HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Stunning views of the River Tweed & Harbour this Gold 4* apartment Free WiFi

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Tweedmouth - Mill Wharf

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Our flat overlooks the thriving small harbor of Tweedmouth, just across the estuary of the river Tweed from Berwick whose Elizabethan city walls still fringe the river. The ancient pack-horse bridge still links Tweedmouth with the bigger town, while the twentieth century road bridge and the 150 year old railway bridge also cross this river which, for centuries, was the border between England and Scotland. Mill Wharf is a brilliant conversion of a granary into contemporary living spaces, each with its own covered, off-street, parking. Access is by electronically controlled gates from tiny Mill Strand and then a lift takes you to the flat's private entrance. Inside, a solid French oak floor is complemented by discreet lighting, high quality rugs, leather furniture and full heating. Whatever the weather, and this is a sunny part of Britain, the view has the 'wow' factor. One of Europe's largest flocks of swans lives below and seals, dolphins and salmon (if you're lucky) can be seen as well as many other varieties of birds.

Free WiFi for our guests. DAB radio and ipod docking station and Blu-ray DVD and two flat screen TVs are provided for our guests

The shower room has a marble basin and walk-in shower with a great ceiling-mounted radio - don't hurry in the shower. The kitchen is fully equipped for two people with hob and full oven, microwave,washing machine tumble dryer and a fridge with freezer compartment of course

We provide all our guests with a special 'welcome' basket. The Borders area is probably the best part of Britain for food so we are happy to let you have some of our friends' produce. You'll find some traditionally made biscuits, local honey, fruit juice from a nearby farm, locally made chocolate, eggs from a local farm as well as a supply of tea, coffee and milk, and homemade jam (usually made from our own fruit). 8 Mill Wharf has received a 'Gold' award for quality from 'Visit Britain' when inspected every year for the past three years - we think you'll agree!

If you arrive at Berwick-upon-Tweed by train, we will meet you at the station and we will arrange a self-drive car hire for you on request. We can also organise fishing on the river and golf - there are nearby courses for players with a small 'p' and a capital 'P'!

Keywords: Historic, luxury, waterside

More Details
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Christine Ward
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 November, 2016

About Christine Ward

Christine and John Ward have been involved in tourism in the borders area between England and Scotland for twentyfive years. Latterly they owned pubs in the Scottish Borders and the centre of Edinburgh where their pub was champion pub of Scotland and famous both for its beer and its food ('The Halfway House'). Retiring in 2009, they decided to use their love of the romantic and beautiful scenery of the borders region as the basis for a new venture, for them, in tourism, owning properties for rental to couples like themselves.

They have bought several properties, traditional cottages and modern conversions and equipped them, using Christine's flair for interior furnishing, to a high standard and take real pleasure in welcoming new visitors to this wonderful area. They try to greet every couple personally as well as using their personal knowledge of local food producers to get the unique 'welcome' baskets together to make every couple's visit a holiday to remember.

Christine and John have two grown-up children, two grandchildren, a dog and two cats!

Christine Ward purchased this apartment in 2009

Why Christine Ward chose Northumberland

The apartment just has that something special. You look out over the estuary and the harbor and, whatever is happening, by day or by night, there is constant variety, constant beauty and peace. Outside, you can walk along the great coast or beside the beautiful river or take in the views that inspired L.S. Lowry to do great paintings!

What makes this apartment unique

All the luxuries of twentyfirst century living in a historic building with a spectacular view!

Great for the traveller who wants to travel by train or bus as there is an excellent network of bus routes and rail links. Cycle hire available locally

Guestbook comments from the owner

We booked the flat for our wedding and honeymoon. It was just perfect. The sun shone and my special day went according to plan. The view through the window was even better than the photo and the flat really comfortable. Thanks for making my wedding really memorable. Kathy
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

Stunning views of the River Tweed & Harbour this Gold 4* apartment Free WiFi
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
5

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

The description was 100% accurate

The property was very clean and well-maintained

Excellent personnel service from owners

Would definitely recommend this property

We liked everything (the weather was very good!) the views across the harbour to Berwick and its walls was magical in the evening sun.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. John and I try to make everything good as we possibly can. I am glad that our order for good weather was observed. Please do come again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO
5

Our Week at Mill Wharf

  • 5 of 5

We had an absolutely delightful week at the Mill Wharf apartment. It was accurately described -- very comfortable, clean and modern, well supplied and the location is great if you have a rental car so that you can explore the Tweed Valley and rugged North Sea coast. John and Christine were marvelous and very helpful hosts both prior to our arrival and while we were in Berwick. We highly recommend this property!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lindy and Joe were terrific guests and we're really pleased they enjoyed their stay so much. We're going to get "wi-fi" into the apartment very soon, because of the suggestion they made to us. We're delighted to have so many overseas visitors to this part of Britain this year, like Lindy and Joe - this area, as they say, is truly beautiful.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Barrie Ontario Canada
5

Sheila

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in Berwick. The apartment is lovely, with a wonderful view of the harbour and the swans. We went touring to Kelso (cashmere), Hadrian's Wall (1 1/2 hours), Edinburgh by train (40 minutes), Peebles, Paxton House (Chippendale galore), Eyemouth (gorgeous), general touring. Being Canadians we didn't realize every plug is switched, plus the top of the stove switch, plus another for the oven. Once we figured that out we could cook! The Welcome Basket was a generous touch. Thanks for a super stay.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for your review. I am sure that guests coming many thousands of miles appreciate an unbiased comment and value tha suggestions for places to visit. You certainly gave the impression of having a good vacation and loving the Borders region of Scotland/England. I hope we may meet one day. Keep well. Thanks again Christine and John
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Papillion, Nebraska, USA
5

Location. Location. Location. The realtor's mantra fits this VRBO.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed in this wonderful little "flat" for two weeks while exploring Berwick and surrounding environs. We can't express enough positive comments regarding this adventure. The location of Berwick-upon-Tweed itself deserves mention since one can easily drive on day trips to many nearby sites and cities, including Edinburgh and Glasgow, though we didn't make it to the latter. Great area for seeing castles, and beaches, and getting acquainted with "The Borders", an incredibly beautiful region of the U.K. The location of the flat in relation to Berwick, just a short walk across the scenic "Old Bridge" takes one to the city center with its many shops and restaurants. Be sure to try "Thistle Do Nicely" for lunch. We ate most of our meals in the flat, having purchased great fresh local vegies and meats. The modern Co-op grocery store is located a short walk away and we were able to stock our liquor and staples from there. Huge array of some of the most wonderful bottled beers you can imagine. If you're a beer drinker, try Innis-Gunn. Wow! Berwick is also nicely located as a launching spot for checking out the northern Scotland Highlands. Did I mention location?

A few words about the landlord/lady. We've rented well over 20 VRBOs in the last ten years, lost count actually. This couple is a jewel. They provided us with many insights, and historical and geographical information which we would have no doubt missed. They steered us to superb pubs, and excellent eateries. We were even honored to be their guests, in their home, where we received a "whiskey tutorial". No other VRBO rental has come remotely close to offering the assistance and caring these two did.

Incidentally, their website information accurately represents the flat. It was very clean and well-maintained. We would recommend this property unreservedly to anyone.

Be sure to walk a half mile to the dirt motorcycle track which offers races weekly. There is no shortage of things to do.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2010
  • Date of Stay: May 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's been great to have people stay like our VRBO visitors, some of whom have been visiting Britain for the first time. We love to have the chance to meet people and talk with them, tell them about this fantastic area we live in (hope we don't bore them) and, if we can, assist them in getting the best out of their stay. What makes it even better is that, even though we've only been doing this for a year, some of our guests are coming back for a second or third visit so, hopefully, we're getting things right!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Location

Nearest Point of Interest
OLD BRIDGE
Nearest Point of Interest
RAILWAY STATION
Nearest Point of Interest
MALTINGS THEATRE
Nearest Point of Interest
TOURIST INFORMATION CENTRE
Nearest Point of Interest
NORTHUMBERLAND COASTAL PATH TO HOLY ISLAND

Northumberland Coastal Path passes the door continuing south to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. River walks inland from close by

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Tweedmouth, Northumberland Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
December Getaway
25 Nov 2016 - 18 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
£395
 
 
Festive
19 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£246
for 3 nights
From
£82
£430
 
 
Snowdrop time
6 Jan 2017 - 2 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
£395
 
 
Spring
3 Mar 2017 - 27 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£252
for 3 nights
From
£84
£415
 
 
late Spring
28 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£435
 
 
Early Summer
26 May 2017 - 6 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
£445
 
 
High
7 Jul 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£460
for 7 nights
£460
 
 
Autumn
25 Aug 2017 - 28 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£261
for 3 nights
From
£87
£445
 
 
Late Autumn
29 Sep 2017 - 2 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£430
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£440
 

Additional pricing information

Our 3 day short breaks begin on Fridays and our four day short break begin Mondays. Weekly bookings can begin on either day

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Tweedmouth in North East England

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Lift
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
In a converted historic granary with fabulous views across the harbor to the Elizabethan walls of the 'city' of Berwick, just over the ancient bridge, Mill Wharf has great facilities with flat-screen TV's in lounge and bedroom, blu-ray DVD and great cooking equipment in the kitchen. A walk-in shower with a marble basin completes the apartment which is reached by lift and beautifully warm year round with wonderful views out to sea. Some of our visitors just sit on the leather couches watching the swans and the Sun rise!

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot