l if cancellation is made at least 45 days prior to arrival. No deposit refunds will be made with less than 14 days notice. Full rental payment is due 20 days prior to occupancy. Cleaning fees are included in rental price. Rates could change depending on how many people there are in the party.

For August 1st through the 15th the pricing depends on how many guests and motorcycles you bring for the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals