HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Richelle Ahlvers

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks English

Dolphin's Paradise at Pelican Cove

16 Reviews
People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday condo in Sion Farm - Dolphin's Paradise

This condo features 2 large bedrooms with 2 full baths and sleeps 4

Book now for winter 2016 and spring 2017.

** NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOMS. New photos coming soon. **

Enjoy the Caribbean lifestyle in our two-bedroom two-bath, tropical retreat in the quiet Pelican Cove on St. Croix's North shore.

Featuring large bedrooms with 4-poster beds, en-suite bathrooms and an open floor plan, the easily accessible first-floor condo is nicely appointed with quality items including a mangowood living set, rattan dining set, HDTVs (with over 100 channels) and wireless internet access.

Relax on the patio and enjoy the ocean views and breezes, or relax in air-conditioned comfort. The condo features beachfront access to Pelican Cove beach, a gorgeous pool, tennis courts, and great restaurants within walking distance.

With the well-stocked kitchen, you can relax in comfort, or check out the great attractions of St. Croix and the rest of the USVI.

There is plenty to do on St. Croix. Here are few suggestions:

* Scuba dive: learn to scuba-dive at scenic Cane Bay or complete your certifications; take hosted dive trips from Dive Experience and other local companies

* Snorkel at many wonderful sights around the island: just out the doors of the condo at Pelican Cove, or for a must-see: go to the nation's only underwater national park: Buck Island

* Bring your golf clubs and check out one or all of the three golf courses on St. Croix: at the Buccaneer, at Carambola Golf & Country Club, and The Reef

* Tour historic Fort Christian and Fort Frederik

* Like rum? Tour the Cruzan Rum Distillery and the Captain Morgan distillery or just stop by the visitor's center

* Visit the St. George Village Botanical Gardens

* Check out sunrise or sunset from Point Udall, the easternmost point in the US.

* Check out some of the fabulous restaurants along the way.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Richelle Ahlvers (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Richelle Ahlvers

After vacationing in beach destinations around the world, we tried the US Virgin Islands and fell in love with St. Croix. We purchased our condo here in May of 2012, and rent it out when we aren't using it ourselves.

Richelle Ahlvers purchased this condo in 2012

Why Richelle Ahlvers chose St. Croix

We looked at condo complexes all over the island, but the relaxed, quiet atmosphere at Pelican Cove, easy access to the beach, beautiful pool, well maintained grounds, and open floor plans with large rooms in the condos themselves made it a no-brainer to pick Pelican Cove over the others. The close proximity to Christiansted and some of our favorite restaurants to hang out along the boardwalk didn't hurt either...

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dolphins Paradise is perfect for us! We stayed two weeks this year and two weeks last year. We have reserved it for two weeks next year. That should speak for itself!!! The Condo is equipped with everything you need and more. Food Town is a wonderful grocery store very close. The deli there is fabulous. The Palms next door has wonderful food and great activities all a short stroll away. St. Croix has lots of fabulous restaurants also. The grounds, pool, and landscaping at Pelican Cove are beautiful and well maintained. The last Friday of the month there is Jazz In The Park on the lawn of Fort Christiansted. Folks bring lawn chairs, food, wine, etc. and listen to great performers. There is so much to do on St. Croix. Richelle furnishes lots of information. We also learned to ask the locals for suggestions. The people on St Croix are the friendliest in the world. We feel it is very safe, laid back, and a great climate. We did not turn on the TV's or AC for the entire visit. There is new patio furniture, which is great since we spend most of the time enjoying the view of the beautiful Caribbean. Richelle is wonderful to work with. No problems at all.
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 holidaymaker reviews

Dolphin's Paradise at Pelican Cove
average rating of 4.75 based on 18 reviews
5

Best vacation spot ever!

  • 5 of 5

We had the best vacation ever and it was largely due to this amazing condo. The unit was beautifully decorated, the newly remodeled bathrooms are gorgeous, and we had more than enough space for the 4 of us. We had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. The condo has amazing views and the whole complex is super quiet with just the sound of the ocean. The beach access was perfect and we enjoyed the entire grounds of Pelican Cove; we felt like we had the place to ourselves. There was no one on the beach, and hardly ever anyone at the pool, which is simply beautiful. We will definitely stay here again when we go back!

The owner was great to work with and made sure everything was ready for us, and provided tons of information for us, including online app support with all the condo info as well as recommendations for restaurants, grocery stores, beaches and tourist attractions.

The condo had everything we needed, from snorkel gear, portable cooler, portable beach chairs and super-fluffy beach towels to make trips to St. Croix's beaches super easy, to a fully stocked kitchen with a complimentary bottle of rum to get started. The kitchen even had bunches of spices and supplies to make it easy to cook.

The condo has WiFi, and it is good enough for streaming video - we brought along our Roku and had no problems at all watching our favorite shows (and sports teams) on the one rainy day during our trip.

I'm already planning our next vacation to St. Croix, and plan to stay in this amazing condo again!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable and well stocked condo in a very relaxed setting

  • 4 of 5

The condo is a ground floor unit in a smallish but well maintained expanse of land adjacent to the Palms at Pelican Cove hotel. The condo buildings maintain their own good sized pool & jacuzzi, and small but delightful beach which is ideal for watching rolling waves against the sunset. Richelle's unit is on the ground floor of one of the three buildings and has good sized bedrooms and an extensive back porch. Her kitchen is incredibly well stocked- so much so that we kept discovering storage containers and cooking utensils for our in-house chef. Like all ground-floor seaside units there is an insect battle but a can of spray helped diminish their presence over time. Mornings we got a wake-up call from one of the three resident roosters (everyone seems to have chickens) who believed that he owned the place. The guest bedroom tiles and and porch screens need some work but, mostly this impressed as a comfortable, very well ventilated (we only used the fans) living space. The condo is very strategically located off route 75, with Christiansted 10-15 minutes east and Cane Bay and major food and Centerline Road shopping 15-20 minutes west and south. Along Route 75 itself there are 3-4 very good eating spots including the Cast Iron Pot, 2 barbecue stops and, farther southwest the outstanding La Reine Chicken shack. The owner, Richelle Ahlvers, was easy to work with and she seems invested in upgrading her property, which for us was a very pleasant and comfortable location.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Excellent Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect getaway. The owner has everything you could possibly want and more. She is a very gracious host. We felt right at home at the condo. The breeze coming through the back doors and the views were spectacular. We slept with the doors open and heard the ocean every night.

Be sure to follow her directions to the condo. St. Croix doesn't have a lot of street signs so landmarks are the best directional markers. I know this must sound scary but you can get around pretty easily. We knew our way around with in a day of driving for the most part.

There are plenty of great places to eat nearby and it's close to everything we wanted to do. The beach down by The Palms was great for swimming and snorkeling too.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Peaceful and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

The views from the bedroom and the porch were breathtaking. The kitchen was nicely stocked. The pool was great. All this made for a relaxing vacation as we had hoped it would. We tried most of Richelle's recommended restaurants and had excellent results. Too bad the beach is not suitable for swimming, but we knew that in advance. All in all an excellent way to get acquainted with St. Croix.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Time in St. Croix at Dolphin's Paradise at Pelican Cove

  • 5 of 5

We (Marcia and Dave) spent an unforgettable 10 days on St. Croix - 7 of them at a cool, roomy and very pleasant condo. The rooms were spacious and open. Doors in the master bedroom and living room drew in a delightful ocean breeze.

The condo was very well equipped for vacation living and the owner did a great job introducing the apartment and recommending things to do. There's a beach just across a lawn from the condo and a good swimming beach at a hotel a couple hundred yards away via the sand. You can bliss out just watching the pelicans dive for fish there.

We found our days overflowing with interesting, fun and engaging things to explore on the island. But the apartment was a great place to lay back and cozy in.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Beautiful Breezes

  • 4 of 5

This is the second time I have stayed at this condo. I like the location on beach. You get nice breezes off beach and do not have to run air. So it is very quiet and you can open windows at night. Convenient also to have a bar and resturaunt next door. The beach here is not great for swimming but there is really nice resort north of condo called Buchaneer, where for a fee of $8 per car can use chairs and beach and resturaunt there. St. Croix is a pretty quiet island ( which I like) but there are a few good resturaunts within easy drive and a lot of nice beaches. Driving on left is ok because no overwhelming traffic like some other Carribean islands

Owner of condo is very nice and says she is planning some minor updates which condo could use. But,everything I needed was there. Enjoy!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
8.5 Miles
Henry E Rohlsen Airport (STX)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
The Palms
Nearest Golf
5.3 Miles
Buccaneer Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
The Palms
Nearest Beach
Pelican Cove
Car: recommended

St. Croix is the largest of the US Virgin Islands, with a relaxed and welcoming island lifestyle. With everything from tropical rainforest to national underwater reefs, there's plenty to see and explore.

If you'd like to learn how to scuba-dive, St. Croix's famous Cane Bay is a perfect location for your first dive experience, and don't forget to check out Point Udall, the easternmost point of the US.

There's also lots of local culture to soak in, so relax with some local Cruzan rum during a tour of the Cruzan rum distillery, or just kick back at one of the islands' great restaurants and enjoy.

Or, if you're looking for a quiet getaway, we can arrange to have your groceries stocked so you never have to leave the condo and poolside too. Whatever you decide, we know you'll enjoy St Croix as much as we do!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Sion Farm, Virgin Islands (US)

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Off-Peak 2016
1 May 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
£1,129
for 7 nights
£1,129
 
 
Peak 2016-2017
1 Nov 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,389
for 7 nights
£1,389
 
 
Standard pricing
7 night minimum stay
£1,563
for 7 nights
£1,563
 

Additional pricing information

Extra person charge (3d and 4th persons) per week £154 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £386
Tax Rate 12.5%

Off-Peak: May 1 -- Oct 31:
$1100/week for 2 persons; $1300/week for 3-4 persons
Peak: Nov 1 - Apr 30:
$1400/week for 2 persons; $1600/week for 3-4 persons
1 week minimum stay
$500.00 refundable security deposit required.
12.5% VI Hotel Tax Note: Paypal accepted.
$500 Deposit required to hold reservation, balance due 30 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Sion Farm, Virgin Islands (US)

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Master Bath - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En-suite
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , En-suite bath and walk-in closet
    Guest Bedroom - 2 Large Double Bed , En-suite bath and walk-in closet
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • MP3 Dock
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • veranda
  • Yard
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Concierge and massage services are available for an extra charge; advance notice is appreciated.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties