Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Romantic Beach House Near Rural Fishing Village and Great Surf

Bedrooms 1
Space 500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-5)


If your idea of a great vacation is to travel half way around the world to find another Starbucks, then this is not for you. If, on the other hand, you long to be at the edge of an authentic Nicaraguan fishing village, surf incredible waves by yourself, or walk along a beach that Moon's Handbook Travel Guide describes as " relatively deserted, undeveloped and absolutely beautiful. This is a beach like no other.", then this is for you.

This romantic one bedroom house is ideal for a couple. The interior decoration is playful and the open floor plan with its incredible views of the ocean from all living spaces enhance your vacation experience. The large patio in the front of the house overlooks the beach and has a built in table for outside drinking and dining. The living room sofa can be used as a bed. The 14' high by 8' wide arched front door and large front window add to the open feeling of the house. The open design utilizes the natural breezes of the ocean for cooling.

This one bedroom beach house, finished in 2010, provides the perfect balance between private beach and an active village with its dirt roads, thatched huts and an old lifestyle that is rapidly disappearing on the coast. There are no stores like you would find in the U.S. but you can find a lot of things you need in its Ventas, the small stores out of of private homes, located 3 minutes walk away. If you get tired of surfing the great waves right off your front porch, turn left at the beach to the turtle reserve with its undisturbed beachfront. Or you can turn right, watch the local fisherman launch their pongas (fishing boats) and continue on to the village. Another option is to go to the Padre Ramos Wetlands Reserve,1 to 5 day kayak tours with an ornithologist are available. This estuary is a "decidedly mellower place to swim than the ocean and is home to all the wild life-especially birds-you could hope to see", as quoted from Moon's Travel Guide. Or you can lay in the hammock and watch the pelicans fly by.

Internet service is available in the house with the use of a dongle. Surfboards, surfing instruction, surfing and fishing tours, horses and about anything else you want can also be provided by Nicaragua Escape.You can check their website for more information. They can meet you at the airport and provide transportation to the house, as well as many other services.

You can easily walk to town and the caretaker, or the friendly locals, can help you find your way around. It's a ten minute walk down the beach to Monty's Surf Camp for a great meal and drinks. Beyond them is a fun place called Rancho Tranquilo, a vegetarian restaurant and bar. Close by Rancho Esperanza also offers inexpensive meals and coffee. These are English speaking venues, there are also numerous Spanish speaking venues nearby including a new restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner about 4 minutes walk down the beach. The fresh fish dinner for $4.50 is not to be missed.

If you are a family or group, We would like to recommend my mother's two bedroom house next door (VRBO #247904). For groups of eight to twelve, rent both.

ENJOY, Peter & Sue


More Details

Sue & Peter Poetugal
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 June, 2018

About Sue & Peter Poetugal

We are Peter and Sue Portugal. Our son owns Nicaragua Escape, a surfing lodge and restaurant in nearby Aserradores. We came to Nicaragua to visit him and his family and fell in love with the area. Peter's mom has built a house next door so it's a family affair.

Sue & Peter Poetugal purchased this house in 2007

Why Sue & Peter Poetugal chose Jiquilillo

We decided to buy property and build a vacation home in this area. It will be our retirement retreat, and a vacation rental when we aren't there. There is an incredible beach front with wonderful surf. We love the people we have met and become friends with. Our son, daughter in law and new grandson live close by.

What makes this house unique

We enjoy relaxing and soaking up the heat. The weather here is a perfect complement to the foggy coastal weather of northern California where we live. We love to swim and boogey board in the warm ocean.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Jiquilillo in Chinandega Department

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Computer Available ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • see photos
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
outside shower/rinse area, surfboards and boogy boards available to rent. Hammocks provided. Public power with generator backup.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Romantic Beach House Near Rural Fishing Village and Great Surf
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Paradise at the end of the world

  • 5 of 5

Simply perfect. A comfortable, clean, safe villa, great location, interesting little village, nice and friendly people. The ocean right there with nice long flowing waves on a dark sand beach. Incredible sunsets right in your face.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Beach Property

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed three nights here. Frankly, the caretaker, was very helpful. Loved the beach. Walked both ways. Make sure that you take the food that you will need.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nicest beach front surf rental in Jiquilillo!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, 7 year old daughter, 3 year old son and I rented the Portugal's place for almost one month. We had already been in Nicaragua for a month prior and we're ready for a beach front property. This place met our expectations! It was gorgeous, the pictures don't do justice. Upon our (early) arrival the caretakers along with Bodi (owner's son) and his wife were there to greet us. Bodi had us set up with surfboards in a flash and we were able to surf that day. He included a boogy (body) board for the kids which they had a blast on. The beach is amazing, so clean compared to other beaches that we had been prior. There was a rocky area to the right of the house that the kids enjoyed exploring the tide pools and collecting beautiful shells and rocks. It is the one of the best surf spots in Jiquilillo from begginner to advanced waves. Bodi a former surf instructor even gave me some very helpful surf tips when while in the water one day... Thank-you! The house was a great size for the four of us. We cooked our own meals and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed. We barely used the living room as the outside seating was deluxe with an amazing ocean view and beautiful sunsets every night. There were hammocks for lounging too! We had people comming up to us asking us about our rental quite often. Just down the street we were able to buy the basics along with coconut bread and pizza for a treat. There were people selling donuts, corn tortillas, and ice cream. Occasionally a fruit and veggie truck would come by and we would stock up. The caretakers were amazing in helping us find what we needed and were very friendly. The kids enjoyed playing with their children as well as the local kids. We would definitely rent this place again if we travel to Nicaragua again, it's a long way from Canada but such a wonderful experience. Thank-you Sue, Franklin, Bodi.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karita, thank you so much for the review and we're so happy you had such a great experience. We hope you come back! Sue and Peter
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cleveland, Ohio

A BIG ZERO STARS (if they would let me)

  • 1 of 5

The beach in front of the house is the only thing that kept us at this house. We arrived at sunset and if it had been daylight we would not have stayed that first night. The house was filthy. All the windows would not open, there was a layer of grit on every surface and the bathroom looked like it belonged in a gas station. Until I spent several hours the next morning cleaning the bathroom I would not sit on the toilet: there was a dirty drinking glass at the sink, old soap and scum on the soap holders and everything else in the bathroom was disgustingly filthy. The beautiful tile sink was covered with layers of dirt and scum.

The kitchen wasn’t much better. The refrigerator was unplugged so it was unusable for our groceries that needed to be cold. We had to soak the cutting board in bleach before we used it. The oven door heat shield glass fell away from the door when we opened it and the condition of the stove was so bad that the top was covered with foil. The blender had bits of food left around the rim of the cover.

At least the sheets seemed to be clean.

We stayed after that first night because husband loved the beach and helped me clean the filth and the dishes before using them.

After arriving home and preparing to do laundry I found 4 pairs of shorts and a dress that had rust spots on the seats from the metal chairs that are at the dining table. The spots are permanent and the garments are unwearable. We were given a very small refund for our inconvenience.

The beach is great with lots of shells. If this place had been clean and with a decent stove I might have recommended it. But our experience prohibits me from doing so. We would never stay here again. BEWARE.........

  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is Peter and Sue, responding to these comments. This is not typical. There was a change in caretaker and cleaning crew right when these folks arrived, and an apparent lack in communication between us and the crew. We were very surprised to hear that the refrigerator had not been ready for their arrival and that the place was so dirty. We had no idea about the condition of the oven but would like to say that our cleaning crew always covers the top of the stove in foil. It's a Nica thing, or our cleaning crew thing. The oven has since been rebuilt. We're so sorry that the oven didn't work for this couple. In regard to the stains on their clothing, we've never had any complaints about this before. The house is 100' from an active surf and the resulting salt spray eats everything metal. We try to stay ahead of the rust. It's a constant job. We will do our best to see that this never happens again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Place!

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay while in the very small fishing village of Jiquillio then Casa De Portugales is the place! We loved it here and wished we would have stayed longer. It was great to rent the surfboards for the week so we could just use them when we wanted. The kitchen has everything you will need, its clean, and well appointed. The owners arranged a ride from the airport which also took us to a large grocery store in a nearby town so we could get provisions for the week. I suggest planning your meals ahead of time and make a shopping list. Fresh fruits and vegetables could be purchased off trucks that roll through town every other day or so. Some small things like sweet drinks and junk food can be purchased at nearby stores run out of family homes. We started in the 2 bedroom house (we have 2 teenagers) but switched to the one bedroom. The one bedroom has a great vibe: color scheme, floor to ceiling windows, privacy, a patio with was really great. The kids slept in the bedroom and my husband and I had the double bed in the living room which was fine. The beds were pretty comfortable. Jiquillio is very small with no public services (trash, water) so be prepared for that! Water is delivered by truck and the caretaker who is always on site takes care of everything and is happy to help. The property is clean but the area itself has a LOT of trash everywhere. There is good food at Rancho Esperanza and descent food at Cafe Pacifico. We arranged a beach horse riding trip and a fishing trip through Bodhi which was really great. The surf was good for beginners with a nice sandy bottom. Spend a day observing the tides to see whats up. My daughter and I had boogie boards which was perfect. Its extremely hot in Jiquillio so plan to have siesta time every afternoon to get through it. Hammocks on the property are lovely and the fans in the house are an absolute necessity. I cant say enough about the beach! We had it practically to ourselves and of course the Pacific sunsets are amazing. To the north is the town and the fishing boats which are very interesting to watch being launched. To the south it is completely undeveloped and goes on for miles. This area of the beach is surprisingly clean! And to the north beyond the town is also quite deserted and clean as well. This house and Jiquillio is definitely a place we would love to go back!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ketchikan, Alaska U.S.A.

Best beach location in Jiquilillo!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at Casa Portugal and really enjoyed our time there. Arriving in Managua we took a taxi to the Leon micro bus terminal and spent a couple of nights in Leon before taking a micro bus to Chinandega. We arranged for a taxi (with the owners son) to meet us and after stopping at the grocery store we drove to the beach house. Very comfortable with a well supplied kitchen. Love the huge, high windows and doors and comfortable couch. Very open/airy which was fantastic. The caretakers are great and announced when the tortilla sellers were outside and even supplied a chair to wait for the bus! Besides fresh tortillas we bought coconut bread (which makes great french toast) and fish in town. The hammocks are great for relaxing and very private.

Besides being a fabulous house, the location is the best, as it sits right at the beginning of town. Looking towards the ocean, going left is a long expanse of mostly uninhabited beach. To the right is the fishing village of Jiquilillo. I enjoyed watching the fishing boats leave in the afternoon and return in the morning. One of my favorite activities is walking beaches and looking for sea shells. I was not disappointed. The beach goes forever and is flat and easy for walking. The surf was small when we were there, but good for swimming right out front.

We took the bus one day to the community of Padre Ramos and on the way back stopped at Monty's for the wifi. It is easy to get around without a car. Nice community and Casa Portugal is the place to stay!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Mar-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
110 Miles
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
In Jiquilillo
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Nearest Beach
35 Metres
in front of the house
Nearest Point of Interest
One Bedroom Beachouse
Nearest Point of Interest
Two Bedroom Beach House
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Nicagagua Escape Surf Lodge
Car: not necessary

We are on the ocean next to the Padre Ramos Reserve. There is an active fishing community nearby as well as an undisturbed beach. The surfing in front of the house is the best in the area. We an send you our welcome packet that goes into detail about the houses.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Jiquilillo, Central & South America

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £151.82

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals