HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

FALL SPECIALS!!!! Dunes Hideaway is a perfect beach escape!

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Space 1,785 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom / 3.5 bath townhouse, SLEEPS 9

Our three bedroom townhome provides spacious living space and all the comforts of home for you and your guests. Each bedroom has its own private bath and private balcony, fresh linens, a TV and much more! The main level includes the family room, kitchen and dining area, and a TV, DVD player, and iPod / IPhone compatible stereo. Enjoy breakfasts, lunches, and dinners on the large covered deck which provides lovely palm-tree lined gulf views. When you are ready to go to the beach, just grab your gear and take a 30 second walk on the boardwalk over the dunes and you are on the beach! When you return from the beach, use the outside shower or separate hose to rinse off before heading in for a refreshing beverage. We provide high-speed wireless Internet service and local phone service.

Top Rated Beach and Nearby State Park: The beach on Cape San Blas was Voted #1 in the USA by Dr. Beach in 2002 due to it's pristine, white-sand beaches. The beaches are quiet, family and pet-friendly. The crystal clear waters and the low surf makes swimming very enjoyable - especially with small children.

The St. Joseph Peninsula State Park is just outside the Barrier Dunes complex, and features miles of white sugar sand perfect for sunbathing, snorkeling, and swimming. Canoeists, kayakers, birdwatchers and fishermen can spend hours or days enjoying the many adventures the beaches and the park have to offer.

A boat ramp is located at Eagle Harbor on the bay side where you can go fishing, kayaking, and scalloping!!

Resort-Like Amenities and More! : The Barrier Dunes community features two swimming pools (one beach-front), two lighted tennis courts, stocked freshwater fishing ponds, a children's play area, a boat cleaning station and boat parking area. The gated-community provides an added sense of safety and security for you and your family. Children can ride their bikes and use the boardwalks to get to the beach.

For the pet-lovers who choose to bring their pets, there are pet stations throughout the property to make it easy for you to pick up after your pet.

Please visit www.capebeachvacations.com for a complete list of all of our properties.

More Details

Property Manager
Debbe Wibberg
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 November, 2017

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Northwest Florida Beaches International Airport

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Port St. Joe in Gulf County

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1785 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Garden Tub
    Guest Bath 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Guest Bath 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Half Bath - Toilet
    Outdoor Shower - Outdoor Shower
  • Each bedroom has a private bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Suite - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Private balcony and inside sitting area with gulf views
    Guest Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Private balcony with great gulf views
    Guest Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Private balcony
  • Queen Sleeper Sofa in family room. Each bedroom has a private bath.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck Chairs
  • Terrace
  • Gated Community
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Sand Pit
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
An initial set of toilet paper, paper towels, tissues, dish washing detergent, and bath soap are provided. Each guest is responsible for ensuring they have adequate supplies of these items for the remainder of their stay. Also, because this is a vacation home for us, there are additional convenience items in the property for guests to use. However, we ask that these items not be removed from the property.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
FALL SPECIALS!!!! Dunes Hideaway is a perfect beach escape!
average rating of 4.375 based on 16 reviews
4

Nice place, few inconveniences

  • 4 of 5

It is a beautiful beach, and we had a great stay. The condo is in mostly good shape. However, the washing machine is full of sand and doesn't wash well, and the dryer vent to the outside must be completely clogged as the dryer barely dries and no air comes through the outside vent when the dryer is on. It was pretty inconvenient to stay with two kids and have no way to wash clothes.

The overall cleanliness was good, and we had most the supplies we needed, but there was no sponge or dishcloths we could find. The nearest grocery store is far, so again, not convenient to find out you have no sponge after you already went to the grocery store.

The complex says one of the pools is heated, either the heat was not turned on yet (early October) or it was inadequately heated.

We had a great relaxing stay though!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location! Needs some updates.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at Dunes Hideway! The unit was great for our family of five. The unit was clean and comfortable but it is in need of some maintenance and updating.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

it was a comfy and spacious condo

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and so did our pets. Not too far to the beach. I do have a few suggestions if the owner wants to email me.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

This was our 4th trip to Barrier Dunes and was by far the worst property we've stayed in

  • 2 of 5

This condo needs lots of repairs! Most doors did not shut or lock Washer has horrible odor and dryer takes 2 hours to dry a load. DVD player did not work. Outdated TV in living area had to be replaced with property managers personal tv because there was no cable in living room No vanity outlets worked Screen door hanging off. Mattresses were awful. Some lights didn't work. Only one key ( other key was broken so we locked ourselves out ) Final straw was no internet service! Property managers were awesome in helping make things better!!! Owners are being completely negligent with this unit!!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Monica & Chad, I do hope that you come back to Barrier Dunes in the future. We do understand the frustrations you had with the home and wish that we had known as they occurred instead of the last day of your rainy trip. I appreciate you saying nice things about us. We are only as good as the information we are given about any of our units. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. Stefanie B&D Beach Retreats
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Worn and dated but great location to both beach and pool

  • 4 of 5

Dunes Hideaway is a little worn and dated, however it served all of our needs for our wonderful week in Cape San Blas. The views of the ocean from the decks and balconies are just amazing. The unit is nestled between a very convenient walk to the beach and pool/tennis courts. The sliding glass doors are extremely hard to open, even for adults. The outdoor shower unit does not work properly, so rinsing off completely after a day at the beach is a little difficult. The management company was extremely easy and friendly to work with after being made aware of these issues.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tiffany, We appreciate all the feedback and enjoyed you and your family being here with us! We look forward to having you back on Cape San Blas soon! Stefanie B&D Beach Retreats 850.705.1677 636.387.3517 capebeachvacations.com
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Complex was fine and liked location to the beach, but unit leaves much to be desired.

  • 2 of 5

This unit is rough around the edges and very worn. Needs updating and better maintenance. The master bedroom has a floor air conditioning unit with a duct running out to the deck at the sliding glass door. We gently tried to draw the curtains at the sliding glass door and the drapery rod fell down. The sliding glass doors are extremely hard to open. There were light bulbs out that needed changing. The vacuum cleaner was left on the stairs and dirty sheets and towels were on a pile in one of the guest rooms upon our arrival. The towels that are supposed to be clean are stained and old. Overall cleanliness is very poor.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We wish you had a better experience with our unit. The conditions you described are not to the standard that we expect and we are surprised at what you've said. Unfortunately, since we weren't made of any issues while you were here, we didn't have the opportunity correct anything which is disappointing. We do hope that you come back and visit our beautiful area and again, thank you for the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday townhome in Port St. Joe, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter
1 Nov 2017 - 10 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£488
for 2 nights
From
£160
£1,283
£1,640
 
 
Spring
11 Mar 2018 - 12 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£564
for 2 nights
From
£198
£1,535
 
 
Summer
13 May 2018 - 11 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
£606
for 2 nights
From
£219
£1,682
 
 
Late Summer
12 Aug 2018 - 15 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
£538
for 2 nights
From
£185
£1,451
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £225.3
Pet Fee £75.1 + Tax
Cleaning Fee £150.2 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable