HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cubby Bear Cabin*Pet Friendly*Picturesque, So Lake Tahoe

People5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + 1 Bedrm Sleeping Loft, 1 Bath

Dog Friendly! Cubby Bear Cabin in South Lake Tahoe close to the Mountains, the Lake and Casinos features sleeping arrangements for up to five in a 1 master bedroom, 1 bath, for two plus 1 bedrm + twin sleeping loft for 2-3. Cedar paneling, lofted beamed ceilings, cathedral windows with a magnificent view of beautiful Ponderosa Pines out your living room. Enjoy the snow fall in front of our new bisque-Franklin gas fireplace! Warm & cozy atmosphere!

First floor master bedroom (queen bed with head that raises & lowers) for 2 with TV, private loft with double & twin for 2-3, living room with cozy sofa. Cabin includes linens, pots, pans, dishes, cable TV with DVD, games galore, free 40 Mbs broad band high-speed Wifi internet included and common area washer/dryer. Secluded, romantic, nestled among the ponderosa pines for lots of privacy. Off street parking, located on a quiet cul-de-sac. French doors lead to your private deck. In Summer outdoor barbeque, and picnic tables.

Cable TV with DVD, gas stove, microwave, gas fireplace, games, free 40 Mbs broad brand high-speed Wifi internet included. Excellent warm, gas furnace as well. Close to all that South Lake Tahoe has to offer including all winter sports, skiing, snowboarding, tobogganning, sledding, snowmobiling, hiking & summer sports, boating, hiking, sightseeing, day and dinner cruises, dog beach, gambling, great restaurants, night life, night clubs and comedy and cabaret shows. A mile to Lake; 4 miles to Heavenly Resort and the casinos; walk to restaurants and shops. Close to Tahoe Keys, Emerald Bay, Fallen Leaf Lake, Camp Richardson. 60 miles to Reno Airport. Rates are the standard rates unless specifically expressed by the dates.

Winter: 12 Feet of Snow in 7 Days on the mountains! Plenty of the white fluffy to enjoy on the slopes for skiing or snowboarding or sledding! Summer: Enjoy the Mountain breezes while touring the exquisite Lake.

Keywords: cabin, lake, tahoe, ski, snowboard, cubby, bear, cedar, pines, resort, casino, mountain, Ponderosa, dvd, cable, tv, LCD, flat, screen, barbecue, parking, dogs, pets, free high speed Wifi.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
11 December, 2017

About The Owner

Hilary Pender Entrepreneur Real Estate Professional Greater Chicago Area

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2009

Why The Owner chose Tahoe Valley

I rented myself for 10 days and fell in love with the picturesque atmosphere and the South Lake Tahoe area. So I bought the cabin! It was perfect for my family and me to enjoy all that South Lake Tahoe has to offer. We love to ski and have two dogs, and wanted a dog friendly atmosphere. So what more could you ask for! The location is perfect to offer privacy but close enough to all the action. We can get to Heavenly in 10 minutes.

What makes this cabin unique

Just installed a wonderful, new Bisque Franklin-stove gas fireplace for lounging in front of with a good book or movie.

Dog beach four miles away! Great for getting out that canine energy! Lots of hiking trails too! Aross the street from the forest preserve.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Hilary 😊

We have checked out and are headed home. Just wanted to touch base with you. We had a great time! It was so cozy and comfortable. And loved reading your little guest book. Thank you so much! 😊

We would love to come back in the near future and bring my son.

And all in all we had a wonderful time!

Thanks again 😊

Joy
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 6

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Tahoe Valley in South Lake Tahoe

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Cubby Bear Cabin*Pet Friendly*Picturesque, So Lake Tahoe
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 24 reviews
San Francisco
5

Very Cute Cabin, Close to Shops, Not Far from the Lake

  • 5 of 5

Really cute cabin! Small, but fully stocked. We had a great time. Our dog loved it there too. Would recommend. Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

If you want rustic accommodations

  • 2 of 5

Wasn't for me. We were there with another couple so sleeping upstairs where you couldn't even stand up...awkward. The cabin really wasn't very clean. That basic item was a turn off for me. They could do so much more to make it appealing. At least it was close to amenities.It was a cabin. Given those expectations still would have loved clean windows, dusting, cob web removal.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Cozy, small, cute, convenient location

  • 4 of 5

My family with 2 boys(12 and 8) stayed this cabin over the July 4th holiday weekend.

The location is really convenient to go to Reiley's grocery store, and Tahoe key beach. The cabin is located in Y-camp ground and this cabin is mobil home.

It's very organized, cozy, and cute.

My boys enjoyed sleeping attics which has two beds( actually mattresses).

The cabin has everything we need to sleep and eat. My family like to cook rather than eating outside. So we cooked breakfast and lunch. They have enough cooking stuff for family of 4.

There were few things we were not happy.

1. The WIFI was not working even though they advertised they have one. We contacted the owner and she responded very quickly. However, she could not help it because of her family event.

2. There were some mouse drops under neath the kitchen sink. The house was very clean and neat, but this hidden space made me disappoinred.

3. Since the neighbors are pretty close each other, you can hear your neighbor very well , especially with windows open in summer.

Overall it's very convenient and the owner always responded quickly.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. However, I must respectfully correct some of your details. My home is not a motor home. It is a cedar sided cabin that is stationery on the ground. It is also NOT in the y campground. That is a completely different facility. We are a group of 12 cedar cabins in its own completely separate land plot next to the national forest preserve. I appreciate your compliment that it is cute, organized and cozy. You did email me about the wifi and I did respond to you that it was my son's Wedding Day on July 2nd. That's not just some family event like a picnic, but a once in a lifetime event. However, I dropped everything and called Spectrum, the cable company, to find out what the issue was. They tried trouble shooting remotely and determined they needed to make an on-sight visit. I set that up and scheduled the first available date with them which was after the 4th of July holiday. They came out and made the appropriate repairs to make it operational again. Your booking was at the 4th of July holiday period. Regarding a mouse dropping, I am sorry for that and have spoken with my cleaning service. They assured me that was an isolated circumstance. I receive many compliments from my clients about how clean the cabin is, so I will trust they are doing a good job. We are adjacent to the forest preserve so there will be animals periodically. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at my cabin and found the location to be very convenient. Sincerely, Hilary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in the cabin with another couple for the holidays and Hillary’s cabin had everything we needed, we had a great time. The cabin was clean and the kitchen was well equipped. The bedding is nice as well, besides the low ceiling in the loft we were able to sleep very well.

The cabin is close to Heavenly and downtown, so it is good for who is planning to spend the day skiing. It was really good to come back to the cabin and stay near the fireplace after a long day of snowboarding.

Hillary promptly responded to our reservation and all questions. I would definitely consider booking it again in the future and recommend to my friends.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so pleased you enjoyed your vacation at my Cubby Bear Cabin ! Nice to hear! Please come back again, Hilary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy cabin for our 2nd Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary weekend with a two-night stay at the Cubby Bear cabin. I literally squealed in delight at it's charm as soon as we stepped inside. Very comfortable and "homey" feeling. We spent most of our time out and about - enjoyed a dinner cruise to Emerald Bay on the M.S. Dixie paddle boat, explored the local flea market, took a drive out to Fallen Leaf Lake, jet skied on Lake Tahoe, and found lots of great places to eat. (Go to the Lucky Beaver Grill for the best burgers!) When we were indoors we enjoyed movies and games in the cozy living area. Nice sized master bedroom, though I have to say the futon bed took some adjusting to the first night. And I have to add, nice HOT showers! It's the perfect size for a couple to getaway or stay with a few little ones. (Adorable "mini" loft upstairs!) Thank you Hilary for sharing your little piece of cabin heaven with us!

  • Review Submitted: 01-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a terrific time for your 2nd Honeymoon! Always good to have two! Your itinerary was ambitious. You got a lot in! Please come back again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a family

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great time in your cabin. Thank you for being easy to deal with and for ensuring the cabin was clean and comfortable. Our kids loved the loft and we all loved the peaceful location tucked in the back among the trees. Next time we go back, yours will be the first property I check for availability. Thanks again for helping make a great vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Reno, Nevada
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Lake Tahoe Lake Tours
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Lake Tahoe Public Golf Course
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Heavenly
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
South Lake Tahoe
Car: recommended

Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling in winter, Casinos, Nightlife, Bars, Clubs, Gambling, Night Life, Night Clubs, Comedy, Cabaret Shows, Boating in Summer, Cruising, Cruises, Easy access from Airport, 4 lanes to Carson City and then up to South Lake Tahoe, 60 miles from Reno Airport. Late check-outs approved by mutual agreement. Otherwise, another day's charge will be accessed.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £56.29
Pet Fee £37.53
Damage Deposit £75.05

$25 per dog per two night stay, $50 per dog more than two nights. No refunds for no-shows, cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival. Late check-outs approved by mutual agreement. Otherwise, another day's charge will be accessed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable