HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

WAIKIKI MARINA-29th floor remodeled condo w/ sunset view has free parking & WiFi

People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 367 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio, close to beach. Sweeping view of ocean & sunsets.1 Bath. Sleeps 2

Our Hawaiian studio condo on the Waikiki Marina's 29th floor has been fully renovated with wood floor, kitchen counter-tops, new appliances, and re-tiled shower.

The entire front is a panoramic window with view of yacht harbor, nearby Ala Moana Beach Park, downtown Honolulu, distant mountains of west Oahu, and spectacular sunsets. Our condo is just minutes walking away from world famous Ala Moana Shopping Center, several great beaches, Waikiki, restaurants, and nightlife.

FREE PARKING: Your rental car parks in a dedicated space in the building's secure garage at no extra cost, saving you $25-$30 nightly.

Local bus service is convenient and excellent and has its own app-the BUS.org

Hawaii's scenic, cultural, and outdoor entertainment abound, with your conveniently located Hawaiian home at the center of it.

Our condo includes a queen size bed and full kitchen with ceramic 4-burner stove top and oven. Internet Wifi and cable TV are included at no additional charge.

Please note: we ARE NOT part of Marina Tower Group which also operates in this building. As owners, we take great pride in our property, manage this condo ourselves and live nearby. This is our only Waikiki vacation rental property. Come enjoy our great Honolulu studio condo.

NOTE: AN ELEVATOR UPGRADE PROJECT IS UNDERWAY. ONE ELEVATOR IS IN OPERATION DURING THIS PERIOD. WE HAVE INITIATED A 10% DISCOUNT ON THE DAILY RATE FOR BOOKINGS WHILE THIS WORK IS UNDERWAY.

Kathleen Doering and Richard Sullivan

Owners, Honolulu HI

Hawaii TAT and GET License # W 40797664-01

More Details

Owner
Richard Sullivan and Kathleen Doering
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 October, 2017

About Richard Sullivan and Kathleen Doering

Your hosts are Kathleen Doering, a Nurse and Early Childhood Educator, and Richard Sullivan, an Architect. We've been married 37 years.

Richard Sullivan and Kathleen Doering purchased this studio in 1999

Why Richard Sullivan and Kathleen Doering chose Oahu

Our goal is to provide our guest with a uniquely Hawaiian stay experience by offering the best accommodations available at this property which features a large pool and spa and tennis court, a rare feature in Waikiki.

What makes this studio unique

Within a few minutes walking to beach, Ala Moana Park, Waikiki attractions and restaurants, plus spectacular ocean and sunset views you only find in Hawaii.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday studio in Waikiki in Honolulu

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 29
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 367 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • city centre
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Lift ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Lavatory, shower and water closet. Towels and linens are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
WAIKIKI MARINA-29th floor remodeled condo w/ sunset view has free parking & WiFi
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 27 reviews
4

Good Access to Beach and Shopping, secure and fairly quite.

  • 4 of 5

Clean and comfortable, with great open window air cirulation. Very little noinse from other units. Elevator was limited to one, but never caused too much delay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

I wasn't going to say anything

  • 2 of 5

I wasn't planning on leaving a review. I were just going to laugh it off and enjoy other places...I'll start with the good...The owners are very quick to communicate and respond...The view is very nice...The location is also very nice...That said, the building is weathered and low-end...The rent isn't high, so perhaps you can overlook that..Though one of the two elevators was / is down (was told by someone both elevators won't be operational all year).. So you can wait 20 min or more for the elevator...If you get tired of waiting then it's 29 floors up or down...The elevator that does work sounds like it might go out at any second and has missing floor tiles etc...The unit is small but that's fine...For our trip the dishwasher didn't work and we needed to wash all dishes by hand...We just informed the owner and didn't make a fuss about it trying to be good tenants. I was rewarded by this not by an apology or discount (didn't ask, nor expected) but by being rated 3 stars for cleanliness and $25 deduction for a towel because the owner claimed my girlfriend stained a towel with her makeup...I saw the towel with the owner and it simply needed to be washed....Hmmm....Aloha

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a nature of things that owners and guests occasionally see things differently. This particular guest noticed we had a 4 day window in an otherwise fully booked high season and negotiated a vary favorable all incluside $100/night rate (included taxes and booking fee) for which we had no problem. Addressing guest's specific statements: Towels have been a continuing problem when we have female guests. They frequently clean make-up off with towels and it does more than soil them, it bleaches them which cannot be washed out. When one of of the towels is damaged we cannot use the entire set and give it to a local animal shelter for bedding. We post a notice in the bathroom with extra white clothes asking that they be used for removing make-up. Concerning dishwasher, we tested it when we cleaned, observed same problem and arranged to have a tech come to investigate but next tenant found it worked properly. These guests did leave a lot of food items for us to dispose of but that is not paticularly unusual, nor were they particularly messy. It just seemed to us, given notice clearly placed concerning the towel situation that they did not rate a full 5 star review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time there. The place was just as the pictures portrayed, spectacular view and within walking distance to beaches, the downtown area and the shopping mall. We were there for 8 days and would choose there again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate hearing from our guests concerning their experiences and suggestions. This is one of two resort properties we own (the other is on the island of Molokai vrbo.com/225457). Unless we are off island we clean and prepare the condo for our guest's arrival to assure that they receive it is the best condition. Richard Sullivan and Kathleen Doering Owners Honolulu HI
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Surrey, BC, Canada
4

Beautiful view, nice location, very clean and nice decor.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Waikiki Marina. Richard & Kathleen left very clear instructions for our arrival and everything we needed was there. We loved that you could walk to both the Ala Moana Park Beach & Waikiki. We found easy routes to access the Airport, Pearl Harbour, Hanauma Bay, etc. I guess what we loved the most was the view.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We appreciate your kind comments. Kathy and I edeavor to provide accommodations within which we would appreciate staying. We take a great deal of ownership pride in our condo and are gratified when our guests find it meets their expectations. Richard Sullivan and Kathleen Doering Owners Honolulu HI
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Good

  • 4 of 5

Very clean, nice veiw. Perfect location. Just elevator worked slowly. Definitely will back. Thank you

  • Review Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful view, location great, but you get what you pay for.

  • 3 of 5

This condo has a wonderful location. The views are beautiful and you are within walking distance of the beach, the mall, and many restaurants. It was also really nice to have a parking spot included with the room, parking is hard to find in many places in Waikiki.

The key to enjoying this condo is to set your lodging expectations low. Yes, the basics are there- mini kitchen, mini dishwasher, mini-fridge, bed, bathroom & beach supplies. We only received 2 bath towels, total, for 7 nights. When I asked about extra towels, I was directed to the location of the coin operated laundry in the building. I do not come on vacation to wash towels, so that was a bit off-putting. I endedup buying new towels as the only 2 in the room were leaving fuzzies all over us when we used them.

The other major issue that essentially had us questioning if we should leave the room and pay for a hotel half way through the trip is the elevator. Yes, the description mentions elevator repairs. BUT, during our stay 7 day stay in December 2016, only one elevator was in operation for the gigantic building. AND that only elevator went out of service multiple times while we were there. The condo is on the 29th floor, so unless you enjoy walking up and down 29 flights of stairs in a non-airconditioned stairwell, you may take that into consideration. I actually almost got stuck in the elevator on our last day. And, after I managed to hop off at a different floor, it did in fact go out of commission, leaving me thankful I had already brought the luggage downstairs.

The owners are also very responsive, though not overly helpful. When I let them know the elevator kept going out, I was told that is why the rate is reduced. It would need to be reduced much more to make up for 29 flights of stairs everytime the elevator went out. We are in our early 30s and were worn out by the time we got up them, so if you are older and/or not in shape, be aware.

In summary, this may be good location for a shorter trip or truly budget-conscious travelers who don't mind washing their towels and taking the stairs.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate receiving comments from our guests as it helps us, to improve what we offer to the extent we are able to do so. Concerning the elevator: As stated on our web page (in all caps) and posted in the building, our elevators are undergoing a major renovation. We, and other owners, have been adjusted our rates in recognition of the fact that only one elevator is operating. On very windy days it can be particularly slow. Concerning the towels, yes, we provide one set of towels per guest stay. We are not providing a hotel type accommodation but renting a fully furnished condo. It is expected guests who stay longer or need more frequent linen changes will launder them. it is the same as renting a furnished home. The big plus we offer in addition to a clean renovated condo with a spectacular view is a dedicated parking place in a secure garage, usually costing $25 - $35/day elsewhere, at no additional rent which makes our condo a bargain in Waikiki. Sincerely Richard Sullivan and Kathleen Doering Owners Honolulu HI
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Ala Moana/Waikiki
Car: not necessary

Our location is at Waikiki's west end near Ala Wai Canal. Ala Moana Shopping Center and Park are within a short walking distance. Just down the street are Hilton Hawaiian Village and Ilikai Hotel complexes. Waikik Marina is visible from our condo.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday studio in Waikiki, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 9 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£363
for 3 nights
From
£78
£648
£2,290
 
 
Winter 2017 - 2018
10 Dec 2017 - 20 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£117
£907
£3,326
 
 
Spring 2018
21 Jan 2018 - 19 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£428
for 3 nights
From
£99
£778
£2,635
 
 
Summer 2018
20 Jun 2018 - 19 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£441
for 3 nights
From
£104
£821
£2,981
 
 
Fall 2018
20 Aug 2018 - 9 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£467
for 3 nights
From
£112
£778
£2,549
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£668
for 7 nights
From
£77
£2,436
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning per stay £113.73 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £227.46
Tax Rate 13.95%

Winter bookings made prior to October 1 a are priced at st Fall rate. Summer bookings made prior to March 1 are priced at Spring rate. Request reduction from quote provided by vrbo if you book early for these periods.
Note: stays of six months or more are only required to pay Hawaii General Excise Tax (GET) of 4.72%
Check in time is 3:00 PM Check out time is 11:00 AM unless otherwise agreed.
Secured parking in a dedicated space in the building is included, saving you $25-$30 nightly, compared to hotel.
Repeat guests are eligible for additional discounts, contact us.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals