Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fish Inn on Upper Hat Creek in Old Station

People7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 7

2 BR house bordering on Lassen National Forest with Hat Creek 100 feet out the back door. Comfortable accommodations, full kitchen, perfect for family. Sleeps 7: Queen Bed in Bedroom, Queen Futon in living room, twin bed upper and full lower bunk bed in small bedroom. Front porch and private back deck for enjoying the beauty of the mountains. Pets allowed with additional deposit. On a quiet street, bordered by Lassen National Forest.

14 miles from Lassen National Park. 28 miles from Burney Falls.

Fly Fishing spoken here! Some equipment, flies, float tubes available, EZ access to the West side of Upper Hat Creek, 14 Miles from Manzanita Lake and many other great fishing spots.

Gas barbecue and fire pit in back yard for evening campfires. Free Wi-Fi and Satellite TV. Free local calls.

Mountain getaway: Great fishing on upper Hat Creek. 2008 remodeled cottage 100 yards from the creek. Fenced yard with Propane BBQ grill and fire pit for evening relaxation. Shaded front porch. Wi-Fi and Satellite TV, DVD; games and puzzles; maps and local information. Pets permitted with additional deposit of $50 per pet.

More Details

Property Manager
Ray Manley or Joann Moore
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2018

About Ray Manley or Joann Moore

Owners are a retired couple with a dog and cat who live next door and love our mountain retreat. We have lived here for 18 years and love to share our local knowledge with our guests, while giving them plenty of privacy.

Ray Manley or Joann Moore purchased this house in 2007

Why Ray Manley or Joann Moore chose Old Station

We got the opportunity to purchase the house next door and make it into a comfortable vacation rental to share our love of the area.

What makes this house unique

Sit in the shade on the front porch and look out onto the sage and pines of the high mountain desert environment. Walk out through the back yard gate 100 yards to great fishing on Hat Creek.

Open Kitchen/Living area that looks out through sliding doors to the forest in back.

Guestbook comments from the manager

June 9 -12 2012 was the third visit for my fiend Bob & I. We started in 2010 – see my review “Cabin or Cottage?” 06/26/2010 – and looked forward to returning each year. This year I brought my 5.5 year old grandson. This was our first overnight experience together and I am happy to say we both ‘survived.’ The in cabin Dish TV helped two old guys temper the boundless energy of this boy for part of the time. But it was the fishing bug that secured his eternal(?) interest in fishing, and returning to Fish Inn. He caught 7 fish in two days on Hat Creek. I was shocked, amazed and thrilled. My friend & I and I have never had more fun fishing without wetting a line, or our pants. Joann & Ray are great people and have just the right sense for how much external attention their guest desire. The cabin is flawless and maintained in an impeccable manner. You will not be disappointed when spending a few days at Fish Inn.



Recommended for:Romantic getaway, age 55+, families with young children.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 15

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Old Station in Shasta County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • lake ...
  • mountain ...
  • river ...
  • rural ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • town ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
  • 2 bedrooms plus Queen size futon in living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Veranda
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • caves
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • ski
  • caving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Outdoor fire pit and s'more roasting forks

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(69 traveller reviews)

98% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fish Inn on Upper Hat Creek in Old Station
average rating of 4.985507 based on 84 reviews
5

Fantastic stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

Awesome place, very clean!!! Cute and cozy!!! Quiet neighborhood.

Words can't describe how amazing Ray and Joann are!!! We arrived later in the evening than expected and received an email from Ray and Joann while in route letting us know that they had left a few lights on for us. They were filled with helpful information for the surrounding area. It was a great pleasure to meet both Ray and Joann. Would definitely stay at the Fish Inn again. My daughter and I had a great time visiting. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review! We so enjoy meeting our wonderful guests and love showing off our beautiful area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Never Fails-The Fish Inn was Perfect

  • 5 of 5

The Fish Inn was perfect, even after my car broke down just was we were pulling into the driveway. We didn't get to do some of the things we wanted to because my car was getting repaired in Burney (thanks to the recommendation of Ray and Joann), but Ray and Joann came be a few times to check on us and see if they could help in any way. They even offered to take the dogs while we ran into Redding to get a rental car.

I can't say the trip was relaxing, but at least we were at the Fish Inn, with a roof over our heads, a phone to keep in touch with the mechanic, a quiet trail out the back door, some good fishing nearby, and some wonderful hosts.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always distressing when you have an unexpected emergency but at least here you have the trees and the creek and fish! Great guests like these make our job as hosts easy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay at The Fish Inn

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our stay at the Fish Inn. House was very well equipped and better than most rentals where I have stayed. Everything was clean and worked well. Hosts were also very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

New, comfortable, spacious, awesome location!

  • 5 of 5

This home is a wonderfully supplied, clean, comfortable, spacious home away from home. These hosts were friendly and have thought of everything - even down to marshmallow sticks and wood for a fire (wow, those pine cones sure are flammable!) and flashlights for visiting the nearby lava tube. The layout of the house is great, the front and back decks are wonderful spaces, the decor is modern and the big kitchen was well supplied. The fenced back yard backs to lovely Lassen National Forest land. We stayed 2 nights and toured the awe-inspiring Lassen National Park and visited Subway Cave (a nearby lava tube definitely worth seeing). This house was so inviting and comfortable we wished we were able to stay longer!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We love that you enjoyed your stay and our home. We want it to be a place for folks to relax and appreciate the peace and beauty of our area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place to relax and fish!

  • 5 of 5

The house is well furnished and stocked with all the essentials needed to have a great experience in the mountains. Very comfortable and I highly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Not just Fishing at Fish inn

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay for fishing on hat creek in Old station. But it is not the only thing to do, Mt. Lassen, Burney Falls, Explore the caves all just a short drive away. Or? just hang out in the quaint little fish inn and nap or read a book. Love this place!!! Have stayed here 2x and will book again what a wonderful location.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Subway Cave
Lava tube cave that you can walk through on a short hike. Fascinating cave created by flowi...
JJ's Cafe
Great local restaurant serving breakfast and lunch. Burgers, homemade breads, smoked meats,...
Lassen Volcanic National Park
One of the best, least-visited National Parks. Gorgeous scenery, great hikes, mudpots and h...
McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park
Amazing waterfall that comes from springs and drops 150 feet. Park has a swimming lake with...
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
JJ's

14 miles from Lassen National Park. 30 miles from Burney Falls (McArthur-Burney Falls State Park). Cabin is 100 yards from upper Hat Creek. World famous fly-fishing on lower Hat Creek and Fall River within 20-30 miles. Subway Cave and Spattercone Trail within 1 mile. Close to Lassen National Park, Burney Falls State Park, Fishing on Hat Creek, Fall River, Baum Lake, Lake Britton, Battle Creek Reservoir, near to Thousand Lakes and Caribou Wilderness areas, Hiking, Star-gazing.

Other Activities: Kayaking, boating, snowmobiling

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Old Station, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£337
for 2 nights
From
£117
£898
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £38.07 + Tax
Cleaning Fee £57.11
Property Damage Protection £44.92

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals