HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Poipu Shores 206A Fully Oceanfront 2BR Condo Air Conditioned Ocean Sunset Views

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4). You are right on the Blue Pacific here!

Dramatic oceanfront living at it's tropical finest. Qualitiy design,amenities and decor make your stay comfortable and memorable. This condo is air conditioned! King and Queen bedrooms, both in-suite, with full size washer and dryer. Ocean lullaby for a restful sleep after enjoying the beauty and splendor of the Garden Island. A short oceanfront stroll brings you to the world famous Poipu Beach Park, restaurants and access to the amenities of Poipu. It's 'Simply, Poipu'

Hawaii Transient Accommodation #TA-116-861-1328-01

More Details

Property Manager
Patricia
Member since: 2001
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 November, 2017

About Patricia

Tom and I were married on Kauai in 1977. He actually proposed under a palm at Poipu Beach! We became condo owners at Poipu Shores in 1992 and have owned as many as four condos at once there. Currently we own 2 and manage seven. We are a quality resource for your questions and know every inch of the island, including all of the Poipu vacation properties. We live in Honolulu, which gives us easy access to Kauai, and I do go there often to give the 'white glove treatment' to all our condos. This is a vast difference from Mainland owners who do long distance maintenance and oversight of the property. Depend on us for the current information on all things Kauai and Hawaii.

Patricia purchased this condo in 2001

Guestbook comments from the manager

As always, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your condo. We found everything, except sometimes the weather, very well maintained and in very good working order. We look forward to returning again and enjoying the beautiful view from the lanai.
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Poipu in Koloa

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms are en suite for the respective bedrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Poipu Shores 206A Fully Oceanfront 2BR Condo Air Conditioned Ocean Sunset Views
average rating of 3.75 based on 9 reviews
Venetia, PA
1

uncomfortable and not worth the money

  • 1 of 5

To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. The only nice thing about this unit is the view. We were booked for 10d but after just 4d we left to find a more comfortable and clean unit for the remainder of our stay. This place isn't worth the money at all. Here's why: 1. Look carefully at the pics and you see there is NO carpet...instead it is a sisal/wicker hard surface which HURT to walk on! When I called to complain I was told owners like the "beach" look and feel and won't upgrade to carpet (even at realtor's suggestion). Told us to wear our shoes if our feet hurt and offered to bring throw rugs (Patricia did bring 2 but it's not enough to cover the whole unit!) Who wants to wear their shoes all day in the unit?!? 2. While we knew there was no A/C and have stayed in Poipu many times and not had a problem this unit gets ZERO air flow. It is stifling & I therefore was unable to sleep pretty much at all. 3. There was NO soap. Shower dispensers empty. No bar soap. Dispensers for sinks (once you pumped about 10x) was a very runny liquid that was a poor excuse for soap. Why should we have had to call to ask for soap? We shouldn't have, so we didn't. 4. DIRTY POTS, SILVERWARE & COFFEE POT! The coffee pot had dried grounds in it! Clearly hadn't even been rinsed and the machine itself looked like it had never been cleaned. Found several dirty pots and silverware with food crusted on them. 5. The balcony furniture in the picture is NOT what is in the unit. The unit has the most uncomfortable bar style (high) table and chairs -- height wasn't a problem but the chairs had no armrests. Completely uncomfortable. Not to mention the table, 4 chairs AND a lounge chair were all rammed onto a tiny lanai which made it too crowded. When I asked if we could get a small low table and chairs I was told "you have to have the hightop table so you can see over the railing to see the ocean." UMMM - not so! Look at the pictures above (and we looked at all the other units while we were sitting at the pool) --- the balcony is GLASS and you can see right thru it to see the ocean! So we never sat on the lanai either. 6. Unit is tiny - made even moreso by the giant furniture. This unit needs smaller furniture in order to feel more comfortable. 7. Broken disposal & light switches.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the time the guest took to write this review. Of course, no property manager likes to get this kind of review. So allow us to make a point by point comment… 1. About 1 out of 10 guests make a comment on the seagrass flooring. It, in fact, is a very tropical look. The owners of this condo do like the look and feel of it and we do not attempt “hide” the floorcovering as it is clearly shown in the video and stills on our site. Many homes and condos on the island have seagrass. The guest did tell us that she had plantar fasciitis and walking on anything is painful. 2. We are in the middle of a very unusual heat wave here, going on over 3 weeks, with temperatures in the low 90’s with no trade winds to speak of. Everyone on Kauai is feeling the heat. The owners are sensitive to this and are now in the process of installing an AC solution in the next month or so. There were three ceiling fans as well as free standing fans for their use. 3. No excuse for this. Our cleaning crew has been notified. This is not our norm by any means. 4. No excuse for this. Our cleaning crew has been notified. This is not our norm by any means. 5. It is difficult to keep up our photos when furniture is upgraded, as was the case here. The correct lanai furniture was shown on our virtual tour available to all visitors on VRBO. Our guests at all our oceanfront properties prefer bar style chairs so their view is completely unobstructed. Most of our homes have upgraded to this style, because while the barrier is glass, the top is metal which is pretty close to eye level if viewing from a standard chair. 6. Each condo is decorated to the owner’s taste, which this guest didn’t feel akin to. 7. Running a disposal is not in the normal out cleaning process. This guest should have contacted us and we would have repaired any issues which she uncovered during her stay. This home has dimmer switches and often when the dimmer is slid all the way down, turning on and off the lights creates no light. We are sorry this guest was so unhappy. It is never our intent. If this guest would have communicated her unhappiness and displeasure, we would have gladly moved them to other available oceanfront homes on the property. We had two that were open. We have a staff to deal with these
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Terrific views!

  • 4 of 5

This is a nice condo with absolutely amazing views of the ocean--we saw whales and sea turtles almost every day and also saw dolphins--all right off our balcony. It is also very close to the Poipu Beach--just a few hundred yards.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: December 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fontana, CA
4

Great views - excellent location

  • 4 of 5

The Condo was a good condition the only issue was the light in the master bath room would not come on. The only other negative was the pans were in very poor condition. Even with not stick spray the eggs would stick to the pan... there was no no stick coating left.

The view was breathtaking and a loved the sound of the crashing waves against the clift. My wife on the other hand couldn't sleep so she slept in the 2nd bedroom and she loved waking up to the birds singing.

It was walking distance from the Condo to a swimable beach and small shops.

I highly recommend this condo but you do need to leave your windows open as there was no AC, so you must like the sound of crashing wave.. Outstanding location.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: April 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston TX
5

Sharon and Danilo

  • 5 of 5

Awesome condo, perfect location.

Owners are the best, fully and beautifully furnished with everything you need.

No AC, cross breezes are nice.

Would go back here and stay forever:).

  • Review Submitted: 30-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ontario, Canada
5

Poipu Shores

  • 5 of 5

We found this property online. From the beginning, Patricia was first class and the rest of the stay matched that experience. The property was wonderfully situated by the oceana and within walking distance of a great beach for swimming and snorkeling. The building was quiet, well maintained and it was easy to reach most of the main tourist sites. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

As for the island, it is now our favourite of all the Hawaiian Islands and we will definitely return!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, Colorado
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

We (2 couples) have stayed in this unit before and happily returned ( this is our 3rd or 4th time renting from the managers and we have been well treated every time - with great customer service.) I read the prior review about the construction and feel bad for the people but it so much of this is out of the manager's hands. In terms of a construction status - it seems to be almost done. We have been here for over a week so far and there was only one day of 'bad' noise and even then it wasn't continuous. Most days there is no noise at all from that unit. We spend a lot of time in the condo - because we LOVE the lanai views which are fantastic for whale and turtle watching. As an fyi, we have never been bothered by the trash shute since it is in a 'closet' with a door and is not directly in front of this unit anyway. Again - we love the unit and have been treated excellently by the managers every time we've rented here. They care about their guests and have gone above and beyond to meet our needs. It has been a great stay and we hope to return again soon.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: January 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Very few locations on Kauai are fully oceanfront. Dramatic ocean audio and views all along the south shore, with close beach access. Small boutique property, with only 38 condos, all oceanfront. Spectacular oceanfront pool. Quiet, safe and peaceful. Lovely botanical gardens behind the property, with parking.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Poipu, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low Season Special 2017
26 Nov 2017 - 18 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,081
for 4 nights
From
£241
 
 
Holiday 2017 / 2018
19 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£2,318
for 5 nights
From
£440
 
 
Winter 2018
5 Jan 2018 - 22 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,194
for 3 nights
From
£359
 
 
Spring 2018
23 Apr 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,066
for 3 nights
From
£316
 
 
Summer 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 20 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,140
for 3 nights
From
£341
 
 
Fall 2018
21 Aug 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£976
for 3 nights
From
£286
 
 
Low Season Special 2018
26 Nov 2018 - 19 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,822
for 7 nights
From
£244
 
 
Holiday 2018/2019
20 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£2,361
for 5 nights
From
£449
 
 
Winter 2019
5 Jan 2019 - 20 Apr 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,212
for 3 nights
From
£365
 

Additional pricing information

Out Cleaning £116.76
Tax Rate 14.42%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable