Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Casa Verde on Caracol - Spectacular View Terrace in Gto Centro

People9
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

Gorgeous Casa Verde on Caracol is a 3 bedroom, 2 bath view home with a 2 bedroom complete apartment right in the Historic City Center of beautiful Guanajuato. We are steps from picturesque Potrero and lovely Tecolote, and the Escuela Mexicana, an excellent Spanish Language school, with the Jardin Union, Teatro Juarez of this UNESCO World Heritage town just 5 minutes (really 5 minutes on foot BOTH ways) away. Combining beautiful views of El Centro with being directly in it provides our guests with an enchanting Guanajuato experience; we look forward to welcoming you to Casa Verde.

The house has a fabulous location, in the Centro but tucked up calle potrero for privacy and tranquility - this is not one of those listings that promises a 15 minute walk but that's only downhill one way. That said, this house like any house in GTO is not accessible by car, it is NOT recommended for people with difficulty walking as there are thirty steps to the front door from the "flats" of potrero and the Centro. We are within 10 minutes walk of 3 theaters, countless restaurants and bars, 6 ancient churches, hundreds of shops, 2 large outdoor markets and all of the vital, glorious street life and history that makes Guanajuato so special. Our terrace is not a speck on the roof, it is a large 500 square foot outdoor living and entertainment space with stunning views and a full bathroom and a built-in grill. It adjoins a huge living room with two walls of arched windows, a large comfortable sitting area with couches, a card/game table, and wireless internet. This room also works great as an office.

Downstairs, on the Main Home middle floor, is a lovely modern kitchen with everything a cook will need, a large dining room and a sweet sitting nook with a beautiful view overlooking the San Francisco Church. There is a full bath and three large bedrooms: one with a queen, one with a double, and one with two twin beds. Each room has built-in closets and dressers, as well as suitcase storage. With high quality mattresses and down comforters we assure your cozy slumber, even on our cool mountain nights.

On the first floor is a complete apartment with a spacious living room with work station, a long gallery style balcony, a large full bath, and two more bedrooms - one with a twin, and one with a double bed. The same luxurious bedding awaits. There is a nice kitchen with a breakfast nook. The house can be rented as two units: a 2 bedroom apartment on one floor, and a two story, three bedroom home above. Of course, it is also available as a 5 bedroom house. Please inquire by e-mail about rates for different configurations. Perfect for families, friends & small groups.

All of the bathrooms and plumbing have been re-built, and the rental includes maid service once a week, all utilities, gas, as well as greeting/concierge service and professional property management. Parking is available nearby, daily or monthly. The house is approachable by car (200 yards away), but not accessible by car. Parking is an additional expense, available in nearby parking garages.

We love the warmth and beauty of Guanajuato, and its people. The geography, history, rich culture and inhabitants, combine to create one of the world's truly special cities. Obviously, we love Guanajuato! We hope you will too. Casa Verde is a wonderful home-base from which to explore this city of endless treasures. If you’ve been, you know it is not possible to exagerate Guanajuato's unique charms; if you haven’t been yet, you will not regret getting to know this vibrant, fascinating and relaxing city.

Rates reflect the fact that this house offers the best combination of quality and location offered in GTO for vacation rentals. Many listings exaggerate their proximity to the centro because almost any house is a 15-20 minute downhill plunge to the bottom. home is another matter. We hear again and again that casa verde has the best location of any short term rental in the city. The apt rents for $300 USD for one week and $750 for a month. The House rents for $700 USD for one week and $1750 for a month. Both units together rent for $1000 for one week and $2500 for a month. Two week discounts are also available upon request. During Cervintino Festival, Day of the Dead, Navidad, Ano Nuevo and Semana Santa rates are increased by 20%. Standard cleaning is provided weekly (floors, linens changed, bathroom). Additional cleaning is available for an additional charge. Maintenance is provided by contacting local property managers.

This Property is Accessible Only on Foot, as is Much of the City. Views Are Stunning, But This is Not Recommended for Those with Difficulty Walking. Unlike Many Listings that Say They Are in the Centro, This House Really is, But You Cannot Drive to the Door. Property Can Be Divided Into Home and Apartment. Smoking on Terraza and Balcony Only Please.

We look forward to welcoming you to spectacular Casa & Apartment Verde on Caracol! Kevin & Alex

Keywords: House, Apartment, Casa

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
7 August, 2018

Why The Owner chose Zona Centro

We simply fell in love with the city and the pace of life in this culture.

What makes this house unique

location and quality. We love the pedestrian lifestyle in the city, as well as the great views due to the incredible architecture and the steep terrain.

Views and beauty. Casa Verde on Caracol has a wonderful roof-top view terrace looking out over the city center, and we are a short walk down Potrero, the Escuela Mexicana callejon, into the city center. Fabulous access and views are highlights here.

near the party, but separate from the party. We also love the festive atmosphere but are happy to leave it behind for the tranquility of casa caracol. This is not always possible with hotels or apartments on the main streets. We also have a fabulous entertainment room with a full bathroom on the terrace. The home itself also captures gorgeous views of the San Francisco Church and Central Guanajuato.

pedestrian lifestyle. Guanajuato is at high altitude and is full of irregular steps and stairs, if you have difficulty walking you will be limited here! The upside is that after a week walking at this altitude you will feel fit and likely shed a few lbs!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Zona Centro in Guanajuato

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • tennis
Notes:
This Property is Accessible Only on Foot, as is Much of the City. Views Are Stunning, But This is Not Recommended for Those with Difficulty Walking. Unlike Many Listings that Say They Are in the Centro, This House Really is, But You Cannot Drive to the Door. Property Can Be Divided Into Home and Apartment. Smoking on Terraza and Balcony Only Please. If you are interested in having laundry facilities for an additional cost, please inquire. There is, however, a wash sink and a laundry line for hand washing.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Casa Verde on Caracol - Spectacular View Terrace in Gto Centro
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed in this house twice over the years, and we really love it. The location is absolutely perfect, offering a short walk to most of Guanajuato's main attractions, shops, and restaurants.

The house sleeps plenty of people, which allows us to get together with my wife's family in a comfortable setting where we can all spend time together without feeling cramped. Having the kitchen(s) with all of the necessary utensils, cookware, etc. is fantastic. While we love enjoying the local restaurants, being able to prepare breakfast or make a sandwich is indispensable.

The terrace is my favorite part of the house. It has excellent views, and the room up there is a great place for everyone to get together to play cards, board games, charades, or any of the other things the TV might distract us from in real life.

The owners are very responsive to questions and any issues that might arise. When we first arrived, we found that the flapper in one of the toilets wasn't making a good seal, which meant the water was constantly running. I resigned myself to having to shut off the water to the toilet each time it wasn't in use to be a good citizen, but I mentioned it in a message to the owner so it wouldn't go unnoticed. The very next morning, a maintenance person showed up to fix it, along with the maid to make sure things were tidied up.

This is not related to the house, but I feel like sometimes it's hard to track down this kind of logistical information, so I'm just going to put it here for anyone interested.

We traveled to Guanajuato from Mexico City, leaving from the "Terminal Central de Autobuses del Norte", which cost about $25/person one-way (ETN) . Getting to the house from the bus station is fast and easy, costing about $4-$5 in Uber or taxi. There is currently no UberXL, so with four people and three suitcases, I had to travel with the smallest bag in my lap. We took several taxis around town, and it was always 50 to 75 pesos per trip, including when we went a bit further out (Bocamina San Ramon). We took a few buses as well when it seemed more convenient. The bus was six or seven pesos/person, but a taxi driver told me it was going up to eight soon.

When we left, we took an Uber to the Del Bajio airport (Leon-Silao), which took about 30 minutes and cost about 300 pesos including a 30 peso toll. It was our first time through this airport, as we normally travel through Mexico City. It was small but super convenient and easy to get through.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, California
5

Beautiful and spacious in the centro!

  • 5 of 5

Pros:

Steps from the city center; no long walk or miles of stairs

Fantastic terrace with gorgeous views

Plenty of room to entertain

Views from the living room are almost as great as the terrace

Amazing terrace “casita” with full bath that with a mini kitchen could be a stand-alone apartment-great for sharing

Updated everything without losing the character of the area

Location!

Across the alley from Escuela Mexicana

Cons? Hard to think of any!

We’ll be back next year and probably take the house AND apartment so all our friends and family can visit.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, California
5

Beautiful house in the perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

This house is literally 2 minutes from the main plaza and is in the center of the historic district. Although the steps leading up to the door are a little difficult they are nothing compared to other houses we've rented in GTO. The caretakers are the owners of the restaurant at the entrance to the alley and are very helpful! The house has an enormous sunny terrace and is great for entertaining. The beds are the most comfortable we've found in Mexico. We love Casa Verde!!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Brookline, MA USA
5

Beautiful house and apartment in central location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this house and apartment for a week in February 2017 - our second time there. The house is very comfortable, with an AMAZING patio for outdoor grilling and a pleasant study/game room on the second floor. It is extremely central, yet relatively quiet for a place in the center because of its height and orientation. Sandra and Bere, the caretakers, were friendly, responsive, and welcoming. I recommend it highly!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Guanajuato, Guanajuato, México
1

Stole our money!

  • 1 of 5

This review is a year late. I've finally gotten over what transpired, but would like other renters to take heed. Thought it would be a good rental, whilst we looked for a permanent home. Upon seeing the property, I realized that it was not conducive for my 80 year old mother. I arrived a couple of days before the family to situate us on our move. The stairs are quite steep. I immediately informed management/owners of my dilemma. They were of no help and basically stated there was nothing they could do. We had rented the place for 2 months. They offered no help, no refund, no nothing.... Take heed! They'll steal your money!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Mar-2015
  • Date of Stay: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review and its title are misleading and unfair. From the listing on VRBO: "This Property is Accessible Only on Foot, as is Much of the City. Views Are Stunning, But This is Not Recommended for Those with Difficulty Walking. Unlike Many Listings that Say They Are in the Centro, This House Really is, But You Cannot Drive to the Door. " Also our rental contact clearly states that we cannot give a refund once the booking begins (for obvious reasons). in event of cancellation we re list the property and apply any income towards a refund. This is all clearly stated in the contract. Basically, she is blaming us for her mistakes. Also I think VRBO should not permit the dishonest headline to her review to stand. Oh well....have a lovely day everyone!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
4

Comfortable Home

  • 4 of 5

Case Verde is a comfortable vacation option for 6 people with the biggest plus being the proximity to the center of the action of the Jardin, theaters and plazas with their many shopping and restaurants options. Having a BBQ grill up on the terrace was awesome along with the City views, -but please be aware of the steep and difficult climb to the main entrance -steps are very uneven and of different heights-. For our family to have a TV in the entertainment room would have made it a perfect vacation home -the world series was on when we were there and many of the sports bars in the area were filled with cigarette smoke- as well as small touches such as comfortable towels, a new shower liner and enough usable pots and pans to cook. Yes, James, the property manager, was very helpful in getting us a non-stick egg pan, usable cooking pans and enough glasses/cups for 6 people; he also quickly replaced the gas tank when on our third day the gas was running low so thanks to him the rest of our stay was more comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Nov-2014
  • Date of Stay: October 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Point of Interest
Jardin de la Union
Nearest Point of Interest
Teatro Juarez
Nearest Point of Interest
Teatro Principal
Nearest Point of Interest
Museo Iconografico del Quijote
Nearest Point of Interest
University of Guananjuato
Nearest Point of Interest
Cathedral
Nearest Point of Interest
Pipila monument
Nearest Point of Interest
CASA VERDE on CARACOL

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Zona Centro, Guanajuato State

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Cerventino Festival
10 Oct 2018 - 28 Oct 2018
4 night minimum stay
£549
for 4 nights
From
£137
£941
£3,530
 
 
Day of the Dead
31 Oct 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£412
for 3 nights
From
£137
£941
 
 
Navidad Ano Nuevo
18 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
£549
for 4 nights
From
£137
£941
 
 
Semana Santa
14 Apr 2019 - 20 Apr 2019
4 night minimum stay
£549
for 4 nights
From
£137
£941
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£549
for 4 nights
From
£137
£784
£1,961
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £7.84
Refundable Damage Deposit £274.54

***Please contact us directly about dates of availability - as there are two units the calendar can be misleading as to what is available and what is not.

Year Round - Two Week Minimum
RATES:

Whole Property: 5 Bedroom 3 Bathroom 1,000/week, 1,600/2 weeks, 2,500/month.
3 Bedroom 2 Bathroom 2 story house 700/1 week, 1,100/2 Weeks 1,750/month.
2 Bedroom 1 Bathroom Apartment 300/1 week, 500/2 weeks 750/month
$350 refundable security deposit required

Please email to get our best available prices

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals