HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Nancy or George Roberts

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks English, Spanish, a bit of Shona and Africaans

Whidbey Island 1930's Cottage on 13 Acres

23 Reviews
People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday cottage in Greenbank

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This inviting, one bedroom cottage is a 1930's gem. Located between Freeland and Coupeville on South Whidbey Island, the Artists Cottage offers privacy and unique blend of rustic elegance on 13 acres of fields, woods, and wetlands. Especially intended for longer stays, there's a well equipped kitchen, original art on the walls, and the delightful rooms boast color, texture, and warmth.

Inside there is an automatic gas fireplace, a claw-foot bath tub, while outside you can enjoy a hot tub on the back deck overlooking the wetlands and forest. The pond in the front yard is regularly visited by ducks, herons, and even deer. The beautiful Meerkerk Rhodedendron Gardens are a short walk away and the historic town of Coupeville and incredible Ebey's Prairie are a short drive to the North. More antiques and artwork can be found to the south in the village of Langley.

Keywords: Cottage on 13 Acres

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Nancy or George Roberts (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks English, Spanish, a bit of Shona and Africaans

About Nancy or George Roberts

We raised our two boys on Whidbey Island for 18 years,while George taught school and Nancy ran a cafe. When we decided to expand our horizons, we realized we could not part with our cottage at Greenbank. It is such a special place. We added a larger bedroom, decks and hot tub, and visit as often as we can. It is a great pleasure reading the guest book, and sharing a favorite place on the planet with others.

Nancy or George Roberts purchased this cottage in 1991

Why Nancy or George Roberts chose Whidbey Island

We have owned this 1930's cottage for many years before we decided to turn it into a vacation rental. It is rare to have such privacy and 13 acres of woodlands, trees, wetlands, and meadows, all to oneself, with of course, the deer, rabbits, ducks, and birds that we share it with.

What makes this cottage unique

It is a fantasy come true... Private lush life surrounding a darling cottage, decorated with art from the Pacific Northwest simply nourishes the spirit! And a live animal planet channel right out the window!

Reviews

4.3
based on 23 holidaymaker reviews

Whidbey Island 1930's Cottage on 13 Acres
average rating of 4.304348 based on 23 reviews
5

Funky unique cabin

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in the artist cottage. Very unique, crooked little cabin with pretty much everything you could need. The hot tub was a nice treat! The kids spent countless hours picking blackberries. Fun vacation!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Leslie- I am so glad you had a great time with your family...and great that blackberries were ripe for picking! We hope you will return again soon! All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall a great getaway!

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was wonderful! Very charming and super relaxing. The floors are a little off and it threw me off at first, but I quickly got used to it. The kitchen is well equipped, bed is very comfortable, and our dog loved the big yard. The two things that kept it from five stars are the road noise when you're hanging out outside(inside is perfectly quiet) and the lack of air conditioning or any fans we could find. The cabin did actually stay cooler than I would have thought, but on the days it reached the high 80's it did get a little uncomfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jamie- Thank you for your review! I'm sorry you couldn't find fans, there are two inside the cupboard when you first walk in the cottage...I wish you had called us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll visit us again soon! All Good Things, Nancy Roberts
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this cottage. It has a ton of rustic charm. Everything needed was provided and as advertised. We loved the hot tub and large, private lot. Our kids and dog loved to wander, pick berries, and search for bunnies. It had ample space for our family and is centrally located on the island. The only downside was the road noise. The home is situated near the main road on the island and the traffic is definitely noticeable. We would love to stay here again! Be sure to check out the GreenBank Store and Grill right down the street.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review...We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon! All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderfully Quaint & Idyllic Place to Spend the Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Loved the 1930/40's decor. The yard and all it's many places to explore made this a magical place. We lay on the lawn to look at the stars at night. Only wish my niece had been there and seen all the wild bunnies and used the croquette set. She could have had the perfect Alice in Wonderland adventure.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Natalie, Thank you so much for your kind words. We really want people to experience the place like you did...and enjoy it! Words like yours make all the work worth it. I will pass your review on to our housekeeper and to the guy that keeps up the lawn. Please return sometime with your niece. The bunnies and deer do add a lot to your mornings! All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location for access to all of Whidbey

  • 5 of 5

Easy to find location with a nice buffer of land. Plenty of flora and fauna and a nice view of the property from the rear deck. Clean place with everything in working order. I like it and will be back.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jay, Thank you so much for your review! It warms our hearts when people find our cottage to their liking. I will pass your review on to our housekeeper as well, as she likes to know she is doing a good job. We do hope you'll visit again. All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Quaint

  • 2 of 5

You know when you read in the real estate ads for a home that is described as "QUAINT" what that really means? It's code for a place that is quirky, old, and even has floors that tilt! This is a small cottage with interesting and abundant nick-knacks. Charming yes, but very dirty. We felt comfortable but we are SMALL adults (meaning not tall) AND this is NOT a place for someone who is over 5' 8"! Very low ceilings. The place was very DIRTY and we spent at least two hours of our precious vacation time cleaning the bathroom (which smelled horrible and needs new shower curtains) and the kitchen (and we barely made a dent.) This place needs a deep clean from top to bottom and the carpet needs to be PROFESSIONALLY cleaned. The bed was fine, the shower was not so fine. The highlight was the "newish" hot tub which overlooks the back yard. Sitting in the front yard is not comfortable because the noise from the road is LOUD. Luckily the bedroom is in the back of the cottage, so you don't hear the noise. Although the cottage is on 13 acres, we could not find any walking trails to speak of and I think most of the acreage is the cattail swamp that takes up most of the back yard. There is plenty of outdoor furniture, but it's out and about and COVERED in bird poop. We spent another hour trying to clean up the outdoor chairs and tables so we could enjoy our morning coffee and evening meals outside. One afternoon we came home tired and hot from the beach to find that our precious holiday time was interrupted by the maintenance man mowing the lawn. Not much fun trying to have happy hour when you hear the sputter of a lawn mower. Would I stay here again? Maybe. Our dog enjoyed the yard and it's in a great location between Langley and Coupeville. I just wish they tidied up a bit. We hope the owners will consider giving us a partial refund.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deborah, I am sorry you were so dismayed. I spoke to the housekeeper. She stated that you arrived so early she thought you were the vacating guests. When you said you were arriving, she did her best to clean around all your things that had been strewn around the house, the refrigerator full of items, and your dog running around. You were so entrenched she didin't want to ask you to leave so she could clean properly. If you had let us know that you wanted to arrive early, I am certain your review would be different. If you had called us at any time about the cleanliness, we would have had her return. In this business, communication is key to having a perfect vacation. Our lawn man could have come at a different time if you would have said something in advance. It normally doesn't bother people for the half hour he is there. I know the vrbo fee upset you as well, but it is their new policy and is not refundable, but it is there from the beginning in the quote. The housekeeper does clean the bird droppings, but things were pretty hectic when you arrived so early unbeknownst to any of us, and she got the feeling you wanted her gone. We wish you the best on your future holidays. Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Meerkerk Rhododendren Gardens right next door, Loganberry festival, Choochokum Arts Festival, Ebey's Prairie

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Greenbank, Whidbey Island

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
standard
1 Jun 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£285
for 2 nights
From
£104
From
£127
Fri,Sat
£769
£2,769
 
 
low
1 Nov 2016 - 31 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£261
for 2 nights
From
£92
From
£115
Fri,Sat
£731
£2,000
 

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £77
Pet Fee £38

30.00 per pet is for entire stay, additional pet 30.00
extra person 15.00 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Greenbank in Puget Sound

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • tennis

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties