HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Located on the Folly River, 6 Blocks to the Atlantic Ocean

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 1,336 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2BR/2½BA Condo

Located on the Folly River six blocks from the Atlantic Ocean. Living room / dining room combo with wet bar and half bath on first floor with enclosed deck overlooking the river. Two bedrooms and two baths on the second floor with enclosed deck off of master bedroom overlooking the river.

Amenities: Fireplace & fully equipped kitchen. Central heat and air, ceiling fans, and washer / dryer combination. 2 televisions, microwave, direct TV, grill, etc.

Activities: Complex has swimming pool, tennis court, club house and marina.

Beach is within walking distance.

More Details

Owner
Glenda Hauge
Member since: 2002
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
31 July, 2017

About Glenda Hauge

As of June this year I have been renting this condo out for 15 years now and have enjoyed meeting people from over the country.

Glenda Hauge purchased this condo in 2001

Why Glenda Hauge chose Charleston Area

Condo is located on the Folly River six blocks from the Atlantic Ocean so it is within walking distance to the beach. Also my rates are much lower than other units in

Mariners Cay. I bought this property for my son but sadly he passed away six years ago. He stayed there doing the winter months and I rented it out spring, summer

and the first part of fall. I now have someone who rents it during the winter months.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Folly Beach in Charleston County

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 1336 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • Water View ...
  • waterfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Half Bath - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    2nd - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed
  • 2 bedrooms King size in master bedroom, queen in other bedroom and foldaway double bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Gated Community
  • Tennis Court
  • veranda
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

53% Complete
21% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
10% Complete
Located on the Folly River, 6 Blocks to the Atlantic Ocean
average rating of 4.0 based on 28 reviews
5

Cozy..close to everything...very comfortable...

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the gated location, the size of the facility, had lots of room, and we were very comfortable...we recommend this place to everybody...

  • Review Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for your good review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Condo was very nice! View from the balcony of the master bedroom and off the living room was great!

  • 5 of 5

Condo was very nice. Very nice area. Convenient to both downtown Charleston, Folly Beach, James Island and much more. Pool area is very easily accessible from the condo. We watched the dolphins my husband even spotted a sea lion (at least thats what the downstairs neighbors said it was). Will definitely stay again if or when we return to Charleston. The owner was very nice and easy to deal with.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for the nice review. Look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Anderson, South Carolina
3

Quiet place, great pool, nice owner, rental needs work

  • 3 of 5

I've waited over a year and a half before writing my review. I decided originally that I wouldn't leave any feedback. I now realize it is necessary since I based my vacation here on prior reviews. The reviews were mixed. My husband and I agreed that the negative reviews were of those who were hard to please. On the first day, I contacted the owner and told her how upset I was that the upstairs was dirty. Popcorn and bags of chips were underneath the beds in the guest room. Both large pictures above the beds had cracked glass, one missing a chunk. Thankfully my child wasn't tall enough to reach it and cut himself. I noticed what smelled like mold coming from that area or the a/c unit area beside it. I could never confirm my suspicion though. I did worry about leaving my two year old near something that I couldn't pinpoint. Feeling uneasy and looking forward to a great week, I spent my first day cleaning the upstairs myself. Washed all bedding, vacuumed everything, etc. (while being 8 months pregnant). Glenda was quick to respond and apologized saying she was having some health issues and wasn't able to deep clean as she had hoped. Working full time in a pharmacy, I sympathized with her as I do with many of my patients. She immediately refunded me on my cleaning fee. The layout of the condo is nice and the balcony on the main level was very inviting. We would love to stay here again, but only if the unit has been inspected/cleared of any possible mold and cleaned well.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

DO NOT RENT THIS PLACE!!!

  • 1 of 5

VERY DIRTY and Run down. The sheets had hair and black particles were on mattress pad. Comforters were stuffed in closets. All appliance and counters were dirty. Pots were all scratched making unsafe for cooking. Stairs are creaking and molding is parting from sheet rock. The ceiling in dining room was leaking water and ceiling was falling down on table. The air vent in LR was dripping water down on the couch. Tubs were dirty, with hair around spouts. Electrical wires just all exposed behind TV cabinet. I had to get my young grandchildren out of this situation. Owner notified however she hung up on me 5 times. We left on the 3rd. The owner wrote me an email and told me she could have rented this to someone else instead of me????? The onsite maintenance man came in and said he has dealt with many issues on this place before however could not help me or get involved.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest wrote a complaint to Homeaway with the same information on it and when I answered it the complaint was closed. I have been renting this condo out for 14 years now and have had four complaints out of all the people who have stayed there. I have a business license with Folly Beach, Charleston and South Carolina. So far this year I have had 23 guests of which 4 were returned customers who rent from me every year. None of these guests had a problem with honoring the contract and stayed the full time which was agreed in the contract.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Ideal but needs professional cleaning

  • 3 of 5

The condo had a great setup and Glenda is the perfect hostess. However, whenever we entered the condo, night or day, it had a horrible odor. The very first night, I went out and purchased bathroom cleaner, Lysol, Clorox cleanup, and febreeze. After doing a deep clean, the odor was still there, like an overwhelming scent of urine. Again, Glenda is amazing to work with, but the bathrooms were very dirty when we arrived, there was sand all over the foyer entering the condo, a used bathroom towel and bathing suit were hanging in the guest bathroom.... The sheets, pillows and towels were clean. The condo is well-equipped. But, please hire professional cleaners to do a deep clean after each renter. C. Williams

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I guess I do not see what some people see. I was in the guest bathroom and did not see a dirty towel and bathing suit. Nor did I notice any bad scent. The foyer was swept of the sand.I will be glad to hire a professional to do a deep clean but my guests must realize that they are the ones paying for the professional cleaners which cost anywhere from $100.00 up and only four hours to work with. If Carol did some cleaning it saved her some money in place of me hiring a professional for her to pay for it. Also I only rent by the week in the summertime. I reduced her rent because she only wanted to stay six days by $110.00 when after I sent the contract I had other people who wanted to stay the week and might not have complained on the internet provider which does hurt my business. She stayed at my condo for six nights with a total of four people costing her 127.50 a night without the taxes. The condo is on a river within walking distance of the ocean. She did not leave at the 10:00am check out time as it was about 30 minutes after I arrived before she finally left. Also check in time is 2:00pm and she arrived closer to 8:00pm. If I was so easy to work with why was any problems she had spoken with me and not put on the internet. Thanks. Glenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

As always, we had a wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

Glenda,

As always, we had an amazing time. This was our 3rd time renting and we always look forward to our vacation spot at your condo. The dolphins were amazing in the morning and in the evening. We couldnt have been happier ! As always, we had all of the amazing amenities. Communication with you is always wonderful and your reponses are so prompt.THANK YOU from the 4 of us for a wonderful time after the rough year we had. (((HUGS N LUV))) Karla, Donna, Nancy & Candi (Michigan)

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Charleston municipal

No boats, jet ski, or motorcycles are allowed on the property.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Folly Beach, South Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
summer
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£822
for 7 nights
£822
 
 
Fall
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
6 night minimum stay
£866
for 6 nights
From
£133
£733
 
 
winter
1 Dec 2017 - 28 Feb 2019
3 night minimum stay
£400
for 3 nights
From
£111
From
£133
Fri,Sat
£689
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £66.29

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals