About the property
- Cottage500 sqft
- Separate WC's0
- Minimum Stay2 nights
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3-6)
Enjoy our lake front all sports lake cottage on Fish Lake. You are directly on the lake just off the I 80/90 toll road exit 107. Swimming area is in your front yard with a nice sandy bottom and pier to enjoy the lake. This lake is a private lake only invited guests may use the lake, no public access. Fabulous shopping in the Amish community with the famous Shipshewana Flea Market less than ten minutes away.
We are only a half hour from Notre Dame, perfect for game day.
This cottage is fabulous for summer getaways and fall season enjoyment. You may bring your boat.
Keywords: Close to Notre Dame Lake Front all sports lake Shipshewana flea market and shopping
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 25, 2018
What makes this Cottage unique
Great for swimming, boating, and fabulous shopping area.
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
the deck and view of the lake were great. the first night we were there the sink in the bathroom fell off of the wall. they did get someone out there the next day to fix it. there was a clothes basket of dirty towels and sheets left on the bed. we had to dig in the closet to find another set of sheets, thank goodness we found some.the next day they had someone pick up the clothes basket, when she brought it back the towels were still damp so we could not use them. the barbecue was so dirty we had to put aluminum foil on the grate in order to use.even after we bought a barbecue brush to clean it we could not get it clean. the first morning we were there we went to make coffee and the pot was moldy. we went and bought a new coffee make, which they did reimburse us for. in order to fry bacon we had to use a small frying pan as the bigger one the teflon was all falling off. there was no place to have a fire at night. there were no railings on the deck stairs. which is unsafe for smaller children and elderly adults. you could not get to the water from the shore, you had to get in from the dock, there was a cement wall there. both of the owners said they would compensate us for all our problems, but we have not seen anything as of yet. we would not go back or recommend it to anyone.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. After you left we replaced our cleaning person and unfortunately we were both out of town and could not help you more. We purchased better pans as we did not notice but normally if we were there we would provide anything you need. The fire at night is an option that is requested and we provide a fire pit upon request. Regarding the sink you mentioned you pushed down on a free standing sink to get out of the shower and that it was your fault. Regardless of the serious damage we decided we were both good because of the experience with our cleaning person. There is a sea wall to avoid erosion so you can enjoy a large yard with the water. The decking has two entry and exit, one has four steps and the other is one step. You have options entering and exiting and it is approved.
Great little Cottage
Small and quaint just the right size for 2 adults and 2 small dogs...Not good for long term renters....Kitchen was not setup for cooking or for doing dishes..Pots and pans need to be pitched. Stove is nothing like I ever seen before. Fridge froze our fruit... but that was remedied by moving them to the bottom shelf.
The bathroom worked because we brought a little table that fit in it to keep our toiletries on and bought a shower caddy . Left that there for other renters to use.
No we won't be returning as we live in Tucson and came North for obligations for family and friends.. This would be great stay if only staying for short period of time....They are pet friendly but don't let their 2 beautiful dogs scare you as they never leave their yard...If my 2 were so well trained....
Thanks fir the review! Our cottage is just as advertised, quaint 1 bedroom on beautiful fish lake. So sorry to hear you didn't have all the comforts of home. We have had many long term renters that were more than satisfied with the accommodations and tranquility of the lake. The kitchen is fully functional; the frozen fruit issue was remedied by adjusting the fridge thermostat. Thanks for the feedback on pots and pans, we will replace as needed.
Thanks again for your feedback and stay.
We had a wonderful vacation. Some quality family time was good for all.
The cottage was very clean and the view was enjoyable and relaxing. The time went fast and everything went smoothly. We hope to enjoy it again next summer. Thank you for the use of your facilities. What a great place. Thanks again.
Thank you and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Not what we expected.
We hoped to introduce our dogs to lake swimming, did not expect a two foot drop from a seawall to lake. Dogs could have jumped in, but would not have been able to get back out of water. Cottage lacked smoke detectors, needs some work.
Sorry your dogs could not climb up to the pier. Most dogs can do this with ease and they enjoy the swim. I notice you used a ramp for your dogs to climb into the van. Maybe the ramp would have been helpful for them by the lake.
There is a smoke/carbon monoxide detector above the refrigerator. We check the battery 3 times per rental season to insure it's in good working order.
Thanks for staying with us.
The family had a great time
My family had a great time. We were able to bring our dog which saved us from boarding fees. Great amenities provided at the house. Real close to the flea market and the toll road also. It's nice and quiet over there which is what we were hoping for. Thanks for having us.
Very clean. Convenient to all the shopping and fun.
The five of us had lots of fun. We loved hanging out on the deck and watching the sun go down on the beautiful lake.
We live behind the lake cottage and have separate access.
Additional pricing information
Monthly rates are negotiable