HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Whidbey Island 1930's Cottage on 13 Acres

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This inviting, one bedroom cottage is a 1930's gem. Located between Freeland and Coupeville on South Whidbey Island, the Artists Cottage offers privacy and unique blend of rustic elegance on 13 acres of fields, woods, and wetlands. Especially intended for longer stays, there's a well equipped kitchen, original art on the walls, and the delightful rooms boast color, texture, and warmth.

Inside there is an automatic gas fireplace, a claw-foot bath tub, while outside you can enjoy a hot tub on the back deck overlooking the wetlands and forest. The pond in the front yard is regularly visited by ducks, herons, and even deer. The beautiful Meerkerk Rhodedendron Gardens are a short walk away and the historic town of Coupeville and incredible Ebey's Prairie are a short drive to the North. More antiques and artwork can be found to the south in the village of Langley.

Keywords: Cottage on 13 Acres

More Details

Owner
Nancy or George Roberts
Member since: 2003
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 April, 2018

About Nancy or George Roberts

We raised our two boys on Whidbey Island for 18 years,while George taught school and Nancy ran a cafe. When we decided to expand our horizons, we realized we could not part with our cottage at Greenbank. It is such a special place. We added a larger bedroom, decks and hot tub, and visit as often as we can. It is a great pleasure reading the guest book, and sharing a favorite place on the planet with others.

Nancy or George Roberts purchased this cottage in 1991

Why Nancy or George Roberts chose Greenbank

We have owned this 1930's cottage for many years before we decided to turn it into a vacation rental. It is rare to have such privacy and 13 acres of woodlands, trees, wetlands, and meadows, all to oneself, with of course, the deer, rabbits, ducks, and birds that we share it with.

What makes this cottage unique

It is a fantasy come true... Private lush life surrounding a darling cottage, decorated with art from the Pacific Northwest simply nourishes the spirit! And a live animal planet channel right out the window!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Greenbank in Island County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 claw foot tub with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Decking
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

58% Complete
29% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
7% Complete
Whidbey Island 1930's Cottage on 13 Acres
average rating of 4.292683 based on 41 reviews
5

Charming and clean.

  • 5 of 5

This small cottage is quite clean, and the gas fireplace does a good job of keeping the house nice and comfortable. The hot tub is also quite clean and very comfortable, and there are a variety of dishes and cookware to make this a pleasant visit. The shower is definitely an older model set into a clawfoot tub, but it works just fine. The bed is quite comfortable as well, And the internet worked for streaming even at 1080p. A delightful find.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet, peaceful, relaxing, comfy

  • 4 of 5

This place reminded me of the house I grew up in - full of quirky nooks, interesting art and a big comfy bedroom with piles of blankets. The owners seem to have updated just enough to allow for a good hot shower, a place to cook, a screen on the bedroom window for those who like fresh air at night but not bugs. But they've left so much of the character in place.

If you want granite counters, an updated kitchen, and a slate tiled shower, this isn't really the place. If you want charm, character and cozy, and a feeling like you're going back in time a little without giving up a hot shower and a nice flush toilet, if you like going to sleep to the sound of frogs, or soaking under the evening sky in an outdoor tub, or evenings by the fire reading, or a weekend sleep in under a pile of blankets, this is absolutely the place for you.

Oh, and the neighbouring towns - we went to Langley, and every one we met was just really welcoming and very friendly. Incredible ramen at Ultra House! Great art galleries both south and north of the cottage. In Coupeville, we loved the artist co-op, Penn Cove Gallery. We mostly cooked our own meals in the cottage, but that ramen was something you tell friends about years later. We also had a lovely breakfast bagel at Sunshine Drip in Coupeville :)

  • Review Submitted: 16-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

unimpressive

  • 1 of 5

I hate to give a bad review, but in this case i think the owners need to take a hard look at what they are providing. Upon arrival, as you walk in, there was a very strong smell of old moth balls, in which we had to air out cabin for a while to get rid of the smell. Most of the dishes and utensils were dirty and we would not use any of them. All the baseboards had a thick cover of dust on them and even behind the tub. The TV/cable was not hooked up and had to set up our own accounts to be able to watch TV . We were told that WE had to call the cable company to get it fix! The hot tub was cold the first night, but was explained that they had to change out water and took almost a whole night to warm up. Water might have be clean but the actual hot tub needs a good scrub down!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anna, We are so sorry you were unhappy with our cottage. The person who left the day you arrived gave us 5 stars. When you asked us for early arrival, I knew you were disappointed when we had to say no, as she was checking out, and we need time to clean. We do not use mothballs, but out in the country there are sometimes different smells than one is used to, or perhaps it was vinegar the cleaning person used. Our handyman that day decided to fully clean and scrub the hot tub, and put in fresh water for you. Four hours between guests was not enough time to heat it to your liking by your 3pm arrival. We apologize. We felt it better to be sparkling clean than hot but dirty. With that you asked for a full days refund. I gave you nearly half for the inconvenience. Then you called because you wanted to play Angry Birds and could not get the cable to work. I asked our handyman to stop by and help you. It appears that the cottage was a bad match for you. We are sorry and wish you well in your future travels. Take care, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I, along with puppy, stayed at the Artist's Cottage for spring break. It was wonderful! We spent hours in front of the fireplace playing games and reading books. We walked the acreage, delighted by the chorus of frogs that came out at night. We explored the island and loved coming "home" at night. Nancy and George were extremely accommodating. Fantastic place for a lovely getaway!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

February 2018

  • 5 of 5

At&t carriers - caution, you may not have much to any service at the cottage. Hopefully you will not need it!

The place was very cozy and accommodating for my husband and I during our stay. Close to many fun things to do, hikes, water, farms, wine tasting, etc. We lucked out and got snow while we were there too! That outdoor hot tub was probably my favorite part of the place.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, Thank you so much for your kind words. It warm our hearts when people enjoy the place as much as we do. We do our best to make it relaxing and fun . We hope you will return soon. All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Going Back in Time

  • 5 of 5

We had a relaxing weekend that was way too short. The cottage had everything we needed, and was clean and comfortable. We love the charm that an old house has with all the imperfections. Thanks so much for allowing us to bring our dog along too cause he also needed to get away. Had a good time. Thanks again.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Traci, Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our home, with its rustic elegance....and are glad your dog enjoyed its time there as well. We hope you will return again for a longer stay...we give a free night for a 6 night stay! All Good Things, Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Meerkerk Rhododendren Gardens right next door, Loganberry festival, Choochokum Arts Festival, Ebey's Prairie

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Greenbank, Puget Sound

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
low
1 Jan 2018 - 31 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£232
for 2 nights
From
£81
From
£95
Fri,Sat
£563
£1,689
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£267
for 2 nights
From
£99
From
£113
Fri,Sat
£704
£2,112
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £35.2
Refundable Damage Deposit £211.17
cleaning fee £70.39

50.00 per pet is for entire stay, additional pet 50.00
extra person 25.00 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable