HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake Nantahala - Steps from Lake and an Awesome Theatre Room

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS THEATER ROOM! Newly built, beautiful cabin on Lake Nantahala. This magnificent lake front, custom home has a covered decks, three bedrooms, three bathrooms, a movie theater, a fireplace and a hot tub – all just steps from the lake. The natural beauty and peacefulness of the property are unsurpassed.

The home features extensive decking for you to enjoy beautiful scenery surrounding Lake Nantahala. In the evenings, enjoy the new furnishings by the stone fireplace, watch a movie in the theater room, play a game of pool or just enjoy the peacefulness of the night. Then, retire to one of the comfy accommodations available: choose from either the master bedroom with a King size bed and whirlpool tub, the second bedroom with a queen size bed, or the third bedroom with Queen size bed and bunk beds.

After a good night's rest, you’ll be ready for tomorrow's big adventure. This luxury rental has a private bath for each bedroom and lake and mountain view out of every room. Granite counters and tiled floors in showers and bathrooms, granite kitchen counters, and stainless appliances.

Our cabin is the perfect place to relax on the deck or in the hot tub overlooking the lake. Nantahala is an outdoorsman’s paradise with whitewater rafting, kayaking, canoeing, camping, mountain hiking, and biking. Boat rentals are available at a nearby marina, or you may wish to bring your own boat and tie it to your private dock! A short stairway leads to the beautiful clear waters of Lake Nantahala.

This is the perfect place to relax and unwind while you escape the fast-paced lifestyle and demands of the big city. Nantahala is within driving distance to most cities in the Southeast. Nantahala is just two and a half hours from downtown Atlanta; one hour from Highlands, North Carolina; and one and a half hours from Asheville, North Carolina.

Keywords: Cabin Lake Nantahala

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
7 December, 2017

About The Owner

Robert Newton is one of the owners of Newton-Mingus Construction. Charles Mingus is his partner. Robert lives nearby in the Nantahala Community. He is a licensed contractor and a Teacher at Nantahala School. Robert and Charles own and built this newly completed cabin on Lake Nantahala. This cabin is just one of many beautiful cabins they have built from start to finish.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2009

Why The Owner chose Topton

We chose to build on Lake Nantahala because there is so much natural beauty surrounding it. Residing in Nantahala helped with the decision to build. This cabin is in the perfect spot to enjoy the lake. It is semi secluded in a cove. We knew we would enjoy this cabin and wanted to share it with others.

What makes this cabin unique

Our cabin sits just steps from the beautiful Lake Nantahala water. Nantahala Lake shoreline is 97% Forest Service, so it is not over-crowded with tourists.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Topton in Macon County

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • caving
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

3.6/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
8% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Lake Nantahala - Steps from Lake and an Awesome Theatre Room
average rating of 3.5833333 based on 12 reviews
Beulaville, NC
3

Beautiful property on the lake. Needs a good thorough dusting!!!

  • 3 of 5

The property is gorgeous, but it lacks in housekeeping! When we went in our first impression was great, but after a walk through we noticed it was unusually dusty! Most of the outside windows on the main floor had cobbwebs on them! This shouldn’t be if it’s keep up constantly! Whomever is responsible for housekeeping should notice this! It seems to not be rented every week and if this is the case someone needs to make sure housekeeping is dusting at least prior to someone’s arrival! The stove top needs to be cleaned correctly, not just wiped! The ceiling fan blades in the loft seemed to have not been wiped down in forever! We swept and also vacuumed the rugs on the floors after we arrived, not contacting the owners because we wanted our space after a day’s drive! Everyone loved the theatre room and pool table! If these minor things are addressed then it would be a great place to vacation if you are just planning on not venturing out much and want to enjoy the scenary!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ft lauderdale FL
5

Loved it. It was everything that we could of hoped for.

  • 5 of 5

Extremely quit and very spacious. We stayed here for three days and let me tell you. This cabin has everything that you need. One of the days we spent here it rained all day. But that didn't stop us. We played pool watch football on the huge screen TV. There was so much to do inside that we didn't have to go out. And to end it all on our last day of our stay it snowed. It was the first snow of the year. We will differently be coming back.

P.S. if you guys every sell this home I want it lol.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Initial impression was not bad but we were very disappointed.

  • 1 of 5

The photos looked great and we called the owner to make sure that certain things were in place as we needed to make sure that there was a dock to keep our boat overnight. She confirmed that there was and only that there was quite a bit of stairs from the dock to the house. We did not mind that and proceed with our booking. Upon arrival we discovered that the dock was inaccessible and damaged and in very dangerous condition. By the time we wanted to start dinner, we discovered that the grill could not be used either. Apart from the bottom that was rusted through it was disgustingly dirty. Most of our meals were planned around using the grill, which caused a problem. There was so many other issues which left us in embarrassment in front of a family that we were hosting from South Africa. I'm not one to write bad reviews, and I was waiting for the owner to get back to me and give them a chance to explain. She has not responded to my emails and enquires during the weekend of our trip and sent her photos which I had no response to. We were there during weekend of 15 Sept. and I think we have given them ample time to respond.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. However, there are things you forgot to mention. We offered to bring you a new grill the afternoon you contacted us, You said the next day would be fine. We brought and set up a new grill for you the next day. The problem with the dock was that it had not been let down to the water level. It was a simple fix and I sincerely apologized about that and sent someone to fix it. I live away from the cabin, but will be making frequent trips from now on instead of relying on the housekeeping to inform me of things regarding the cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pleasant View
3

Could use some minor improvements but overall stay was enjoyable

  • 3 of 5

If you've ever stayed in the Nantahala area, you know that cell service is scarce at best. We arrived at the cabin to realize there was no electricity. (probably due to storms the day before) Because there was only a cordless phone at the cabin, the only way to contact the owner/or power company was to drive back down the road until we saw someone who was home and ask to use their phone. Things worked out though and power was restored within 2 hours. Later in the stay we had a medical emergency and realized when we called the doctor, that we could not give a callback number because we didn't know it. An information book would have been super helpful with general information about the area and cabin. We ended up having to call an ambulance and first responders were actually incredibly fast which was surprising since it's such a remote area.

The pots/pans in the kitchen needed to be replaced and there was not Pyrex or casserole dishes but we made good use out of the crockpot bowl.

Most of the towels for the cabin were left wet in the dryer but I don't think they had been there too long so I just continued to dry them. The oven had a ton of greese in the bottom of it. I'm glad I checked before preheating or it could've been bad.

Something was wrong with the overhead lighting in the lower bedroom so all you could use was a floor lamp which wasn't great.

These were all minor things though. The cabin and setting are beautiful. The cove was nice and quiet. This area is absolutely breathtaking! We love Nantahala!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property sat on the Beautiful Nantahala Lake

  • 5 of 5

The owners were extremely helpful with our last minute reservations due to Hurricane Irma. Thank you for your hospitality!! We cannot wait to return to spend some quality summer time in the Lake.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A fine vacation!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent a fine week at this lake house over the 4th of July. The location is on a nice cove on a large lake offering swimming, canoeing and pontoon boat rentals near by. The house is comfortable, bright and well appointed; the decks large and the steps down to the lake are many but easy. The kitchen is great for foodies like us and the kids really enjoyed the game room with the billiard table and theatre. The dock needs some work and we hope it will be all done when we return again some time in the future.

The owners were very pleasant and responsive, too. Spotty internet and no cell service but we didn't miss it - in fact the remoteness added to our positive experiences!

We went gem mining and then whitewater rafting (class 1) at the Nantahala Outdoor Center one day and all had a super fun time!

Other things to look forward to next time are hiking, zip line, equestrian adventures and more swimming, tubing, rafting and close by fun.

A long drive up from Charleston but I hear it's only a few hours from Atlanta.

We're happy to recommend this vacation retreat!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Topton, North Carolina Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
23 Dec 2017 - 30 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£859
for 3 nights
From
£262
 
 
Nightly Rate
31 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£598
for 2 nights
From
£262
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Jun 2018 - 8 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,796
for 7 nights
From
£246
 
 
Nightly Rate
9 Jun 2018 - 16 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,796
for 7 nights
From
£246
 
 
Nightly Rate
17 Jun 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,796
for 7 nights
From
£246
 
 
Nightly Rate
30 Jun 2018 - 7 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,905
for 7 nights
From
£262
 
 
Nightly Rate
8 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,796
for 7 nights
From
£246
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,796
for 7 nights
From
£246
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£448
for 2 nights
From
£187
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £74.72

Holidays are $350 a night. Please email or call for Holiday rates. Holidays include but are not limited to Christmas, Thanksgiving, week of July 4th, Labor Day.

Summer rates include all taxes and fees. Total charge for a week in summer is $2389 ($89 for damage protection).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals