HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Huge Game Room! Great getaway for all ages!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 6-8

Our lake home is a quaint cottage directly on a small lake in Spencer, Massachusetts. The lake (Sugden Reservoir) is small but fully recreational. We have a small sandy beach with gradual entry into the water that is perfect for children, and the older kids love the swim raft. Kayaking is one of our favorite activities - we have one double, four single and one kid-sized kayak.

The house is relaxed and comfortable, not fancy but nicely decorated and it has most amenities you would find at your own house. Downstairs the kitchen, dining room and living room are all one open space in an L shape. The kitchen and downstairs bath are newly remodeled. The dining table seats 8 to 10 people comfortably. The living room is spacious and includes a large flat screen TV with VCR and Blueray DVD player, and a remote control gas 'wood stove'.

Upstairs the three bedrooms include a king bed and two queen beds. There is also a twin-over-full bunk bed in the game room.

Property Details: There is a full bath upstairs, and a huge game room with ping pong, Foosball, full size air hockey table, bumper pool, dart board, board games, flat screen TV with DVD player, puzzles, toys and more. Great for those rainy days, or when you need a break from the sun!

We have wireless high speed internet at the house, but you need to bring your own computer, and there is no phone service at the house, so you will also need to bring your cell phone. I have Verizon and my husband has Sprint, and the service signal (for those two providers at least) is excellent - full bar coverage.

There's always something to do here - in the house, on the lake or at nearby attractions such as Old Sturbridge Village or Moore State Park. It is a very rural area, but we are also very close to Worcester, where you will find an art museum, fine arts theatre, shopping and more.

Nearby Attractions: We are also only 20 miles from the Brimfield Antiques fair. We are 40 minutes from Wachusett Mountain Ski Area, and also 35 minutes from Davis' Farmland and MegaMaze. A snowmobile trail goes right by our house across the lake. It is a great place for a fun and relaxing getaway any time of the year!

More Details

Owner
Linda Davis
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
25 September, 2017

About Linda Davis

I am a former teacher turned stay-at-home mom. My kids are ages 15 and 18, and my husband is a farmer. We have had many enjoyable times at our lake house and we're very excited to share it with other families.

Linda Davis purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Linda Davis chose Central Massachusetts

We bought our lake house because it is only 20 miles from our permanent home, but far enough away so that we can 'get away' from the farm.

What makes this cottage unique

We think the most unique things about our home are the wonderful game room, the big lawn overlooking the lake, and the coziness of the home - it is a very relaxing getaway any time of year!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Spencer in Worcester County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Guests must read the attached Rental agreement.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • lake
  • Lakefront
  • rural
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Full 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Half 1 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Game Room - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , This is a twin over full bunkbed
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Binoculars
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Terrace ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Pedal Boat
  • Raft
  • Small Cooler
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • Yard
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Minimum Age Limit for Renters: Responsible adult must be at least 25, any kids under 18 must be supervised at all times. 5 Kayaks, rowboat, paddle boat, private dock, swim raft, badminton set, basketball in paved driveway. Ice fishing, snowshoeing, x-country skiing, Candlepin bowling 5 min, antiquing (Brimfield only 20 miles away), on snowmobile corridor. Cable/Satellite TV (3) : Expanded basic cable (75 channels)in living room, master bedroom and game room. Air Hockey, foosball, ping pong and other games in game room.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Huge Game Room! Great getaway for all ages!
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5

We recently visited this beautiful home and perfect view on the lake for a week in Spencer, MA. We brought 4 children and they fell in love with the game room! It's the perfectly convenient to reach town but also secluded enough to have a great family time outdoors. The home was very clean, cozy, and family oriented. We noticed lots of special characteristics of the home with the gas burning stove, non-perishable items for us to use and replenish, and reasonable price. We would highly recommend this home for anyone looking for a great place to stay that can be a home away from home.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Napa Ca USA
5

Beautiful and Cozy

  • 5 of 5

Can't tell you enough what a beautiful setting we were at. Went to the New England States to see the leaves changing and thought we did a lot of traveling around, we could have just stayed at the lake house the whole time.

We could not have had a better setting and the house was lovely . They also had games and etc. to keep anyone and everyone busy if they wanted. We acted like kids in the game room and totally enjoyed those amenities. The house was very comfortable and we felt very much at home.

The view outside was fabulous and the pictures we put on Facebook each day had all of our friends very jealous. We did not take advantage of the water equipment they offered. But they had a lot.

Although we had beautiful weather the whole time we were there, we did opt to just stay home one day to enjoy ourselves there.

We would go back in a heart beat.

Mary

  • Review Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary - thank you so much for your wonderful words about our lakehouse. We are so glad you enjoyed the house and had a great stay. And we appreciate you taking the time to share your feelings! Hope to see you at the lakehouse again some day!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Easter Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Lovely location, house well equipped - thought of everthing !

Even thou early in the year still managed to make use of the lake.

Ammenities nearby - shops, restaurants and bowling. Enjoyed The Castle Restaurant.

House was as listing described, clean and tidy

Owner met us at the house even thou we we're a couple of hours late !

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good about this house! My mom, my 2 boys, and I all came up for a week of visiting family. This house was absolutely perfect. It was homey, so cozy, clean, comfortable, and just excellent for our needs. The kitchen was full stocked, previous tenants had left TONS of non perishable items for us to use (so be sure to check the kitchen before you go shopping!), there was even a basket of toiletries and full sized shampoo, conditioner, etc. We left some of ours as well, so if you use the "Orange You Smart" children's shampoo, that was from us! :) The little fireplace in the living room is great, push a button and get warm in a hurry! The views were wonderful, the reservoir is just beautiful, and the kids loved the paddle boat. The game room was a LIFE SAVER, my kids spent HOURS in that room, and we left a bucket of toy soldiers for the next family to play with as well. Linda was awesome to deal with, great communication, she even met us at the house to show us around the day we got there. The house itself was relatively close to tons of places, we visited Maine, Sturbridge, CT, there are tons of nearby places for groceries, food, etc. And we even went Trick or Treating at The Commons! It was such a fun week for all of us, we were sad to leave! We're already talking about coming back next year, and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear you had a great stay at our lakehouse - sounds like you all had a fantastic vacation! I'm glad to hear the trick or treating went well :) We look forward to seeing you all again next year - thanks for being fantastic renters! -Linda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Longwood, Florida
4

A welcome respite in traveling!

  • 4 of 5

During our family's 7 week road trip up and down The East Coast, we were lucky to book this home for 3.5 weeks. We picked it for it's central location to New England and the beautiful lake view.

All communication with the owner was good. She was able to accommodate us for the dates we needed and accommodate a few of our other needs.

We were in text communication with the owner until we arrived and she toured us through the home. She explained the "interesting" water situation and care of the home. She also said she would pick up the trash later in the week.

We really loved the view of the lake, even though it was winter, it was lovely there. The game room was a hit with the kids in the family as they found countless games to play and I was able to shut the door for peace and quiet. I enjoyed curling up in the living room near the fire and big windows. The home had plenty of books to read.

The kitchen is fabulously stocked with everything I needed to cook. There was plenty of appliances, spices, and sundry items available. I did miss my dishwasher, but it was awesome in every other aspect.

The bathrooms were well stocked with towels and any toiletries you might have forgotten. It was a little cramped only having one shower in the home, but the additional half bath helped out (loved the heated floors in the half bath!).

The location was a bit far from a lot of places. Everywhere took over 20 minutes to get to, up to an hour. The Walmart and grocery store are nearby though.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I would love to be able to swim in that lake!!!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house. Good luck with the rest of your travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NEW HAVEN
5

amazing and family friendly house

  • 5 of 5

This house is amazing, quiet, with a nice backyard and all the equipment you will need ( except a dishwasher). The lake is really nice and you will have access to boat and a lot of games for outdoor and indoor.

REALLY FAMILY FRIENDLY, we went with babies and a 4 years old child, that was a paradise for them, and also for the adults with a nice game room, full of surprises.

  • Review Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the house and had a great stay. Thanks so much for such a wonderful review!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary

Other Activities: boating, downhill/alpine skiing, wildlife viewing, basketball court, kayaking, snowboarding, shopping, cross country skiing, snowmobiling

Ski: We are 30 Minutes from Wachusett Mountain

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Spencer, Massachusetts

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Fall 2017
5 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
4 night minimum stay
£920
for 4 nights
From
£200
£1,321
 
 
Winter 2017
1 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£660
for 3 nights
From
£180
£1,201
 
 
Christmas/New Years 2017
23 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,401
for 7 nights
£1,401
 
 
Winter 2018
7 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£660
for 3 nights
From
£180
£1,201
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£840
for 4 nights
From
£180
£1,201
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £113.58 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.7%

Holidays and vacation weeks are charged at a different rate and have a different minimum stay requirement - please call or email for details.
Summer weeks usually book at least a year in advance.
We will rent for two nights in the Winter season (non-holiday or vacation times only), but booking will be at the 3 night rate.
We require a separate $300 security/damage deposit via check, mailed to us at booking. This deposit is fully refundable within 2 weeks of departure as long as the house is in reasonably clean condition and nothing has been damaged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals