Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Riverfront 4 bed Home Very private Great views Great trout fishing out back

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,700 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

4 bedroom, 3 bath, gameroom, laundry room, full granite kitchen, WiFi sleeps 10

This is a very private 2700 sq ft waterfront home on the Kenai River at the end of the road in Cooper Landing, Alaska. We have 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. We are located on the low-bank side of the river just below the Kenai River Princess Lodge, just up stream from the Upper Kenai River rapids. Our 400 yd. long gravel bar is a favorite stop for most of the guides for Trout.

The king sized master bedroom has a private bath, sitting area, balcony and a spectacular mountain view. The two Queen sized bedrooms have beautiful river views. There is a bunk room down stairs as well as two futon doubles in the upstairs game room. There is a full sized washer and dryer. The granite kitchen offers full sized appliances and is fully equipped to make your gourmet fish dinners, lunches and breakfast. We have a full sized freezer in the garage to keep all your fish and there is a cleaning table with water out by the rivers edge for fish cleaning. We provide a Food Saver vacuum packer, bring bags

Fishing in the Area: There is a wealth of things to do in the area. Fishing is probably #1 and fly fishing for Rainbow out back is great and there are a wealth of guides for all types of float trips down the river. The Russian River confluence is about 10 min. away for great Salmon fishing. Beautiful Seward is 45 to 50 min. away for great salt water charters for Halibut, Ling Cod, Rock fish and Silver Salmon. Kenai Lake & Skelack Lake offers some big Lake Trout and there are a great number of smaller lakes in the area. The Kenai River offers all 5 species of Salmon along with world record Rainbow trout and Dolly Varden. Local Guides for all of the above are available. The lower river has some of the best King Salmon fishing in the world and I believe we still hold the world record for Kings.

Other Activities: World class hiking trails are numerous in the immediate area along with very gentle easy hikes like the trail to the Russian River Falls for bear viewing. Wild life and bird viewing abound even in the back yard at times. Glacier and whale viewing tours from Seward are fantastic and make a great day trip. Mountain biking, horse back riding , and kayaking are available locally.


Fishing, Hunting, Claming, Camping, Hiking, Swimming, Canoeing, Beach Combing, Biking, Wild Life Veiwing, Bird Watching, Nature Walks, Mountain Climbing, Cross Country Skiing, Down Hill Skiing, Rock Climbing, Fly Fishing, Bear veiwing, Fly out Fishing, Guided Wildlife tours, Guided Rafting Trips, White water rafting, Fjord Tours, Berry Picking , Dog Sleding, Kayaking, Shopping, Horse Back Riding, Museums, Art Galleries, Saturday Markets

More Details

Lisa Caughran or Rick Schiefelbein
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
31 December, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Cooper Landing in Kenai Peninsula Borough

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • We will issue a partial refund less applicable fees only if we are able to rent all or part of the time slot. Refunds are based on re-rental only.
  • Swimming is not allowed in the river as the water is too fast and too cold. Life jackets are advised when fishing from the bank.
Location Type:
  • river
  • waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Split-System Heating
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Water Tank
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom Master - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Beautiful & large w/ 2-sink
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Standard w/ 1-lavatory
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Standard w/ 1-lavatory
  • The master is large with 2-sinks and a separate tub and shower. The other upstairs bathroom is a standard with a single vanity and a tub/shower combo. The down stairs bathroom has a vanity with a single sink and shower. All 3 have a toilet.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , Suit has large bath, tv &, sitting area & balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Extra Large with river view
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , Small bunk room
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Open game room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Standard size with river view
  • The master suite is a king with a large sitting area and balcony with mountian view. The 2-queen bedrooms have a river view. The bunk room is small and the futons are in the open game room.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Conservatory
  • Shed
  • Small Cooler
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • ski
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • whitewater rafting
The downstairs is the living/kitchen area and the upstairs is the game room/bedroom area. The screened gazebo has a table and chairs for outdoor dinning, games etc. The walkway to the river is is flat and grass covered add there are life jackets on the rear porch behind the gas grill (remember kids don't float).


4.3/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Riverfront 4 bed Home Very private Great views Great trout fishing out back
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 3 reviews

A little bit of paradise!!

  • 5 of 5

Overall it is a wonderful house-roomy, accommodating, & just plain nice. Some of our family members griped about the old TV's but I could care less about that when I'm in Alaska! It was well worth it. The fish didn't cooperate either, but Mother Nature controls that. Thanks for a wonderful five days! River rafting was right down the road. So was the Russian River for better fishing at the time. And, a wonderful café where we ate breakfast the day we left, The Sunrise Café-very good food.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

GREAT PLACE!!!! Had everything we needed.

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd time visiting Alaska. We have stayed at other places by the river but this was by far the best. The views were amazing and the house was large enough for our whole group to stay together. It was very clean and had everything we needed. They even had a vacuum packer for us to use and plenty of freezer space for all our fish. It saved us money by being able to process our own fish. The River was right out the back door and the trout fishing was great. Very secluded and didn't have to worry about combat fishing. Will stay here again and tell all our friends too.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Mesa, AZ

Great Location

  • 3 of 5

The house is as promised although there were several surprises. Yes they have televisions but no TV reception (even though there is a huge dish out back), just DVD/VHS capability. The WiFi worked so we could check the weather and news. The house was not very clean (oven, kitchen counters, dining room floor) The caretaker had just "moved out" for our vacation week and we could tell. Many of the lights did not work and the gas BBQ grill was broken, luckily someone knew how to use the charcoal one, which was very crusty. There are no room darkening shades in the master bedroom or futon room, so be prepared to sleep with daylight. The location is great for visiting all parts of the Penninsula and we enjoyed our stay. However, they are charging premium prices therefore it should be in excellent condition.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2014
  • Date of Stay: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you were not thrilled with the house. Unfortunately, I had to have emergency back surgery the first of June and we did not get to check on the house before you came. We trusted our care taker and obviously that was a mistake. The reason we don't have great television service is because of the Chugach Moutains, they provide excellent views but they hinder satellite reception. The dish on the side is old and left from the previous owners who paid $50.00 a month for 1 channel and even that was not great. We do however have netflix and movies on hand for people who want to watch T.V. We pay to have the house cleaned before every renter comes in and apparently we will need to discuss this with our cleaning crew. We have never had anyone complain about black out shades and for that we are sorry. We wish you would have contacted us and we could have been given the chance to correct some of these issues for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Princess Lodge
Nearest Ski
65 Miles
Alyeska Sky Resort
Nearest Beach
40 Miles
Seward & Kenai
Car: necessary

Other Activities: hicking - kaykaing


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Cooper Landing, Alaska

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £113.87

Rates are based on 1 to 4 people. Over 4 people is $25.00 per night per person.
Availability calendar is kept off site. Please call for availability.
Note: We never accept payment for more than your total booking. Most bookings require a 50% pre-payment with the balance due 30-days prior to arrival.

-Any cancellations before January 1st will receive a 94% refund. All cancellations after January 1st are no refund unless we are able to rebook your dates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals