HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bill Gaul

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks English

Dramatic Views-Private Luxury-Unique Architechure-Huge Pool

39 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Palm Springs

House, 4 Bedrooms + Office, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Dramatic interiors and outdoor areas mingle seamlessly at this cutting-edge contemporary Multi-Million dollar home featuring a soaring pavilion roof, 15 foot Ceilings and disappearing walls of glass that heighten the impact of the San Jacinto Mountain vistas.

Retractable pocket doors completely expose the Great Room to the enormous salt water lagoon waterfall pool and lush tropical landscaping. Outdoor fireplace, Fire pit and Kitchen/BBQ truly make this indoor/outdoor living at its finest.

This 4 bedroom 4.5 bath resort home was built in 2007 and completely furnished with wonderful amenities. From the open floor plan that ties together the spacious living room, dining room, and kitchen, there are terrific views of the pool, yard, and spectacular. The chef kitchen is complete with two dishwashers, double convention oven, microwave, six burner gas stove and extra wide refrigerator/freezer with ice maker.

The master bedroom suite is located at one end of the estate while the other three bedrooms are positioned for privacy on the other end. One bedroom is a private casita with private entrance and courtyard. The bathrooms feature natural stone from floor to ceiling, and frameless shower enclosures. After entering through the signature Patel glass door, you will be captivated by the spectacular view in the great room that will take your breath away.

Although extremely private to allow for a Clothing optional lifestyle, it is important to note that there are no shades on the floor to ceiling windows that open to the secure landscaped backyard to allow for dramatic views from all rooms.

The extremely large lagoon pool and backyard is private and offers nude /au natural sunbathing opportunity. The pool is saltwater which will make your skin feel soft and refreshed. Behind the pool is one of the favorite spots you’ll come to enjoy; in the shade of the palms you’ll find a hammock and deep soft sand that you can’t resist wiggling your toes in.

The home features a state of the art sound system that includes speakers throughout the house, patio and outdoor living areas. You may play your favorite music from your IPod, CD’s or via one of the dozens of cable music channels provided. There are 3 HD plasma televisions, with the TV in the great room wired for surround sound. If you find yourself having the need to stay online, there is high speed cable wireless internet throughout the property.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words; so we created a video on youtube to share our million dollar view. Click on the video link or use the link shown in order to view it in full screen

Palm Springs Permit # 45870000-20012783

Keywords: House, spa, estate, compound, private, clothing optional, view, modern, gated

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Bill Gaul (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Bill Gaul

Single Dad-3 great kids, Child Friendly and Dog Friendly

I travel a great deal, and have a few homes across the country, enjoy my place while I'm not there and let me exceed your expectations...its not only the home you will be pleased with, but the total service and experience you will have. A property mgr/concierge is available to arrange any special needs like pre-arrival shopping, private massages poolside, pedi/mani treatments poolside, private celebrity chefs- Check out my testimonials!

Bill Gaul purchased this house in 2007

Why Bill Gaul chose California Desert

I love the peace, solitude and warmth of Palm Springs. It is easy to get to, and a couple of days here is like spending a week in Hawaii. There is something magical about it, I live a high stress life, and my blood pressure drops immediately and I have completely restful nights

What makes this house unique

Complete and total privacy, relaxation, solitude, and yet I can work from work when needed. Love to cook, and enjoy the large gourmet chef kitchen and outdoor BBQ area. The pool is the largest in the entire community and I brought in 100 tons of rock to build the natural waterfall. Check out the 'corona commercial hammock' behind the waterfall with misters, the perfect place to take a little nap under the shade of the palm trees!


based on 39 holidaymaker reviews

Dramatic Views-Private Luxury-Unique Architechure-Huge Pool
average rating of 4.8717947 based on 39 reviews
Vancouver, BC

Best Holiday Ever!!

  • 5 of 5

The moment you walk into this incredible property you will feel absolute privacy with opportunity for enjoyment at every turn. Howie the Property Manager was there to greet us with such a fun spirit we felt so taken care of our entire stay. Bill, the property owner has done an exceptional job of creating a wonderful environment from cozy bed linens to having every kitchen and bar requirement needed to be able to cook and entertain in every fashion. We cannot recommend this property enough. We have stayed at vacation rentals around the world, Bahamas, Paris, Byron Bay and this is our favourite home. Your expectations will be exceeded with this wonderful property! yay!! THank you Bill!!!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 20, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WoW..what a great testimonial from a great guest! This is especially touching/sincere knowing that they had rented another home through an agency and were very disappointed after 3 days of staying there; VRBO is the way to go- they contacted me and we were able to accommodate their transition to my home within hours so that they could enjoy the rest of their vacation in a style to which they were accustomed to. Great followup with these guests and I would recommend them to any VRBO owner as ideal guests. Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Great Home. You will never want to leave.

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect getaway for our four couples celebrating our 50th birthdays! The house is amazing. It is such a wonderful place to just hang out with the great pool, spa, and indoor/outdoor spaces. There are four bedrooms with bathrooms. One is the master with a king size bed and the other three have queen size beds. The master is definitely bigger than the other three. We stayed in one of the bedrooms with a queen size bed and it is still very nice. The property is in a nice gated community. The property manager was there to great us, walk us through the house, and was available via phone to answer any questions. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a VIP guest that expects quality and for him to take the time to write such a nice review speaks volumes not only about himself, but for his stay at the property. Although it was a short stay, It sounds like they had a lot of fun and a memorable 50th birthday celebration. I look forward to welcoming them back for many birthdays to come. A toast: here is to your coffin, may it be made of 100 year old oak which I shall plant tomorrow. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, Alberta - Canada

An amazing retreat property set away from the madness of Coachella during weekend one!!!

  • 5 of 5

This property was exactly what my group was looking for... Beautiful architecture, open air to outside with an AMAZING pool and landscaping. A perfect mix of indoor / outdoor living, though 99% of the time was spend outside by the pool, grilling, and relaxing.

It was immaculately maintained, and we had no issues with anything during our stay.

It's located within a gated community at the very south point of Palm Springs, so it is VERY quiet. almost dead silent at night, yet a short hop to the bars and restaurants that Palm Springs has to offer.

Bill, the owner, was an absolute pleasure to deal with from the very first email. His response time was immediate, and each response to a question being completely thorough and clear. He is an incredibly funny man, with an amazing sense of humor, and he really shows that he cares about his guests getting the most out of their stay and enjoying the property for all that it offers. I would GLADLY deal with Bill again, and will most certainly be looking to stay at this property again in the future.

Thanks to Bill and his team for an amazing vacation!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: If only all my guests were as cordial and easy going as this guest was, I would quit my day job and do nothing but be an innkeeper! It was such a pleasure to deal with him from the very first email and the fact that I needed to have a plan B in place for the initial walk-through when my property manager who would have normally done it, came down with the flu. He wasn't fazed at all and took it all in stride. I could tell he and his guests were there to simply relax and take a break from their normal stressful lives and sounds like I was able to do just that for them. I am going to send this review to all of my children who always say that my jokes aren't funny usually though with a smirk on their faces knowing full well that I always try to make people smile and feel at home. Thanks for the testimonial Jordon, this made my day!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pleasant Valley New York USA

Read the fine print!

  • 4 of 5

Lovely home and perfect for our family reunion. However, it was also a disappointment in that the extra charges for utilities were surprising for a home such as this. Yes, it was written in the contract, but the allotment given was very, very minimal since you could have up to 10 people staying there. We were extremely careful, but still were charged. I have since researched and discovered that other homes such as this one do not charge for utilities as they are covered in the rent. A home such as this should include a fully equipped kitchen and updates, which this home did not. We had high expectations, and while it was lovely, we overpaid-not worth the money!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Its disappointing when no matter how hard you try, you can't make some people happy. To be clear, the entire contract is written in 12 point font easily readable with several sections actually in bold to make it exceptionally clear, there is NO fine print at all in the contract. I only allow 8 sleeping guests (the house has 4 bedrooms) and this guest surprised me a few weeks before their arrival indicating they were now planning on bringing more than 8 guests and i wouldn't allow that- they needed to find other accommodations for the overage- it appears they were not transparent when they signed the contract. Its also important to note that for monthly renters, in exchange for giving a free week of rent ($5000 discount) plus not having to charge the palm springs occupancy tax (savings of an additional 11.5%) the guest is responsible for the entire cost of all electricity and gas consumed during their stay. I even have guests initial the page so that they are clear. We take pictures of the meters when the guest checks in and checks out and share them with the guest to only charge the actual cost of those 2 utilities for their actual use with no additional markup. The house has large glass walls that retract allowing for a lovely indoor/outdoor lifestyle, but I can't have the exposure that a guest will leave the large walls open and try to either heat or AC all of Palm Springs. If they do, they will pay the actual cost of the utilities consumed. Yes, I could charge a lot more for rent and bury this exposure into the monthly rent whether the guest decides to heat the pool or not but I feel it is fair to all parties knowing up front that the rent does not include the utilities in exchange for the $5000+ savings. When this guest complained upon check out, I even tried to soften the blow by extending a free week of utilities to them, but I guess that was not enough. I'm not sure what else could be done to make them happy as they said they had a lovely stay, but I can't afford to give away all the utilities they can use plus the $5000 discount and still operate the home for others to enjoy. The contract was signed and initialed on every page and this was clearly explained to them upfront. Regarding the kitchen, other guests have left reviews here on VRBO remarking on how well equipped the kitchen is and we make sure we are always updating and maintaining the home to my own standard of living. I want each and every guest to make wonderful memories here.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful house but watch out for utility costs

  • 4 of 5

This is a beautiful, spacious, well-appointed house with wonderful outdoor spaces, pool and hot tub.

BUT, be careful of additional utility use charges. The allotted amount in contract is insufficient to heat the house, pool and hot tub in the cooler months, even if you are extremely cautious and frugal. You will be billed for overage, as we were and we never even heated the large, gorgeous pool!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the positive comments on the house but I'm disappointed that this is my very first 4 star rating and not 5 stars as I usually get from my guests. The contract that is signed is very clear in that the guest bears the cost of whatever gas and electricity was consumed over the threshold allotted as evidenced on the meter . They did not incur any additional electricity cost whatsoever during their stay, however they did consume additional gas to either heat the pool, hot tub, cook or water heaters- the meters do not lie...unfortunately the time frame of their stay was during the coldest part of the winter so it makes sense that they consumed a lot but I don't have any control over the weather, if I could I certainly would for the comfort of my guests :D I realize guests on vacation tend to relax and they should be permitted the lifestyle that they wish and I don't charge a daily pool heat fee which in fact lowers their rental fee. The guest is permitted to use whatever amount of utilities that they see fit to do, however they must pay for them when consumed over the threshold. The contract is clear, I do not include pool heat nor do I charge a daily pool heat fee, I allow the guest to live the lifestyle they wish to avoid artificially charging more for the rental fee. I have given a threshold of 3 times the normal use I usually consume (not including pool heat) when there myself. I really do want my guests to live comfortably at the temperature they enjoy, but each guest is different and to charge more for something some guests might not use is not fair either. The contract is very clear on this point as well so there are no hidden charges. I charge exactly what the meters read and at the same rate the utilities charge me with no additional markup. I'm sorry that this guest was not happy with the actual utility charges they incurred, but I did share the meter pictures and make available the actual daily usage numbers from the utility company so that I am completely above board. I'm not sure what I could have done to make them happier.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Peace in the Desert

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful family getaway. All of the luxuries one could expect from a five-star resort, but in a comfortable, private environment. The pool - so big we nicknamed it the ocean - provided hours of fun and relaxation. Looking forward to our return visit.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Haha. It is indeed a large pool, the largest and only lagoon style design by Mr. Patel in the entire community but haven't heard it called an ocean in the desert yet. :). Guess I will have to look into buying a wave machine! These were great guests and I look forward to having them cone back to the "shore" soon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Palm Springs Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Golf Club House
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Interstate 10
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many to choose from
Car: recommended

Private Home, Palm Springs, South, Palm Springs, Deserts, California, USA (15 Minutes from Palm Springs, Airport, 12 Mins from Downtown)

Other Activities: shopping, wildlife viewing, health/beauty spa, mini golf, clothing optional activities

Golf: there are several private and public courses in the close vicinity


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Palm Springs, California Desert

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Desert Trip Music Festival
3 Oct 2016 - 9 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
Desert Trip Music Festival
10 Oct 2016 - 16 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Thanksgiving week
23 Nov 2016 - 30 Nov 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
23 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
30 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
cochella festival I
7 Apr 2017 - 13 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Cochella Festival II
14 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £347 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £2,312
Pet Fee £385
Tax Rate 11.5%

Guests are given an allowance of 100kw of electricity and 3 therms/gas per day of stay. We take meter readings when you check in and check out and if additional utilities are consumed over that threshold, we simply deduct the cost (at normal meter rates) from the security deposit before returning the same. Max number of guests on property is 8 at any time, however if there are small babies (1 crib provided), they are not in the count.

For monthly renters, no sales tax is charged, savings of 11.5% (guest pays utilities)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Palm Springs in the California

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort
  • town
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Evaporative Cooling
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Study Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.5
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Master: Tempurpedic mattress for the best night's sleep you will ever have, Queen size Beds (3) All Secondary Bedrooms have Queens, Tempurpedic mattress for the best night's sleep you will ever have, Baby Cribs (1) Available upon request for an additional fee with Hi Chair, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Additional queen size blow up bed available upon request for an additional fee
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Courtyard
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • In Ground Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Jacuzzi ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Outdoor Misting during the warm months, cools the temperature at least 20 degrees Palm Springs Permit Number 45870000-20012783

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties