HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Relaxing Lakeside Retreat

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Staatsburg

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Browns Pond House has been our family retreat for the past forty years. Please join us in enjoying this wonderful home with your friends and family or for a romantic getaway. The property is perfectly situated to give you whatever you desire - it is secluded on a quiet country road but it is only 10 minutes outside of Rhinebeck. Rhinebeck offers restaurants, shopping, movies and historic sights. You can also have dinner at the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park(reservations need to be made in advance)or cook a feast in our large kitchen.

Other day trips and attractions include Woodstock, DIA, Rhinebeck Aerodrome, Alpine & cross country skiing, the Omega Institute, Dinsmore Golf course is 10 minutes away, Bard College & the Frank Gehry designed Performing Arts center offering concerts all summer, horse back riding and pick your own seasonal berries at Greig farm. Parking for 5 cars, so come with friends, relax and enjoy !

Keywords: Cathedral ceiling living room, fireplace, huge eat in kitchen, outdoor dining gazebo, swimming, fishing, kayaking, private dock, swim platform

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
1 December, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

Relaxing Lakeside Retreat
average rating of 3.4545455 based on 11 reviews
5

What a wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent four days here for thanksgiving with my family of 6. The house is beautiful, directly on the lake with a spectacular view and surroundings. I loved the big red kitchen for cooking our thanksgiving meal and the round table was perfect for eating it! Reading previous reviews, we were nervous but they could not be more wrong! The house was clean and in good condition, it's cozy, comfortable, and tasteful. We spent multiple evenings by the fire on the couch drinking wine and talking. We also slept great; The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. The house was built in the 70's, yes, so it is not a new house. We are still VERY confused by those nasty reviews, but if anyone is deciding whether to stay, we recommend it 100%! The owner was very friendly and helpful. He greeted us when we arrived and showed us around the property. The house was warm and ready for us. I feel that those reviews were written out of spite. Hope to get back up there soon!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Coram, NY
1

Sooooo disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Our yearly get together was truly marred by this unfortunate property. We so looked forward to enjoy spending time together cooking, socializing and just catching up. The advertised pictures alluded to a clean, comfortable, welcoming environment. In reality, it was just nasty. We left each day as early as we could, staying out longer than we originally planned, just to avoid returning to this house. When we tried to get in touch with the owner, he just wouldn't return any of our texts or phone calls. A true disappointment!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please read this and the the three following reviews as a group excersise. We are grateful for their effort in discouraging the visiting of our property by guests who think this is appropriate behavior.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Beauty & the House

  • 1 of 5

The advertised photos of this property are beautiful! I so would have loved to have seen, experienced & enjoyed the house in that condition. Unfortunately, the pictures don't even come close to representing the actual interior that we encountered. Perhaps with a deep, deep, thorough cleaning, along with maintenance repairs, it might be restored to resemble the advertised photos.

I would only recommend this house if you wanted to reside outside 24/7 using paper plates, plastic utensils & Styrofoam cups. It's amazing, when the outside of the house is actually cleaner than the inside of the house.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As we all know, there is a first time for everything. During the 6 years our property has been a vacation destination on VRBO we have never encountered a guest's problems that we could not solve. Nor have we encountered guests who do not bring complaints to our attention during their stay and instead threaten after they leave to post negative reviews if a refund is not issued. It is unfortunate there is no mention of the beautiful peak Fall foliage surrounding the property, but instead a focus on a totally misleading strategy.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Regrets Only

  • 1 of 5

My 1st regret is that I rented this property. My 2nd regret is that I didn't book thru VRBO, but w/the owner instead. My 3d regret that we were requested to pay in cash or check only. BIG MISTAKE!

I also regret not checking the interior of the house before paying the owner the balance. I would gladly have lost my deposit, as to having to stay in a house with dirt, grime, filth, roaches & a leaky roof.

It's also necessary to know how to get in touch with the owner once you've handed your money over to him. In my case, he NEVER, EVER responded once to letters, texts & numerous phone calls. He just couldn't be reached, not even by VRBO.

I've been renting VRBO properties for over 20 years, and not once have I experienced such a deplorable property.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always address our guests needs and complaints during their visits. This guest did not attempt to contact us until after departure. This review was threatened retroactively if a refund was not issued. Felt like a shake down.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Clean up your act

  • 1 of 5

We stayed 5 nights. We were impressed with the outdoor property and its scenic views. However, we were extremely disappointed with the condition of the interior of the home.

Pros - Beautiful location, quiet, lovely outdoor area by lake.

Cons - Every room needs a deep cleaning and repairs.

I have never had occasion to write a poor review, but in this case it's unavoidable. We were prepared for a "rustic" environment, and tried to overlook the outdated decor and disrepair of cabinets and furnishings. What we were not prepared for were the dirty conditions throughout the house, such as roaches, ceiling leaks, grease and dirt on kitchen appliances, dirt around sinks and bathtubs, mold so bad that one of us with allergies could not breath well, dirty rugs and floors. We were hopeful to be able to enjoy cooking during our stay, but we were so put off by the unclean condition of the kitchen and all the appliances, it left us no choice but to eat out every day, adding to the cost of our vacation (we reached for a cookbook only to find roaches scurrying out!). Photos online do not appropriately represent the condition of the interior of the home, including safety issues such as windows that do not lock, heaters plugged in over sinks and a dryer packed with lint.

Tried to contact owner several times (by letter, email, phone, text) after he cashed our checks, with NO success.

Bottom line - Check the date on reviews posted. Look over the house before making your final payment. This is not the place for anyone who likes a clean house, and it's especially NOT a place for children and pets.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate these guests did not contact us during their 5 day stay while their complaints could still be remedied and instead after they had ended their stay chose to threaten an unfavorable review if a refund was not recieved. Happy Holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Comfortable and stylish pondside playground

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I stayed at the house while attending a wedding in the area. The owner was very friendly, flexible, and helpful. The decor is bold, quirky, and just right. The planter/sculpture in the living room was a big hit, as were the smattering of stuffed animals. There were plenty of kitchen wares, board games, and towels. I loved the fire and seating area by the water and the round booth in the kitchen. There is a screened outdoor dining room, but there were no mosquitoes, so we lounged and dined on the patio. We got out on the water with the float and canoe--what could be better? There are other houses around the pond, but the house feels private, and everyone is there for more or less the same reason. There is plenty of easy parking, and the supermarket isn't too far. The few downsides: The one fold-out bed could stand replacement with a "real" bed. Some sinks and showers had low water pressure. The electric stove could be a drawback for the picky chef. It's a special spot, a world of relaxation. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Staatsburg, Hudson Valley

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£946
for 2 nights
From
£394
£2,325
£6,464
 

Additional pricing information

cleaning £158

Owner will email rental agreement with payment instructions once reservation is made.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Staatsburg, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Gazebo
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Kayak Provided

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties