HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

OCEANFRONT SUNNY WESTSIDE

People5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
5
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1

About the property

ONE BEDROOM, ONE BATH WITH BEAUTIFUL OCEAN VIEW

TVNC#1094

For your at-the-beach vacation, this lovely rental puts you in touch with the ocean, miles of coastline, and romantic star-filled evenings. Nestled on the shore of Kekaha, it offers the sunniest, warmest weather on the island. Magnificent sunsets with evenings so tranquil you can drift off as you watch the moonlight dance like diamonds on the water. This home is designed for gorgeous views, ocean in front and green foothills in back.

A one bedroom, one bath accommodation with full kitchen, dining area, and living room is available for your enjoyment. The kitchen is fully equipped, and the living room has cable TV with several movie channels, daybed, and sofa sleeper.

We hope to make your Hawaiian vacation as pleasant, relaxing, and fun filled as possible. If you need anything, please feel free to ask and we'll do our best to help. Ask us about our bicycles, boogie boards, surf boards, and surf lessons. We also have BBQ grills, beach chairs, umbrella and coolers, & laundry facilities for your use.

Keywords: Beachfront, apartment,swimming pool, KKCR radio, oceanview,sunny westside,blues musician, rock & roll,

More Details

Owner
Kevin
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
12 February, 2017

About Kevin

Your host Pam Anderson has been a resident of Kauai since 1976. An amateur Kauai surf champ and avid guitar player in an all female band (Rock Candy) for 25 years. She has raised three beautiful children and maintained this business for over twenty years.

Your host Kevin Rogers has lived here since 1998. He is a blues/rock musician from Chicago. He has done a radio program on KKCR (Kauai Community Radio) for over 11 years. Look online for his band SWAMPDADDY & his business Mardi Gras Entertainment. Together they enjoy playing music, promoting concerts , and managing this wonderful vacation rental. They live on property and are immediately available if any needs arise.

Kevin purchased this apartment in 1985

Why Kevin chose Kauai

The late Carl Anderson and Pam courageously built their dream home by hand. Loving the west side for its miles of white sand beaches and uncrowded surf spots. Unbelievable sunsets with great waves, views of whales, boaters, and other sea life from the deck.

What makes this apartment unique

For surfers there's a great surf spot across the street with year round surfing and boogie boarding. No matter what time of year we get swells from both directions.We have no extra charges for the many ammenities we offer. We are twenty minutes from either Poli Hale Beach (one of the greatest) and the Waimea Canyon (sometimes descibed as th Grand Canyon of the Pacific).

Guestbook comments from the owner

WE LOVE YOU GUYS!

We'll be back in two years...really this time.

Love, G & K
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 10

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Kekaha in Hawaii

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • King size bed (1), Queen size Bed (1),Single Bed (1), Sofa Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(46 traveller reviews)

OCEANFRONT SUNNY WESTSIDE
average rating of 4.2826085 based on 56 reviews
4

budget with $$ view

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

This is a hard review to write, we are not trying to sound negative about the place!. We did enjoy the stay very much. We were only booked in for one night though.

Kevin is a very helpful and good host. Unfortunately due to our short visit we did not get much of a chance to meet Pam. They do have just about every thing you need for outdoor activities.

The suite is large, and you can see when first built was an awesome sight to behold.

The view from the front deck is spectacular. It is right on a main highway, ( ocean, road then house)so there is road traffic. However the bedroom is in the back, (with a very nice air conditioner) and we did not find noise (traffic or otherwise) a problem.

The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom big and spacious, ( though it could use a new shower head) and for the most part the whole place was clean.

There is an aura though of lack of clean throughout. Not from a lack of vacuuming, or dusting or wiping down, but, simply from the aging of the unit and lack of upgrading (carpets, doors windows, etc.etc) The state of the back yard, which although you don't rent or use, still is visible. So if you are someone who likes the new and shiny, you may not find this unit to your taste. Also it is an upstairs unit, with stairs, no type of lifts. I mention this in case stairs are an issue for traversing and because there is only one set. The stair situation should be looked into, both for some repairs and if nothing else, rope ladders should be supplied to allow for a rear egress in case of an emergency.

If visiting, we would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Auburn, CA
1

Great view, nothing else!

  • 1 of 5
Verified Stay

This property would not pass most local or state, Safety and Health Inspections. Property is in very bad repair. Property has great ocean view, but is located less than fifty yards from a busy highway, with high truck traffic, day and night. Very Very High Noise. Also high noise from the owners living below. Furnishing are well worn. Kitchen utensils and dishware, very limited. Wifi and cable TV are adequate. Taking the trash out, involves going down a flight of rickety stairs, around the building, through a junk laden backyard, dodging dog droppings, passing a broken above ground pool, with standing water....Would have left sooner, if we could have changed flights.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are still a little stunned by this review.These folks stayed here nearly a month and seemed happy the whole time. They never complained about anything, but were a little needy. We checked with them to see if they needed anything every other day as they were older, (we're no spring chickens, but they were 20 years older), and we try to keep people happy. She liked to go to the Catholic church EVERY morning and do laundry EVERY day, but he was in too bad of shape to do much of anything. He complained of being sick most of the time so we were concerned for him, ( not sure why they booked a second floor apt.). We ARE getting a new refrigerator, even though this one works great, but as we have said many times, there is nothing we can do about traffic except make sure people are aware. This noise was highly exaggerated in their review and WE are not noisy at all. I guess when you stay that long, you hear a little bit of everything, (if you're trying). We don't rent the backyard, we rent an apartment with an amazing ocean view, but we live here and use our backyard like any folks do. Sometimes it gets messy, but if they had said something , we would have taken their trash out for them, (EVERY day it turns out). So if you can't stand a little rust on your refrigerator , taking out your trash, or occasional road noise, then maybe we're not the place for you. But if you love a great location with an amazing view, laid back atmosphere, helpful & generous hosts, then come on by! We can't please everybody, but we sure try!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the West Side!!!

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

We had the best stay! We stayed at this property for 10 nights and was a great central location to visit Waimea Canyon, snorkeling at Salt Pond Park (go early in the morning for the calmest water and not too windy) and take a drive on the beach at Polihale. Kevin and Pam made us feel right at home and we did not want to leave!! I had quite a few items on my list of things to do while we were there, but found ourselves on the beaches in front of and near the house most of the time as you get a great sunrise and sunset view from the balcony. The market is close by and BBQ'd quite a few nights. Kevin and Pam have lots of beach gear (chairs, umbrellas, water shoes etc.) for your use which is nice. We do plan on returning and will be staying here again. Thanks Kevin & Pam!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice place to stay

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

Ken and Pam

Where very nice.ken was there to greet us.

Their place was very nice . We will stay there again if we come back to Kauai

  • Review Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place with million dollar view

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

It is nice place and full of taste of Hawaii. The view is super. Room is large and comfortable. Kevin is super nice. Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location but noisy

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

Pros - Great location, owner very helpful, property is very spacious, great amenities (beach gear, wifi worked great, etc.).

Cons - noise (road and dogs).

Good value for money and loved the large living room and bedroom. Lots of traffic on road just outside of property which makes for a lot of road noise. Neighbors next door have multiple dogs right outside bedroom window that like to bark. Overall pleased with accommodation except for noise factor.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
45 Minutes from Airport, Below Waimea Canyon
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Kekaha, Kauai

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£100
for 1 night
From
£100
£682
£2,647
 

Additional pricing information

We are always open to offers.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties