HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Diane Knoll

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks English

Fly Fishing, Snorkeling & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location

28 Reviews
People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in North Andros - Knoll's Landing

Cottage 2 bedroom 1 bath - Sleeps 4/5 + another unit Sleep 2 + bath

Knoll's Landing Fly-Fishing & Snorkeling Hide-Away

We are located in Pleasant Harbour, North Andros, Bahamas.

If you are looking for a Secluded location for Family & Fly-Fishing groups, you found the right place. We are only 10 minutes by Flats Boat to The World Famous Joulter Cays. These shallow Flats are the home to schools of Bonefish, Permit & Tarpon. It's the best Fly-fishing in the Bahamas with it's miles of flats & crystal clear waters.

If snorkeling & diving is what you are looking for, we have it all.

The accommodations are clean, well appointed with very thing you need for a great vacation.

We have Guides to take you out Fly-fishing or Snorkeling & Diving.

We have a 15' Boston Whaler available for Snorkeling & Deep Sea Fishing with our guide 'Yello'

Here at Knoll's Landing is perfect for Snorkeling on our Reefs, Fishing off our Dock or just Beach combing & Relaxing in the Sun. A wonderful safe place for Children.

Diane Knoll has been living in the Caribbean for most of her life & found Andros to be the best you can find when it comes to all water sports. This beautiful water front Location is truly a spot you don't want to miss. Diane wants to share her Paradise with you. This is a Fabulously Secluded Hide-Away. Come & Enjoy it.

Beautiful Beach, Snorkeling, Fishing & Accommodations. Here in Pleasant Harbour is where you will find 'Knoll's Landing Family Hide Away' We are known for the most beautiful beach on Andros. Here is where the Bonefish Flats start & the Snorkeling is the very best with our small Reef just in front of our place or walking down to Money Point for Sand Dollars, picking up shells & Bonefish in the shallow waters is a thrill. Bird watching is really good. Go out to the Golden Cays by boat to deeper Reef to see Stag-horn Coral reaching up 30 feet from the bottom to surface. All of our boats are up to date & with wonderful guides.

Our accommodations are cozy and pleasing to be in. Furnished with Rattan, open Beam Ceiling keeps it cool with ceiling fans and all Units have AC. Knoll's Landing is beautifully Landscaped on 2-1/2 acres of Shoreline with tall Coconut Palms, Casarina, Sea Grapes. The property is filled with Hibiscus & Bougainvillea to name a few to give it its Island Flavor. It's time now for you to come see for yourself and enjoy a bit of Paradise.

For you Devoted Anglers & Non Fisherman: Our Guides will take you by Flats boat to ' The Famous Joulter Cays' & 'Bonefish World'. There you will find miles of Flats with Bonefish, Tarpon & Permit. The vastness of the Flats is unbelievable with schools of fish and only min's away. After a day out on the Flats you can wade out in our Bay & keep on fishing or catch a Mutton Snapper off our dock. - Our Place is wonderful for you Non-Fisherman with all it's beauty. We offer snorkeling on our small Reef just in front or walking the empty white sand beach down to 'Money Point' for sand dollars & shelling. Go bird watching down our back road to 'Still Water Bay'. There are day when the Dolphins & Turtles come into our Bay. You will also see large Star Fish & sometimes Rays. Kayaking on Crystal clear smooth water is a favorite pastime for our guest or just chilling In the evenings sipping your favorite cocktail at Sun Set on the dock with the cool Bahama breeze.. Once you are here you'll never want to leave.

Amenities & Activities: Fresh Fish, Conch & Lobsters available daily in Season. Boats with Guide upon request for Fly fishing on a Flats Boats, 15' Boston Whaler (for snorkeling trips) All boats in the water in front of Knoll's Landing. Your Guide will be happy to teach you how to Fly-fish for those Gray Ghost know as Bonefish. There are tours available upon request for hire or rent a car for a day to visit some of our local attractions like the Blue Holes (fresh water swimming), Captain Charlie Morgen's Cave & Red Bay's (known for their straw basket weaving). In Fresh Creek you have Androsia Batik Print factory. There are Taxi's & Car rentals easily available and we recommend getting one for a day or so. Andros is the largest Island in the Bahamas over 104 miles long & 45 miles wide & lots to see. There are some charming small local restaurants that serve very good Bahamian food. Andros is know as the 'Sleeping Giant'. not a commercial Island at all, but yet you can get a lot of fresh grown veggies here in our Winter months from the Mennonites Farm or the Government Packing house.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Diane Knoll (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Diane Knoll

I'm Diane Knoll and I have lived here on Andros Island for 28 years. Moved from St John USVI, Florida & Ct.

I then found this Bay of Pleasant Harbour with its beautiful white sand beach and fell in love with it.. Great swimming, diving, fishing and wonderful people.

I have been a sailing gal for most of my life. I can see visiting boats coming into Morgan's Bluff from our place. I have fun talking with them on my VHF radio & going out with my dingy for a visit. In coming boats are always welcome at Morgen's Bluff & Knoll's Landing.

Diane Knoll purchased this cottage in 1989

Why Diane Knoll chose Bahamas

This Property is the most beautiful location on Andros with its white sand beach. great fishing and swimming. My home is located in the middle of all the rental accommodations. I am here to help you with all your needs at all times.

Andros has the most friendly people I have every had the pleasure to known and have come to love them like Family.

It's been my home for 28 years after travailing around the World. There is no place like it. Come and enjoy your vacation here at Knoll's landing. Sincerely, Diane Knoll

What makes this cottage unique

We are located on 2-1/2 acres of Beach Front with beautifully landscaped with tall Coconut Palms, Native Plants and Australian Pine trees that gives you shade and a cool breeze. Lounging in the yard or on the patio and looking out to the Golden Cays over it's crystal clear waters and ever changing colors of blue is something you will never forget. I would love to share my little peace of Paradise with you.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Diane & Rodney - Thank you both for opening up your home, sharing your love of Andros and being such gracious & wonderful host. Our week here has been nothing short of amazing -from snorkeling, fishing, catching crawfish & talking with both of you! Thank you for the tours of town, exploring the Blue Holes & the local Festival. We are truely Blessed to share these moments & memories with such amazing & selfless people. We look forward to many more vacations at Knoll's landing - We will see you both next fall..Love to you both, God Bless, Angela & Scott
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.6
based on 28 holidaymaker reviews

Fly Fishing, Snorkeling & Family Hide-Away - Lovely Secluded Location
average rating of 4.642857 based on 30 reviews
Louisiana
5

Apartment Rental

  • 5 of 5

this is our favorite bonefishing destination. The fishing is fantastic, the hosts are wonderful and the enviroment is beautiful.

This is a great destination for dedicated fisherman.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Theda Is a World Class Winner on Flyfishing for Woman. She and her husband Jack have been coming to us for years to fish the Joulter Cays & Bonefish World here on the North End of Andros Island. Boy, does she know how to catch them Big Bones on a Fly & Jack is right up with her...We always look forward to their return. Our best wishes go out to them always with Love, Diane & Rodney
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Washington DC
1

BoneFishermen BEWARE - Not a serious fishing lodge anymore

  • 1 of 5

I travel internationally about every 2 months. I have been a boat owner and fisherman all my life. I frequently book on this site and others for private lodging. This placed seemed to good to be true, and it is.

This is a FAMILY ONLY spot, and would be quite nice for the kids but do not do a guys' fishing trip, you will be disappointed. First day her boat broke down and NEARLY SANK way out in the Jolters. Horrific day. Bad fishing days happen often, but when an INCOMPETENT captain puts you in danger it is a whole different story. No apology and we were overcharged, insulted, and offended. Unfortunately Diane has no idea what she is doing and will lie and put you in danger for a buck. She harassed us about using her boat and guide, and came into our house and ranted about us using a guide she did not line up. All this was after the horrific first day with a junk boat and worthless guide. I hate to be so negative, but she continuously tried to pick a fight with me and made the vacation way more stressful than I would wish on anyone. She went through our house everyday. She also snooped in our rental car. I was continuously looking for my clothes she moved around the house. She charged us $500 for cancelling fishing after her boat filled with water, no manual or electric bilge pump, running up on a mud flat, boat pounding so hard i now have lower back pain, and a few bottles of water in the cooler for all day. We just paid her to leave us alone and stop harassing.

Fortunately I reconnected with a guide I had used in the past and he totally saved our trip with an amazing day chasing bones. There are some very professional Bonefish guides on Andros, find them on your own and book your own fishing. This location is beautiful, but not central to the best fishing. The road is so bad it takes 2 hours to get 20 miles. The only good thing Diane did was line up a rental car so we could get away from her!

I'm sure she will respond that we were terrible guests and left the place a mess. I usually leave a place spotless, but this one time we did not clean up the kitchen. An illustration of our disgust was in order.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Bonefishing Trip

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Diane's for 10 days in November and December of 2015. There were 5 guys on the trip and we rented 2 two the 3 units available. It is a great location if you are going fishing in the Joulters with a guide as you are picked up at the house. It is not so convenient if you are driving to different locations as the road to Diane's is bad and many of the good spots are a long drive away.

The houses are comfortable and clean.

Kayaks are available which opened up some great flats to the west of the property.

Diane is a wonderful hostess and did everything to make our trip great.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!!!

  • 5 of 5

The only thing better than the beautiful waters and accommodations is Diane! We will be visiting here on a regular basis. Just loved our stay and can't wait to get back.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It always great to hear back from our past Guest.. Thank you for your kind words. Looking foward to having you back again...Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Vacation--A true hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 (3 teenagers) spent 7 wonderful days at Knolls Landing. Diane is a wonderful and gracious hostess. She arranged our charter flight from Nassau, the taxi ride from the airport to her home, and the rental car arrangements. She arranged for us to have a bone fishing guide and a snorkeling guide, both of whom were wonderful. She even arranged to have a lady come and plait our daughters hair, true Bahamian style! Knolls Landing is absolutely gorgeous. The beach and water were beautiful, with a nice offshore breeze. The stars visible at night were stunning. The 5 person cottage was spacious and comfortable and located right off the beach. There is extensive natural beach on either side of Diane's property for exploring. We spent lots of time swimming in the crystal clear water off the beach and around her dock. There is a small reef about 60 yards from her dock where we spent hours snorkeling and looking at tropical fish. We kayaked to Money Island, a great place to explore and find shells. My husband and son spent a morning bone fishing with their wonderful guide, Bones, and had an absolutely fantastic time. We spent a morning snorkeling at the barrier reef near the tongue of the ocean with our wonderful guide, Yellow, and WOW that was beautiful. We drove to Red Bays and visited the Seminole descendants and bought straw baskets (the real deal, no imports). We went swimming in Charlie's Blue Hole, explored Captain Morgan's Cave, and enjoyed the Andros Regatta activities with the local people, visited Nichols Town and Lowes Sound. Angie's Bread shop is a must see. She makes the best bread I've ever had. F & H Seafood Shack has great conch burgers and salad. The grocery store were adequate for our needs. The local people were very friendly. We encountered one other family of tourists during the whole week. We enjoyed the place and the people and look forward to going back.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the 5 person cottage for one week at Knolls Landing. The room was very nice, comfortable, clean. We had plenty of room for our family (including 3 teenagers). The location is absolutely gorgeous. The grounds are well manicured and with interesting horticulture. The water and beach are absolutely stunning, We could swim and snorkel right off the beach as there is a really cool reef about 40 yards from the dock. Diane is friendly and gracious. She arranged our charter flight to and from the island, our rental car, and also the fishing and snorkeling excursions. She has lived on the island for approx 25 years and has great knowledge of interesting sights to see and places to visit. We enjoyed meeting many local people. Harold and Ruth at F and H's Seafood Shack, where we had the best conch burgers and salad; Tammy, the gracious lady who drove to Knolls Landing to plait our daughter's hair; Yellow, the amazing diver and snorkeling guide; Bones, the awesome bone fishing guide; Angie, the bread baker who makes the most incredible breads; and, the Pratt family! We experienced the North Andros Regatta which was lots of fun with music and food and local people, we explored Captain Morgan's Cave, we swam in Charlie's Blue Hole, kayaked to Money island, Bone fished at Joulter's Cay, Snorkeled at the Barrier Reef, visited Red Bays and the Seminole ancestors (awesome straw work), and visited Lowe's Sound and Nichols Town.

This was a vacation designed to insert ourselves into natural Bahamian culture, We saw 2 other families of tourists from the USA the entire week were were there, we had the beach

all to ourselves. Private paradise. If you are planning on visiting be sure to take lots of sunscreen and bug spray with DEET (this is not as much of an issue when there is a normal offshore breeze)

We are planning on returning.....as our kids said, "that was awesome!"

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just want to say: What a loving, Warm and Caring Family. They had a big bon-fire in the sand under the Stars the last night. What a fun closing of a great vacation .. Having them here at Knolls Landing was my pleasure.. My love goes out to each of them. I look forward to having them back again next year. My kindest regards, Diane Knoll & the puppy "Friday"
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
San Andros International Air Port
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Nicholl's Town/Lowe Sound
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Queens Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Lowe Sound/Nicholls Town
Nearest Point of Interest
Knoll's Landing - North Andros
Nearest Point of Interest
Joulter Cays
Nearest Point of Interest
Morgen's Bluff - North Andros
Nearest Point of Interest
Still Waters
Nearest Point of Interest
In-Side Harbour
Car: recommended

KNOLL'S LANDING, North Andros If you don't like crowds or noisy cities & don't demand modern entertainment, sophisticated living or fancy dining. If you love to view the nighttime Stars, unpolluted by city lights, then you must try our peace here on North Andros. 'Fly-Fishing' in the shallow water just in front of our place. Bonefish the 'Worlds Famous Joulter Cays' miles of flats or snorkeling on our Reef in front of your accommodation. Walk miles of White Sand Beach. Relax on a lounge Chair or Hammock under the tall Coconut Palms in cool breeze. Then you have found the right place for your Vacation Holiday. The Island of Andros is the largest in the Bahamas, but is the least populated less than 9200 & very friendly people. Andros Island is an 'Angler's Paradise', with an ecology unmatched by any other island. Come see for yourself with all it's beauty. Our guests often tell us, 'When we leave Andros our hearts is still with you!' Thank you for visiting our Website. Diane Knoll at Knoll's Landing

Other Activities: Fly-Fishing for: Bonefish, Tarpon & Permit on the beautiful flats - Snorkeling on our Crystal clear Reefs - Bird watching - exploring Henry Morgan's Cave at the Bluff - Red Bays for hand make strew baskets.

No Golfing on Andros.... Just fun in the Sun & Water Sports...Sightseeing..Blue Hole for fresh water swimming, Captain Henry Morgen's Pirate Cave, Craft Art Fair, Crab Fest, Sailing Regatta in July.

We only have Bahama Sun and warm weather all year round,

Activities: Bonefishing, fly fishing, sport fishing, spear fishing, snorkeling, swimming, biking, kayaking, shelling & bird watching.

Going down Island, you will find Red Bay where the fishermen go for sponges, hand made baskets and Wood carving. Go to Fresh Creek to see Androsina printed fabrics and many other Settlements.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in North Andros, Bahamas

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£148
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £63 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 10.0%

Flight into Nassau to "San Andros International Air Port" North Andros.
Western Air has 2 flights daily -Phone 1 (242) 377-2222.
Charters also available Check Glen Pratt - Cell - 1 (242) 471-1860 - I can make these arrangements for you.
I will arrange a Taxi to bring you out to Knoll's Landing with any stops for your every day needs.
I need your flight info to set up flights.

50% deposit to hold all Reservation with balance due 45 days before arrival date by Check only.
Sorry on Credit Cards.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on the North Andros on the Caribbean

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Cottage Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Studio Apt - Upper Deck
  • The Cottage bathroom has a private entry from outside off the Porch. Also excess from inside the Bed room.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed , 2 Bunk Bed , Sleeps 3
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , is in alcove off the Living room
  • This Cottage has 2 bedrooms. Studio Apt - Upper Deck 1 bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda ...
  • Conservatory
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • 4 bicycles
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 6 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • pond
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Fly-fishing with Top Guides Rate $500.00 per day with 2 Anglers with guide. Flats boat in the water and ready to go out to the World Famous Joulter Cays for some outstanding Bonefishing. Has cooler with ice and water on board. Have Guides available for larger groups. Snorkeling trips on a 15' Boston Whaler with Guide $350.00 Need to book Guides in advance with deposit

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties