HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Brown House: Classic Contemporary Cottage on Bend's West Side

Bedrooms 1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The Brown House is located just one block from the Historic Downtown Bend area. This unique cottage was built in 1920 and has been officially listed in the National Register of Historic Places as the B.C. Brown House. This quaint one bedroom vacation home is perfect for the traveling pair who wish to be within walking distance of downtown Bend. Enjoy superb dining, galleries, breweries, shopping, festivals, playhouses, and Drake Park along the Deschutes River. While you are a guest at the Brown House, you can leave your car parked at the house and experience the best that Bend has to offer right outside your front door.

This home has all of the amenities that you want while traveling away from home, including a private bedroom with a king sized bed and direct access to the full bathroom, fully stocked kitchen with everything you’ll need to make your vacation feel a little more like home, flat screen TV in the living room with a DVD player, DVD movie collection and iPod docking station, separate eating area, free WiFi, and a washer and dryer. Enjoy the wonderful outdoors in your own private hot tub, or create memorable outdoor dinners with the gas BBQ and patio eating area. This home is finished in a “cottage contemporary” theme that offers all the comforts of home and none of the clutter. It is the perfect place to get away and relax during your Bend vacation.

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 August, 2017

About Erin

In 2007, an architect versed with the historic district, put together a design plan to restore and update this great home. Our goal was to maintain the original character while making the home as energy efficient and livable as possible. Local and State Historic Districts oversaw the renovation process and upon completion, approved the application to the National Registry of Historic Homes. Having lived in the home for a few years, a little extra space was ultimately needed. The Brown House is located directly across the street from the Central Oregon Environmental Center and just two blocks from historic downtown Bend (see map). If the Brown House makes the top of your list, thank you in advance and enjoy your stay!

Erin purchased this house in 2007

What makes this house unique

The original home’s footprint, foundation, picket fence, hardwood floors, and front windows were carefully preserved. Keeping this as the historic shell, the rest of the Brown House was completely renovated using as many green materials as possible. A sampling of these include: a new high efficiency furnace and insulation, marmoleum flooring, no VOC paint, concrete counters, energy efficient insulation in the attic and basement, and a high efficiency hot tub.

Guestbook comments from the manager

My life dream was to come to Oregon and I fell in love! It has met and exceeded all of our expectations. We will definitely be back! The house was perfect and we would stay again. Erin & Jeff who ran the house were great! Thank you for making my dream come true.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 60


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Old Bend in Bend

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • 2 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
iPod Docking Station


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
The Brown House: Classic Contemporary Cottage on Bend's West Side
average rating of 4.5 based on 68 reviews

Amazing Cottage and near Downtown

  • 4 of 5

The cottage or Brown House was ideal for my wife and I. Located two blocks off of downtown Bend so we biked and walked to most everything. The only issue was the two inch foam pad on the bed. Not sure why this foam pad was needed so we removed it and the king bed was perfect. I highly recommend the Brown House.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to see the word "ideal" when reading about this vacation home. It is indeed! The location is unmatched, and the convenience for doing all those really Bend-ish things is so lovely while on vacation. We provide quilted double core mattresses as well as a foam overlay so our guests can customize the bed exactly how they want... firm or softer. I am glad you found the perfect fit for you! Thanks for visiting.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect house in a perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here to go to a friend's wedding and to enjoy the beauty of Bend. This house was absolutely perfect for us. The location is right downtown, and with the two cruiser bikes that are provided (with a lock too!), we found that we barely needed to use the car to get anywhere we wanted to go. We rode the bikes to breakfast, to explore the area, and even to dinner. Of course we had to get in the car sometimes, but it was really nice to be able to get around on bike or even walking to do pretty much anything we wanted to do. The house itself is immaculate--very clean and modernized and just the perfect size for two. The kitchen is well-appointed and we also made good use of the washer and dryer, a feature I love so I didn't have to pack as much, we just washed what we had and wore it again. I was very surprised at how quiet the area was despite the proximity to downtown---I am very sensitive to noise and I wasn't bothered, not even once. I also love that there are blinds on every window (off-topic, but I love the way the blinds can be pulled from the bottom or the top! I want them for my own house lol!) so that you have complete privacy, and the one in the bedroom is a blackout shade so that you can go to bed even before it's completely dark outside and not have to wake with the early summer sunrise. I loved that there is a code rather than a key for the doors--one less thing to worry about. The air conditioning and the hot tub were luxurious touches as well. Truly a delightful stay in The Brown House---we'll definitely book this house every time we visit Bend!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A wedding is a wonderful excuse to come to Bend, and it sounds like you had a great time at The Brown House! I love to see the word "perfect" when talking about your stay. We work hard to provide a well stocked, clean, comfortable place for our visitors to stay. I am so glad you had time to enjoy the bikes, the hot tub, and even shades that pull from top and bottom! It's the little things that really count, and I am so happy to hear that we delivered for your special trip. We can't wait to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This place was amazing. It could not be more perfect for a couple. It was blocks from all the shops and restaurants and had a great kitchen to cook in. Might sound silly but the electronic keyless doors made coming and going so easy. Hot tub was nice, house was just great. It's an old house for sure, but they've made great little updates. Floors were creaky, but that's part of its charm. I couldn't recommend it more strongly--this is the place you want to book!! I'm already checking our calendar for when we can go back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being our guest at The Brown House! It sounds like you had a wonderful trip to Bend, and I am so glad this house made it that much easier for you to enjoy your time while visiting. It is a special place, and we love it too! Those historic houses are full of charm, and being so close to the original downtown Bend makes it extra special. We are excited to have you back again on your next trip!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lacking attention to detail and professionalism

  • 2 of 5

Poor attention to detail: dirty hot tub, smelly kitchen sink, overgrown bushes blocking driveway, cobwebs on lights inside. Then with ZERO NOTICE the gas company showed up at 7:45 am one morning to tell us they were turning off the gas and working on the cottage all day - so no hot water or stove! After all that, we expressed our frustration and disappointment to management but they did not respond to our email or offer any type of discount - very unprofessional.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that things did not go smoothly during your time here. I don’t like it when unexpected issues arise either, but I think you would have to agree that we were reachable and very responsive for all calls you made during your stay at all hours of the day and night. All issues you presented, we fixed immediately. As with any home or overnight accommodation, things can come up. What I can do is remedy any unexpected issues as quickly and effectively as I can, which I feel we did for your stay in all circumstances. You called on a Sunday evening close to 8pm to let us know about the hot tub issue after a wind storm came through Bend and caused the hot tub cover to lift and some debris to get inside the tub. I immediately scheduled our hot tub team to come out the next morning at 9am, which you then called back and declined saying you could easily fix the issue yourself. When you called about an odd smell in the sink drain, we were there within 45 minutes. Our team assessed the issue, found it was due to guests not running the garbage disposal correctly, and it was immediately fixed and problem permanently solved. I truly am sorry the gas company knocked on your door. Unfortunately, we did not know this work was going on either as they did not inform us ahead of time. As soon as you called our office, we drove directly to the house within the hour, spoke with the crew about the surprise project and timeframe, and helped push the work along. Gas was shut off for a total of two hours at the house in the middle of the day, and I do apologize for that, but again we were not informed. I so appreciate it when guests offer their feedback so we can continue to make our vacation homes even better. In your case, I do feel like we addressed your feedback in a timely and effective manner. All of this was already communicated to you in both a voicemail message and in a follow up email as communication is very important to us. However, let me again reiterate my apologies for the items that were out of our control and to sincerely thank you for informing us of the other issues so we could fix them. That is why we are here and what we promise to do for all of our guests any time of day or night. Though we seldom receive negative feedback, I do understand that it is impossible to fix 100% of problems before they happen. What I can do for all of our guests, and what we did do for you, is offer immediate solutions and make way for you to enjoy Bend while visiting.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Austin, Texas

Homespun Vacation Rentals- The Brown House

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and loved every second! The space was absolutely perfect for a romantic getaway. We didn't rent a car, we walked everywhere (and it was a good thing with all the amazing food on every corner)! the hot tub was perfect for soaking our sore bodies at night. We really appreciated all the thoughtful touches, like the growler, parking pass, coffee, and things you'd forget you'd need from the store- sugar, s & p, creamer etc. It was exceptionally clean, smelled great, and the bed was very comfortable with soft sheets. The house has has the very obvious historic feel but with the luxury of really nice updates and is clearly maintained with thoughtful care. We had such an amazing time here we can't wait to come back. We will likely stay in a larger cottage if we bring the kids. I highly recommend staying here! I couldn't believe how affordable it was with what we got. There were no other places to stay that were comparable in price or amenities. There is so much to do that is just a short walk from your front door. I'm so excited for our next trip to Bend!

I can't say enough about how wonderful our customer service experience was with this company. From our first inquiries, to booking, to checking out, our expectations were far exceeded. This is the kind of company I want to do business with and feel amazing about spending money with. Wonderful job homespun! Thank you for a magical experience from beginning to end. We're happy to be home with our kids, sad we aren't at the brown house.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Cornelius, OR

Highly Recommend

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Brown House for three nights to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The house was beautiful--we appreciate all the restoration that went into this home. It was perfectly sized for the two of us and our Airedale Terrier. Perfectly situated only one block from downtown and three blocks to Drake Park; we walked everywhere. We'll be back!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy (late) anniversary to you! How wonderful that you got to spend it here in Bend at this great little house. Thank you for being our guests during your special visit. The Brown House is a wonderful place, and with it being so close to downtown, it allows you to venture out on foot and discover all the great things about our city. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have you back on your next adventure!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
River's Edge
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 97
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Mt. Bachelor

This home has a Walk Score© of 92 points, one of the highest in Bend, because of it's amazing location!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Old Bend, Central Oregon

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Solar Eclipse Week
20 Aug 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Late Summer
25 Aug 2017 - 30 Aug 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Labor Day Weekend
31 Aug 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
End of Summer
6 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
1 Oct 2017 - 28 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Fall Discounts
29 Oct 2017 - 21 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Thanksgiving Break
22 Nov 2017 - 27 Nov 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Winter Discounts
28 Nov 2017 - 14 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Winter Holiday
15 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £58.16
Pet Fee £38.77
Damage Deposit £387.75

All cancellations made within 24 hours of booking are subject to a $50 cancellation fee. Reservations booked and confirmed online are charged a nonrefundable 25% deposit. Cancellations made with less than 30 days notice may be completely non-refundable. Please consider trip insurance for your trip. See our rental agreement for full details on the cancellation policy as they pertain to your individual reservation. If you reserve at a 3rd party website, we are unable to refund your 3rd party fees.
When your arrival is less than 30 days in the future, 100% payment is due when making the reservation. When your arrival is more than 30 days in the future, 25% payment is required to confirm your reservation. The remaining balance due will be collected 30 days prior to your check-in date.

Please be aware that if you reserve through VRBO you will pay their service fee for their additional services in addition to the rate we quote for you. We are not able to refund/remove/deduct that fee for you if you reserve through VRBO. You may reserve with us directly without a fee at www.HomeSpunVacations.com.

Please check your VRBO instant quote for complete stay pricing and additional fees.

Rates are based on length of stay, and number of guests.
They will vary for weekends, special events, and holidays.
Some restrictions on check-in and checkout days of the week may apply to certain date ranges.
DISCOUNTS may sometimes apply for multi-night, mid-week, and business stays.
There will be an 12.2% Lodging Tax applied to all bookings.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals