HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Luxury Lodge on the Blue River *Free Nights/We Buy Lift Tickets *

People14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
14
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
5
Minimum Stay
3 - 6 nights

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, Bunk House, Game Room

***Free Lift Tickets This Winter***Inquire For Details***

Luxury Lodge Tucked Between Blue River & Mountain Views – A Haven for Families

Once our family decided to buy in Breckenridge, we hit the ground running. We searched for two years to find the perfect year-round lodge close to town but immersed in nature.

A couple of places came close; most just didn’t have everything we were looking for.

Eventually, after a heated family debate, we decided our best option was not to buy our dream lodge after all, but build it.

And so Cold Water Creek Lodge was born – a 5-bedroom family-friendly lodge just 5 miles from Breckenridge.

Building our ideal place gave us (and our guests!) two BIG benefits.

THE BEST PIECE OF LAND IN BRECKENRIDGE

Cold Water Creek Lodge sits on 13 acres of riverfront property caught between stunning views of the Quandary Peak out the front door, and Red Mountain and the Blue River out the back door. Wildlife sightings – elk, beaver, moose, deer – are common. You’ll forget you’re only 5 miles from town.

Here, you can fall asleep to the rush of water over rocks, and wake to morning coffee with a view of the mountain and deer grazing along the riverbank.

You can step out the back door and be ten feet from fly fishing in the river’s cold and pristine waters. Out front door, and you’re in prime hiking territory with Summit County’s best trail – the McCullough Gulch Trail – winding through the property.

We installed two hot-tub and fire-pit areas (in both the front and back of the lodge) for your family’s own private après-ski and full enjoyment of the magnificent scenery through all four seasons.

In winter, seven world-class resorts are within an hour drive. Even better, WE PROVIDE TWO LIFT TICKETS A DAY as part of your stay. (Inquire for more info.)

Warm your ski boots in our boot warmer for toasty toes.

And after you return from the slopes, defrost in the 8-person hot tub with views of snow-capped Quandary Peak. Or duck inside and enjoy the heat from the floor-to-ceiling fireplace in the Great Room.

In fall, the whole scene bursts into yellow as the aspens play out their autumn drama. Light a crackling fire at the fire-pit, gather around the Adirondack chairs and enjoy the crisp Colorado air.

In spring and summer, the mountains present endless activities and deep green vistas.

A FAMILY-FRIENDLY PLACE

Building also meant we could design the house, from the ground up, to be ideal for families. We love hosting multigenerational family reunions or multiple families traveling together.

Kids and dogs find plenty of space to run around, and the private and paved road with few cars keeps them safe (and also means quick, traffic-free trips into town.)

We provide pack-n-play and a high chair, too.

We even gave kids their own section of the house, called the Bunkhouse, with a gameroom where they can decamp together for video games on the LCD flatscreen with Nintendo Wii, movies on Netflix, or a game of air hockey. Add a few mugs of hot chocolate and you’ll have some happy kids.

The attached bunkroom with three bunk beds provide a summer camp setting for telling stories by flashlight past bedtime. They get their own attached bathroom, too, and in the gameroom, there’s also a couch that folds out into a queen bed.

The living areas are open to each other, and cozy for conversation, shared meals, and poker in the adult cardroom. The windows in the Great Room overlook a spectacular view of Quandary Peak.

The kitchen has high-end GE Monogram appliances (including 2 dishwashers!), granite countertops, and heated floors made from reclaimed pine found right here in Summit County. Flip some pancakes and serve them at the granite breakfast bar!

EVERYONE GETS A GREAT BEDROOM

No need to rush to claim the best bedrooms when you arrive. We made them all pretty great. All have their own private, attached bathroom. If you’ve traveled as a group before, you know how essential that is!

We also provide cozy comforters and butter soft sheets and flatscreen TVs in every single room.

BOOK TODAY

We’d love to help make your Breckenridge getaway wonderful, so let us know what we can do.

There is no slow season at Cold Water Creek, thanks to our year-round amenities and activities. We encourage you to book today, using the yellow “Book It” button to the right. Thanks!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Mark Ronchetti
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 February, 2017

Why Mark Ronchetti chose Breckenridge Area

After looking all over Summit County and finding some great locations we settled on the McCullough Gulch Reserve to build our Colorado vacation home. The Blue River is literally ten feet behind the house. The best hikes in Summit county border the property. With 13 acres you can stretch out and get away from it all with Breck just a few miles down the road. As great as many areas around Breck are you will not beat this location or this house. The views are classic stunning Colorado with all the conveniences of being right next to one of the best ski towns in North America.

What makes this house unique

The Cold Water Creek Lodge sits on 13 acres of Blue River frontage just south of Breckenridge. You can be skiing Breckenridge within 5 minutes of leaving the Lodge. Don't want to drive? No problem we are on the bus route right to the ski area. Out the front door of the Lodge you can hike the most stunning trail in Summit County, the McCullough Gulch Trail. This hike features breathtaking waterfalls and high mountain lakes. Out the back door of the Lodge you can fish the Blue River. You will have two miles of river all to yourself.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Blue River in Summit County Colorado

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 6 Bunk Bed
    Den - 2 Sofa bed/Futon
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) There is a pack and play that can be used for a child up to 2 years old. , Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) One fold out in the adult card room and another in kids bunkhouse game room. , Bunk Beds (3) 3 sets of bunk beds located in bunkhouse
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor gas fire pit overlooking Summit Couty's highest peak, seperate kids bunkhouse which includes gameroom/bathroom/bunkroom, adult card room, heated garage, 7 HD TV's and all bedrooms have their own bathrooms.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(57 traveller reviews)

Luxury Lodge on the Blue River *Free Nights/We Buy Lift Tickets *
average rating of 4.9649124 based on 57 reviews
5

Perfect Home!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time staying in this beautiful home! it feels like home as soon as you pull in the driveway! It has everything you plus so much more! We were able to bring both of our dogs with us also! Gorgeous views from every window in the house and it's only a short drive to Breckenridge. We can't wait to come back next year! We highly recommend staying here!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful House and Setting

  • 5 of 5

The setting next to the Blue River with a full view of Quandary and Red Mountains was spectacular! This house was great and fully furnished with everything we needed! The kitchen was spacious and well equipped including a BBQ outside to accommodate a large group. Having access to two hot tubs was a pleasant surprise! The bunk room area away from the adult area allowed the kids to enjoy themselves with their own TV, video games and air hockey without disturbing the adults. We had easy access to the ski mountains, roads were well maintained with bus service nearby. Being able to snowshoe in the Natural Forest across the road from the house was great and convenient. All in all, we had a great time and a fantastic vacation. Looking forward to doing this again!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay in a beautiful house!

  • 5 of 5

I did a lot of research on which property we wanted for an extended family winter vacation in Breckenridge, we were all very excited about this house. Mark made all of the arrangements very easy and quickly helped with any questions I had. When we got to the house, we found all of the bedrooms and their attached baths to be very nice. The kids absolutely LOVED their bunk/game room and spent a lot of time up there - it was great, they could play their music and we never heard a thing! Kitchen was well stocked except for only having one flipping spatula :) The stove and appliances were all top notch. We ran into a few minor issues and Mark was very responsive, we appreciated the communication and attention to making sure we were happy with resolution. We had moose pass right by the house twice, incredibly exciting!! Wildlife tracks in the snow show you all the activity going on all around. One thing that did detract (but definitely not a deal-breaker) was that the wifi was slow. It's located in the garage and I think if the router was placed more centrally in the house. Overall, a fabulous house and we would absolutely visit again. thanks Ronchettis for the great hospitality!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Quick Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This home is one of the finest we've ever rented. First off it is set in a stunning location just south of Breckenridge. It has everything we needed for our stay including a ski boot warmer, two hot tubs and of course the ski passes. The house was spotless and obviously well cared for. The kitchen had everything we needed including two dishwashers and two ovens. The kids loved the bunk house and game room. The adults loved their own hot tub. Anyone renting should know that Breckenridge is pretty high up so sleeping the first few nights can be tricky if you are coming like we did from sea level. Mark (the owner I think) was quick to answer our questions and was great to talk to for suggestions on activities around town. Overall, I highly recommend staying at the lodge.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice home but missed the mark on a few small details

  • 3 of 5

We thought the home was very beautiful, great location and lots of space. The only disappointment we had were the beds. For starters when we arrived the sheets on the beds were not clean, which was very disappointing considering how much we paid per night for this home I would expect to arrive to clean sheets. We had to wash them all the first day. Secondly the beds themselves were very uncomfortable. Most the people in my party did not sleep well because the beds were like sleeping on plywood. It's too bad because the home itself is gorgeous!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so disappointed to read this review. We didn't know about these issues during the stay. We would have loved the opportunity to make this stay perfect. In fact, I provide my personal cell phone number to all guests to make communication easier. Unfortunately in this case we weren't given the chance to immediately address any issues. We have never had this complaint before but that having been said there is no excuse for beds that are not clean. That issue has been addressed with our cleaning crew. While we are disheartened by this review we are confident the other 50+ reviews portray a great picture of what the lodge has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arvada, Colorado
5

Family Christmas 2016

  • 5 of 5

This lodge was exactly what we were looking for to spend our family Christmas together. We had 3 families that came together for the holiday, 13 people and a couple black labs. It was perfect! It was in the perfect location - accessible but still private. All the amenities were included which was really nice. We brought a lot of stuff, because we really didn't know what would be there but they really had provided it all. The kitchen was amazing but could use a bigger, or maybe a second coffee maker. With 13 people we were making lots of pots of coffee in the morning! We put the poker table to good use as we are a card playing family. Having access to 2 ski passes was such a treat. It allowed those who don't get the opportunity to ski much a chance to give it a try again without spending a fortune - very thoughtful and generous addition. Mark was incredibly great to deal with - very prompt to respond to any inquiry we had. We really had a wonderful time and would definitely come here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Blue River, Breckenridge Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter 2017
2 Jan 2017 - 1 Apr 2017
5 night minimum stay
£3,042
for 5 nights
From
£537
£3,578
 
 
Spring 2017
2 Apr 2017 - 27 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,633
for 3 nights
From
£425
£2,908
 
 
Summer 2017
28 May 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
£3,154
for 5 nights
From
£559
£3,712
 
 
Fall Colors 2017
3 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,237
for 4 nights
From
£469
 
 
Fall 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 18 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,633
for 3 nights
From
£425
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
19 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,863
for 4 nights
From
£626
 
 
Winter Value (2017)
27 Nov 2017 - 16 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,701
for 3 nights
From
£447
£3,042
 
 
Christmas/New Years (2017)
17 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£6,171
for 5 nights
From
£1,162
£7,334
 
 
Winter (2018)
2 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
4 night minimum stay
£2,505
for 4 nights
From
£537
£3,578
 
 
Spring (2018)
1 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£2,058
for 4 nights
From
£425
£2,908
 
 
Summer (2018)
29 May 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
6 night minimum stay
£3,766
for 6 nights
From
£568
£3,766
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£2,930
for 5 nights
From
£514
£3,489
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £12
Property Damage Protection £79
Cleaning Fee £280
Tax Rate 11.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties