Downtown Studio Apartment, 1 bath, sleeps 2
Walk Away Stays
About Walk Away Stays
Kevin J. High has lived in Charleston, SC since 2004. He is a world traveler and an avid sailor, diver and pilot. After sailing around the world with his family, Kevin chose Charleston to be his permanent home. Kevin made his love of travel easier by learning to pilot his own plane. Now, quick family excursions are a regular outing in his household. SC. We specialize in fully furnished executive short and long term rentals. We also provide excellent concierge services to all of our confirmed guests from grocery shopping to baby equipment rentals and tour tickets.
Walk Away Stays purchased this Studio in 2006
Why Walk Away Stays chose Downtown Charleston
Charleston is one of the most amazing cities on the east coast. The history, restaurants and the people made me never want to leave.
What makes this Studio unique
There are dozens of restaurants within 2 blocks of this property and its located just a short walk to upper King Street. Walk Away Stays provides additional concierge services for your stay in Charleston at walkawaystays.com. Starting ten years ago with just one property, Walk Away Stays is now the premier property management group offering luxury vacation rentals in downtown Charleston, SC. As a full service company, we offer the best of everything you need for your stay in Charleston. Enjoy resort-level amenities from concierge services and 24/7/365 agent availability to Wi-Fi, high quality linens, hotel style toiletries and more—all within the exclusivity of a private vacation property. We specialize in fully furnished rentals in Charleston, SC with long and short-term options for vacationers, executives, wedding parties and family reunions. Our portfolio includes incredible historic homes, Charleston “single” houses, luxury waterfront homes, condominiums, apartments, boutique hotels, carriage houses and more—with convenient locations all over the city. Feel relaxed and right at home in one of our unique, pristine downtown Charleston vacation rentals.
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Great for a weekend getaway.
The unit was clean and perfect for me, my husband and our dog for a long weekend. Easy walk to King street, but lots right around the unit as well. We found parking on the street was the easiest since it is a single lane driveway that other guests use.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at our 227D property. It's a cute carriage house & the perfect place for a weekend getaway. You are within walking distance to numerous great restaurants, bars & must see sights. We look forward to hosting ya'll on your next visit to Charleston!
Small place in great location
Place was small but has everything you
Need for a nights stay or for the week. Surrounding neighborhood was great and Kevin & his team was great about my dogs staying with me.
The only negative things I can say was that the outside setting was nice, the mosquitos where BRUTAL. I live in Savannah and it’s not even a problem but there’s a non functioning fountain in the sitting area I’m convinced is a breeding ground, it was nightmare. OFF and citronella candles didn’t stand a chance.
The other negative was the parking situation. The week I was there I had to Uber to my job because I was blocked in. The first time I mentioned it they informed the people staying in the main house it was an issue
And that it wouldn’t be a problem the rest of my stay.
Then the next round of weekend renters came and the problem happened again. In
A nutshell, the main house get priority parking and I was advised to take my car to a parking garage and pay for that. These people where there only one night and I was on
My 5th and I was suggested to move my car.
Overall I enjoyed the location and the rental itself but if you’re not paying for the main house, you’re not the priority, and unless it’s dead of winter the mosquitoes are killer.
We hope you had a pleasant time in Charleston, SC and did not have to work too hard while staying with us! We do try to explain in our listings that parking is stacked and the chance to get blocked in is high, during the week we did ask the other guest to park in an empty unit across the street as we do our best to accommodate our guests needs. When dealing with multiple bookings we can not guarantee the parking spaces and hope between varying schedules will allow for cars to come and go.
All of our guests are a priority during their stays, parking is simply luck in a narrow driveway. We appreciate your feedback about the bugs and will look into have it serviced. Once again, thank you for visiting Charleston!
The garage apartment was clean, neat and well-equipped for our stay. We had a perfect weekend! Would definitely stay again. We walked and rode our bikes everywhere. We felt welcomed and loved our visit!
Thank you for the review and I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Let us know next time you visit Charleston, we would love to host your stay again!
Great place to lay your head after being out all day, but studio needs to touched up a bit.
Although we suspected parking would be an issue, we ended up putting our rental in a Garage 15 mins away on St Philip St. so we wouldn't have to jockey cars with other guests or worry about being summonsed on the street. We are city people, so we understand...but clearer options would have helped us out a little more. Great location - quiet & secluded. The studio was great and well air conditioned...shower needs a bit of an update as does the cable reception. All in all, good location to stay for a quick visit.
Hey John, Thank you so much for choosing Walk Away Stays and I hope you enjoyed your time in Charleston. I apologize that you feel you didn't get good instruction on where to park. We would have been happy to direct you to a parking garage, so sorry about that! I will speak with the owner about updating the shower (we don't stay in the units so hearing feedback is VERY helpful) and I will have someone go look at the cable reception now. Thanks again for staying with us and for providing us with your feedback. Hopefully we can host you next time you visit Charleston!
Rocky start, great trip
The place was great- very clean, small, but everything we needed. Fabulous outdoor space as well.
Major downside- the room was not ready when we arrived and we had to stay in another carriage house we had not booked for the first night. Lots of moving around and Home Away Stays was not at all accommodating in helping us transition.
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. I would like to first apologize that this inconvenience happened during your vacation. We unfortunately did have a scheduling error during your stay that caused the unit to not be available for the 1st night of your stay. We caught the error prior to your arrival and wanted to make the transition as smooth as possible. We had someone checking into the unit that we had you in the first night the day that you were moving. We called you as soon as your unit was available to check into and tried to get you moved over as quickly and as seamlessly as possible. We also, for your troubles, did offer you a refund for one night of your stay. I am so sorry that you did not feel like we were accommodating for the transition but we did call as soon as the other unit became available and we refunded you 1 night of your stay. I hope that you were able to enjoy your time in Charleston. Thanks and please let us know if we can help you out with any future stays in Charleston!
Functional accommodations, adequate for those interested in being close to city.
The unit is small, but well appointed and equipped. The location is central to many points of interest in the city, but the parking is less than desirable.
We did see a cockroach, which put me on edge the remainder of our stay, although we never saw another.
Another point that might bother some, as it did me, was the air filter had some artificial freshener that gave me a headache.
Lastly, be sure to read the fine print regarding charges. We failed to tally all the incidentals before booking and that, coupled with VRBO charges, caused the rate to be double the advertised rate.
With a close proximity to King Street, this unit is within walking distance to some of Charleston's most widely acclaimed bars and restaurants.