Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Whidbey Island 1930's Cottage on 13 Acres

Bedrooms 1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This inviting, one bedroom cottage is a 1930's gem. Located between Freeland and Coupeville on South Whidbey Island, the Artists Cottage offers privacy and unique blend of rustic elegance on 13 acres of fields, woods, and wetlands. Especially intended for longer stays, there's a well equipped kitchen, original art on the walls, and the delightful rooms boast color, texture, and warmth.

Inside there is an automatic gas fireplace, a claw-foot bath tub, while outside you can enjoy a hot tub on the back deck overlooking the wetlands and forest. The pond in the front yard is regularly visited by ducks, herons, and even deer. The beautiful Meerkerk Rhodedendron Gardens are a short walk away and the historic town of Coupeville and incredible Ebey's Prairie are a short drive to the North. More antiques and artwork can be found to the south in the village of Langley.


NEED OTHER accommodations? See our other VRBOs in the US and Mexico:

Santa Fe, New Mexico (Maddie's Place):

Santa Fe, New Mexico (Casita at Sun Mountain):

Santa Fe, New Mexico (Casa Venado):

Gulfport ,Florida (Casa Chispa):

Gulfport, Florida (Nibblet House):

San Miguel de Allende, Mexico (Casa que Canta):


Keywords: Cottage on 13 Acres

More Details

Nancy or George Roberts
Member since: 2003
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 June, 2018

About Nancy or George Roberts

We raised our two boys on Whidbey Island for 18 years,while George taught school and Nancy ran a cafe. When we decided to expand our horizons, we realized we could not part with our cottage at Greenbank. It is such a special place. We added a larger bedroom, decks and hot tub, and visit as often as we can. It is a great pleasure reading the guest book, and sharing a favorite place on the planet with others.

Nancy or George Roberts purchased this cottage in 1991

Why Nancy or George Roberts chose Greenbank

We have owned this 1930's cottage for many years before we decided to turn it into a vacation rental. It is rare to have such privacy and 13 acres of woodlands, trees, wetlands, and meadows, all to oneself, with of course, the deer, rabbits, ducks, and birds that we share it with.

What makes this cottage unique

It is a fantasy come true... Private lush life surrounding a darling cottage, decorated with art from the Pacific Northwest simply nourishes the spirit! And a live animal planet channel right out the window!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Greenbank in Island County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 claw foot tub with shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Decking
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(43 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
27% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
6% Complete
Whidbey Island 1930's Cottage on 13 Acres
average rating of 4.3255816 based on 43 reviews

Charming and clean.

  • 5 of 5

This small cottage is quite clean, and the gas fireplace does a good job of keeping the house nice and comfortable. The hot tub is also quite clean and very comfortable, and there are a variety of dishes and cookware to make this a pleasant visit. The shower is definitely an older model set into a clawfoot tub, but it works just fine. The bed is quite comfortable as well, And the internet worked for streaming even at 1080p. A delightful find.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Benjamin, Thank you so much for your great review! We love it when people enjoy our home as we do, and it sounds like you did. We do our best to keep it all working and clean, which we want to thank you for pointing out. Lastly, I had no idea the internet would work for is Whidbey Island...what a surprise to find this out! Your kind words will not be forgotten. Please visit us again soon. All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet, comfortable, private, quirky, fun

  • 5 of 5

The property is just as advertised: quiet, tranquil, lushly vegetated, and very private. The cottage itself has a lot of character: expressive art, variable ceiling heights, and rustic but comfortable furnishings. Courtyard by Marriott it’s not, and that’s just the way we like it. The hosts couldn’t have been more responsive. The only thing that disappointed us about our trip was not under their control: apparently the Greenbank Store has closed permanently. So we had to travel a little farther than we’d planned to go out to dinner. Regardless, we’d recommend this property to anyone who’s looking for a tranquil and private country getaway.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the beauty of it all. The privacy was perf ct and the art and decor was a fun and interesting perk. A must read children’s book sticks in my mind. The sky jumps into your shoes at night.

  • Review Submitted: 09-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Teri! So happy you enjoyed the beauty of the place as we do, as well as the uniqueness and small little details! All the best, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet, peaceful, relaxing, comfy

  • 4 of 5

This place reminded me of the house I grew up in - full of quirky nooks, interesting art and a big comfy bedroom with piles of blankets. The owners seem to have updated just enough to allow for a good hot shower, a place to cook, a screen on the bedroom window for those who like fresh air at night but not bugs. But they've left so much of the character in place.

If you want granite counters, an updated kitchen, and a slate tiled shower, this isn't really the place. If you want charm, character and cozy, and a feeling like you're going back in time a little without giving up a hot shower and a nice flush toilet, if you like going to sleep to the sound of frogs, or soaking under the evening sky in an outdoor tub, or evenings by the fire reading, or a weekend sleep in under a pile of blankets, this is absolutely the place for you.

Oh, and the neighbouring towns - we went to Langley, and every one we met was just really welcoming and very friendly. Incredible ramen at Ultra House! Great art galleries both south and north of the cottage. In Coupeville, we loved the artist co-op, Penn Cove Gallery. We mostly cooked our own meals in the cottage, but that ramen was something you tell friends about years later. We also had a lovely breakfast bagel at Sunshine Drip in Coupeville :)

  • Review Submitted: 16-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

I hate to give a bad review, but in this case i think the owners need to take a hard look at what they are providing. Upon arrival, as you walk in, there was a very strong smell of old moth balls, in which we had to air out cabin for a while to get rid of the smell. Most of the dishes and utensils were dirty and we would not use any of them. All the baseboards had a thick cover of dust on them and even behind the tub. The TV/cable was not hooked up and had to set up our own accounts to be able to watch TV . We were told that WE had to call the cable company to get it fix! The hot tub was cold the first night, but was explained that they had to change out water and took almost a whole night to warm up. Water might have be clean but the actual hot tub needs a good scrub down!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anna, We are so sorry you were unhappy with our cottage. The person who left the day you arrived gave us 5 stars. When you asked us for early arrival, I knew you were disappointed when we had to say no, as she was checking out, and we need time to clean. We do not use mothballs, but out in the country there are sometimes different smells than one is used to, or perhaps it was vinegar the cleaning person used. Our handyman that day decided to fully clean and scrub the hot tub, and put in fresh water for you. Four hours between guests was not enough time to heat it to your liking by your 3pm arrival. We apologize. We felt it better to be sparkling clean than hot but dirty. With that you asked for a full days refund. I gave you nearly half for the inconvenience. Then you called because you wanted to play Angry Birds and could not get the cable to work. I asked our handyman to stop by and help you. It appears that the cottage was a bad match for you. We are sorry and wish you well in your future travels. Take care, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I, along with puppy, stayed at the Artist's Cottage for spring break. It was wonderful! We spent hours in front of the fireplace playing games and reading books. We walked the acreage, delighted by the chorus of frogs that came out at night. We explored the island and loved coming "home" at night. Nancy and George were extremely accommodating. Fantastic place for a lovely getaway!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We love it when people seem to appreciate the cottage as much as we do. We hope you will return soon! All Good Things, Nancy and George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Meerkerk Rhododendren Gardens right next door, Loganberry festival, Choochokum Arts Festival, Ebey's Prairie


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Greenbank, Puget Sound

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Thanksgiving 2018
20 Nov 2018 - 27 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Christmas and New Years 2018
19 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £37.68
Refundable Damage Deposit £226.11
cleaning fee £75.37

50.00 per pet is for entire stay, additional pet 50.00
extra person 25.00 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question